Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great New Addition
Bill Crider's latest entry in the DEAD MAN series keeps Matt Cahill on his path, however reluctantly, of stopping Mr. Dark's plans whatever they may be. I had to laugh at the name owner of the carnival and the reference to Indiana Jones. Probably missed other inside jokes.

Loved this one.

Recommended.
Published on March 31, 2012 by George R. Johnson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Series never ending
I started reading the series starting with one and was intrigued. You know sometimes it is hard to leave a cliffhanger alone. So I moved on to the next, and next, and next and realised I was wasting money. It's a hook and the problem is that each series is written by someone different which would be kind of cool, if all of the authors were of the same quality, but they...
Published on October 24, 2012 by Norma Dieppa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great New Addition, March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carnival of Death (Dead Man Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
Bill Crider's latest entry in the DEAD MAN series keeps Matt Cahill on his path, however reluctantly, of stopping Mr. Dark's plans whatever they may be. I had to laugh at the name owner of the carnival and the reference to Indiana Jones. Probably missed other inside jokes.

Loved this one.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep 'em Coming Dead Man meets Carnivale, March 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carnival of Death (Dead Man Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
Great chapter in the Dead Man Series.

If you have been reading this series, you won't be disappointed with #9. In this chapter we find Matt Cahill working for the carnival. It is a great setting for the Dead Man as there are plenty of fun weird characters that work. The rubes also make for entertaining characters. Carnival of Death is well written and one of my favorites so far in the series.

Eagerly awaiting the next chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really moves the story along, March 30, 2012
By 
Dale (ATLANTA, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carnival of Death (Dead Man Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
I am enjoying these books more all the time. Bill Crider's entry into the series gives us a new friend for Matt and lots of odd characters for Mr. Dark to work on. That may sound like a lot of the other books in the series but this one has some differences that I can't describe here without giving out spoilers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terror in your Future, January 10, 2014
This review is from: Carnival of Death (Dead Man Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
The 9th installment of the Dead Man adventures, Carnival of Death allowed series creators Lee Goldberg and William Rabkin to bring prolific novelist Bill Crider into the fold. Listed as a major influence on the series, Crider had written over 75 novels, mostly in western and adventure genres. With his detailed knowledge of what made the classic Gold Medal Books work, he was an excellent choice.

In this episode, Matt Cahill, the man who was twice born, is working security for Cap’n Bob’s Stardust Carnival, traveling through the southern USA. Most of his duties involve keeping the carnies from beating each other up and stopping trouble with the locals. The owner of the carnival doesn’t want the cops called for any reason. Mr. Dark, Matt’s spectral nemesis, has yet put in an appearance.

But strange things have started happening since Matt took the job. Madam Zola, the fortune-teller, discovers she really does have “the gift”. Actually a woman named Gloria who fled an abusive home as a teenager, Madame Zola learned palmistry from a book. She discovered she had a knack for telling people what they wanted to hear. Now, she’s seeing into the real future and present of the people who come to see her. And what she sees isn’t always pretty. When Madam Zola does a reading on Matt she sees a dark body surrounding him, almost as if he has a twin.

The book opens with Matt dispatching a group of high schooler boys who are trying to rape a high school girl. No sooner than he’s taken care of them, 2 of the snake charmer’s snakes try to kill her. And earlier in the day, Matt has had to forcibly eject an unruly customer. It all smells of the influence of Mr. Dark, who is about to unleash a new set of terrors.

Crider is a professional writer of the highest caliber. You can feel it from this passage:

“After all, while not exactly affectionate, the pythons generally behave well onstage, and they return human affection as best they can in their reptilian way, which is to say they hardly ever kill their owners as long as they’re treated with kindness and respect.
Which was how Serena of the Serpents (real name, Louise Parker) had always treated Clem and Clementine (their real names), the two Burmese rock pythons that performed with her. It wasn’t much of a performance, to tell the truth. Mostly, Serena moved lazily in time to some snaky music played over a crackly speaker system, striking an occasional semi-erotic pose while Clem and Clementine slithered around her scantily clad body.”

When Mr. Dark does make and appearance, only Matt can see him. Time freezes and Mr. Dark makes a little jest which is a harbinger of horrors. But Matt is never able to do a thing, being frozen himself. Mr. Dark exits and the carnage proceeds.

The depiction of the carnival reminds me of the ones I used to attend as a kid in the Midwestern US. A few cheap attractions, some games you can’t win, and a lot of sugar candy. But after reading Carnival of Death, I’ll be staying off the rides.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cotton Candy and Carnage, May 2, 2013
This review is from: Carnival of Death (Dead Man Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
Carnivals have been fodder for horror ever since Ray Bradbury wrote Something Wicked This Way Comes. But as menacing as the characters of Bradbury's tale were, Bill Crider decided his Carnival of Death needed something far more bloody.

