Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spiritual Perspective on Remote Viewing
One of the more extraordinary of the stories about Edgar Cayce’s psychic ability is the time he was preparing to do a reading for a client in a distant location. As he, he noted that the client was not present at the location mentioned in the client’s letter requesting the reading. In a moment, Cayce announced, “Oh, here he comes now” and began the...
Published on February 8, 2002 by Henry Reed

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, very redundant with hints of egotism. Why on earth would anyone write a book about a subject that he is unable to discus
Boring, very redundant with hints of egotism. Why on earth would anyone write a book about a subject that he is unable to discuss openly due to oaths and security concerns? Perhaps the second half is more interesting. I lost interest and couldn't continue. To those interest in the subject, Russell Targ's Limitless Mind is excellent. well with your money.
Published 2 months ago by Avid Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spiritual Perspective on Remote Viewing, February 8, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul: Living with Guidance with CDROM (Paperback)
One of the more extraordinary of the stories about Edgar Cayce’s psychic ability is the time he was preparing to do a reading for a client in a distant location. As he, he noted that the client was not present at the location mentioned in the client’s letter requesting the reading. In a moment, Cayce announced, “Oh, here he comes now” and began the reading. The client had just returned home.
A few years back, on a television program called “Put it to the Test,” they showed a demonstration of Joseph McMoneagle, who had worked as a “psychic spy” for the CIA. In the session, McMoneagle was asked to psychically spy a location far away known only to a couple of individuals. It was the Los Angeles harbor. McMoneagle does a pretty good sketch of the major visual elements of the scene. As he does so, a large freighter passes through that point in the harbor. McMoneagle notes that something has come onto the scene that is blocking the view. The television reporter was flabbergasted at the immediacy and accuracy of McMoneagle’s demonstrable psychic abilities.
That particular television program was in response to the startling revelation that the CIA had been using psychic spies. In an unusual break with secrecy, the existence of “Stargate,” the code name for the government project to use the clairvoyant skill of remote viewing as an intelligence gathering method, was headline news. The fallout of this revelation was gradual “coming out” of persons who had participated as psychic spies. Another fallout was that remote viewing catapulted from an arcane laboratory methodology to the subject of many new consulting firms serving corporations and investment firms who wanted to gain the latest advantage.
The impression created about remote viewing from the publicity surrounding its birth into public awareness was that it was a “psychic power” with all the ambivalence that the word power evokes. It could be used for competitive advantage and personal profit. It was lacking in spiritual value. The term remote viewing, with its technological tone, adds to that impression of sterility. What would be a spiritual use of remote viewing? Edgar Cayce once surmised that the highest use of psychic ability would be to hear the voice of God. As remote viewing is outgrowing its birthing rags, it is beginning to approach the idealism of Cayce’s vision. It would seem that intuition, or psychic ability, first had to be put into the most sterile, technological and practical of terms to gain recognition, and now can be rejoined with its spiritual roots.
A supreme example of this evolution has its seeds in the military’s Stargate program itself. It is the book by F. Holmes “Skip” Atwater, Captain of my ship: Master of my soul (Hampton Roads). Atwater was in Army Intelligence when he “happened” to be Johnny on the spot with his knowledge of remote viewing to create the military’s psychic spying operation. He was, in fact, McMoneagle’s trainer. I used the word happened deliberately, as the subtitle of Atwater’s book is “Living with Guidance.” As he tells his life’s story, he had many psychic experiences as a child. His parents, members of the Unity Church, normalized his experiences with responses that made him feel that “everyone knew that.” His parents also taught him about spiritual guidance. As a teenager, he used his abilities to see into his hot rod’s engine to facilitate repairs. He was guided to join the army, to apply for the intelligence division, and to then start the remote viewing operation. After retiring from the Army, Atwater joined the psychic training organization, The Monroe Institute, near Charlottesville, Virginia. In this atmosphere, Atwater expanded the remote viewing methodology to embrace spiritual guidance. He proposes a variation of Cayce’s vision of “oneness” with the idea of “All That Is.” Psychic ability is a natural byproduct of our being one with “All That Is.” He explains that remote viewing is not really “traveling” or “seeing,” but merely an expression of our being “All That Is.”
Atwater’s tone is down to earth, personable, and reassuring. Reading the book makes you feel that you, too, can realize your connection with “All That Is,” to know your spiritual identity, to realize your purpose for this lifetime, and to gain the necessary guidance for the next step of your mission. The book certainly turned around my feelings about remote viewing. In his final words, echoing Cayce’s ideal of “individuality in oneness” Atwater writes,
“Open your heart. And with an open heart, speak the truth. Say to yourself from your heart, ‘I reveal the truth and realize that I Am.’ Put a smile on your face and carry love in your heart. Show the world you know that you are a divine expression of God I Am. See you around the campfire.” (reprinted from...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would I recommend this book as a Christmas Gift? Totally! It, November 21, 2001
This review is from: Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul: Living with Guidance with CDROM (Paperback)
It is time for Skip Atwater to take his place along with other giants in the field of Consciousness Studies. His new book, "Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul" shows what can happen when we, as individuals, pay attention to things that happen in our lives. As he connects the dots, he makes history, showing that truly, there are no coincidences as we travel down the pathway we call our life.

