Customer Reviews


11,939 Reviews
5 star:
 (10,968)
4 star:
 (704)
3 star:
 (122)
2 star:
 (49)
1 star:
 (96)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3,781 of 3,975 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will ruin your life
This is not a review about playing Cards Against Humanity, it's a review of the fallout endured from playing Cards Against Humanity. Take it as a warning, if you will.

If you aren't a horrible person already, you will soon be. You will play Cards Against Humanity, and as others have said, you will be shocked, appalled, and worst of all, you will learn and...
Published on January 31, 2012 by mykie G

versus
540 of 744 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't-breath-tears-streaming-down-your-face-high-shock-value-game with a short half life.
Love this game. Seriously. Love it. I played the original with some friends and family and was in TEARS half the time because the combinations were just so hilarious/politically incorrect/awful. Many people were rolling and/or crying with every single round.

But there is where the high octane hilarity ended.

Don't get me wrong, I still enjoy the...
Published 13 months ago by Gregory M Blackford


‹ Previous | 1 21194 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3,781 of 3,975 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will ruin your life, January 31, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cards Against Humanity (Toy)
This is not a review about playing Cards Against Humanity, it's a review of the fallout endured from playing Cards Against Humanity. Take it as a warning, if you will.

If you aren't a horrible person already, you will soon be. You will play Cards Against Humanity, and as others have said, you will be shocked, appalled, and worst of all, you will learn and adapt. You'll reach for your smartphone and search for terms you've drawn such as "The Übermensch", "Heteronormativity", and "The Three-Fifths Compromise". You will commit these and many other newly-learned words to memory.

And that's where it all comes crashing down.

At first, you might allow "front butt" to casually wander its way into a conversation here and there. As more of your subconscious fights to unleash the trauma, you'll find yourself uttering "nipple blades" and "mouth herpes" in the most unacceptable of times. You'll visit the Cards Against Humanity website and bomb them with suggestions for new cards like "Cutting the cheese at a funeral" and "Scissoring".

Soon, you will meet up with new people to inflict Cards Against Humanity upon them and they'll be hooked. You will receive random voicemails and texts, asking for another hit of that "8 oz. of sweet, Mexican black tar heroin", and you will comply, because you're just as hooked as they are. They'll bring new friends in to freshen up the game...you will feel a rush as the look of shame crosses their innocent eyes as they win a round by playing "Amputees" against your "White People Like _____".

"I was just throwing that card away!" they'll proclaim, but you know the sad truth.

You will buy the expansion pack. You will host parties where you play through every card in both boxes. You'll wonder where the time went. Your face will hurt from laughing so much. Your friends will buy their own sets, and the infection will be passed on.

A team of rescue workers will find you you weeks later in your closet, frazzled, emaciated, and stinking from "Soiling Yourself", because you just couldn't stop with playing Cards Against Humanity against yourself. The light of day will strike your eyes and you'll gaze up at your saviors with pensive anticipation...

"Wanna play?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,870 of 2,166 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't pay over original list price, December 3, 2011
By 
Jill "Jill" (Concord, California USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cards Against Humanity (Toy)
I wanted this game, but it was sold out and 3rd party sellers were charging $70-$100 for what is usually a $25 dollar game. DON"T DO IT. You don't have to go without! Go to the manufacturers website. There is a version on PDF you can print at home or take to a printer and have your own temporary or trial version for $10. I did this yesterday, and my friends and I played last night. It was great fun! I still plan to buy a full version when they are available again at normal pricing, but I couldn't wait to try it out. You can also print a copy and give it as a gift with a little note saying the full version is coming. STILL it'll cost you less than folding and buying from a reseller. This is a Creative Commons game, and IMHO ripping people off is against the whole idea of Creative Commons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


569 of 666 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., April 16, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cards Against Humanity (Toy)
I'm pretty sure that owning this game is the only reason I get invited to parties these days. Worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cards Against Humanity (Toy)
So much fun, this game works so well with the type of humor my social circle enjoys. Also, we are probably going to hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun!!!, December 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cards Against Humanity (Toy)
So much fun, but don't play this with your parents, children or new people..they might get the wrong impression of you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


540 of 744 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't-breath-tears-streaming-down-your-face-high-shock-value-game with a short half life., July 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cards Against Humanity (Toy)
Love this game. Seriously. Love it. I played the original with some friends and family and was in TEARS half the time because the combinations were just so hilarious/politically incorrect/awful. Many people were rolling and/or crying with every single round.

