Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary with Three Truly RARE FILMS
This dvd collection more than deserves five stars simply because it has THREE movies I have NEVER seen in my 25+ years as a Lombard fan!! It's hard enough to find Paramount or Universal CLASSICS from the early 30's, but ultra-rare programmers like MAN OF THE WORLD and LOVE BEFORE BREAKFAST??? And how about TRUE CONFESSION, which has been locked away in the vaults for...
Published on March 18, 2006 by Tee

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Bargain, Mediocre Movies
Six movies for $10 is a steal, and I admit it. So, finding half of those movies completely unsatisfactory seems like looking the proverbial gift horse in the mouth. Still, here goes....

"Man of the World" is okay, but surprisingly depressing, even nihilistic. I can't imagine wishing to view it again, despite fine performances by William Powell and Miss...
Published 21 months ago by Karen Amrhein


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary with Three Truly RARE FILMS, March 18, 2006
This review is from: Carole Lombard - The Glamour Collection (Hands Across the Table/ Love Before Breakfast/ Man of the World/ The Princess Comes Across/ True Confession/ We're Not Dressing) (DVD)
This dvd collection more than deserves five stars simply because it has THREE movies I have NEVER seen in my 25+ years as a Lombard fan!! It's hard enough to find Paramount or Universal CLASSICS from the early 30's, but ultra-rare programmers like MAN OF THE WORLD and LOVE BEFORE BREAKFAST??? And how about TRUE CONFESSION, which has been locked away in the vaults for ages despite the awesome cast of Lombard, Fred MacMurray, John Barrymore, and Una Merkel!!

Even the three better known titles - HANDS ACROSS THE TABLE, THE PRINCESS COMES ACROSS, WE'RE NOT DRESSING - are not that common, although they were all released on video in the 1990's. Carole Lombard was a major Paramount star but she made virtually all of her most famous films on loanout or after she left the studio.

All the crying about "multi movies" crammed on to discs seems a total waste of tears. I've watched LOVE BEFORE BREAKFAST and MAN OF THE WORLD and the prints are excellent, not perfect perhaps but definitely superior to prints that Warner Bros. used for LIBELED LADY and several THIN MAN titles - movies that WERE released "one to a disc" and cost about as much as the collection of FIVE Lombard films.

Universal gets a bum rap for their various multi-movie sets from a lot of people who don't even bother viewing the movies first!! Maybe some people think it's worth $20 to have a case and paper sleeve for every movie, but not this kid. MAN OF THE WORLD is one of Carole's first leading lady parts - she is only 22 here - and she's very beautiful but her future husband William Powell dominates this story of a con man who unexpectedly finds love. This movie isn't very good but it is a thrill to see a Lombard and Powell rarity. LOVE BEFORE BREAKFAST on the other hand is an absolute delight. Often referred to as a screwball comedy by historians who apparently have never seen it, it's actual more of a straight romance (from a book by romance novelist Faith Baldwin) with some comic scenes and touches. Lombard plays Cesar Romero's fiancee who is still agressively pursued by Preston Foster. Foster's arrogance at the beginning of the film is a turn off, one certainly sides with Lombard that he is a bit of a jerk but as you may guess Carole can give it back and then some whenever someone gets out of line. This movie boasts some of the most beautiful photography of Lombard ever, lovingly shot by her favorite cinematographer Ted Tetzlaff and some of Travis Banton's loveliest fashions for her. This film is an art deco treat and certainly one of the most elegant Universal productions from the thirties.

The release of this DVD is truly exciting news for movie buffs - even more so than the comparable releases on Mae West and Marlene Dietrich, since those ladies' Paramount/Universal titles have been far more accessible than Carole Lombard's although Carole is every bit as popular and remembered as those other two Paramount blondes.