F. Holmes (Skip) Atwater, Capt., U.S. Army (retired) originated the U.S. governments psychic spy program we know today as Star Gate that used Remote Viewing as a tool to gather military intelligence during the cold war.

A good working definition of Remote Viewing is: "The acquisition and description by mental means, of information blocked to ordinary perception by distance, shielding or time." (Attributed to Ingo Swann, the Father of Remote Viewing)

As he so clearly states and illustrates by his own life examples, we are spiritual beings here for a mortal experience. He tells his story conversationally, like rafting down the Rogue River on a beautiful, sunny, Southern Oregon kind of day.

You float along, following his every word as he describes the hyper-normal things he encounters, experiences and learns from. Yet there are really exciting parts that get your heart thumping and palms sweaty like shooting over bubbling, effervescent rapids!

He is not afraid to use the parenthesis to insert bits of his engaging personality.
He doesn't recoil from sharing who he is because he writes with a self-confidence that is contagious.

For example, as he describes his reaction to experiencing Hemi-Sync (TM) first-hand in Robert Monroe's lab after Monroe asks him what he wants for lunch, Atwater writes: "I told him that it didn't matter to me. Secretly, in my mind, I was thinking that if I could get a six-pack of whatever had just happened to me, I would take that for lunch."

I'm a huge music fan. Let me use this example to illustrate my meaning. So many aspiring rockers looked at the Beatles and said to themselves I can do that.

He inspires us to stretch ourselves, listen to our inner voice (or voices, as the case may be) and to be the kind of parents who helped him learn about and accept his unseen, metaphysical world with an "It's all good" attitude.

Atwater weaves a spellbinding tale like a blend of Tom Clancy and Alice in Wonderland.
As he goes down his rabbit hole, or rather, floats out his Flavor Straw, we embark on a journey that I hope we'll be able to watch on the big screen or played from our DVD player.

Speaking of which, the accompanying CD-ROM alone is worth the price of this Hampton Roads release. I put in the CD which booted up nicely and sat here thinking, "Ohmygod, here are workshops and presentations from THE guy who originated the Star Gate program, presenting Remote Viewing Basics, running me through practices!"

The CD covers presentations (three plus hours of Remote Viewing straight from the horses mouth), Audio Gallery (hear Joe McMoneagle's historic Remote Viewing of Mars), Intelligence (Declassified documents on Remote Viewing), Photo Gallery (Skippy Atwater!), Video Gallery (Skippy in action!) and Hemi-Sync (TM) (two papers on this consciousness-expanding audio technology).

He is, after all, the Research Director for the world famous Monroe Institute.

A part of the declassified documents on Remote Viewing are introduced with: "Since the KGB has funded much of this research, there must be some classified work that has not yet been revealed, a major intelligence gap.While researchers in the West argued over the reality of paranormal phenomena, the Soviets appeared to be moving forward.This exacerbated the perceived threat to our way of life.If the Soviets had mastered remote-viewing surveillance techniques, the defense of our country was threatened."

