Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Power of the Atom
This volume collects Captain Atom issues 1-6.

Airforce pilot volunteer/guinea pig, Captain Nathaniel Adam, has become the God-like super being, Captain Atom. As part of the crippled Dr. Megala's project, Captain Atom is now a living WMD, a chance to do miracles with his power set, and a scared conflicted human being stuck with these dilemmas. Captain Atom has...
Published on December 12, 2012 by Slim Cat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Good Start
Captain Atom is described as a nearly all-powerful super hero who struggles with the ideas of how to use his power. The idea is interesting, although not very novel, and the execution misses the mark.

Captain Atom is a pilot, who through an accident becomes an atomically powered superhero. It's not a particularly novel origin, but in comics this sort of cliche...
Published 13 months ago by Beyondmymargins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Power of the Atom, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain Atom Vol. 1: Evolution (The New 52) (Paperback)
This volume collects Captain Atom issues 1-6.

Airforce pilot volunteer/guinea pig, Captain Nathaniel Adam, has become the God-like super being, Captain Atom. As part of the crippled Dr. Megala's project, Captain Atom is now a living WMD, a chance to do miracles with his power set, and a scared conflicted human being stuck with these dilemmas. Captain Atom has the ability to absorb and redirect energy, rearrange atoms at the atomic level, and draw fear and hatred from other scientists and the military. Captain Atom must also deal with disasters emerging that may have arisen from the use of his own powers.

This is quite a different superhero book. J. T. Krul weaves a tale with less physical blows and more philosophical brain teasers. He takes a man of good moral character and gives him remarkable abilities and then spotlights the internal struggle within.

Even those chasing after him are not without justification. Dr. Alexander and General Eiling (a bad guy in the old DCU) are after Captain Atom for the threat he could be, and some events that happen over the course of this book make the reader wonder if they are right.

This is also a look at Nathaniel's want to use his powers for good, but what is too far. A young boy cries out to him to fix his brain tumor and without the scientific knowledge Captain Atom does. Is this right to do so? The book also examines how Nathaniel wishes he still was human. Dr. Carter works with Dr. Megala to help Nathaniel and it is obvious they have feelings for each other. But the powers have a way of making such a relationship impossible. There is a great chapter with a cameo by the Flash that shows that even other superhumans find him scary. Captain Atom truly is alone.

The art is beautiful. Freddie Williams II has a simple but complex vibrant style that shines page to page. Williams II and colorist, Jose Villarrubia, do an excellent job of making Captain Atom and the use of his powers pop off the page and are in contrast to the mundane world around him. The covers by Stanley "Artgerm" Lau are awesome as well.

Very engaging book written very well with gorgeous art. Some may find this boring as it lacks in the slugfest department, but it still has an engaging story and cast of characters and their dilemmas over the almighty powerful Captain Atom. Sad that the series was cancelled but I will get the next collection, for the finale, due in August next year:Captain Atom Vol. 2: Genesis (The New 52)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do the Evolution, January 20, 2013
This review is from: Captain Atom Vol. 1: Evolution (The New 52) (Paperback)
Captain Atom is one of DC's Silver-Age characters who has been one of the C-list names that floats around in the DC Universe, but lacking his own series majority of the time. With the New 52, he's been giving another chance to star in his own series. Going with the New 52 way of changing up characters for new readers, Captain Atom is given a new perspective that I really enjoy and hopefully new readers will too.

CAPTAIN ATOM VOLUME 1: EVOLUTION collects issues #1-6. U.S. Air Force pilot Nathaniel Adam was caught in a terrible experiment with the quantum force and instead of dying, becomes Captain Atom, an energy-based life form who uses nuclear energy to bind and control protons and neutrons from all objects. Atom is still trying to comprehend the full nature of his powers, which leaves many people to believe Atom is threat to everyone around him. Even Atom's powers themselves leave him unstable. Will the world see him as a monster who will destroy everything? Or a living god-like being who can change fate?

