Customer Reviews


451 Reviews
5 star:
 (184)
4 star:
 (122)
3 star:
 (67)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


565 of 590 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendously Fun
Carnival Games is the type of game that everyone should have for their Wii. It's great for solo play, or multi-player fun, and never becomes boring, with more than 25 games to choose from. It's extremely easy to "pick up and play" for all ages, and it's good clean fun. The game really represents a carnival in every way possible, starting with the perfectly accurate games...
Published on August 31, 2007 by Joey's Girl

versus
80 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as a diversion
Carnival Games is one of the first titles my wife and I purchased for our Wii (based upon the recommendation of one of my wife's friends). The games use the Wiimote exclusively and make pretty good use of its motion-sensitive functionality.

The games are all the kind you'd expect to find being run by Carnies at a State Fair's midway...the kind you know are...
Published on September 12, 2008 by H. Cummings


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

565 of 590 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendously Fun, August 31, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carnival Games - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Carnival Games is the type of game that everyone should have for their Wii. It's great for solo play, or multi-player fun, and never becomes boring, with more than 25 games to choose from. It's extremely easy to "pick up and play" for all ages, and it's good clean fun. The game really represents a carnival in every way possible, starting with the perfectly accurate games (and gameplay), the bright colors, the chatty emcee's, the wandering carnival-goers who walk past you or play games beside you, and even the carnival music playing softly in the background. You can almost smell the cotton candy!
What really makes this game shine is how well designed all the carnival games are. They work very well with the wii-mote, and rarely miss a beat.

Here are some of the highlights of the 25+ games included on this disc:

ALLEY BALL: This game is identical to a favorite game of many called "Skee-Ball". It is definitely one of the best games on here. It feels extremely realistic, the way you use the wii-mote to kind of throw the ball (not swing back & roll like bowling, but rather kind of flinging it up on the 'alley' like you really do in skee-ball). It's sharp and accurate, and hard to stop playing!

SPILLED MILK: This one has you throwing a ball at a stack of 3 milk bottles. It somewhat lacks the realism of Alley Ball, but it still is quite fun. It has you hold your wii-mote as if it's a ball, and you do an overhand throw to try to knock down the bottles. Fortunately it has a little marking on the screen to show where you will hit before you throw.

BALLOON DARTS: One of my favorites. This game has a corkboard covered with balloons that you must throw darts at to pop. You hold your wii-mote as if it's a dart (really!) and do a short, abrupt forward lunge with it as if you are throwing a dart. The accuracy on this game is amazing. I hit the small balloons every time! In fact, once you win this game a number of times, you will open a "super" version of this game that you can also play where it has a whole wall of balloons to pop in about 30 seconds.

SHOOTING GALLERY: This is another favorite. A perfect representation of the duck shooting game we all love at carnivals. The little yellow ducks are scrolling by, and you have to use your wii-mote like a toy gun to shoot them (aiming for the target on their belly will net you even more points). The accuracy of this game is perfect.

HOOPS: This game has a basketball hoop in front of you, and you need to use your wii-mote as if it's a basketball, using an overhand throw to get the ball in the basket. What really amazes me on this game is how once you throw the ball, it shows you where it will land, and you have a chance to twist the wii-mote to make it more likely to go in the basket! You have to be quick though! But this increases the fun factor enormously since you have such great control over the ball.

SHOOT FOR THE STARS: This game was never a favorite of mine in carnivals, and isnt here either but I wanted to at least mention it for those who like this popular game. You stand in front of a star target and have to rapid-fire 300 shots to shoot away the star. It's perfectly accurate (can you hold steady enough for 300 shots?), and I usually end up with about 85% without trying too hard.

HOLE IN ONE: I have not played this game yet, but the manual claims it is a miniature golf game that gives you 3 chances to putt the ball, but each time you do, the hole moves. Sounds fun though, as I love golf.

RING TOSS: This is yet another favorite of mine. It has a large area of bottles arranged in a square, and you have to toss rings in hopes of landing one directly on a bottle. You hold your wii-mote kind of frisbee-style and fling your ring out towards the bottles. It is quite accurate and very fun. It looks and plays identical to the one you see at carnivals.

