Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game, Easy to Learn
Despite being a huge comic book fan and an American, I've never took much of a shine to Captain America. Having said that, this game is one of my favorite "superhero" games for the Wii. Unlike Iron Man, Iron Man 2, and Fantastic Four, the controls are really easy to become accustomed to, making gameplay instantly enjoyable. Throwing the shield is very similar to throwing...
Published 23 months ago by baby nightsoil

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars God of War for Kids
Captain America is a perfectly enjoyable game that will get plenty of play in your household. Obviously you control the title character in his quest to beat the tar out of NAZIs and work his way through a castle filled with tons of enemies.

I mention God of War because it is the same melee style, combo based action you find in that series. Enemies surround...
Published on September 7, 2011 by Matthew Erwin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game, Easy to Learn, August 14, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America: Super Soldier - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Despite being a huge comic book fan and an American, I've never took much of a shine to Captain America. Having said that, this game is one of my favorite "superhero" games for the Wii. Unlike Iron Man, Iron Man 2, and Fantastic Four, the controls are really easy to become accustomed to, making gameplay instantly enjoyable. Throwing the shield is very similar to throwing a bat-a-rang in some Batman games (Batman: Brave & the Bold; Lego Batman 1 &2; etc.) The graphics are pretty dark, so I recommend adjusting the brightness. If you are amused by Nazis talking goofy trash about America, then you won't be disappointed. Additionally, you get to beat up the Nazis after they spout their silly rhetoric.

Like any game that's been out long enough, I strongly recommend buying the game used because...uh...it's cheaper and just as good as a new version.

One major complaint that seems to follow Sega Wii games is that the game has a glitch. Unlike the other versions of this game, the Robot Zola boss is unbeatable (at least in my experience and the experience of every other gamer I've found on the internet) and that's a bummer. The good news is that Robot Zola is the second to last level, meaning you can play almost the entire game. If you can beat Zola, good for you- I gave up and still feel satisfied with the game.

Captain America and Batman both make great video games because they have limited powers unlike Superman and Green Lantern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, some nitpicks, June 27, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Captain America: Super Soldier - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
The game is really fun. I love it. It is really fun to play. I love how you can show the shield and block. Their is one problem I have. The graphics are great. They are to cartoony though. The launch video that it shows on amazon makes this game look amazing. It looked really realistic. But it isn't like that. It looks like cartoon captain America or something. It isn't to bad though. Still get this game. It is a good legit game that I think you will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want to bootstomp some bad guys in the head? Step up and put on the shield., June 7, 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America: Super Soldier - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I had heard some decent to good reviews for this film-to-game translation and so eventually got around to trying it. I am an easy fan of Captain A but I wondered how a cherished comic book superhero icon would translate from the silver screen to a video game as so many have fared poorly in doing so?

In this almost kitchsy entry that remains true to the spirit of Captain America's origin, to the film tie-in, and to a feeling of a comic book superhero "Captain America: Super Soldier" fares quite well on the Wii. First off is the graphics on this platform, something that nobody expects to be stellar. Here the Captain is portrayed in bright colors with a strong but slim build from the waist down and an overly developed upper body that lends itself more to a feeling of comic caricature than reality; the developers weren't trying to make this game feel like you were walking through a movie set. The objectives of each of the (9 or 10? I can't remember which) levels are essentially the same: collect stars to unlock abilities, collect some special artifacts in order to unlock game bonuses, and complete the main missions of destroying Hydra weapons and confronting and beating Hydra troops and bosses. Nothing more and nothing less, all wrapped within a compact story narrative that doesn't try to follow the film but could fit within one of it's middle narrative acts. Note: the game does make use of Chris Evans' voice in a limited capacity.

The main baddies that you'll be battling are Madame Hydra (also commonly known as "The Viper" in the Marvel Universe), Baron von Strucker, and a massive Arnim Zola creation. You will come into contact with the Red Skull but the game, as it is a movie tie-in, actually smartly and wisely doesn't make him the main villain or allow you to defeat him. None of this is too challenging and after you complete the game you can increase your difficulty level if you want to replay it. Cap's acrobatic animations and in-game fighting styles and movies really didn't get old. His spinning "helicopter" kicks, his boot stomps, his superman punches...there was a wide variety of fun beat-'em-up moves and they were nicely animated so that you could enjoy them even amidst the button-masing and Wii thrusts. (The game is rated "T" and would probably stir up particularly young boys to act out the moves so it may not be a good one for the tots; I wouldn't let my four-year-old watch it which bummed him out.)

