Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a steel nightmare....worth to read!
A very good reading. But do not begin this book if you are not ready to finish it! Once begun you will not be able to stop. Within a simple narrative framework reminiscent of traditional Sci-fiction, Dario Tonani drags you into a gripping, claustrophobic nightmare where the very meaning of being human is challenged. Dario reads the "Man vs Machine" theme not as a...
Published on September 23, 2011 by Massimo Carli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ghost in the Machine
Cardanica by Dario Tonani is a story that explores the danger of making machines too self-sufficient when they remain as cruelly logical as a computer tends to be. When the living characters here must rely on such thoughtful technology while trapped on a far off world of poisonous sands, their safe haven of a high-tech transport becomes little more than a prison.
As...
Published on December 20, 2011 by Sarah Baethge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a steel nightmare....worth to read!, September 23, 2011
This review is from: Cardanica (A Steampunk Nightmare) (World-9 Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A very good reading. But do not begin this book if you are not ready to finish it! Once begun you will not be able to stop. Within a simple narrative framework reminiscent of traditional Sci-fiction, Dario Tonani drags you into a gripping, claustrophobic nightmare where the very meaning of being human is challenged. Dario reads the "Man vs Machine" theme not as a struggle for power but as a dramatic symbiotic relationship that shakes the reader emotions. This was my first eBook, if Dario will continue to write with this quality it will not be the last!!..... just avoid eating before beginning.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrifying logbook, September 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cardanica (A Steampunk Nightmare) (World-9 Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A poisonous sand world where people travel inside big ship-trucks. Outside the protection of that structure, there are no possibilities of surviving in that inhospitable place but boarding a pneumoarc, the strange scape/survival vehicle that can detach from the ship and take people to a safer place like a Metroport. Garrasco, the Sandguard, and Victor, his second-in-command, knew that. So when the Robredo, one of the greatest pieces of engineering, lost power and shipwrecked they have to trust the pneumoarc to survive. But it ends up being more than a machine: a terrifying thing that drips oil and blood from the walls, where Garrasco and Victor are like prisoners.

Is surviving a matter of using others, letting them die?

A novelette mixed with a logbook, Cardanica is one of the most terrifying texts I've read this year. Dario Tonani's blunt prose leads the reader inside the pneumoarc among the characters to feel what they feel like: "Flesh on a course flesh."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Alive!, October 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cardanica (A Steampunk Nightmare) (World-9 Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Warning: slight spoiler alert.
Somewhere amidst the poisonous sands of World 9, the remaining crew of the crippled desert crawler, Robredo, face these terrifying realities: there is no escape from within the relentless autonomous survival craft, Cardanica; and someone will be culled to serve the needs of both the survivor and Cardanica.

But the most perplexing questions of all, with possibly the more terrifying implications, remain: why did someone design Cardanica this way, and what was the moral calculus they used to decide who would be the survivor and who would be the sacrifice?

Cardanica is a perfect way to start the Halloween season, not with ghosts or ghouls, but with a monster of man's creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Oil-drenched Glance at the Mechanical Bizarre, October 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cardanica (A Steampunk Nightmare) (World-9 Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
"Cardanica" grabs your interest and does not let go. It is a creaking, lubricated metal mystery of dark corners and suspicious mechanical motives that leads you through explorations of the limits of character and the fear of unfamiliar surroundings.

Excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a well lubricated desert odyssey, October 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cardanica (A Steampunk Nightmare) (World-9 Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Reading Dario Tonani's Cardanica has been a pleasantly unsettling experience. This novella is a perfect choice for those wishing for a greater daily dosage of pulpy gore in their literary diet, especially if read in the claustrophobic confines of an airport or plane.

It's the story of a cargo ship's crew inching through a harsh and remote desert world with little to control save their own psyches. Not much is known of their purpose except their eventual progression across the uneven sands, powered by a lumbering mechanical caterpillar of a vessel. Conjoined with the vehicle is a semi-sentient, self-sustaining and incessantly oiled "pneumoarc", the driving force behind an inevitable and undesirable turn of events.

Cardanica is a meaty however brief story containing a good mix of sci-fi, horror, and steampunk imaginings. It's definitely more than a work of simple shock value; rather, the story is a well-conceived peep into a dissolution of desperate events facing an unequipped crew. While leaving a fair amount of questions at its conclusion, the work justifies further exposition, perhaps best as a graphic novel, requiring a greater sense of closure. It's hard not to think of Cardanica as an overly oozing, anachronistic offshoot of Kubrick-inspired space drama, but is there anything wrong with that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome into the machine!, September 29, 2011
This review is from: Cardanica (A Steampunk Nightmare) (World-9 Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic and horrify trip! Great ideas, strong and fast rythm. Usually Humans are supposed to be the main characters, heroes or bad guys doesnt matter; Machines should help Man to survive hostile environments like Planet 9, the planet on which this short novel takes place...but in Tonani's novels you never know... Highly exciting! Highly recommended! After reading this short novel my illustrator mind couldnt stop creating images inspired by Dario's work. Bravo,
We want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shark-machine, September 24, 2011
This review is from: Cardanica (A Steampunk Nightmare) (World-9 Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Such a strange tale, would have to receive a strange review.

The first connection that comes to my mind is Pinocchio who, after a long research, is swalowed by the shark and finds Geppetto in its stomach. Both are going to gain freedom.
The second one concerns pregnancy: the programming code imposed on the two characters by an unknown "who", who creates a so deterministic connection, remembers me the relationship mother/child. Both of them have no control on the creation of a new genetic code and, at the same time, are embedded in a symbiotic physiological condition. The same as for the two men and that kind of "shark-machine".

I awore you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite enjoyable -a worthy read investment in both time and price, February 19, 2012
This review is from: Cardanica (A Steampunk Nightmare) (World-9 Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The other reviewers have given a flavor of this work - for me, the key feature of a good work is that I feel drawn into the world that the author has created. Cardanica has those properties.

The "steampunk" gives the piece a broad set of unfamiliars - unlike some Neal Stephenson works, these unfamiliars become more easily understood and propel the story forward.

As another reviewer commented, I could have kept going in this world and with this story line.

Note - I bought and paid for this book, without inducement or invitation from the author, publisher or other source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great All Hallow's Read Choice, October 21, 2011
By 
Kšthe (Hillsborough, NC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cardanica (A Steampunk Nightmare) (World-9 Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I told my daughter I'd been offered a copy of a book to review, that it was steampunk. She asked me to define "steampunk". I said I thought of it as anything set in a Victorian society with advanced technology created using the materials and machinery of that time. Mostly, I said, I think it's about the aesthetic.

By my own definition, this isn't steampunk, because it's set on another world, a poisonous one, and there's no hint of what the society is like within the narrow confines of the story. Narrow confines, indeed. If you're looking for a story, reminiscent of Poe, something to creep you or a loved one out around Halloween, maybe to give as a gift for All Hallow's Read, this is an excellent choice.

I got goosebumps from the delicious ickiness of it.

Review copy from editor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gore and Gears., January 29, 2012
This review is from: Cardanica (A Steampunk Nightmare) (World-9 Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Cardanica by Dario Tonani

This short story follows two survivors of a disaster in a poisonous desert. The life craft that they chose to escape in turns out to be anything by a lifesaver.

This book is a real page turner, the first few pages confused me, then, I was hooked. A real technophobe meets Kubrick piece of writing. The feel is dark and claustrophobic and the action dinghy and cruel.

A horror thriller to read and cringe.

Jeremy Poole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.