Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for improving your brand and career prospects
I've been contemplating switching jobs and industries. A friend recommended this book to me and I just finished it. This book will change the way you think about yourself and how to approach your career. In a world where employers can "google" any prospect, everyone needs to think about their career identity as they climb the corporate ladder. This book allows you to...
Published on May 30, 2007 by Manager from New Jersey

versus
38 of 54 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unimpressive
This book does not emphasize climbing the corporate ladder. Instead, it focuses on increasing one's chance of getting that dream job by improving one's personal brand (mostly through better resume, cover letters, and networking).

Although this book would be a good job search book, that is not what this book is branded as. It is branded as a book which allows...
Published on September 16, 2007 by Jaewoo Kim


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for improving your brand and career prospects, May 30, 2007
This review is from: Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand (Hardcover)
I've been contemplating switching jobs and industries. A friend recommended this book to me and I just finished it. This book will change the way you think about yourself and how to approach your career. In a world where employers can "google" any prospect, everyone needs to think about their career identity as they climb the corporate ladder. This book allows you to create and control your business identity and will teach you how to : brand yourself, build your online business identity; create your own story and goals. A must read for anyone looking for a new job-- or improving the way their current employer views them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's what they think that counts, April 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand (Hardcover)
This book was very informative and helped me shift from my last "job title" to a more deeper understanding of my unique value to an organization. This knowledge about myself improved with each chapter. You can download a free workbook which serves as a great self-coaching tool with well-designed written exercises. I completed this workbook and appreciated having this as I read the book. The book is well organized and easy to follow. The 360 tool is a nice offer..very interesting activity to discover how other people view your talents and attributes. I used to do similiar 360 processes when I coached senior managers. However, I wasen't able to get it done in the 15 day time limit. You can retake for a minimal fee of $15...You can also conduct an informal "360" of your attributes by asking friends and colleagues. The three "C's" clarity,consistency, and constancy are what you need to be when you "show up" to your target audience or customer. These concepts are reinforced throughout the book and are very useful when you are designing your business cards, networking, or preparing for a job interview. I recommend all job seekers to design their personal branding as they prepare to compete in this very
tough job market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Branding for Executives, June 3, 2007
This review is from: Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand (Hardcover)
This is a must read book for all executives! Personal branding takes executives to a higher level where they are projecting an authentic, unique, compelling brand that sets them apart from the competition.

As an executive coach, I use Career Distinction's fabulous branding process of Extract (chapters 4-7), Express (chapters 8-11) and Exude (chapters 12-14) with all of my clients.

Here's what Carlos, one of my executive clients in Minneapolis, MN says about his experience with Career Distinction's 3-step branding process: "I have a much clearer view of what I do, how I do it, and why it works for me. Instead of just being successful professionally and making money, I have a much better understanding of how to attain fulfillment, happiness, and balance. Today my work is still a fundamental part of my life but is no longer the center of my life. My branding statement is: `A passionate, multicultural, and enterprising leader who recognizes and seizes opportunities, exhibits savvy in relating to others, and achieves dramatic results by orchestrating, negotiating, and closing win-win deals.' And, my tagline is `Strategy-Orchestration-Negotiation.'"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE instruction manual for building a satisfying and successful career today., June 22, 2007
By 
Deb Dib "CEO Coach" (Metro New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand (Hardcover)
Career Distinction is really the bible of career branding for today's increasingly portable worker. I love the focus on proactivity -- and the step-by-step instructions on how to build a brand presence in one's niche (and how to niche!) Understanding and leveraging personal branding and value is going to be the difference between panic and power in today's job market -- where stability is gone and we're more likely to become serial freelancers than long-term hires. And heck, it lets us have more fun at work because the clarity of branding gives us a great shot at getting hired to do what we love to do, with people we love to do it with. Not bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 54 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unimpressive, September 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand (Hardcover)
This book does not emphasize climbing the corporate ladder. Instead, it focuses on increasing one's chance of getting that dream job by improving one's personal brand (mostly through better resume, cover letters, and networking).

