Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Procedural Generation of Fun
This game is really fun, challenging and dirt cheap. At the regular price the game is a great deal and if it is on sale there is no reason to not add this to your STEAM library. Many hear "rogue-like" and assume this is game has an ultra steep learning curve and requires some vast esoteric knowledge, but it is honestly easy to pick up and your skill should increase...
Published 23 months ago by Moot Zarelli

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Always-On DRM that is buggy
This game has a form of always-on DRM that is not mentioned in the description, in order to play anything beyond the initial level and to track any process, you have to connect to their servers. But, it also has a game breaking bug for some people that causes it to refuse to connect to their servers, thus making the game worthless. This bug has existed for over a year and...
Published 9 months ago by Stephen Garratt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Procedural Generation of Fun, December 20, 2012
By 
Moot Zarelli (The Heart of It All, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cargo Commander [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This game is really fun, challenging and dirt cheap. At the regular price the game is a great deal and if it is on sale there is no reason to not add this to your STEAM library. Many hear "rogue-like" and assume this is game has an ultra steep learning curve and requires some vast esoteric knowledge, but it is honestly easy to pick up and your skill should increase quickly after an hour or two of play. You enter a Sector with ANY name you choose (fair warning: there is no censorship) and each stage is a combination of procedurally generated content mixed with a sprinkling of designed content (to ensure that all levels can be completed). The great thing is if your friends enter the same name they are able to play the same exact stage so scores can be compared and are stored on a leaderboard for all to see. Get the #1 spot and you get a crown. So if you make an unusual named Sector and you might just be #1 for all time! With an infinite number of levels and several game modes this game has a great replay value, especially at its price point.

Good things to know when you first start playing:
o Use a gamepad! As with most games an XBox 360 controller greatly improves the experience. When you hit (LS) your Cargo Commander will drop the F-Bomb to "let off steam."
o Coffee speeds you up 20%, but is dropped with any damage so don't forget to pick up a new cup with each new pull.
o Upgrades only last through the end of your run! Also, you will amass better starting upgrades so don't fret over your score when you first start playing.
o The game does feature a compelling story, which is cleverly told through emails and packages sent from home.

Explanation of low MetaCritic Rating:
The MetaCritic rating for Cargo Commander is currently 63%, which is based on only 3 reviews including a very poor review from Absolute Games, a Russian based site who score games fairly low. For example MetaCritic states that Absolute Games on average, grades 10 points lower than other critics. Here is an excerpt from their review:

"In the end, you are forced to entertain yourself, because all levels look the same, differing only in gravitational force and the amount of enemies. What's worse, the game ignores the traditions of the arcade genre. Monsters randomly walk about levels instead of moving along pre-determined routes, and there are no bonuses or pick-ups except for boring med kits and ammo."

Bonuses and pickups and even other modes are acquired fairly early on into playing the game, so I wonder if they were reviewing an incomplete or beta version of the game or if they simply just did not play for more than a few minutes and discontinued. My guess is that the reviewer didn't utilize a gamepad and subsequently didn't make it past the initial learning curve and gave up.

tl;dr: Just buy Cargo Commander. It's dirt cheap, great fun, and has a lot of replay value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars above average, September 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cargo Commander [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
mechanically:
IF the repetitive nature of this 2D, lite rouge-like doesn't put you off, you will enjoy playing it. each level starts you with no upgrades and limited ammo. its up to you to find resources in the semi randomly generated levels of each area and use them to upgrade your gear, buy ammo or replenish health. your character is equipped with a drill that can break most of the walls and floors in the game and since the rooms are floating in space, you will never get stuck as you can drill out of a room float in space and drill back in at another point. as for all rouge likes, the rooms aren't "balanced" so you might cruise through the level until you reach a room that has an overwhelming number of enemies. these rooms can also reduce frame rates on low end PCs ( i cant comment on high end PCs as i don't have one :P ). my major criticism with the game is that it does not have enough variety. enemy types, weapons and environments can get very repetitive.
artistically:
i found the art style and theme very pleasing. the game can be considered a satire piece, poking fun at corporations who try to use "gamification" techniques to motivate their employees all while exploiting them in dead end jobs. one example is that throughout the game you can use the various items you pickup in the levels to pay a fee so you can receive packages from your family (who think you have a comfortable desk job). the game can make you feel bad for not being able to pay for one of these packages right away, and that is intentional. the letters from home, the theme, the only soundtrack in the game, the nature of game genera (in rouge likes you often run into rooms that you just can not beat) and game play elements (for example limited ammo capacity) all contribute to a bleak sense of futility. for the people that are OK with this, the game will be very enjoyable but most might loose the drive to continue playing. that's why i think this game is stronger artistically then as just an enjoyable exciting entertainment media which is what most people expect from games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good coffee break game., January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cargo Commander [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I've played Cargo Commander pretty regularly since I purchased it and find it best played in short bursts. Overall, it's a good game to make your own fun to some extent, you can choose to play on for as long and progressively more difficult as you like or move on to another level if things start to feel too hectic. It also has a slight sense of progression with some light RPG elements for weapon and character upgrades. My main criticism would be that I feel it could do with a few more rewarding features or details like that, to give the gameplay more of a just-one-more-level addictive feeling. An example would be that most of the loot you accumulate doesn't have much function aside from basically amounting to experience points. Even though it feels a bit lightweight in places, what it does feels quite polished.

edit: I have to say, it has been updated to make progression feel more meaningful and it's much closer to my expectations now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Always-On DRM that is buggy, February 17, 2014
This review is from: Cargo Commander [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This game has a form of always-on DRM that is not mentioned in the description, in order to play anything beyond the initial level and to track any process, you have to connect to their servers. But, it also has a game breaking bug for some people that causes it to refuse to connect to their servers, thus making the game worthless. This bug has existed for over a year and is unlikely to be fixed. It seems to primarily affect people using Windows 7 64-bit, so if you use that OS, stay away.

The game itself, assuming it works for you, is fairly fun, but very repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The poorest game I've played this year., November 18, 2013
By 
Xa4 (Brussels Belgium) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cargo Commander [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Cargo Commander is the worst game I've tried this year. Well, that may not be true. I simply didn't "get" this game, and it could somehow click with other players. But despite my lack of understanding, Cargo Commander has unquestionable flaws, and big ones.

* Poor explanation of what's going on and what you're supposed to achieve
* Very unintuitive controls
* A procedural level generator that generates unwinnable levels (or maybe I just don't get it, and they are solvable, but early levels should be easier than this).
* A procedural level generator that has no balance on ammo generation.
* Sort of bland looks.
* Levels last a very short time (30 seconds - 1 minute) before they start auto-destroying, making it even harder to grasp the game.

Really, I've made four attempts with this game, and left in disgust each time after 15 minutes.

Anyone looking for some procedurally generated platforming should get Spelunky instead, which sits at the exact opposite of the awesomeness spectrum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 of 5 on this game, November 3, 2012
This review is from: Cargo Commander [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This game is sort of fun, Makes time go by! its a little hard, but once you get the game its a good fun game at $10.00
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Idea, Bad Execution, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cargo Commander [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Very dumb, very boring, and exceedingly frustrating controls along with outrageous difficulty. Enough said as far as I'm concerned. Complete crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cargo Commander [Online Game Code]
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.