I'd love to tell you more, but that would be like telling you what your Christmas gifts were before you had the fun of opening them!

Would I recommend this book as a personal read? Hell yes. Try to put it down!

Would I recommend this book as a Christmas Gift? Totally! It will be the one gift they remember the most.
by Cassandra Frost
Contributing Editor - Suite101.com, RV, Intuition, Consciousness Studies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read about extraordinary experiences, March 18, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul: Living with Guidance with CDROM (Paperback)
I just finished reading Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul. It is a wonderful book. But the facts behind the story are mind bending. I had the great opportunity to attend a forum last fall in Fort Collins, Colorado, where Skip was one of the speakers. The forum, four days long with numerous presentations, was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life, and Skip, one of the speakers, was one of the very best. I bought his book at this event and obtained his autograph, imagine my surprise when I opened the book for the first time three days ago (6 months after the forum) and found a personal observation about me along with the autograph. This only enhances my perception that Skip is a warm and friendly individual besides having unusual abilities and way above normal intellect.
This charachter trait also comes through in this book which details his extraordinary experiences throughout his life, during his army career, including the Stargate program, and with his ongoing work with hemi-sync at the Monroe Institute.
I am deeply interested in all facets of the paranormal/metaphysical and this book is a great source for factual data which is not forthcoming from most other mainstream scientific sources. Skip is one of the few exceptions. I found the data regarding remote viewing exceptional but my interest is really geared to an interest in hemi-sync and what the potentials are for me to utilize this program in a search for spirtual growth, for a deeper understanding of the levels of consciousness, and potentially an awareness of the other realms of the universe. If you too are looking for these opportunites, you will start finding some answers in this excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN INSIDERS VIEW OF ACTUAL RESEARCH BEYOND THE PHYSICAL!!, October 18, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul: Living with Guidance with CDROM (Paperback)
This perceptive man who had all kinds of "coincidences" since youth, can teach us alot about life in other dimensions while still in this physical body, government involvement in early "psychic" programs like STARGATE that Skip was involved in working closely with Stanford Research International and the prime scientists there on the subject. And what an interesting, down to earth description of all the things he went thru being in that "whacko" group in the military. And then learn about his intense sought-out involvement with the private Monroe Institute after military retirement. He gives us clear guidelines of how to gear up our perception so that we can engage BOTH parts of our brain, not just one, analytical, side, and participate in this exciting adventure of flying thru the dimensional universe AND ACTUALLY PARTICIPATING IN what all-encompassing life is all about!! It's nice to see "macho" guys interested in this "soft" stuff and guiding us into the new age of exploration, tolerance, and opening us up to the possibilities to "save our current world by saving ourselves from ignorance", etc. Just the greatest book for a balance of all that is hopeful in the world here today!! Even has a cd-rom included containing, amongst several other exciting things, the original audio recording (with transcript) of the remote viewing of Mars performed by his friend, Joe McMoneagle, remote viewer 001!!! Most importantly, his spiritual connection with the Oneness in the Universe is fabulous!! Even working with loved ones: (p.197): "I had come to know thru out-of-body experience and spiritual insight that what we call DEATH is but a transition from one realm to another. I see birth and death as doorways. . . So I see death not as a tragedy but as a welcome release from the confines of the physical body. Nonetheless, a few days after my sister's death, I sensed a whisper of soft-spoken authority from within. It was a call to action, understated but of profound, compelling strength. I was told to use the skills that I had mastered in the Lifelife program at the Institute to help my sister." What a great book, with a fitting title!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal, fascinating story, August 27, 2001
This review is from: Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul: Living with Guidance with CDROM (Paperback)
I found it really exciting to get an insider's look at the goings-on behind the scenes of this "thing" I had always heard about but never knew the details of, ie, the cold war era "psychic spy" program called Star Gate, which turns out to have been initiated by the author of this book, Skip Atwater. What made the book even more fascinating and gripping for me was how this story of intrigue was interwoven with the tale of Skip's growing spiritual awareness that started with his upbringing. His stories of his enlightened mother early in the book are truly inspiring. In short, he was raised with the knowing that it is normal for us to "see" beyond the so-called confines of the physical body, so when he became aware of the need for a counterintelligence program in response to the Soviet research on the topic of remote viewing for possible strategic and tactical purposes, this was a natural step for him and something he could translate for his US Army superiors who basically had never heard of or considered the idea of using psychic abilities to gather intelligence information. It's one of those stories that is so cool that it makes it even more cool that it is true and the guy who wrote it is still alive and kicking. It's truly an honor to get this fascinating story first hand. He even goes into the details of how he trained US Army personnel to do remote viewing, and how the different groups he contacted to do the training added to the overall picture of remote viewing and how it works. Skip is now the research director for The Monroe Institute in Charlottesville which is one of the groups that helped him with the remote viewing research and training. Get ready for a fun read, I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scientific and Spiritual, March 29, 2007
By 
Michael Way (Monrovia, Ca. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul: Living with Guidance with CDROM (Paperback)
F. Holmes "Skip" Atwater began the remote-viewing military program that is known as STARGATE. His book, "Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul" is a really interesting combination of autobiography, remote-viewing training manual, his involvement with Bob Monroe and the Monroe Institute and a presentation of his spiritual belief system based on his out of body experiences.