DAY AT THE RACES: This is an odd take on horse racing. In order to get your horses to run, you have to roll balls into holes at the end of an alley (somewhat like skee-ball) as quickly as possible. The difference here is that there are just several holes on a flat surface, but they have different point values for different holes. The higher your points, the faster the horse goes. It's quite fun though! And accurate too.

COLLECTION PLATE: I wouldnt say this is a favorite of mine as I am no good at it but I believe with practice it will be a lot more fun for me. This game has a platform of several plates at different heights, and you have to toss coins to land on them. You hold your wii-mote as if it's a coin, and kind of toss it outward. My problem is I use to much strength and the coin goes flying to who-knows-where. Those with more finesse would surely do better than me at this game! It's cute and pretty accurate in my opinion.

Those are the highlights of Carnival Games. The other titles included in it are: The Great Swami, Frog Leap, Bowler Coaster, Meter-O-Love, Pigskin Pass, Buckets Of Fun, Going Nuts, Clown Splash, Ka-Pow, Prize Claw, Nerves Of Steel, Lucky Cups, Dunk Tank, and Push-A-Prize. Plus you can open a few alternate takes of some games once you reach certain goals.

And lastly, for those of you who love character customization, you get a little person that represents you in the game, and you can change his/her hair, clothes, face, accessories, etc to your liking. You will also acquire more items for your person by either winning them in games or buying them with tickets. And you can also win "virtual prizes" in games (stuffed animals, toy cars, etc) but these are only a picture on your screen. Nothing special there.

In summary, Carnival Games is a something-for-everyone game that has lasting appeal and tons of variety. Best of all, it gets you off the couch and playing like you're really at the carnival! Dont forget the corn dogs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as a diversion, September 12, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carnival Games - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Carnival Games is one of the first titles my wife and I purchased for our Wii (based upon the recommendation of one of my wife's friends). The games use the Wiimote exclusively and make pretty good use of its motion-sensitive functionality.

The games are all the kind you'd expect to find being run by Carnies at a State Fair's midway...the kind you know are rigged, but you play anyway hoping to score that over-sized stuffed bear for your sweetheart. So, they're amusing and often challenging, though I've found the shooting games to be extremely easy. On the other hand, some of the indirect aim games are really difficult (like flip the frog into the lily pads, or bounce the ball into the colored cups).

It's a good family game. Good for a diversion when you want to play some quick time-wasting games with friends and family. They don't have any depth; we're not talking about an epic 40+ hour plot, here. This is really just a collection of minigames.

Despite their lack of depth, I have to say, any games that can get your non-gamer spouse gaming with you is a good thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleeper Hit!!!, August 29, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carnival Games - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Talk about a surprise! This game offers exactly what you'd expect... mindless single player fun. Try it during a break from "Metroid Prime Corruption." With multiple players, though, this may be THE ultimate drunken Wii party game! It's certainly much better than Wii Play or Mario Party 8. It's a shame this has slipped under so many gaming site's rader and likely won't get the attention it deserves. This game fits the Wii perfectly... fun for everyone of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly fun, September 3, 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carnival Games - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I had no intentions of buying this game, but after seeing so many glowing reviews I decided to give it a shot. I'm glad I did--Carnival Games is an incredibly fun collection of mini-games that are fun to play and remind you of a real carnival, though with much less potential damage to the wallet.

Carnival Games features over 20 carnival style games, most of which will probably be familiar to most people. There's an Alley Ball game (Skiball), dart throwing, a shooting gallery, frog launching, a dunk tank, and many, many others. There are also unlockable "super" versions of some of the games, variations which don't give prizes but instead record a high score. An example of this is the game where you knock over milk bottles--the super version has you knocking over enormous stacks of bottles. It's silly and an interesting twist on the original.

Each game you play rewards prizes in three sizes--small, medium, or large--and gives tickets which act as a sort of currency in the game and allow you to purchase unlockable items for your character (like a bike helmet or a guitar) and access other activities like the love machine and a fortune teller. In each game you can trade prizes up just like a real carnival--4 small prizes for a medium, 3 medium for a large, etc--in pursuit of a jumbo prize in each event. The prizes are nothing special at all, and they're really just a way of keeping track of how you've done in the events.