The ninth installment in The Dead Man series has Matt Cahill working security for Cap'n Bob's Stardust Carnival, a rinky-dink midway that'd make most state fairs looks like Disneyland. Still, he's felt drawn there for some reason, and he's been waiting for signs of Mr. Dark's influence on anyone entering the fairgrounds. The one who starts seeing the signs first, however, isn't Matt, but the carnival's resident palm reader, Madame Zora.

Zora can't really tell you your future. It's just a schtick she learned. Until Matt showed up, that is. Then things got weird for her, as her premonitions started coming true, and the things she was telling patrons weren't concocted from her imagination, but true visions that increasingly scared the heck out of her. Things come to a head as one night at the carnival sees employees and patrons alike turning vicious and violent against one another, with Matt and Zora caught in the middle.

I really liked the setup for this installment, and Madame Zora was a nice twist in the supporting character department, with her having a more direct relationship with the plot and the outcome. The outcome though, particularly the big climax that sees a couple of the carnival goers infected by Mr. Dark going on a rampage felt a bit out of step with what I'd call the Dead Man canon. I don't want to spoil things with specifics, but if you read this book then you'll probably know what I mean.

All things considered, Carnival of Death keeps the pace for the series moving strong, and I'm looking forward to seeing where Matt Cahill winds up next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carnival of Death (Dead Man Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
I love every book in this series. Easy read creative freaky love it! Unique storyline , well written. Once you start reading you will not be able to put it down until you get to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carnival of Death (Dead Man Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
Good story but too short. I like the characters and want to know more about the back story. Matt's story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Series never ending, October 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carnival of Death (Dead Man Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
I started reading the series starting with one and was intrigued. You know sometimes it is hard to leave a cliffhanger alone. So I moved on to the next, and next, and next and realised I was wasting money. It's a hook and the problem is that each series is written by someone different which would be kind of cool, if all of the authors were of the same quality, but they are not. Some provide a good read and others do not, and sometimes you just have to let something go, like a bad habit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Man Series, April 24, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carnival of Death (Dead Man Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
The entire series has been greatly enjoyable. Obviously not a hard read but a great way to pass an afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't recommend this even to Mr. Dark, December 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carnival of Death (Dead Man Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
Goodreads Description- Matt seeks out a paranoid visionary who claims to have defeated an entity just like Mr. Dark. His quest takes him deep into the Michigan woods ? and into a bloody siege between warring, paramilitary factions in James Daniels? THE BEAST WITHIN. In Jude Hardin's FIRE AND ICE, Matt is trapped inside an industrial plant during a deadly shooting rampage. As the body count rises, the cunning Mr. Dark raises the stakes to horrifying new heights, putting thousands of lives at risk. Matt is working security on the midway in Bill Crider's CARNIVAL OF DEATH. But when violence breaks out and a fake fortune teller's dark prophecies suddenly begin coming true, Matt knows that Mr. Dark has arrived and it's not for the cotton candy? Buckle up...this is big ticket horror!?

Ok so I read this book for a challenge. I wanted to pick a random book with an author name of William or any form of that name. So I searched my Williams, closed my eyes, and picked. Wow...I couldn't possibly have picked a worse book. First of all it is Volume 3 and I haven't read the books that come before this so I had no idea what the hell was going on. However that isn't the books fault....its mine so that didn't effect anything other than if you want to read this series I would say start from the beginning. Secondly the book just opened with no introduction whatsoever. No reintroductions to characters or previous happenings. So again that led to confusion for me. Mr. Dark is not really explained at all except at the end when we learn that he is some kind of evil force that has attached itself to Matt Axton, the protagonist, and bad sh*t happens when Mr. Dark is around. Third, I my humble opinion, there was just too much over the top gore. It got to start feeling like a filler and some of it was quite distastful. Not that I am a prude or can't stand violence, this just seemed like too much. Also the protagonist name....Matt Axton is an alias. I have no idea what his real name is or what happened to him other than that he is dead....I think?!? As for his last name, Axton, he carries around an ax in his duffel bag to deal with Mr. Dark.

I have to ask why do people pay for such crappy plots and horrible writing?? It jumped all over the place, which might be because it is co-authored, but still, there are a lot of co-written books out there that can do a much more passable job than this.

So in summary, if you like super cheesy plotlines and lots of needless gore read this book from the BEGINNING of the series. However, I wouldn't recommend it even to Mr. Dark! 1 star. AVOID THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Carnival of Death (Dead Man Book 9)
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.