Although this book would be a good job search book, that is not what this book is branded as. It is branded as a book which allows you to "stand out" by building an effective personal brand. This seemed like climbing the corporate ladder to me. I didn't realize this meant writing an effective resume, cover letter, and building a more effective network.

The authors digresses for a chapter or two into the subject of life coaching. They have generic advices such as understanding one's passion...how boring... It is almost as if they ran out of things to write about.

If you are interested in a job search, this book should be helpful. If you want to improve your corporate personal brand to climb the corporate ladder, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Total eye-opener for me and my personal brand., April 1, 2009
By 
Joseph Hollak (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand (Hardcover)
Quick, name the most important brand in the world.

Now imagine you are solely in charge of managing everything about that brand -- from marketing brand value and story to managing public perception and identity. Get it wrong and your brand suffers. Build and manage it correctly and you win.

Whatever your response was to the above question, unless you've read the book (read on), odds are you were probably thinking of a corporate brand. Possibly the brand you currently work for or some multi-national, mega-corp perhaps. Maybe a soft-drink company, fast food chain or computer giant entered your head when you read through the question.

Think closer to home.

The most important brand in the world of course is (insert your name here). "You" are the most important brand out there and that is precisely why you would read Career Distinction by William Arruda and Kirsten Dixson.

"One thing that links the most successful professionals at all levels is that they take a proactive approach to managing their careers. People who are ahead of the game don't wait for a career emergency to activate their network or update their resume. As Arruda and Dixson explain, you have to make career management a habit." ~ Martin Yate, Author of Knock `em Dead: The Ultimate Job Search Guide

The book takes the reader through a three-step process to evaluate and take control of his/her personal brand, both online and off.

STEP ONE: EXTRACT -- UNEARTH YOUR UNIQUE PROMISE OF VALUE

During this section, the reader goes through extensive, but easy to accomplish exercises that are designed to figure out what his/her current brand looks like and what his/her current strengths and weaknesses are.

It's easy to fool ourselves during these types of self-evaluating exercises to arrive on paper who we want to be or who we think we are, thus rendering the entire exercise useless in any real-world self-extracting process. The Career Distinction book along with the accompanying workbook and Web site knows this -- so the authors have set up an automated system for you to get real-world feedback from your friends, family, peers, colleagues, etc. In conjunction with the Web site, part of the exercise is to send via e-mail an evaluation allowing your peer group to anonymously rate, describe and evaluate you as a brand.

The Career Distinction site houses and tabulates all of the returned data from your peer group and it allows you to get an accurate assessment of the brand you are giving off as apposed to the brand image you want to be giving off. This extraction process is worth the cost of the book alone.

STEP TWO: EXPRESS -- COMMUNICATE YOUR BRAND TO YOUR TARGET AUDIENCE

Now that the book has carefully walked you through the process of discovering the brand you want to be known as and the brand you have been giving off to others (this can be the same image or surprisingly different), it is now time to express the on-brand image you will be in control of going forward. Is the world ready for your new brand?

In this stage the authors help you to build your offline marketing tools (resume, cover letters, printed bios, etc.) Keeping everything on-brand is now easier, manageable, and in focus thanks to the extract process in earlier chapters.

If you didn't already realize how seriously important your online brand is already, you will by chapter 10 and 11. Enough to make you regret any drunken college pictures you have floating around online. No worries though. By then end of step two (Express) you will have both your offline and online branding strategies in place and on-message. Hopefully you won't have too much repair work to do from past "digital dirt" as the book calls it.

With a firm understanding of your brand, your target audience and a strategy to reach your audience, all that is left is the final step.

STEP THREE: EXUDE -- MANAGE YOUR BRAND ENVIRONMENT

Step three is by far the most common sense of the three steps and should be a quick read. There is nothing to figure out or evaluate here -- all of the heavy-lifting has been done already. Step three is in place to hammer home the concepts of staying on message and delivering your brand in everything you do.