As I mentioned before, Carnival Games features a slew of unlockables for your character, which can be customized to your liking. Customization is pretty limited, however, at least until you unlock the silly accessories for him or her. What a shame the game does not allow you to use Miis--this seems like a major oversight to me and would have added quite a bit to the fun of decking out your character.

This is a great party game, but unfortunately the multiplayer options are somewhat lacking. The head to head and competition modes allow up to 4 people to play against each other, but few of the games actually allow for simultaneous play (the horse racing is one that does). This detracts from the fun of play since with four people you end up waiting for the other three to whack their frogs before you get another chance to whack yours. Again, it's an unfortunate shortfall to the game.

The game is still a lot of fun, however, and the simple fact is that the games are great regardless of the game's few shortcomings. It's great for all ages--even my preschooler was able to play many of the games well and enjoyed it quite a bit. One thing the Wii does not lack is collections of party games, but this one stands out as well worth checking into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favorite Games For the Wii! Like Cotton Candy, It's Quite Addictive!!, September 5, 2007
By 
Telemachus (Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carnival Games - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I started reading the game descriptions on this product months before it was released. I am a big fan of mini-games and this looked like it might be worthwhile. I suspected it might be a GOOD game, but I didn't expect it to be GREAT! Then I saw all the 5-star reviews and went ahead and bought a copy. Absolutely not disappointed! This is one of the best games for the Wii I've played to date!

This is an exceptionally well-polished game. The graphics aren't fancy, but they are clean, crisp and well rendered. A real Carnival feel to the product with bright colors, lot's of kitsch, and some mildly sinister but funny carnival hucksters. The mini-games are addictive and lots of fun. Some of the games are simple, while others are more challenging. It's easy to earn "tickets" whether you are an expert player or novice. You can then trade your tickets to play other carnival games or unlock a variety of masks and other accessories for your player to use in the game.

I won't go into descriptions of individual games, since other reviewers have done an excellent job. However, just like a real carnival, my favorite game is darts. I've also become fond of capturing the dinosaur with "The Claw". This game is simple enough for small kids to master, but challenging enough for teens and adults. An excellent game for the Wii platform, the controls are responsive and there are few if any bugs. It will make you crave fried twinkies and cotton candy. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun set of games, but best viewed on 4:3 TVs, October 12, 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carnival Games - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Although this is yet another set of mini-games for the Wii, the developers put in a lot of detail, especially in the physics engines for the various games. Games that involve tossing balls or hoops, knocking down bottles, and so forth are remarkably realistic in how the various items behave. I was very impressed by the realism of the physics.

The games are most definitely those that you'd find in a typical carnival, as they're known here in the U.S., and they're a lot of fun. I particularly like the random selection of games for the Competition mode because it means that no contestant necessarily has an upper hand.

The addition of hidden games that can only be unlocked by succeeding at the regular games gives you something to strive for in the game, although you feel somewhat diminished when you finally unlock all of them and realize that there's nothing else to unlock.

Although the Wii most certainly DOES NOT NEED yet ANOTHER mini-game collection, my biggest gripe with this game is that it does NOT utilize a widescreen display properly. I play my Wii on my 16:9 TV. I was shocked to see more at the top and bottom when I connected it to a friend's 4:3 TV with the appropriate 4:3 display setting in the Wii. Instead of adding more to the sides of the screen when the Wii is set for 16:9, the developers decided to "pull a Bioshock" and crop the top and bottom of the screen to make a fake-widescreen, 16:9 display.

Several of the games, and most of the "just for fun games" like the coin/token machine, suffer greatly by this. For example, on the coin/token machine you just barely see the coin depositing slot that is continually moving back and forth at the top of the screen. The result is that you get a very cramped feeling when playing many of the games in 16:9 mode compared to playing them in a 4:3 mode. Unfortunately, because the aspect ratio is a Wii system setting, to get the full display of the game you'd need to reset the Wii to a 4:3 mode and then switch back to 16:9 for other games. Unfortunately, unlike the XBox 360 and the PC, this is not an issue that can be resolved with a patch. With 16:9 being the future of TVs (good luck finding a big screen, 4:3 TV anymore), this was a very short-sighted and cheap shot by the developers to try to appeal to those with 16:9 displays.

