Customer Reviews


188 Reviews
5 star:
 (134)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This incredible novel is a definite must read!!!!!!!
Isabel Allende's La casa de los Espiritus has ended up as one of my favorite novels of all time. This novel accounts the story of the Trueba family in a South American country from the begining of the centurty up to the modern times. Allende introduces various colorful characters in incredible almost surreal at times situations. Allende's writing style is simple,...
Published on June 22, 1999

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Libro mal editado
Esta edición digital de "La casa de los espíritus" deja bastante que desear. Contiene numerosas erratas que son resultado evidente de la mala transcripción de un texto escaneado ("visitaría" por "visitarla", "poma" por "ponía", "runos" por "niños"). En internet abundan ediciones piratas de libros como este que yo me niego a...
Published 22 months ago by Juan


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This incredible novel is a definite must read!!!!!!!, June 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: La Casa de los Espíritus (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
Isabel Allende's La casa de los Espiritus has ended up as one of my favorite novels of all time. This novel accounts the story of the Trueba family in a South American country from the begining of the centurty up to the modern times. Allende introduces various colorful characters in incredible almost surreal at times situations. Allende's writing style is simple, and to the point, but she knows just when and how to include details that give you crisp ideas and visions of exactly what is going . The incredible story of the Truebas is one all families can relate to, the characters are so vivid in ones mind, you know exactly what Isabel was thinking as she created them. Everyone should put this book on their summer reading list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Los espíritus y la dictadura, March 22, 2001
By 
This review is from: La Casa de los Espíritus (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
Isabel Allende emplea en cada uno de sus libros el mágico realismo de manera muy particular, es así que le da vida a un extraño pero simpático personaje, Clara, otorgándole la facultad de comunicarse con los espíritus. Los espíritus la convierten en una singular vidente capaz de predecir los acontecimientos venideros, le revelan quien será su futuro esposo, cuantos hijos tendría, los nombres que les daría, e incluso ...... su misma muerte.
La historia gira en torno a tres familias: Los Del Valle, los Trueba, y los García. Los primeros son los típico ricos, que nacieron ricos y morirán ricos, los segundos son pobres pero luchan duro para sobresalir del montón y emerger de esa posición expectante hasta que lo consiguen, y los García que representan a los más pobres, que nacen pobres y morirán pobres porque no se les enseñó otra cosa mas que servir a los asalariados. Isabel nos lleva de la mano a través de tres generaciones de estas familias, las cuales por cuestiones del destino se involucrarían tarde o temprano.
A diferencia de Clara Del Valle, Esteban Trueba pertenecía a una familia pobre pero con ambiciones de dejar de serlo. Mediante un trabajo arduo Esteban logra amasar una fortuna envidiable pero cada una de las vicisitudes que pasó, en lugar de ablandarlo, lo transformaron en una persona insensible capaz de abusar de sus trabajadores convirtiéndolos en esclavos en un mundo donde la esclavitud había sido abolida hace ya muchos años. Clara, mientras tanto, se mantiene viviendo en su mundo astral, con sus espíritus, alejada de su familia, indiferente a todo asunto terrenal; sin embargo, su actitud no era malintencionada, la única respuesta era que ella no pertenecía a este mundo.
Los años transcurrían, la pareja Clara Del Valle - Esteban Trueba tendrían hijos y luego nietos. Esteban, sumergido en una riqueza desproporcional, incursionaría en política para malgastar el dinero que le sobraba. Sus ideas se inclinaban a favor del partido Conservador pero luego de tantos años de victorias son derrotados por los socialistas apoyados por los más pobres quienes cansados de tantos abusos y maltratos deciden elegir un gobierno que se preocupe por ellos. Ya solo para entonces, pues había cambiado tanto su comportamiento que hasta logró agredir a Clara quien decidió abandonarlo espiritualmente, Esteban y sus co-partidarios inician una guerra sucia contra los constitucionalmente ganadores. Les entregaron armas y poder absoluto a los militares que poco tardarían en eliminar a todo aquel identificado de una u otra forma con los socialistas hasta hacerse ellos mismos del gobierno. Sin embargo, Esteban no había considerado que su propia familia estaría involucrada en toda esta guerra...... pero del lado contrario al suyo. Uno de sus hijos murió al encontrarse fortuitamente al momento del bombardeo en la Casa de Gobierno con el Presidente Socialista; su hija, Blanca, tuvo que ser asilada en una embajada extranjera para poder salir del país junto con Segundo García - uno de los principales defensores de las ideas izquierdistas y con quien ella mantuvo un sórdido romance -; y Alba, su nieta, sería encarcelada y maltratada por los militares que no tenían límites para sus atrocidades. De esta forma Esteban se encuentra con la soledad más cruel, pagando sus abusos y maldades, extrañando a su familia, amando a la única mujer por quien tuvo ese tipo de sentimientos pero al mismo tiempo arrepentido por todo. Poco tiempo después lograría rescatar a Alba y moriría al lado de ella con una sonrisa en los labios y murmurando el nombre de su amada: Clara, clarísima, clarividente.
Isabel combina perfectamente lo mágico con un fragmento pequeño de la historia chilena, el golpe de estado del Gnral. Pinochet en contra de Salvador Allende, tío directo de nuestra escritora. Hace esto, no para reabrir heridas del pasado sino, creo yo, para recordarnos a su modo que esas cosas no deberían volver a ocurrir........ NUNCA MAS HERMANOS CHILENOS!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Libro mal editado, March 22, 2013
Esta edición digital de "La casa de los espíritus" deja bastante que desear. Contiene numerosas erratas que son resultado evidente de la mala transcripción de un texto escaneado ("visitaría" por "visitarla", "poma" por "ponía", "runos" por "niños"). En internet abundan ediciones piratas de libros como este que yo me niego a comprar, pero ya que me molesto en pagar me gustaría que se me garantizara que el texto es exactamente el mismo de la edición impresa. Desde luego, me lo pensaré dos veces antes de volver a comprar otro libro de esta editorial digital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spelling mistakes, January 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is magnificent but I have to say that there is an excessive number of spelling mistakes. Amazon/Kindle should make a spell check before having the book available to customers. They should offer the same quality as the ones written in english.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Le falta algo, May 29, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Empezaré este review comentando sobre el formato kindle. Está muy bueno, tiene sus errores estilo cuando escaneamos un documento, pero en comparación con Crimen y Castigo, no tiene tantos errores. Creo que Amazon debería tener mejor control de calidad en estos productos ya que el segmento hispano está creciendo más y más cada día.

