Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A load of fun and I even learned a few things!
I'm such a fan of the NPR show Car Talk, where Tom and Roy answer callers' questions about their cars, with equal parts humor and intelligence. This CD set includes some "Classic" shows, such as the time that the brothers' own mother appeared on the show (or called into the show) and the time that Martha Stewart appeared as a guest on the show. They manage to pick...
Published on June 1, 2012 by D. Lowenthal

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Many Duplicates
Many of these episodes are already on their other CD's. In fact one CD is dedicated to Mother's Day and is almost a duplicate of the Maternal Combustion CD. With so many programs and so few CD's I don't know why they duplicate them. If you don't already own any of their other CDs then this set would be worthwhile.
Published on August 16, 2007 by Dawn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Many Duplicates, August 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Talk Classics: Four Perfectly Good Hours (Audio CD)
Many of these episodes are already on their other CD's. In fact one CD is dedicated to Mother's Day and is almost a duplicate of the Maternal Combustion CD. With so many programs and so few CD's I don't know why they duplicate them. If you don't already own any of their other CDs then this set would be worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A load of fun and I even learned a few things!, June 1, 2012
By 
This review is from: Car Talk Classics: Four Perfectly Good Hours (Audio CD)
I'm such a fan of the NPR show Car Talk, where Tom and Roy answer callers' questions about their cars, with equal parts humor and intelligence. This CD set includes some "Classic" shows, such as the time that the brothers' own mother appeared on the show (or called into the show) and the time that Martha Stewart appeared as a guest on the show. They manage to pick friendly, articulate callers, and the banter with the callers is always a blast. Listening to Car Talk in my car turns a boring drive to work into a party! These guys leave me laughing all the time and definitely improve my mood. If you've had a bad day, this CD set is great therapy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Entire Episodes, Not Edited Highlights, September 1, 2013
This review is from: Car Talk Classics: Four Perfectly Good Hours (Audio CD)
The hosts of NPR's "Car Talk", Tom and Ray Magliozzi, offer highlights from their radio show with the theme of motherhood. If you are not familiar with the show, well it is unique. Two brothers who aren't really mechanics (but do have a lot of experience fixing cars) take calls about cars and car repair. They laugh and mercilessly kid one another and sometimes actually get around to offering advice on how to fix a car.

This a a 4 CD set featuring four entire hour-long episodes, which is different than many of their collections that are composed of a series of edited segments. While this is mostly highly entertaining, especially the segment with Martha Stewart (to me, Stewart can seem stuffy and stiff on her show. She rolls with these two jokesters and their enjoyable, sophomoric antics and holds her own and exhibits a quick wit) there are segments that I could only characterize as wearisome, such as the childhood letters home from summer camp from a staff member of the show, John "Bugsy" Lawlor. Thankfully, it is fairly short and the brothers get back to taking phone calls.

The calls in this one are interesting, including an Aussie who wants the recommendation of a good car to drive in Colorado, a woman who went behind the back of her regular mechanic and took her car someone else and my favorite, the man who has a faulty dashboard indicator that keeps telling him that his engine is out of oil. The only way he can get it to stop is to pound on his dashboard, a technique that causes the brothers to nearly fall out of their chairs as they envision him driving and angrily pounding away.

The third CD in this set is a Mother's Day tribute featuring their mother. Most if not all of this material is on another CD that I recently listened to and reviewed, Car Talk: Maternal Combustion: Calls About Moms and Cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It features four complete shows from the authors' wacky call-in program on National Public Radio., September 24, 2013
This review is from: Car Talk Classics: Four Perfectly Good Hours (Audio CD)
Heard CAR TALK CLASSICS: FOUR PERFECTLY GOOD HOURS (High Bridge Company), written and read by Ray Magliozzi and Tom Magliozzi.

It features four complete shows from the authors' wacky call-in program on National Public Radio. Now I must confess to not being a "car guy," but that said, I laughed at much of what these real-life brothers (aka Click and Clack, the Tappet Brothers) had to say. In addition, I perhaps even learned a thing or two.

The calls covered a range of topics, ranging from how do you tow 9,000 pounds of barbecue equipment to how do you remove a stench from your car that can't seem to come out, and they almost always included bits of humor that didn't come across as scripted.

My only regret is that original episodes of CAR TALK are no longer on the air, in that the Magilozzi brothers retired in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guy Talk, September 19, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Talk Classics: Four Perfectly Good Hours (Audio CD)
I purchased this for my father who is losing his eyesight and looking for alternate entertainment to TV.
A couple of guys talking cars. They know their subject and have that "front stoop" sense of humor that
lets you laugh while you learn. He enjoyed this a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great deal, June 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Talk Classics: Four Perfectly Good Hours (Audio CD)
I like the idea of recycling and Good Will making a buck too! Good condition and I really enjoyed the CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars order for my father, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Talk Classics: Four Perfectly Good Hours (Audio CD)
My father refers to them often. I've never listened to them. But if my father likes the material, it's worth the purchase. I love being able to have it shipped directly to him. Thank you Amazon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Car talk classic, January 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Talk Classics: Four Perfectly Good Hours (Audio CD)
My husband and friends get to enjoy this at their shop. Will probably purchase more tapes when the time is right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My husband loves it, August 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Talk Classics: Four Perfectly Good Hours (Audio CD)
My husband loves Car Talk and Garrison Keillor and listens to them every week on radio and when they are not on radio he is playing the CDs. He has a huge collection of books and CDs and I have listened to some so many times I could repeat them word for word. Please make some new ones !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Talk Classics: Four Perfectly Good Hours (Audio CD)
The CD captures the essence of their humor and their skills to get people to open up and join the humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Car Talk Classics: Four Perfectly Good Hours
Car Talk Classics: Four Perfectly Good Hours by Tom Magliozzi (Audio CD - May 1, 2007)
$29.95 $26.96
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.