I am hoping sales for this series goes through the roof and we get second volumes on all three stars - and FIRST volumes on those Paramount superstar brunettes : Claudette Colbert, Dorothy Lamour, and Clara Bow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lombard's Legacy Preserved in an Often Dazzling Six-Film Collection, August 15, 2006
This review is from: Carole Lombard - The Glamour Collection (Hands Across the Table/ Love Before Breakfast/ Man of the World/ The Princess Comes Across/ True Confession/ We're Not Dressing) (DVD)
The early death of Carole Lombard at 33 from a January 1942 plane crash remains one of cinema's most tragic episodes. During the 1930's, she was the most luminous of screen beauties yet innately likeable. What made her unique was the scintillating, often ribald and genuine manner in her performances. Even though she delivered top-notch dramatic performances, especially toward the end of her career, it is her comedies that continue to reinforce her legacy. It's almost impossible not to adore Lombard for the way she downplayed her looks, coming across as a proto-feminist in many of her roles. In fact, of all her contemporaries, Lombard still comes across as the most modern and self-aware, which is proven by this splendid two-disc set of six of her lesser known films. Granted none of them are close to the quality of her acknowledged classics - "Twentieth Century", "My Man Godfrey", "Nothing Sacred", "Mr. and Mrs. Smith", "To Be or Not to Be" - but each provides ample evidence of her abundant comic talent during the middle of her career between 1931 and 1937.

The first disc contains the earliest three movies. A 23-year old Lombard is merely the innocent leading lady to William Powell (before they were briefly married in real life) in 1931's "Man of the World", directed by Richard Wallace and written by Herman J. Mankiewicz, a pre-code dramedy about a sophisticated con man, an American in Paris named Michael Trevor, who attempts to take advantage of Mary Kendall, the niece of a foolhardy millionaire he has befriended. As Trevor, Powell gets surprisingly dour in the heavier second half, and little of Lombard's natural élan is on display playing the love-blind Mary. It's hard to fathom that this classic pair would team again for one of the great screwball social comedies, Gregory La Cava's "My Man Godfrey", only five years later.

Three years and fifteen films after "Man of the World", a more confident Lombard shows up as part of a silly ensemble farce, 1934's "We're Not Dressing", directed by Norman Taurog, in which she plays Doris Worthington, an ice-cold, rich yacht owner who gets into a shipwreck and an untidy situation where she is beholden to her former crew, in particular, the first mate who has a tendency to break out in song quite often. That's because this movie is an early Bing Crosby musical where the crooner's main objective is to melt Doris' heart. Lombard is much more in her element here as she plays her cardboard character's unattractive aspects while still generating her natural warmth. The film's problem is that her screen time is limited since the movie not only stars Crosby but also features George Burns, Gracie Allen and Ethel Merman. It's a variety hodgepodge but still worth seeing.

My favorite film of the six is 1935's "Hands Across the Table", directed by Mitchell Leisen, Lombard's first real starring vehicle and a disarming romantic comedy about Depression-era class struggles. She plays Regi Allen, a hotel manicurist determined to marry for money and quite open about her intentions. She immediately befriends a new client, Allen Macklyn, an ideal target for Regi except that he is a former pilot who has become a paraplegic. Enter Theodore Drew III, a flaky but charming playboy already engaged to an heiress. The standard complications ensue but not before the stars bicker and banter with dexterity. Lombard is terrifically winning as a working girl who ends up falling for Drew and even cohabitates with him before getting married.

As Drew, Fred MacMurray makes a strapping leading man and displays sharp comic timing. This was the first of four fruitful teamings he had with Lombard. Cinema's perennial third wheel, Ralph Bellamy, plays the smitten Macklyn with surprising romantic fervor, enough sometimes to appear like a true contender for Regi's affections. There are some startlingly sexy, noirish close-ups between Lombard and MacMurray as the film moves toward its inevitable conclusion. Look for an uncredited William Demarest as Regi's hapless blind date caught in a frustrating dialogue with MacMurray three decades before they co-starred in TV's "My Three Sons".

The second disc opens with an overly contrived romantic comedy, 1936's "Love Before Breakfast", directed by Walter Lang, which suffers for its lackluster leading man, Preston Foster. He plays Scott Miller, a rich Wall Street tycoon madly infatuated with Kay Colby, a Park Avenue girl already engaged to hard-working Bill Wadsworth. Miller pulls strings to have Wadsworth transferred to Japan, so he can pursue Kay against her outward wishes. It all sputters by quickly at only seventy minutes, and it takes all of Lombard's natural wit and charm to levitate the absurd plot and humanize such a hysterical loon. Long before he became the Joker on the "Batman" TV series, Cesar Romero plays the hapless Wadsworth for what the one-dimensional role is worth. I also find it interesting how Lang cast an uncredited Japanese actress, Mia Ichioka, as Kay's tea-leaf-reading maid Yuki.

