Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reference, January 28, 2008
By 
John G. Tomlinson (Baton Rouge, LA United States) - See all my reviews
I bought multiple books of this type and found only two really helpful - this one and "The Eldercare Handbook: Difficult Choices, Compassionate Solutions" By: Stella Henry. Both are good references I turned to again and again. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caring for Parents by Delehanty and Ginzler, June 26, 2006
This book is an excellent reference for adults with older parents

progressively requiring more care from their children and other

care-providers. Generally, the family provides up to 80% of care

for the elderly. In my experience, this is true due to the high

cost of nursing facilities and the personalized care many older

people prefer. The authors mention that advocacy for the elderly

requires strong organizational skills. This is the understatement

of the year. Keep medical records, descriptions of key health

issues, physician rosters and any materials which will assist

you in determining what level of care parents require.

Most states allow physicians and providers to discard records

after 6 or more years. With this data in hand, create a home

medical tracking system for physicians, medications, physical

therapy regimentation, diet etc.

The book lists some classic sayings by noted personalities. i.e.

- "Life would be infinitely happier if we could only be born

at 80 and gradually age to 18. " Mark Twain

- "Raise children for old age as you store grain against famine."

Chinese Proverb

This book would be invaluable to children of old age parents

about to take on the role of caregiver or partial caregiver.

It lists some classic considerations many of us overlook in the

painful yet rewarding process of caring for elderly parents in

the twilight of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and Full of Practical Tips, July 20, 2006
By 
dwilli (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This book is full of helpful tips and inspiring, real life stories for anyone caring for an elderly parent. A useful and uplifting book. I am a legal aid hotline attorney and own a medical supply business. I both capacities, I frequently talk with seniors and their children who are caring for them. I and recommending this book to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference, October 12, 2008
By 
Steve S. in (Glendale, CA United States) - See all my reviews
I wish I had this book months before I really needed it. Although many points made in the first few chapters I've already applied to my aging parents, I'm still learning and applying what is mentioned in the remaining chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Caring for Your Parents: The COmplete Family Guide (AARP), March 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caring for Your Parents: The Complete Family Guide (AARP®) (Paperback)
One of the most important discussions includes caring for aging parents. All four of ours are gone now. We had to learn how to navigate complex Medicare laws, relate with dignity, allow as much independence as possible, communicate with siblings, care from a distance and up close. The sibling Balancing Act is worh the price of the book. This is a guide for the journey. When the gas tank gets low we have to fill up. Our perspective changes allowing us to love our parents, get the facts, choose wisely and eventually let go. The work sheets provide "talk points" for getting things done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, February 19, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book offers keen insights on this serious, emotionally charged subject. I found it extremely helpful when researching this topic for my own book, as well as in making difficult choices regarding my parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Caring for your Parents, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caring for Your Parents: The Complete Family Guide (AARP®) (Paperback)
An important book for every adult child to read to help their parent, and a good one to read as we get older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very informative reading., May 31, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caring for Your Parents: The Complete Family Guide (AARP®) (Paperback)
I bought this book to prepare for the time when I will need it for my mother. The book is informative and a good resource. I am glad that I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good information, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caring for Your Parents: The Complete Family Guide (AARP®) (Paperback)
As many of us are starting to take on the responsibilities for our parents, this book provides some great overview information on our concerns and on the concerns of our parents. I recommend this book as an easy read with lots of topics to scan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caring for Your Parents: The Complete Family Guide (AARP®) (Paperback)
Best book with information to help you navigate your life when you have elderly parents to care for. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Caring for Your Parents: The Complete Family Guide (AARP®)
Caring for Your Parents: The Complete Family Guide (AARP®) by Hugh Delehanty (Paperback - April 1, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.