Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Blast From The Past
This is a review of the recently released Captain America/Captain America II: Death Too Soon DVD. The movies starred Reb Brown as Steve Rogers/Captain America and Len Birman as Dr. Simon Mills.

I grew up watching these films when they first aired on television in the late '70's. I had a great time watching them then and I had a great time watching them again...
Published on October 24, 2011 by Tom Potter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the comic book version but...
This version of captain america came out in 1979 and these were made for tv movies. They were ok at best and Reb Brown is a good captain america. Sadly the whole comic book tradition is thrown out for these flicks. Reb is the son of captain america or maybe he isn't?. The stories are typical tv tales with average villians. The films though are fun in their own way. the...
Published on May 12, 2012 by Michael Dobey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Blast From The Past, October 24, 2011
This review is from: Captain America (1979) / Captain America II: Death Too Soon (1979) (DVD)
This is a review of the recently released Captain America/Captain America II: Death Too Soon DVD. The movies starred Reb Brown as Steve Rogers/Captain America and Len Birman as Dr. Simon Mills.

I grew up watching these films when they first aired on television in the late '70's. I had a great time watching them then and I had a great time watching them again this past week after I purchased this DVD.

Are the films perfect? No, not at all. But if you watch the films for what they're intended to be, notably a fun campy romp a la the 60's Batman series, I think you'll enjoy them more than if you watch them in a serious manner.

I was also pleased to see that the films are included in their entirety. They're not chopped up like they were when Syfy broadcast them last summer before Captain America: The First Avenger premiered in theaters.

On to the review of the disc itself. Equipment used to watch this DVD was a Sony HDTV, Sony 3D Blu-Ray Player and Sony 6.1 home theater surround sound.

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the presentation. The films looked pretty good for material that was shot for television over 30 years ago. I did find myself wishing that some extra work could have been done to make them even more colorful.

The sound left a lot to be desired in my opinion. I wish the audio on these two movies could have been released in better fidelity (5.1 sound, as they were broadcast on Syfy last summer). As it is, the films are presented in a 2.0 soundtrack which I think is ok but it's nothing special.

When you take into consideration the amount of dubbed in sounds such as Captain America's motorcycle, explosions & gunfire, etc. it would have enhanced the viewing experience significantly had more work been done for this DVD. It's too bad that Shout! didn't deem the extra effort as being necessary.

I am docking this release 1 star because this disc is just a bare-bones release. I feel that Shout! really dropped the ball with this by not including any interviews with Reb Brown or any other stars who were in these films. If they could include cast interviews for their Street Hawk release, they surely could have done so with this release too. As it is, all you get are the two films and that's it.

If you enjoyed seeing these films growing up in the '70's, then yes I would add this to your collection. It's not a perfect release by a long shot but it is a great way to relive some fond childhood memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of nostalgia that I still enjoy, August 31, 2011
This review is from: Captain America (1979) / Captain America II: Death Too Soon (1979) (DVD)
I remember watching this (and the first Captain America movie) on CBS in the late 1970s. I thought it was the coolest thing. Reb Brown looked like Captain America should look. I had a chance to watch both movies again over the summer on the SyFy Channel and still enjoyed them. Yes, Reb Brown can be wooden at times, but I totally buy him as Captain America. It's good fun! Don't take it so seriously and you'll enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captain America Lives!, October 1, 2011
This review is from: Captain America (1979) / Captain America II: Death Too Soon (1979) (DVD)
For all of you being so overcritical of this 70's version of Captain America, just get over it. Watch it for what it is. It is easy enough to look back 35 years at a show through the eyes of someone in 2011. I enjoyed it back then as a kid and it is enjoyable now. Just like with the 70's Spider-Man, Incredible Hulk and Wonder Woman, they are all dated but that doesn't mean you can't enjoy them thoroughly. I won't disagree that Reb is not a great actor but you know that is the same criticism many have leveled at Mark Hamill and Carrie Fisher for the original Star Wars trilogy for years. So either you just sit back and enjoy it, flaws and all or just be miserable. I for one am happy that it is coming out on DVD, now if we can just get the Nicholas Hammond Spider-Man series out on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two failed attempts for a TV series this is still fun to have., July 7, 2012
This review is from: Captain America (1979) / Captain America II: Death Too Soon (1979) (DVD)
These two part television movies were marvel comics attempt to bring Captain America to the small screen. Although not sticking to the original origin from the comics as such. This was a great attempt.
Reb Brown was Captain America Steve Rodgers. He looked like he jumped off the page and became a breathing person. The music was very patriotic sounding the motor cycle was just cool.
Ok the shield was kinda weak espically in the flying and when it hit the bad guy in the back in the second movie. But we got the idea LOL.

Christopher Lee in the second film was just fantastic what an actor.

All in all these are worth having on dvd.