Lombard re-teams with MacMurray on 1936's "The Princess Comes Across", an oddly conceived romantic comedy that suddenly turns into a murder mystery after the first half-hour. Directed by William K. Howard, the movie has Lombard cast as Wanda Nash, a struggling Brooklyn chorine disguising herself as Swedish royalty to gain a film studio contract. It's obvious that she is doing a not-so-subtle impersonation of Garbo as Princess Olga, but it is a funny take-off. MacMurray plays a singing bandleader who, believe it or not, plays the concertina professionally. They banter until things get serious, as she gets implicated in the murder and remains fearful about being exposed. Famous for her roles in W.C. Fields comedies, Alison Skipworth is a scene-stealer as Olga's phony dowager guardian. It's interesting to see MacMurray show glimpses of his cynical "Double Indemnity" personality in mercurial fashion before the mystery is solved.

The last film is 1937's `True Confessions" directed by Wesley Ruggles and again co-starring MacMurray. It's a complete lark showcasing Lombard's farceur skills as Helen Bartlett, the wife of a struggling lawyer. A compulsive liar who literally plants her tongue in her cheek just before letting go with a whopper, Helen gets involved in the murder of her lecherous employer of less than an hour. Seeing this as an opportunity for her husband Kenneth to show off his litigation skills, she pleads guilty to the crime just so he can get her acquitted. Complicating matters is an odd eccentric who watches the case in the courtroom and gains evidence to the contrary. With the various deceptions getting bigger and bigger, the film plays out like an extended "I Love Lucy" episode well before the TV series was conceived, and indeed Lombard was Lucille Ball's mentor and role model. Una Merkel plays the Ethel part of best friend Daisy, while John Barrymore, long gone to seed, hammily plays the irritating eccentric. MacMurray is a bit of a bore in this one since he has to represent the pillar of honesty top his wife.

Be aware that the two discs use both sides to fit all the films. The print transfer on all six films is surprisingly clean considering their seventy-year old age. Unfortunately there are no extras, not even theatrical trailers, but seeing the unparalleled Lombard is treat enough. She made 78 movies in her brief career, so I hope more of her titles will come up in future DVD releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beggars can't be choosers when it comes to classics on DVD, July 12, 2006
This review is from: Carole Lombard - The Glamour Collection (Hands Across the Table/ Love Before Breakfast/ Man of the World/ The Princess Comes Across/ True Confession/ We're Not Dressing) (DVD)
This is a solid collection that contains six films from one of the most popular actresses of the 1930's - Carole Lombard. The titles here include classics like "True Confession", and "The Princess Comes Across", as well as fun vehicles like "Hands Across the Table", and "Love Before Breakfast". The only two disappointments are the early talkie "Man of the World", and the surprisingly awful "We're Not Dressing". Overall, this is a respectable set of Hollywood programmers that documents the rise of Carole Lombard's career.

I have to disagree with many of the classic film fans here who so passionately oppose multi-disc sets. Let's face it, when it comes to classic films we fans can not expect the royal treatment films like "My Man Godfrey", or "Gone With the Wind" receive to be given to programmers like "We're Not Dressing", and "Man of the World". If not for this set, these films would just be laying in a vault somewhere collecting dust. I would rather have these cheap flipper discs with quality video presentations than nothing. It's unreasonable to expect Universal to dote on every old film they release. Instead of directing anger at Universal, I'm going to give them praise for giving fans the chance to watch films that have been rarely seen since their original release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Lombard at last, January 19, 2006
By 
D. James (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carole Lombard - The Glamour Collection (Hands Across the Table/ Love Before Breakfast/ Man of the World/ The Princess Comes Across/ True Confession/ We're Not Dressing) (DVD)
This long over-due collection of five Carole Lombard films made at Paramount is set to include: 'Hands Across the Table,' 'Love Before Breakfast,' 'Man of the World,' 'The Princess Comes Across,' 'True Confession,' & 'We're Not Dressing.'

