Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny book!
Let's say you hypnotized your teacher into being a Wicked Wedgie Woman. And she started to terrorize the city. And your only hope was a guy wearing underpants and a office curtain around his neck.
But you actually have a chance. Because that guy wearing underpants and an office curtain around his neck is --TRA-LA-LA! --Captain Underpants!
This funny story...
Published on November 9, 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wedgie Woman!
Captain Underpants And The Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Woman by Dav Pilkey
You should read the book Captain Underpants And The Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Woman. This story is about a teacher who gets hypnotized by two bad boys that do bad stuff. George and Harold told their teacher to be nice but she was hypnotized to do the opposite so she started giving people...
Published on May 8, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny book!, November 9, 2001
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Captain Underpants And The Wrath Of The Wicked Wedgie Women (Paperback)
Let's say you hypnotized your teacher into being a Wicked Wedgie Woman. And she started to terrorize the city. And your only hope was a guy wearing underpants and a office curtain around his neck.
But you actually have a chance. Because that guy wearing underpants and an office curtain around his neck is --TRA-LA-LA! --Captain Underpants!
This funny story starts off when the two main characters, George and Harold (probably the most imaginative kids in the entire Captain Underpants world), trick their principal Mr. Krupp into signing a ``will-you-marry-me`` card and delivering it personally to their teacher Ms. Ribble.
Not till the day of the marriage does Mr. Krupp finally tell everyone (including Ms. Ribble) that George and Harold tricked him into giving the card to Ms. Ribble.
The next day, Ms. Ribble told George and Harold that because they made her so mad, she was going to lower their grades from B's and C's to F's and G's (even if there is no such grade as a G).
George and Harold were so mad at Ms. Ribble for doing the grade changing that they took the hypno-ring (from the first book of Captain Underpants ) and hypnotized Ms. Ribble to change their grades - and NOT turn into a Wicked Wedgie Woman, NOT take over the world and NOT try to destroy Captain Underpants .
But then George and Harold find out that the hypno-ring makes women do the opposite of what they=re hypnotized to do!
So now it's up to George , Harold and Captain Underpants to stop the rampaging Wedgie Woman before she takes over the world.
So far there are five Captain Underpants books and another fun activity book and they are all really funny. The one I just told you about is the fifth.
I think the fifth is the best and it deserves a few words. And if I were to put it on a scale of one hundred it would blow the scale up because it's such a great book.
Now you probably are asking , why is it so funny and great ? And I'll answer that right now. The thought of a guy wearing nothing but underpants and a office curtain around his neck saving a city from a Wedgie Woman is hilarious and also it's great when George and Harold find out how to destroy the Wicked Wedgie Woman and when Captain Underpants destroys the evil robots which you=ll find out about and other good reasons if you read the book. The only bad part of the story is that it's too short.
It's good for six-year-olds to eleven-year- olds or twelve-year olds depending on the kind of books you like. Read Captain Underpants and the Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Woman. It's the greatest book ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and Imaginative, October 22, 2001
This review is from: Captain Underpants And The Wrath Of The Wicked Wedgie Women (Paperback)
Captain Underpants threatens to change the way our children read. Exposure to these books will cause them to read faster, more often, with more enthusiasm, and at a higher reading level. They will start to think that reading is really COOL.
Pilkey is a brilliant storyteller. The writing is imaginative and challenging. My 5 year old is now breezing through words such as "torrential", "emphasize", "individuality" and "conformity". He and his seven-year-old brother now prefer creating their own comic books to watching television.
Some uptight parents might not want their children exposed to words like "pee-pee", "poop" and "doo-doo". They might also be squeamish about their kids finding out what a "wedgie" is. Those parents might be well advised to lighten up a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dav Pilkey Rocks!, September 1, 2001
By 
A. Y. Smittle (Winchester, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Captain Underpants And The Wrath Of The Wicked Wedgie Women (Paperback)
Shocking news! A review by a woman, for her daughter! Gasp, swoon! No you say! Ha ha! At last! The latest from Jerome Horowitz Elementary is out! We were very excited, my DAUGHTER and I to explore one more novella from the crazed depths of Gen Xer Dav Pilkey's mind. Aaaahhh, i was laughing, I was dying! Great references in the comic book, I loved the She-Ra/Superman undertones to the Starch comic. Gosh, this book is great! This is my humor exactly----I know my daughter still only gets half the jokes, (she still giggles like crazy tho) but I love reading them out loud as an adult, it adds to the savoryness of it all....! Dav (I feel like I'm on a first name basis with this guy...) has kept up the "quality" of silliness that has "pervaded" the last 4 Capt. Undies books. George and Harold get Mr. Krupp into trouble with Ms. Ribble...and Ms. Ribble takes it from there...to become-----just wait and read! Trust me, if you like James Marshall, the Dumb Bunnies or anything SILLY with a mix of potty humor, a wry young spirit and a flavor for the northwest, I suggest this series! For GIRLS or boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastico magnifico booko, May 6, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Captain Underpants And The Wrath Of The Wicked Wedgie Women (Paperback)