Writer J.T. Krul writes an introspective look at Atom that plays with the concept of having god-like powers and the effects it has on those around him. Instead of the old DC Captain Atom where he simply absorbed energy and expelled it back at opponents, Krul delves further into a being who controls atom energy in all forms by expanding his power set. He can teleport, go invisible, intangability, change objects into other shapes and forms, and even shrink himself are just a few powers he shows off. This makes Captain Atom one of the most powerful and under appreciated beings in the DCU (and very similar to other DCU hero Firestorm in some cases) and the majority of the book is about the positives and negatives such a being can do.

Krul's new Captain Atom plays out very similar to Alan Moore's own Doctor Manhattan. His look, his power set, and even thinking is very similar. Now before you say Atom is ripping off Dr. Manhattan, know that the Manhattan character is originally based off of Captain Atom himself, so please don't confuse the two. Even if Atom is now a Dr. Manhattan-type character, it still comes off very well and you want to see where it goes. Atom does all types of miracles and disasters, and yet Atom himself just wants to do what is right. Atom feels like any normal person (even with god-like powers) and you really get behind his struggles. That's where the book really shines.

Art by Freddie Williams II and color artist Jose Villarrubia make a stunning book. All of the characters and backgrounds are giving a stark black and white texture, with muted colors to make Captain Atom pop on the pages with the ink-washed and vibrant blue colors. Your eyes can't help but look at Atom and being in awe of his presence.

I didn't feel any negatives in this collection, but it never wowed me. Probably because of the comparisons to Captain Atom and Dr. Manhattan, which also might turn people off because of their similarities. And the most heart breaking, Captain Atom gets cancelled after issue #12 and #0. So if your one who wants to get on a long series, Captain Atom sadly won't happen.

CAPTAIN ATOM VOLUME 1: EVOLUTION is a pretty fun, deep, and colorful book that fans of the character might really enjoy. Even if Captain Atom Vol. 2: Genesis (The New 52) (Captain Atom (the New 52)) is the last book before the character gets cancelled in the New 52, I think it is still worth checking out a lesser known character and having a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars God-hero, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Captain atom is clearly the toughest super hero out there,he even puts superman to shame! I liked this graphic novel because it was purely original. Essentially, you are dealing with a hero who's only limits are the one's he puts on himself. He has no weaknesses and is just plain cool. We've all read about super heroes with obvious limits, but you are in for a surprise in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Good Start, November 26, 2013
Captain Atom is described as a nearly all-powerful super hero who struggles with the ideas of how to use his power. The idea is interesting, although not very novel, and the execution misses the mark.

Captain Atom is a pilot, who through an accident becomes an atomically powered superhero. It's not a particularly novel origin, but in comics this sort of cliche is pretty common and I'm willing to overlook it.

Thematically, the first volume deals with Captain Atom's isolation from humanity and his struggle with how to deal with his powers. I like the idea of exploring these themes. Comics don't have to be action oriented all the time. But these themes aren't particularly novel and they aren't explored here very well.

Captain Atom is isolated from humanity. The superhero isolated from humanity has been done a lot already. We get that he is a superhero and he's lonely, but there isn't much of the humanity he is isolated from in these issues. He only has one friend and she's a pretty flat, unfleshed out character herself. There's nothing here to feel isolated from in the first place. It feels like a hollow cliche.

Captain Atom has incredible powers but doesn't know what to do with them. How far should he go? Again, this has already been done and it isn't very well done here. Captain Atom's meditation about the ethical reach of his powers are disjointed from any sort of story line, so they feel more like a disruption than the integrated angst of the superhero.

The artwork isn't anything remarkable. It has sort of a watercolor effect to it but somehow it doesn't feel finished, especially with the backgrounds and other characters. The world outside of Captain Atom is as unfinished in its illustration as in its written incarnation.

The Good: I give the creative team points for wanting to have a comic series that focuses so strongly on ideas rather than just action.

The Bad: The execution here is just unoriginal and badly done. It's not coherent as a story line and the ideas aren't fleshed out enough to be anything more than hollow.

The Bottom Line: Captain Atom is a noble attempt at a series with lots of ideas, but the execution is some of the worst writing and illustrating of DC's New 52.