The way these films are packaged is likely to be similar to the Gary Cooper collection released last year ie. five films with great quality prints squeezed onto two double-sided discs in a no-frills slip-covered fold out box.

For those of us who don't care about fancy packaging and only about great looking classic films at affordable prices this is exactly the way we want these early gems released. Well done, Universal keep 'em coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stupendous collection !!!, May 11, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carole Lombard - The Glamour Collection (Hands Across the Table/ Love Before Breakfast/ Man of the World/ The Princess Comes Across/ True Confession/ We're Not Dressing) (DVD)
I cannot believe how wonderful this collection is. There are six movies in this set. All of which I already have in my collection. However, the quality on 3 of 6 moview far surpasses anything that I have been able to find previously. "True Confession", "Love Before Breakfast" and "Man of the World" all have excellent picture and sound. It was my understanding that there were no surviving master prints of "True Confession". So I congragulate the person who found this high quality copy sitting somewhere in the back of some studio vault.

The other three titles, "We're Not Dressing", "Hands Across the Table" and " The Princess Comes Across" are dark prints in comparison to the previous versions issued on video cassette in 1995 by MCA/Universal, but otherwise are highly watchable. The sound quality on these movies is also excellent.

By this collection while you can, for the price it is a steal. It is well worth $100 or more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lombard is a hysterical legend (recommended), June 17, 2006
By 
K. Williams (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carole Lombard - The Glamour Collection (Hands Across the Table/ Love Before Breakfast/ Man of the World/ The Princess Comes Across/ True Confession/ We're Not Dressing) (DVD)
Beginning at the tender age of 13 in 1921, Carole Lombard appeared in nearly 80 films before her tragic death at 34 on January 20, 1942. How do you begin to recount her prolific career? THE GLAMOUR COLLECTION is a great start with three films on each two-sided disc. Sometimes the script is not as good as her humor. If you isolate her performances from the scripts, of the six films, I would say at least three could easily be considered some of her top roles. She is really funny in five and portrays a serious role in the other. Though TRUE CONFESSION is my favorite of the bunch, it makes more sense to view it after HANDS ACROSS THE TABLE because they work well as a two-part series. Here comes the fun part -- listing all six in best viewing order.

1. HANDS ACROSS THE TABLE (1935) ***** Costar Fred MacMurray
2. TRUE CONFESSION (1937) ***** Costar Fred MacMurray
3. THE PRINCESS COMES ACROSS (1936) ***** Costar Fred MacMurray
4. LOVE BEFORE BREAKFAST (1936) **** Costar Cesar Romero
5. MAN OF THE WORLD (1931) *** Costar William Powell
6. WE'RE NOT DRESSING (1934) *** Costar Bing Crosby

Film #1 is about a manicurist's search for a wealthy husband. Two prospects covertly battle for her affection. || Film #2 is about a newlywed couple -- a lawyer and a pathological liar. As the latter, Lombard demonstrates the diversity of her humorous expressions. || Film #3 is a screwball comedy whodunit that portrays the stunningly dressed Lombard as a "Svedish" princess. || Cesar Romero is a pawn used to court Lombard's true affection in film #4. || Lombard plays a non-comedic role in film #5 but it sets the stage for a wonderful reprisal five years later in MY MAN GODFREY (not on this disc). || Film #6 is the most ridiculous of the group. If you can stomach the dancing bear and Crosby's oh-too-apparent self admiration of his own singing talent you'll enjoy Lombard as she plays a wealthy woman courted by two princes and a lowly shipmate. It's obvious which one she admires but they all must work for her affection. The one in charge shifts when her yacht shipwrecks and key players find themselves on a "deserted" island.