Follow George and Harold as they try to undo a horrible, hypnotizing accident with the help of the greatest superhero in the world,CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS. This action-packed thriller consist of two kids with large imaginations,a principal/superhero, a teacher gone wacko and two giant robots. This book is awesome for ages 7-14.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Underpants and the Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Woman, November 23, 2001
By 
truthbetold (Huntsville, AL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Captain Underpants And The Wrath Of The Wicked Wedgie Women (Paperback)
I purchased my first Captain Underpants a week ago for my 6yo 1st grader who is reading well for his age. He loved it and begged my to buy the other books in the series. He took it to show and tell at school, reads them at night rather than watch cartoons, and has gotten his cousin into them as well. The humor is directed perfectly to young boys and will get them hooked on the joys of reading. I highly recommend these books, especially for reluctant readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny!, October 17, 2001
By 
"timotea" (San Juan, Puerto Rico) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Captain Underpants And The Wrath Of The Wicked Wedgie Women (Paperback)
I am a twenty-three year old, and received this book as a stress-busting gift. Needless to say, I had never laughed so hard reading a "children's book". The author's way with language and illustrations is amazing; it even made me wonder why there weren't books like this when I was growing up.
Regarding those parents who are concerned for the literary quality of the "Captain Underpants" series, I can only say that kids need to have a balance in their "reading diet". The important thing is to get them excited about reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Underpants, February 14, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Captain Underpants And The Wrath Of The Wicked Wedgie Women (Paperback)
Captain Underpants And The Wrath of Wicked
Wedgy Woman by Dav Pilkey
Have you ever read a Captain Underpants book
by Dav Pilkey? They're very humorous! And don't
you wish you could walk around in your underwear
and a cape saving people? It's about a superhero
running around in underwear and a cape saving
people.
I would recommend this book because it is
very funny. The protagonist in this story is Captain
Underpants and the antagonist is Wedgie Woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for all ages, November 13, 2001
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Captain Underpants And The Wrath Of The Wicked Wedgie Women (Paperback)
Captain Underpants and the Wicked Wedge Woman is an SPECTACULAR book.It's a great book for everyone.It's a hilarious book with the evilest bad guy ever The Wicked Wedge Woman.The Wicked Wedge Woman is the meanest teacher of them all,but you have to read the book to find out who the meanest teacher is!This hilarious book is the best book of them all with the extremely corny animation flip-o-Rama.So if you like Captain Underpants books read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captain Underpants and the wrath of the wicked wedgie woman, November 12, 2001
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Captain Underpants And The Wrath Of The Wicked Wedgie Women (Paperback)
This Book is a great way to help kids like reading. It is an all action book and is highly recommended from the age of 5-12. Dave Pilkey is an excellant stoy teller and it would be a great idea to introduce this book to your kids. This book has made my day several times with its FLICK-A-RAMMA and funny illustrations.
Dave Pilkey is a brilliant example of what a child's author should write like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BeSt BoOk YoU WiLl ReAd!, March 7, 2007
A Kid's Review
Davante Armant Ela

Date 1/29/07 FD-BR

Captain Underpants and the Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Woman

Do you like to read funny books that make you laugh threw every single chapter? Well then you should definitely read Captain Underpants and the Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Women by Dav Pilkey. In this book George Beard and Harold Hutchins tries to get their teacher Ms. Ribble to change their grades back to normal because they tricked her into almost marrying the principal. So Harold Hutchins comes up with the idea of trying to hypnotize Ms. Ribble.

But little did both Harold and George know that the hypotonic ring they had purchased a while back worked differently on women. Every time they tell women something, the hypnotized female does the opposite. While hypnotizing their teacher Harold told her, you will change our grades back, not turn into wedgie women, not try to destroy Captain Underpants, and not try to take over the world. So now seeing how George Beard and Harold Hutchins made the mistake of their lives. Both George and Harold are now are now going to soon regret it.

If you want to find out what's going to happen to George and Harold then you should go out and READ THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Captain Underpants And The Wrath Of The Wicked Wedgie Women
Captain Underpants And The Wrath Of The Wicked Wedgie Women by Dav Pilkey (Paperback - September 1, 2001)
$5.99 $5.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.