There is also a chapter on creating a "visual identity" (which I didn't find that helpful) and finally the book wraps up with a lite chapter on professional networking and building what the authors call good "career karma."

Career karma, in terms of professional networking, is the act of giving out more than what you take in the line of helping others professionally. The book is absolutely correct in the fact that if all you worry about is giving to others, you will eventually end up with far more in return than if you were to keep score and always be looking to take professionally from others.

And that's it in a nutshell. Published in 2007 originally, the book hadn't made it across my desk until a few months ago. If you haven't heard of it and you are at all concerned about building and maintaining a personal brand for career management sake, Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand is a must read. Find one used on Amazon and the knowledge it brings to you over the life of your career will pay for itself thousands of time over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are the best you anyone could be so make sure you are ..., October 9, 2014
By 
This review is from: Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand (Hardcover)
When we speak on the phone, talk to a person at the office, send an email, or even walk outside your home you project the type of person you are. What you are saying either positively or negatively to the world will leave that person with an everlasting impression, what does that say about you? You have but a few seconds to make hit the mark and you have to set your objective to make sure the communication coming from you to everyone else is what you want to be perceived as in a positive manner. You need to make sure your sense of self confidence comes through, a winning attitude, and reinforce your strength which empowers you and others.

How do you make sure you are doing all the right things, look deep inside yourself and write a list of what makes you the strong, vibrant individual you are and develop your own brand of self. You are the best you anyone could be so make sure you are conveying that with strength to solve problems, opportunities to be part of a team, communicate as well as you listen, consistently display how invaluable you are to your employer.

Design a website that highlights your achievements talking about your empowered state of mind, start a blog that makes your digital presence known without involving yourself in drama, understand your work environment is a display of your personality, and always dress for success. Make others notice you by creating a mission statement that sums of your positive believes and can do attitude, everyone should notice the good around you.

Want to be a great person embrace your mistakes, want to be a thoughtful human being celebrate your little victories, want to get noticed by others look inside and make sure all your great attributes are on display every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, actionable, valuable, August 18, 2010
This review is from: Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand (Hardcover)
A lunchtime conversation led me to google ways to do a 360-degree assessment of how others perceive my personal and professional skills and attributes. This book was the only first-page result that provided a concise, clear summary of a theory and approach to determine "who I am" in the eyes of others. Within an hour, I had read the first few chapters and sent out a survey to 140 people in my personal and professional network. Within 5 minutes, I got the first few results.

My only complaint is that the survey tool does not integrate with social media platforms such as Facebook or LinkedIn.

However, the brevity, simplicity and focused message of this book makes up for the burden of manually uploading a CSV file then deleting email addresses.

Overall, I highly recommend that all executives take the time (and risk) to survey those whom you have had good and bad relationships.

I look forward to learning more about my weaknesses so that I address them while I increase focus on my strengths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brand yourself for Success!!!, January 12, 2010
By 
Gregory Bush (Little Elm, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand (Hardcover)
Career Distinction is not just another self-help read, put it down and forget it. This is more of a workbook to construct your personal brand. Career Distinction is not only full of great advice, but also provides action steps toward creating your brand.

Be prepared this is not just a zip through quick read. [...]. Here you take a personal assement of how you see your brand today, what you want your brand to be tomorrow, and request those that know you best (co-workers, family and friends) to assess your brand.

You are also provided with the Career Distinction workbook, so you can outline you action steps to build your brand. This book is a very helpful planning guide to becoming the person you want to be and advancing your career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Any password come with kindle edition?, January 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've just purchased the book (kindle edition). Based on couple of reviewes, it looks like the book may provide a password to access the online tool. I'm not sure where to find the passcode. Can anyone help?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand
Career Distinction: Stand Out by Building Your Brand by William Arruda (Hardcover - June 11, 2007)
$22.95 $16.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.