Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 26, 2012
On the surface there is a lot not to like about this movie, especially if one is not a huge fan of either the perpetually inebriated Oliver Reed or the real life kidnapped heiress Patty Hearst, on whose experiences the story is loosely based.

What is great about the first half of the movie is the quite delicious and surreal abduction of our spoilt little rich girl heroine followed by some of the kinkiest torture and brainwashing that ever made it into a relatively mainstream 1980s movie... this made a great impression on me when I saw it cira late 80s and those scenes have stayed with me to this day, along with a lifelong kink for blacked out swimming goggles and hanging upside down half stripped by my ankles while attractive young women hug me and tell me it's all ok.

The second half of the movie has virtually no merits whatsoever, there is a very boring doomed love affair between our Hearst analogue and her Japanese boyfriend and too much of Mr Reed, so I would recommend just watching it to the half way mark for the good bits... unless you have a partner you're trying to recruit or test the water with, in which case tell them it's a romance :P and gauge their reactions to the interesting bits while you try not to blush too much.

The tagline for this movie was "They Imprisoned Her Body, But Freed Her Mind"... perhaps it will help you to do the same to someone else. ;)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
The director appears to have been unable to decide if he was making a film about the Stockholm Syndrome or a titillating action/adventure. You end up getting a bit of both, but not enough of either.

A rich girl is kidnapped and brainwashed by a group of anarchists. She eventually joins them in their violent (by 1960's standards) crime spree. Plenty of nudity during her torture/indoctrination, and several subsequent love scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
Give this one a miss. In spite of the blurbs, it's not so much salacious as tedious, with some scenes appearing to be injected because someone thought that they looked artsy and cool rather than because they furthered the plot. It's slow, often dull, and ultimately disappointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 1999
I saw this film years ago, and bought the soundtrack because I can't get a UK format copy. It is a superb film - subtle, intriguing and beautifully-shot. Oliver Reed gives a controlled performance and the other actors create an air of mystery; the soundtrack balances the imagery beautifully. Don't miss it...a classic.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2011
It had a mindless storyline, bad acting, bad lighting, poor directing, poor sound, you can't understand a thing being said. This movie is a complete and total waste of time, money and misplaced misery.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2010
First off, I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO happy that this movie is FINALLY released on DVD (I have been relying for YEARS on a VHS former-rental, praying it wouldn't die)!

Captive is not a movie for everyone. It is the story of the poor little rich woman (actually, her father is a real jerk - Oliver Reed) who is kidnapped by a few "domestic terrorists". They really are not "terrorists" so much as they see they misery this woman lives in and "free" her from her bounds using sensory deprivation and other means.

You have to remember, this movie was made in the 80's, so the clothes and the atmosphere are purely 80's. Actually, I had purchased the soundtrack for this movie from the 10 for a dollar cassette bin (Yes, I am a child of the 80's) and the soundtrack written and performed by The Edge from U2 moved me. It is sensual and visual. I wanted to see the movie and found it at a local rental store. I fell in love with the complete absurdity of the movie and ended up purchasing the cassette when the store went out of business.

This movie is experimental to say the least and the story does lack in a lot of areas, but the phrase I used - complete absurdity - is what makes this movie so great!

If you like off the wall, late-night movies from the 80's, this is the movie for you!
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 1999
Captive is arguably one of the greatest foriegn films I have ever seen. The Edge was outstanding in Capitvating the mood of the movie through the strings of his guitar.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2009
One word - AWEFUL. So aweful in fact that having forced myself to watch the entire film I then threw it in the trash. The one thing that could have really shone in this dire film was Oliver Reeds performance, who had so little screen time, that he may have not have bothered to have been featured at all. Poor guy. Other than the good grace of Oliver Reed's brief presence, it had a pointless plot, useless acting; poor film quality and a non-sensical ending. A waste of time and money.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2014
Kind of long and Booring Movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2012
This is a "Stockholm Syndrome" movie with sex as the means. The picture on the case is only a very small piece of what the victim went through.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.96
$13.84

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.