And remember this "The old people are my friends so pal if you ever bother them again I am coming after you." And on a side note we should all feel that way about the elderly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Entertaining 70's Superhero Fun!, April 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America (1979) / Captain America II: Death Too Soon (1979) (DVD)
I remember the Reb Brown Captain America TV films from when I was a youngster, and I remember them with the same fondness that I do shows like the Bill Bixby/Lou Ferrigno INCREDIBLE HULK and the Nicholas Hammond AMAZING SPIDER-MAN series. These were fun because getting to see some of your favorite characters in real life, but they were also alternately frustrating because they had little or nothing to do with the actual peripheral characters. You weren't going to ever see The Hulk fight Abomination or The Leader; You were never going to see Spider-Man fight The Green Goblin or Doc Ock, and with these two films, you weren't going to see Cap fighting HYDRA or The Red Skull. They fought terrorists and crooks and racketeers, but never an actual comic book villain (although to be fair, Hulk did once team up with Daredevil to fight The Kingpin and he also teamed up with Thor: Incredible Hulk Returns/The Trial of the Incredible Hulk).

Even more frustrating about this collection is that almost everything you know about Steve Rogers is wrong here... except for really small details. Here, Reb Brown, who plays our hero, is already handsome and extra-muscular. He's just left The Marines and intends to just travel "Nomad"-ically around this beautiful country with his artistic skills to try and find his place in the world in his conversion van and his motorcycle. He ends up being contacted by Dr. Simon Mills (played with a lot of sincerity by Len Birman), who is a scientist and doctor who is the head of several different projects and answers only to The President. He also worked with Steve's father, who apparently developed a serum called FLAG (Full Latent Ability Gain) which is supposed to make someone stronger, bigger, faster and better by allowing them to access their all of their brain and body abilities. The catch is that it only seems to work on those with Rogers' genetic code. Naturally, Steve gets himself embroiled in a conspiracy to construct a neutron bomb and ends up getting so badly hurt, he will only live if injected with the FLAG serum. At one point, Mills tells Steve that his father fought for the country and The President, and his enemies slapped him with the moniker of "Captain America", and that Steve should embrace this name, rather than scoff at it.

He's given a new van; one that actually hides a new jet-powered motorcycle in the back, and he's given a shield made of a transparent compound that has the red stripes and the blue and white star, and it's throwable and it's bullet-proof. Eventually, he gets a Evel Knievel-esque motorcycle suit, a motorcycle helmet with wings and a big "A" stenciled on it, and he goes into action as CAPTAIN AMERICA!!

The really interesting thing I noticed while watching it again was actually how certain really obscure details about Cap were presented in the film: Steve Rogers did spend a good amount of years in the 70's and 80's in the comic book working on art commissions out of his van, which was also his mobile headquarters... where his motorcycle was also secretly hidden!!

As far as technical specs, it's a standard TV ratio of 1:33:1, so while it may look pretty good on your flat-screen, it certainly won't take up the whole screen. You can choose between the first film or the second film, but there are no other special features and not even a chapter select feature. It's press Play and Pause and Stop... and that's all there is.

If you're a fan of the big-screen CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE FIRST AVENGER mainly because it adheres so closely to his actual origins and abilities and would hate anything that deviates from the source material; well, frankly... you're going to hate these films, because these are pretty far out there from the source material. However, if you're a fan of cheesy 70's superhero TV, you'll really get a kick out of this CAPTAIN AMERICA collection of his two TV films.

Now, give us the SPIDER-MAN TV SHOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stopped too soon, January 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America (1979) / Captain America II: Death Too Soon (1979) (DVD)
another series that could have been, if they'd picked this up as a weekly series I'd have watched. This was another set of movies that could have become a great series. A lot of the story line from the comics wasn't adhered to but this was a new generation Captain America for a new day and a new time all in all both movie's were well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Delivery,, April 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America (1979) / Captain America II: Death Too Soon (1979) (DVD)
Good transaction & fast delivery. No problems with seller.
I grew up on Marvel so I decided to get all the movies. I actually got everything I grew up on DVDs. Basically anything Marvel you can count on me getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain America 1970's TV movies, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America (1979) / Captain America II: Death Too Soon (1979) (DVD)
Even though there's no special f/x and the stories aren't more in tune of Captain America, these movies are still good. While watching them, you're transported back in time to a simpler time. And the shield... it's still awesome! If you were born in the 1970's and a fan of Captain America, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very early Captain America, April 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America (1979) / Captain America II: Death Too Soon (1979) (DVD)
These are, the first attempts at bring Captain America into TV by making two made for TV Movies. The acting was/is pretty bad but what can you expect this was a trial run at getting the old Cap on to TV. I guess they tried this once as a series on TV but it didn't work out so the people in the know decided to make these two movies out of stuff they already had and add a few new scenes. For those who like this they best thank these people who tried this then thank Disney and Marvel for their efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great purchase. I strongly suggest any one to buy this. Well worth the money for this product., March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America (1979) / Captain America II: Death Too Soon (1979) (DVD)
This is a great purchase. I strongly suggest any one to buy this. Well worth the money for this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Captain America (1979) / Captain America II: Death Too Soon (1979)
$14.93 $9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.