I had a lot of fun with this game. I wouldn't be surprised if I got around to replaying it again in the future. I'd give it an overall solid 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars God of War for Kids, September 7, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Captain America: Super Soldier - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Captain America is a perfectly enjoyable game that will get plenty of play in your household. Obviously you control the title character in his quest to beat the tar out of NAZIs and work his way through a castle filled with tons of enemies.

I mention God of War because it is the same melee style, combo based action you find in that series. Enemies surround you and your overpowered hero quickly beats them up like an old Jackie Chan movie. Cap continues to extend his combo ability as he powers up, earning new abilities every so often from experience enemies drop. The combos are generally started by pulling the B button repeatedly as Cap plows his way through the toadies. When surrounded, you will occasionally see "Z" pop above your head. At those times, tapping the button will send Cap into a counter attack, smacking around an enemy that is getting ready to strike from behind.

Not as frequently used however is Cap's shield. In combat, it essentially serves to stun enemies, deflect their bullets or ignite the clichéd big red barrels (side note, when will bad guys finally learn it is always a bad idea to stand next to big red barrels?) Using the shield during combat is clunky, requiring IR aiming which generally takes too long and is imprecise. The shield winds up being used mostly for puzzles.

The puzzles in the game are simple and repetitive like the combat. Unlike the combat though, the puzzles aren't much fun. Most involve stepping on a switch and then using the shield to blow something up, either by throwing it or deflecting bullets. Usually some sort of power switch. Yawn.

Platforming is equally sad with win button platforming. For those of you unfamiliar with win buttons, the platform sections basically are set up so that you push the A button and Cap makes the proper jump--perfectly every time. There is no skill involved and it has about as much interaction as a cut scene. It looks nice but it is disappointing.

There are plenty of extras for perfectionists. Red Skull bombs to destroy, artifacts to collect, soldiers to save and challenges to complete. I've never been a fan of this type of stuff in games, but others love it. It is all there and it is all optional.

In short, the combat of Captain America is very entertaining if derivative. The other parts of the game? Not as much. That being said, it is a surprisingly good effort for both the movie tie in and superhero genres, which have seen their fair share of complete clunkers. It's not the greatest game in the world, but it will provide a few hours of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great game we enjoy playing the game together., December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America: Super Soldier - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Game is great and my daughter really enjoys playing the game. Keeps the kids busy ! She's like the captain amercia movie as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Wii Game that was a hit!, October 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America: Super Soldier - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
My five grandsons were really into "The Avengers" after the movie, so each Wii game with a Super Hero was enjoyed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captain America: Super Soldier, April 22, 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Captain America: Super Soldier - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game is awesome. i love this game. this is the best superhero game i have played in a long time. i love playing captain america. it's about time they made a good game about captain america. this game is a blast. the graphics are amazing. if you have not played this game then i recommend you do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the cap., April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America: Super Soldier - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
my son loves this game. He can play for hours on end if I let him. A good storyline. He hasn't completed it yet. It is still keeping his attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overall, it's a good game, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America: Super Soldier - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I actually bought the game for my 4 yr old grandson. He can play it with some difficulty. I enjoyed the heck out of it. It's a shoot em up game with just a little "search for the object" included. Controlling the character isn't difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift for my son for Christmas, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America: Super Soldier - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
My son loves Captain America the movie and when I saw this game I had to get it for my son. He got several other games for Christmas but this is the one he wants to play the most. He is under 10 and he can do most of the things that the screen tells him to do with Cap. but he does get frustrated when some of the directions are not really clear. The voice is the Chris Evan's (Cap from the movies) and that is cool! He likes to "beat up the bad guys".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Captain America: Super Soldier - Nintendo Wii
Captain America: Super Soldier - Nintendo Wii by Sega Of America, Inc. (Nintendo Wii)
$54.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.