If you want some detailed instructions on how to do remote-viewing or are just interested in Atwater's spiritual out of body experiences, this book is a must read. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A deeply thought-provoking, metaphysical book, November 11, 2001
This review is from: Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul: Living with Guidance with CDROM (Paperback)
Captain Of My Ship, Master Of My Soul: Living With Guidance is the book and CD-ROM memoir of the truly remarkable author F. Holmes Atwater, whose life and military career as a clairvoyant counterspy led to the inception of a singular remote-viewing surveillance program. The CD-ROM that comes with this 226 page, trade paper book contains four declassified and redacted documents, as well as audio recordings and transcripts of his spiritual journeys beyond the limits of the physical body. Captain Of My Ship, Master Of My Soul is a deeply thought-provoking, metaphysical book about the voyages of consciousness and the inexplicable forces that govern human life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Interesting Book I've Ever Read, February 23, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul: Living with Guidance with CDROM (Paperback)
This is the incredibly interesting autobiography of Skip Atwater, originator of the U.S. military ESP remote viewing (ESP) program (renamed STARGATE when the program was declassified in 1995).
I usually found my 45-minute daily commute an exhausting, irritating routine, but in reading this book on the subway to and from work, the time flew by, and I wished the commute had been actually longer.
I wish I had read this book before I attended the remote viewing conference in Virginia Beach last Fall at the A.R.E. I would have been more prepared for what I experienced there.
Great book, Skip.
Regards -- The woman who had lunch with your publisher on the veranda at the A.R.E. while all the army helicopters hovered overhead and Ingo Swann did the walk around. !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing story with an inspirational message, November 25, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul: Living with Guidance with CDROM (Paperback)
Wow, I just finished Skip Atwater's book and I must say it was an incredible read about a remarkable time in our nation's history. The evolution of the program which utlimately became known as 'Stargate' is an incredible journey. One that wouldn't let me put the book down.
I recently had the pleasure to see Skip speak recently about his work on HemiSync technology and was very impressed with his scientific approach towards the subject. He is an incredible speaker as well and is an intriguing individual.
His book showed to me the other side of Skip, one that places trust in 'guidance' that we recieve throughout our lives, leading us ever closer to our destinies. It was truly a great read, and I have taken his message to heart, to live my life through guidance knowing that the path we seek will utlimately materialize because guidance is always with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skip Atwaters Navigates The Deep Water at The Monroe Institute, November 18, 2014
This review is from: Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul: Living with Guidance with CDROM (Paperback)
Great book and smart author. Clear and easy to understand discussion of his life and work in Virginia. The Monroe Institute of Virginia landed author Skip Atwater as its leader. Learn more about remote viewing and the rigors of its classes.

This book is not your average discussion of the RV program. Looks at the strict procedures and process and helps readers understand what helps the discipline and discovery of this science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Captain of My Ship, Master of My Soul: Living with Guidance with CDROM
Used & New from: $0.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.