1 new from $31.58

Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $1.00
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Carl Nielsen - The Complete Symphonies
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Carl Nielsen - The Complete Symphonies

Available from these sellers.
1 new from $31.58
Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
3-Disc Version

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Product Details

  • Actors: Michael Schonwandt, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, The Light and the Darkness
  • Format: Box set, Classical, Color, Dolby, NTSC, Subtitled
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, French, German
  • Region: Region 1 (U.S. and Canada only. Read more about DVD formats.)
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 3
  • Rated: NR (Not Rated)
  • Studio: Alliance
  • DVD Release Date: June 27, 2006
  • Run Time: 287 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #375,520 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)

Special Features


Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Nielsen can be very energetic and thrilling as well as probing and tender.
Richard W. Yiengst
The DVDs I want to watch will feature great artists, or be in outstanding locations, or commemmorate some historic occasion.
Martin Kuskis
Sound is available in PCM stereo, Dolby Dogital 5.1 and DTS 5.1 Digital Surround Sound.
Michael Birman

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful By Michael Birman TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on June 28, 2006
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
Carl Nielsen and Jean Sibelius were contemporaries. A northern austerity and a cool Scandinavian bleakness suffuses their symphonies. But Sibelius absorbed the Late Romantic style early in his career so that his 7 symphonies are characterised by their expansiveness and songlike themes. Carl Nielsen began his Symphonic career with a Neoclassical orientation and by the time of his 3rd Symphony was firmly entrenched among the Modernists. His themes are concise, often aciduous in flavor, frequently exhibiting a mordant wit in the woodwinds and percussion. It is this texture and manner of expression rather than any dissonant quality that exemplifies Nielsen's modernity. Even so, his music was initially misunderstood and criticized and it was not until his 4th Symphony that he began to receive the recognition due a composer of international stature. The composition of his 6 Symphonies occupied Nielsen from 1889 to 1925. Their uniformly high quality entitles him to be considered one of the finest Symphonists of the first quarter of the 20th Century. In the later symphonies, one may be surprised to hear passages that are unmistakably reminiscent of Bela Bartok. Here are entire sections hinting at Bartok's trademark astringent instrumental color and mood; his dark Transylvanian "Nachtmusik", with musical bats nervously flitting from tree to tree. This notion was confirmed to me by the superb hour long biographical film about Carl Nielsen on disc 3 entitled "The Light and the Darkness" which mentions Nielsen's friendship with Bartok and the Hungarian composer's familiarity with Nielsen's music. Nielsen's influence is explicit, especially in Bartok's masterpiece: Concerto for Orchestra. If you are unfamiliar with Nielsen's music but enjoy Bartok's, you will probably like these DVDs.Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful By Ian C. Punter on July 24, 2006
Format: DVD
What riches are appearing on DVD now! This lovely set of the complete symphonies of Carl Nielsen, along with an excellent hour-long documentary, (which is full of love and affection for the man and his music, but is no mere hagiography), comes with good sound and picture quality. I was so enthralled at the prospect of this release, I bought it direct from Da Capo a week or two in advance of the release date....(cheaper, I must add, if you take the Amazon route!!) The good folk at that company, (Da Capo), also assured me that both 'Maskerade' and 'Saul and David' are on their way in Danish productions, the former quite soon, the latter in a couple of years! Mouthwatering!

Mini-quibbles....The sound is perfectly good but not, shall we say, 'fantastic'. Most of my CD recording of particularly Symphonies 3, 4 & 5, leave me drained, - not quite the case here, though Michael Schonwandt has this music at his fingertips, and all the tension and release that Nielsen applies with his often 'dangerous' tonalities, is here.

These are concert-hall performances and therefore afford the director limited opportunity for visual variation. (I had the good fortune in past years to sit in the middle of the Boston/Cleveland/Philadelphia orchestras/LSO/RPO etc operating a film camera, on various BBC documentaries, and I appreciate the problem. The temptation is there to go TOO close on bow and string, TOO often to focus on the undoubtedly most attractive lady player. These symphonies are best enjoyed quite separately, to avoid the 'Oh, not HER again-syndrome'!

Most importantly though, this is a set to return to again and again, which is not necessarily the case with many equally fine performances on DVD. Bravo!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By B. K. Morrison on March 9, 2010
Format: DVD
As others have said, these Nielsen performances are well worth owning. Schonwandt gives spirited and enjoyable readings with sane choices of tempi throughout. Perhaps the performances lack the last ounce of drama, but his love of the music is never in doubt and the Danish players respond with enthusiasm to his direction.

My gripe with this set concerns the way the two discs containing the symphonies have been encoded. Between the movements of each symphony, the picture freezes for a few seconds (usually on an image of the conductor) before continuing with the next movement. The first time it happened, I thought it was a problem with my player freezing but a quick check of the time readout indicated that the disc was still playing normally. The effect is quite disconcerting and I really don't understand why DaCapo have done this.

But it gets worse. Each disc contains three symphonies. If you want to play a symphony other than the first one on each disc, you can select it on the menu but then you will get the menu re-displayed at the end of each movement and you have to select the next movement! Absolutely crazy. The only way to avoid this is to play the disc from the start and keeping skipping through the tracks until you get to the start of the symphony you want. This is so irritating and could easily have been avoided.

There is also a bad encoding error whereby the very start of the final movement of the 3rd Symphony is lost.

If DaCapo could be persuaded to re-code these discs to make them more user-friendly (and correct the error just mentioned), this set would indeed be a winner.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in