But there is where the high octane hilarity ended.

Don't get me wrong, I still enjoy the game but after the shock value has worn off it just becomes an adult Apples to Apples.

Other things I've noticed:
The game doesn't have the desired effect with high brow sense of humor people. It seems like half of the cards are poop/sexual in nature which is fine but could cause quick burnout with your play group depending on their humor. What ends up happening (in my experience) is that people who have played the game more than once start to go for the deeper more obscure combinations that are funny to most but never win against the brute force of cards such as "pooping back and forth. forever."

I've come across another group who, unfortunately, went with the most shocking or dirty card to them even if it didn't make sense in the context of the black card played. This could be an undesired consequence of a few experienced people playing with completely new people. Just laying it out there so you wont be surprised when it happens to you.

Quality of the cards are pretty good but I've noticed several where it seems like the black ink on the back of the card is just too visible from the other side. It hasn't bled through, but the coloring on the mostly white cards just doesn't seem quite right.

Overall, I would recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a fun party game with friends who aren't offended easily and are equally gutter minded. Highly recommend using the "Lando Cardrissian" rule which can be surprisingly good at times. The other rules about manipulating the number of cards in your hand is aslo worth it because more options can only be a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


870 of 1,219 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have played with over a hundred people, everyone has enjoyed it, June 15, 2011
By 
Christopher Weed (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cards Against Humanity (Toy)
This is not just an apples to apples deck filled with anne frank cards. The basic structure of the game is the same as Apples to Apples, but there's so much more to it. I've played wiith a bunch of distinct groups of people... a lot of whom start the game by ranting their hatred for apples to apples. But once we start everyone wants to play until they run out of cards. This includes the game I played with my family and my 80 year old grandmother (although explaining some of the cards to her was definitely awkward).

There's a real art in how the question and answer cards fit together. It honestly feels like you're all sitting around telling jokes. At a certain point the game comes alive and as you play various rounds the humor of the group you're in seeps into the game. It feels creative. So yes the mechanic is basically ripped from apples, but they've taken it and truly made something new out of it. You and your friends will love this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


433 of 625 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than some game about Apples., June 15, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cards Against Humanity (Toy)
I was one of the Kickstarter benefactors for this game, and I do not regret it one bit. This game has brought hours of entertainment to myself and guests and I have subsequently purchased additional copies as gifts for friends and family.
Basically, this is Apples-To-Apples' sick twisted cousin who obviously has a lot more fun in life. I would recommend this game only be purchased for adults, as there are many cards which I doubt a parent would want to explain to their children.
Overall, I thoroughly recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In general it is a lot of fun with the right people, August 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cards Against Humanity (Toy)
This is one of those games where the people you play with do make a difference. In general it is a lot of fun with the right people, but there are some white cards that "try too hard", I prefer to remove those/write something new on them.

The kind of thing that is immense fun with drinks once in a while, but would lose much of the appeal it you play it with the same people on a frequent basis. The quality of the cards is a little flimsy, and the manual has some ink smudging, but for the price and relative enjoyment gained, I can't complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good times with cousins, December 21, 2013
This review is from: Cards Against Humanity (Toy)
Great time had by cousins and sibs at Thanksgiving gathering -- the laughter was never ending terrific birthday gift for 25 year old nephew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 21194 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cards Against Humanity
Cards Against Humanity by Cards Against Humanity LLC.
$25.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.