Thank you for these fine theatrical contributions made to the film industry. With THE GLAMOUR COLLECTION I can say I've been privileged to view nine of Lombard's performances. I look forward to another -- perhaps MR AND MRS SMITH. (Please see MY MAN GODFREY and NOTHING SACRED. The genre of "screwball comedy" was coined from her performance in the latter.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, you fixed it, Amazon!, June 24, 2006
By 
This review is from: Carole Lombard - The Glamour Collection (Hands Across the Table/ Love Before Breakfast/ Man of the World/ The Princess Comes Across/ True Confession/ We're Not Dressing) (DVD)
Amazon has now corrected its product description to show that this collection is comprised of 6 movies on 2 discs and NOT 6 movies on 6 discs, as previously advertised. Thanks!
Disc 1
Side A: Man Of The World
We're Not Dressing
Side B: Hands Across The Table
Disc 2
Side A: Love Before Breakfast
The Princess Comes Across
Side B: True Confession
I hope this is helpful to someone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SING A CAROLE OF PRAISE FOR THIS COLLECTION!, March 27, 2006
By 
Alan W. Petrucelli (THE ENTERTAINMENT REPORT (ALAN W. PETRUCELLI)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carole Lombard - The Glamour Collection (Hands Across the Table/ Love Before Breakfast/ Man of the World/ The Princess Comes Across/ True Confession/ We're Not Dressing) (DVD)
We've bitched, often and loudly, that Universal refuses to spend the time and money to remaster its films for DVD release. Too often the prints are choppy and sloppy; special features and bonus tracks are almost always non-existent. Films fans don't always find such laziness glamorous. Luckily, such criticism doesn't hurt this triumvirate of eagerly anticipated collections. The West set features five classics, including the brilliant My Little Chickadee and the underrated Night After Night; Dietrich dazzles in the sexually charged Blonde Venus and Morocco (and three others); Lombard proves yet again that she was an amazingly talented comedienne and actress in a half dozen little-known flicks. At less than $20 per set, each collection is a must --- even without any bells and whistles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Lombard!, August 1, 2011
This review is from: Carole Lombard - The Glamour Collection (Hands Across the Table/ Love Before Breakfast/ Man of the World/ The Princess Comes Across/ True Confession/ We're Not Dressing) (DVD)
The Carole Lombard Glamorous Collection is a wonderful combination of Carole Lombard classics that were forgotten about for a long time. Man of the World is probably the least of the six films but is still interesting. William Powell plays a blackmailer that falls in love with beautiful heiress Carole Lombard. They fall in love but William Powell's lies and deceit drive a wedge between them. We're Not Dressing is a cute film with Bing Crosby as the likeable smart-aleck and Carole Lombard as the stubborn spoiled woman forced together by shipwreck that lands them on a deserted island. There a few songs too many though. Hands Across the Table is by far the best film of the six, it is very funny and charming with Fred Macmurray and Carole Lombard as two people kidding themselves that they could marry other people for money and not love, but when Lombard takes Macmurray in as boarder they fall in love and question their life's quest for money. Love Before Breakfast is a decent film with a rich playboy vying for Lombard's hand by doing anything he can including sending her fiancee out of the country for a better job. The Princess Comes Across is one of the better films with Lombard posing as a princess and Fred Macmurray a teasing concertina player, this film is a comedy with a noir/murder mystery twist to it when a blackmailer turns up dead in Lombard's room. True Confession is also a very good film with (once again) Carole Lombard and Fred Macmurray. In this film Lombard and Macmurray are already married and struggling financially. Carole Lombard plays a scatterbrained liar that comes up with some very wild stories including one lie that her lawyer husband is insane and believes that the typewriter is his baby. But her lies go too far when she becomes a murder suspect and admits to a crime with a false story that she didnt commit. I highly recommend this collection for people like me who love and watch only old old 30's and 40's movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREAT CAROLE LOMBARD, June 29, 2009
This review is from: Carole Lombard - The Glamour Collection (Hands Across the Table/ Love Before Breakfast/ Man of the World/ The Princess Comes Across/ True Confession/ We're Not Dressing) (DVD)
I WAS SO THRILLED TO WATCH SUCH A GREAT STAR IN ACTION.....THIS SMALL BOX SET WOULD CERTAINLY BE ONE OF THE BEST I HAVE EVER SEEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.