It's still a fun collection of mini-games, and it does accurately give a carnival atmosphere with a lot of replayability, if only to beat your last high score. Just be aware that if you play this on a 16:9 TV, you're going to be seeing less, not more. Shenanigans on you, Global Star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the few great Wii games for little kids, December 12, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carnival Games - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I have two little ones, a 4.5 year old boy and 7.5 year old girl. This is one of the few games that they can actually participate in and not feel frustrated when playing. In fact, they actually have tons of fun and I think is their favorite Wii game as far as replayability (is that a word?). The mini games are short and for the most part easy to play but sometimes difficult to master which is okay for them. There is also a dude before each game that will show you how to hold and move the controller to play that particular game.

They also enjoy collecting all the prizes and being able to upgrade from the small to medium to large to extra large. Each game has a prize theme like robots, military items, stuffed animals, musical items, etc...

The tickets earned from playing the various mini-games can be used to play some of the showcase games like the Claw(to grab a stuffed animal), Pushing Coins(where you drop coins to potentially get more tickets), and more.

After playing Carnival, my kids and I feel like wanting to go to a real carnival until I realize that with a real carnival, I usually have to shell out some major buckaroos.

Minor issues: Like some of the other reviewers, I just wish the characters are more customizable like the Mii. Also, only a few games actually allow for true simultaneous multi-player like horse racing, pop the balloon, and duck hunt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for the family, February 16, 2008
By 
CandN's Mom (Santa Cruz, CA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carnival Games - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I have two young children and we really like playing this game. Making our characters (however unrealistic) was a 20 minute laugh fest all by itself. We love skeet ball and milk cans and it is hilarious to watch my 4 year old try to hit the tower of strength (he got all the way to couch potato). I also appreciate that it is another game that the whole family can play that doesn't have the stress factor of other video games (there is nothing trying to kill you).
The only reason that I gave it 4 rather than 5 stars is that I am unsure of the longevity of it's entertainment value. However it is fun now, and we enjoy being able to play this together. Definately a good value for young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carnival fun for all ages, August 30, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carnival Games - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Lots of fun mini-games that are great family fun. Different play modes. Single player is the only mode you can "win prizes". Multiplayer has two modes. Head to head you can pick your own games to compete; whereas, competition the game will randomly choose 5 games to compete. Tickets you win can be used to play alley arcade games or buy clothing and such. Just like at a real carnival you can trade in prizes you win for bigger prizes.

The games are grouped into 6 alleys:
1) Fortune Way - Alley Ball (aka skeeball), Test your strength, Hoops, Collection plate. The great swami--alley arcade game, which you need tickets to play
2) Love Lane - Spilled milk, balloon darts, frog leap, bowler coastet. Alley arcade game-Meter-0-love
3) Rodent Row - Shooting gallery, pigskin pass, shoot for the stars, buckets of fun. Alley arcade game-Going nuts
4) Claw alley - Clown splash, hole in one, ring toss, ka-pow. Alley arcade game-prize claw.
5) Lucky Pass - Nerves of steel, lucky cups, day at the races, dunk tank. Alley Arcade game- push a prize.
6) Prize Boulevard - Every game has 4 prize levels. 4 smalls you can trade in for a medium, 3 mediums for a large, 2 large "grand prize". We haven't gotten to the grand prize as we've playing in mulitplayer mode, but I believe it unlocks new games.

Nothing new with using the Wii remote..same ol' as other mini games.

We had to exchage the game due to problems with the "Rodent Row" screen. Everything was all bunched up so you couldn't read anything or even make out the graphics. It didn't do it all the time, but I figured it was best to exchange if for a new one. So far we haven't had any problems with the new game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, September 6, 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carnival Games - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game is very cool and passes the time away. All the games you can think of are in in this game. It is pretty realistic using the wii remote to throw and shoot. It is fun to play by yourself or with a friend playing head to head. The only thing is when you unlock games they are the same games but something in it just to make it a little harder.Over all it is a great game to buy.It makes you use the wii remote in alot of different ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Carnival Games - Nintendo Wii
Carnival Games - Nintendo Wii by Take 2 (Nintendo Wii)
$27.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.