Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Their music never ceases to amaze me. They have so much talent. We are always really tuned in or shall I say relating to their music, When we listen to it, it consumes us. We are amazed they keep coming up with new stuff and rarely on a new CD are there songs we don't like.
Published 15 months ago by Leslie A. Shaw

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh....it's OCMS, but yet not...
OK, this is good music, but it seems more of a "statement" saying "Critter's back, here's some songs from him to show you, and we'll work on more" to appease the "Willie's gone, OCMS is gone" doomsayers.

Well, I'm a doomsayer. Willie was SUCH a huge part of OCMS vocally and "presence"-wise. I don't really know how he can be...
Published 7 months ago by J. Lockridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, September 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carry Me Back to Virginia (Audio CD)
Their music never ceases to amaze me. They have so much talent. We are always really tuned in or shall I say relating to their music, When we listen to it, it consumes us. We are amazed they keep coming up with new stuff and rarely on a new CD are there songs we don't like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Treasures for the OCMS Collection!, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carry Me Back to Virginia (Audio CD)
Besides the cover art, which is both clever and appropriate, this mini-CD is a true gem. It includes a different version of "Ain't it Enough?", a beautiful sentiment that alone justifies the purchase of the CD. But it's the cover of "Dixieland Delight" that makes this CD a necessity! It's a beautiful and classic song already, and Old Crow puts their unique signature on it with this recording.

Too many (younger?) fans only associate OCMS with "Wagon Wheel" and Bonnaroo. This band is SO much more and this three-song CD showcases the musicianship and vocal talents that separate OCMS from other bands of the Americana genre who have jumped on the flavor of the moment. Old Crow was just inducted into the Grand Old Opry for a reason and this CD demonstrates that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this band!, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carry Me Back to Virginia (Audio CD)
I saw this band on the Gentlemen of the Road tour. I instantly fell in love with this band after seeing them. This arrived on time and in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good music, November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carry Me Back to Virginia (Audio CD)
OCMS has captured and communicated a thread of music that is quintessentially american and portrays a time and a place that is rich and welcoming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh....it's OCMS, but yet not..., May 4, 2014
By 
J. Lockridge "jllx" (Birmingham, AL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carry Me Back to Virginia (Audio CD)
OK, this is good music, but it seems more of a "statement" saying "Critter's back, here's some songs from him to show you, and we'll work on more" to appease the "Willie's gone, OCMS is gone" doomsayers.

Well, I'm a doomsayer. Willie was SUCH a huge part of OCMS vocally and "presence"-wise. I don't really know how he can be replaced. I enjoy this music, still, but the vocals are not up to the quality of WW. I'd do anything to have him AND Critter back in OCMS, but then again, that may be the original problem.

I don't know what direction OCMS is going to go now, but if this is any indication, and if the live shows I've seen since WW's departure are, then I'm worried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dont overpay for this, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carry Me Back to Virginia (Audio CD)
Only 5 songs here and a couple are also on other albums, so you only get about 3 new songs. It's worth the $5 I paid, but just barely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but could be better, December 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carry Me Back to Virginia (Audio CD)
Just three songs on the CD and I either misunderstood or didn't read the playlist well enough. Not as good a representation of the talent of Old Crow Medicine Show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, October 27, 2014
This review is from: Carry Me Back to Virginia (Audio CD)
my bad but it only had 3 songs, great band disappointing cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carry Me Back to Virginia (Audio CD)
great music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carry Me Back to Virginia (Audio CD)
Good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Carry Me Back to Virginia
Carry Me Back to Virginia by Old Crow Medicine Show (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.