See more of my reviews @ beyondmymargins.blogspot.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Plain and unoriginal!, April 22, 2013
By 
S. Penrose (Small Town, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Captain Atom Vol. 1: Evolution (The New 52) (Paperback)
My history with Captain Atom is pretty limited and after reading this I wonder if J.T. Krul's is as well. He basically writes a combination of Firestorm and the Hulk with a complete lack of personality. DC Comics' New 52 was supposed to energize new readers with stories they've never seen before and this certainly isn't the case. Krul's plot and dialogue are both bland. The art by Freddie Williams is good but looks unfinished. Overall, this book does nothing to get new readers interested in Captain Atom and that's a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A New Introduction to Captain Atom, September 14, 2014
By 
This review is from: Captain Atom Vol. 1: Evolution (The New 52) (Paperback)
A so-so introduction to the New 52 Captain Atom. The story deals with a few issues but really doesn't have a major plot line. Basically, this is an introduction to Atom, not exactly a complete origin story, though throughout we're given enough info to piece together a good idea of his past. Atom is completely unstable at this point and is doing a lot of soul searching as he tries to understand what he is, the book get's a bit science-y as Atom tries to understand his new nuclear self and of what exactly he is capable. The second half of the book is better as Atom has a team-up with Flash in a brief cameo and Atom ends up battling a monster by book's end. But still through the second half Atom starts to contend with whether he is more weapon or bringer of justice and healing. He also learns he may have to except a solitary life. Not exactly a thrilling story, rather ho-hum, but an introduction that gives a deeper understanding of a superhero who pops up here and there in the New 52 Universe. There is a sequel to this which I will read but wouldn't run out and buy. New 52 readers could easily skip this one, unless you are a completist. (like me, LOL!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New - Not Good, October 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I haven't read comics for quite a while. Captain Atom was one of my favorite characters from the '80's. This version is so completely different that I can't even compare him to the old character. Don't read this if you remember the old Captain Atom.
The story wasn't exactly inspiring either. It was quite depressing. It seemed that the writer had a plot line planned; however, he didn't do a great job in taking the reader with him. It seemed very disjointed and hard to follow. ...and not exactly a fun or exciting superhero story.
The art was not what I was expecting. This was very strange artwork. I'm not an art critic so I can't exactly describe what I didn't like so suffice to say that the art did not appeal to me in any way.
Again, Captain Atom is one of my favorite characters in comics. That being said I will not be buying volume 2 of this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middle of the road, February 3, 2013
This review is from: Captain Atom Vol. 1: Evolution (The New 52) (Paperback)
I was looking forward to reading this, as I am a huge fan of the 1986 Captain Atom series written by Carey Bates and Greg Weisman (the latter being best know for "Disney's Gargoyles" and "Young Justice"). That series was excellent, and it is a shame that it seems to have gone uncollected. It focused more on the military aspects of the character, with a fair amount of conspiracy elements to it.

This series...wasn't bad. It's an entertaining storyline, though I didn't find it particularly exciting. They made Captain Atom into a mainstream DCU version of Doctor Manhattan, borrowing much of what made that character interesting and melding it with the preexisting backstory. It works well enough, but it didn't grab me the same way that Weisman/Bates did. Probably just not what I was looking for in the character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My review, March 29, 2014
By 
Monica F (Fredericksburg, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In this collection we learn of the history of Captain Atom and some of his adventures.

Well illustrated and formed though somewhat cartoony graphics add to the storyline and characters.

Characters are somewhat stereotypical and confrontational.

Overall, an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two Thumbs Up!, March 21, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Mostly Harmless" (Somewhere inbetween genius & insanity) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain Atom Vol. 1: Evolution (The New 52) (Paperback)
A very good series that attempts to show a "realistic" portrayal of what happens when an ordinary man becomes superhuman. I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Captain Atom Vol. 1: Evolution (The New 52)
Captain Atom Vol. 1: Evolution (The New 52) by J. T. Krul (Paperback - December 4, 2012)
$14.99 $13.49
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.