Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars30
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 12, 2015
As one of the icons of jazz Stan Getz has invigorated jazz since his early days. Adding to the lexicon of jazz from his beginnings through to this album. Chick Corea provides the latin/samba influences, along with the vibrant fusion at the time this album was produced. But Stan's contribution, with his innate understanding of the tones and rhythms of samba, contributed significantly to the final outcome of this album.

One of my favorite all time jazz albums. Charlie Parker, Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Stan Getz, Dave Brubeck, Gerry Mulligan, you can't go wrong.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2012
The incredible drums of Tony Williams with one of the three best saxophone players all times: Stan Getz (you name a couple more)
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2014
ONE OF STAN'S BEST,LATIN TINGED JAZZ,HOT SAX AND MUSIC.THE SUPPORT HE GETS FROM THE BACKUP-THE CREAM OF THE CROP OF THE YOUNG CATS OF THE DAY IS INCREDIBLE.I FIND NO FAULT-JUST ENJOYMENT WITH THIS CD.EXTRA CUTS-WHAT'S NOT TO LIKE.ENJOY AND LISTEN TO THE SAMPLES.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2004
I had the opportunity to catch Getz perform at the Village Gate, NYC shortly after this recording, so maybe I'm biased. I believe Getz had the ability to make any style sound so relaxed...COOL....You know,.... Mellowwwwwww!!!!That was Stan The Man. Pick up on this fussion, Latin, synthoid, what's-a-ma-jiggy sound. Dig Captain Marvel! It's so....GETZZZZZZZ!!!!!
0Comment3 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2006
This is a great CD. Don't miss it. Buy it now.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2014
A completely different side of Stan Getz - fiery and impassioned! Check out La Fiesta especially
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2014
love it
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 20, 2004
Captain Marvel is Marvelous elsewhere, but this was not his decade or medium. The Fusion decade was a disasterous mistake for many Jazz players. Getz could play the notes as well as anyone, strove to show he could play anything, but his sound was ill-suited to Fusion.

Columbia, for some unknown reason, took "The Sound", arguably the best saxplayer there was and recorded him far too bright. Bright, harsh and bass thin.

Getz was having personal problems, health problem and divorce problems in the 70's and they show.

Don't get me wrong, I love most Stan Getz stuff. Just trying to save you money! Caveat Emptor. See my list for many better Getz recordings from the 1940's through the 90's.
0Comment13 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2004
Love some of Getz's work and really dig sides by the supporting cast here. RTF was and is still awesome but this disc just doesn't do it for me. I don't think the players were a good fit for each other. Some claim this is a masterpiece, if so why no Grammy or on the jazz best seller lists like Miles KOB and others. Not my cup of tea and just my opinion. Getz's Anniversay and Serendipity are much better.
0Comment4 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 15, 2001
During this period of his life, Stan Getz was having a lot of personal problems. see below. Also, in order to be trendy, he decided he, too, would play Jazz Fusion. One one the worst decisions of his life, he would abandon these Fusion experiments in the 80's and resurrect his career. His beautiful sound is lost amongst the Fusion rumblings and grumblings. Getz was out of sync with the other players and never comfortable with Fusion.

"Lush Life" is the only cut where Getz seems comfortable.

Beyond the bad Jazz Fusion idea, the CD recording quality is glaringly bright, glassy, harsh and almost painful to hear.

That is to say, not only does Getz seem lost and play poorly here, during this time in his life his rich wife was then secretly dosing him with the drug Antabuse, so everytime he tried to get high he got violently sick. She thought she was saving his life, he thought she was poisoning him. He tried to divorce her, she sued for half his earnings. The fight went to the Supreme Court, the first divorce case to do so.

Let the buyer beware. Don't expect this to sound like other Getz. There is always someone who raves up anything, however bad. I'm just trying to save your money.

I got this CD when it first came out, more than a fifteen years back.

To find better jazz from Stan Getz, The Sound, (usually) the Greatest Saxophonist of all time, one should generally look before 1970 or after 1980.
44 comments8 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$14.19

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.