Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars61
Platform: Xbox 360|Change
Price:$89.99+ $3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 12, 2012
I went into the game thinking that it was going to suck. It turned out to be pretty good. Much better than I thought it would be. I only have two small complaints about the game. It was a a little short, which was expected. And after you beat the game you cannot go back and replay chapters, you can only start completely over, and lose all of your upgrades. Other than those two things I found it to be a pretty decent game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2012
Yes, it's true, Captain America: Super Solider plays a lot like the Arkham games. After playing the first 3 missions I can say that this is the same approach to gameplay as Arkahm Asylum and Arkham City, which suits Cap, but everything is easier here. Enemies die faster and are less menacing. There are acrobatic portions which look cool, but mostly play themselves. The shield is fun to use in combat, aside from blocking bullets, it functions offensively like a Batarang. This game is worth it in short bursts, but there isn't enough variety to keep you playing for hours at a time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2012
I love this game. The combat is simple and fun to use. But there is a draw back.(If you are a person who gets all the achievements then you should be warned), There is a achievement which is impossible to get and I've been trying to get is for over a month and have not goten it, it is (And They All Fall Down)
4 Enemies KO'd with a single Focused Shield Throw. IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO GET!!!!! But if you have gotten it please write a review so I can get it.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2013
This game clearly takes inspiration from the Batman Arkham games and this is a very good thing. It never reaches the quality of those games, but it is the best alternative. We need more games like this. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2012
To be honest, I'm a huge Captain America fan because of his determination and patriotic style, but this game isn't that fun. It could have been a whole lot better. Still, this game can be fun at first, but there's no replay value. If you're a Captain America fan and you want to add it to your collection, go ahead. But, if you're just looking for an epic game to play, this game will be a disappointment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2011
It always seems that many movie tie-in games get a bad reputation, and some deserve it but not all. Captain America, while not a great game, actually is not a bad game. It shows that movie tie-in games can be good if there is enough effort put into them. However not everything is perfect here, as a lack of polish and a combat system ripped directly from Batman: Arkham Asylum, implemented poorly, puts a few dents in this otherwise decent super hero title.

GAMEPLAY
With combat lifted directly from Batman: Arkham Asylum the gameplay itself can be a lot of fun. The combat system will feel like Batman:AA but have some roughness to it, as if they never bothered to polish up the mechanics. Shield throws and combat moves look great, feel responsive and hit with force; yet come time to get in close for some melee combat and grapples the controls suddenly feel unresponsive. This could lead to some frustration when you grapple an enemy and basically reach against them and nothing happens! It is probably the biggest setback to the game, in my opinion. The good thing is, this is something you can easily over-come as you play and learn the distance and timing needed to pull off grapples and moves. The platforming segments felt a bit like Uncharted, where the Captain would tend to snap to the objective if your timing was right. The problem here is there is no real direction to aim. Just tap the buttons and the Captain makes his jump which made these spectacular acrobatic sequences feel less spectacular.

Pushing past the control problems, everything else functions as intended. The game mixes it up with your combat, and Captain America gains XP which he can use for upgrades. Collectables are also littered throughout the game which adds to the exploration factor(plus gives bonus experience). When it comes to enemy AI, I wouldn't expect much. Often you can just take out enemies from a distance with shield throw and in some cases just sneak around them as they stand there oblivious. As for level design, there is a slight open world feel to the areas. Levels are wide spread and offer some ability to explore, but other than bonus items randomly laying around there isn't much to see. Your objective sometimes might not be made clear to you but it adds that sense of exploration that avoids making the level design feel dull.

GRAPHICS
This is where things tend to turn south for the game. While the graphics are not bad, they are not very impressive either. Animations during cut-scenes felt choppy, and the overall graphics of the game felt under-whelming. To make things worse, the frame-rate chugs in spots for no reason. I found this to be present on both the PS3 and 360 versions so it had to be something inherent to the way the game got coded. The game is 3D Capable but I was unable to test this feature. While not a total sour note, the graphics/frame rate could of been better or at least polished up more

SOUND/STORY
While not the best storyline out there for Captain America, it does its job well. It is a means to get you from point A to B while keeping things flowing steadily. The Sound itself is actually not bad. The voice acting felt a little bland/sub-par but overall it was better than I was expecting. Combat has good impact, and the music / ambient sounds did a decent job trying to give added depth to each level/area.

REPLAY/LENGTH
For a game of Captain America's style, it felt fairly standard in terms of game length. You probably will get around 5 - 7 hours of gameplay depending on your need to explore for bonus items, combat creativity etc. Replay value is mixed. You can replay the game on higher difficulties and/or partake in various challenges to earn more Intel-points(xp). I personally found no want to revisit the game once completed, or dabble much with the challenges. However, for the Captain America fan I could see a possible revisit at higher difficulty levels and the challenges offer some interesting scenarios that could easily keep you busy for a while.

OVERALL ... 75% (7.5) C
While Captain America is not a great game, it is a GOOD game! A welcoming surprise for a movie-tie in game. What holds it back is that lack of polish that could have boosted it into the 4 star range. Choppy frame-rates and control problems put a damper on what could of been a really nice Batman: AA style game. Even with its problems the game can be enjoyable as long as you don't have high expectations. Another thing that works in this game's favor is the pricing. At release it was priced at $49.99, and on sale it has already hit the low price of $38(7/22/2011). If priced at a staggering $60 launch rate this game I could easily see as a rental, but instead it is priced fairly for what it is. For those Cpt. America fans, or those who enjoyed the combat aspects of Batman: AA, this is a title that won't leave a bitter taste in your mouth if you decide to purchase.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2011
This game if far from perfect, but it is very enjoyable and at it's low launch price it is worth a try. The last few games the Sega put out for the marvel universe such as Thor and Iron Man 2 weren't worthy of the titles, but this one is well above their standards.

The game has some control and camera issues but overall perfection is a hard thing to obtain and this game does the job. If you enjoyed the Wolverine movie tie in this game will give you an enjoyable experience.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2011
Yeah I know, weird title. I'll explain. They copied the fighting system almost exactly off of Batman: Arkham Asylum & there's a lot of sections where it feels like you're playing a Prince of Persia game as well. With that being said....this game was, are you ready for it? Really good. Incredibly surprising & a freggin' blast. I've never been a huge fan of the 'Cap, but I do love Marvel & WWII history. Wouldn't have bought it for full price but at the 40-45 bucks I got it for & it's at now, I HIGHLY recommend it if you like anything I mentioned above, you should definitely give it a try. Most games based off movies that are about to come out suck & they blast them out quick without any thought, this did not feel like that at all. I haven't played them all, but I'm not scared to say that I think this is the best movie based Marvel game out there yet. Love that shield!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
Everyone knows all the SEGA/MARVEL games have been horrible. However...Someone didn't get the memo and made a pretty rocking game. its a llittle rough on the edges, but otherwise a super great game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2014
Playing the game and going through all the levels was an experience like watching the movie. I really enjoyed going through all of the trials and puzzles. It was a challenge for the serious player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

$74.99
$4.65-$90.99
$61.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.