Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmmmm
What is it with all these bad reviews? I was 50/50 on whether to order a subscription to motor trend or car and driver. So I looked at some of the past magazines I had recently purchased (In the last 3 months as of 08/12/10) from motor trend and from car and driver. I went with car and driver, they are better. I read articles over the new 2011 Cobra Mustang in a Car and...
Published on August 12, 2010 by Maria C. Riley

versus
34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Used to be a great mag...
Unfortunately, when Csebra...Casasba....Csabsbreaedads, er, forget it, Editor CC took over the reigns, the quality of the mag dropped with it. Readers letters, specifically those with constructive criticism, are often met with sarcastic, child-like responses. There was many a time when I agreed with a reader's letter, only to read CC shoot it down. Where is this man's...
Published on August 12, 2007 by R. Lockhart


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Used to be a great mag..., August 12, 2007
By 
This review is from: Car and Driver (1-year) (Magazine)
Unfortunately, when Csebra...Casasba....Csabsbreaedads, er, forget it, Editor CC took over the reigns, the quality of the mag dropped with it. Readers letters, specifically those with constructive criticism, are often met with sarcastic, child-like responses. There was many a time when I agreed with a reader's letter, only to read CC shoot it down. Where is this man's humility?

The pictures and layout are still good. Some of the covers promise what looks to be an in-depth article, only to find out inside that it's a one or two page affair. All the US car magazines are swamped with ads, keeping our copy price down, the latter of which is nice. But after 16 years of subscription, I chose not to renew in March. I've been looking at recently resurrected Road and Track, and they have really changed their publication from stodgy old-fart affair to a modern, informative read.

Car and Driver doesn't need a new layout. It needs better management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 71 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Manufacture Biased Identity Crisis, February 6, 2008
By 
EmbeddedFlyer (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Car and Driver (1-year) (Magazine)
C&D was once entertaining, witty, objective and a great read. The staff worked well together and they put out a consistently good magazine. Then it went through some rough years where it got kind of tame and boring. Now, it's an ill fitting mix of new and old writers trying to be fresh and hip while being spoon fed by the car manufactures. The magazine lacks consistency, focus and any sort of clear vision as to what they're about.

C&D mostly seems to print what the biggest manufactures want them to. There have been several articles lately, such as on the new Nissan GT-R and Corvette ZR1, that literally mirror articles in other magazines even featuring some of the same quotes from the same car execs. You might as well go to the manufacture's websites and read their press releases.

There has been a lot of inconsistency in C&D's reviews. One car will be rave reviewed, and 4 issues later, will place near the bottom of a multi-car comparison test. The impression is very much whichever manufacture spends the most on ads, dinners, drinks, and other gratuities, gets top billing regardless of the quality and performance of their vehicles.

Some of the writing is entertaining, but that's offset by the same tired editors (Csere, Bedard, et al.) who largely keep writing the same stuff they've been whining about for a decade or three. The end result comes off as heavily biased, anything but objective, and an awkard mix of writing styles.

My suggestion: Save some trees and just skim the C&D website for their rare entertaining exclusive article and get the rest of your automotive news somewhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What happened to this magazine ?, March 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car and Driver (1-year) (Magazine)
Can barely contain my disappointment. Snarky mocking editors and perspectives that are simply not helpful or even interesting - I went back to C and D and could not have been more disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmmmm, August 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car and Driver (1-year auto-renewal) (Magazine)
What is it with all these bad reviews? I was 50/50 on whether to order a subscription to motor trend or car and driver. So I looked at some of the past magazines I had recently purchased (In the last 3 months as of 08/12/10) from motor trend and from car and driver. I went with car and driver, they are better. I read articles over the new 2011 Cobra Mustang in a Car and driver and in the motor trend and it was so much better in car and driver. In car and driver they talked over (I never knew) the cobra mustang isn't great because alot of the weight is in the front of the car because of the engine, and not to mention its rear axle, so on. Motor tend is a great magazine i love it but im only choosing one, if i could get both i would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, but fine for the money., January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car and Driver (1-year) (Magazine)
The journalism has slipped substantially, much like most magazines. However, you do need to consider their circulation and the fact that that gives them better access to test fleets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to get to know new cars, December 31, 2010
By 
E. Herrera "cassis" (Tegucigalpa, Honduras) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car and Driver (1-year) (Magazine)
This is a great magazine, including reviews and tests of newest cars, suvs, trucks, and super cars... nice pictures, and full of info related to the automotive world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This used to be a good mag, March 3, 2014
This review is from: Car and Driver (1-year) (Magazine)
Haven't read this in a decade and picked it up 'on sale' but I don't even read it anymore and definately won't renew. Thankfully my kids can use it at school for the car pictures in art class. The editors' attitudes and political leanings made me think this was a Fox property --- I don't need Obama bashing and tea party sentiment with my car reviews, thank you very much. The responses to the letters to editor are churlish and snarky. The writing is mediocre and the coverage is biased --- of the last 5 issues 4 have been about the Corvette. Before that it was a few on the Mustang. My suggestion would be to can the staff and start over and do 6 issues a year plus their year end wrap-up. They seem to have too much time on their hands and not enough to write about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I lke Car and Driver, September 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car and Driver (1-year auto-renewal) (Magazine)
I ordered the magazine because I'm thinking about buying a new car. Mostly I enjoy reading the reviews and seeing pics of latest model cars. It definitely fills the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Choice, May 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car and Driver (1-year) (Magazine)
I purchased this as a gift for my boyfriend and he loves it! He's always spitting out facts and having me read articles about upcoming projects in the car world. If your guy is into reading about technical stats, future plans, and looking at pictures of beautiful cars, this is the magazine for him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Car and Driver, April 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car and Driver (1-year auto-renewal) (Magazine)
My 12 year old son is a very big car lover,especially of luxury and exotic automobiles.He loves the car and driver magazine and can't hardly wait for the next issue.We were very pleased with the great price but it just took a little too long to get the first issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Car and Driver (1-year auto-renewal)
$59.88 $10.00
Usually ships in 6 to 10 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.