Con respecto a la obra debo decir que al principio le encontré parecido a Cien Años de Soledad, pero eso fue porque ya me habían advertido de eso, tiene ciertas similitudes, sin embargo la autora es tan natural y suelta en su escritura que mantienen al lector entretenido. Tiene sus momentos de humor y la verdad es muy bonito. Creo que al final ella pierde la persepectiva de estar escribiendo un libro de realismo mágico, no se siente eso al final, hay dos historias repetidas, una en el marco de lo fantástico y la otra en la realidad histórica de Chile.

Por cultura general lo recomiendo, el libro es bueno y la historia es muy bonita.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious!!, October 1, 2001
By 
This review is from: La Casa de los Espíritus (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
I read this book when I was 20, and loved it. It is a great story about life, death, family, friends, war, and everything else you can think of.
Isabel Allende manages beautifly to mingle fiction with reality, and tells the story of a family, and especially the relationship between a girl, who is telling the story, her mother and her grandmother. They are not the only characters in the book, and, as in real life, the story is filled with many different people that come through the door of anyones life, some stay for just a few seconds, some become best friends, some even enemies. But, even with so many different characters, they are very complex, yet very simple and real, which makes you laugh and cry along with them all through the book.
I loved this book in part because it is an excellent story, but also because it gave me an insight of what was happening in Chile during the 20th century, and how the people that lived through it were able to make it, and also because it showed me that the people we love are never gone from our lives, even if their physical selves are no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Many mistakes and senseless words, March 7, 2011
I have the paper version of this book and I love it. When I got my kindle I thought to have the e-version of it and fortunately I had Amazon to send me a sample....I would never buy the kindle version at how it is now. There are so many mistakes and senseless words that of course are not part of the original book. It is just very sad to have this great book in such poor version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good for read and research in subjects, October 19, 1998
I like this book, because it open my detective side. (ej. did this guy really existed? How long does the President stayed in the power? For how long did the General stayed in the power?) After I read the book I did a research about Chile and found that although is a ficction story, it tells a lot of what was happening in the country. Some people like to compare this book with 100 years of Soletary (Gabriel Garcia Marquez), but I desagree with them. Garcia Marquez style is imaginary, Allende adds to reality. Also is easier to read that 100 years, you do not get mixed in generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Una leccion de vida., February 23, 2000
La primera vez que lei este libro, fue fascinante, de verdad que lo fue me transporto a cada uno de los momentos que Isabel Allende decribia y narraba, con tanta pasion.... Es precisamente su narrativa descriptiva la que permite al lector internarse en lo mas profundo del libro y dejarse llevar. Fue un libro que no me permitio parar, cada noche queria leer mas y mas, asi le pasara a usted. Si usted esta familiarizado con los libros de I.A. se dara cuenta porque este libro ha sido uno de los mas vendidos en el mundo, traducido a un sinumero de idiomas.... es simplemente exelente. Lo mas hermoso de este libro es la leccion de vida que encierra, teniendo encuenta el contexto cultural de la chile de aquella epoca.... Si tiene la oportunidad de acceder a este libro, no la desprecie , tomelo en sus manos lea su primera pagina, ud no podra dejarlo. Angela.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good novel, but too much of a copy of Gabo's work, July 30, 2000
This review is from: La Casa de los Espíritus (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
This novel would have been a lot more interesting if I had not read One Hundred Years of Solitude beforehand. I found it to be a poor (in relative terms) imitation of Garcia Marquez's masterpiece. I was neither moved nor touched by the saga of the decaying family precisely because the Buendia's power is unmatched. Allende is a writer of much talent, but let's say that originality is not her strong point. I saw the same thing happen with Afrodita and Como Agua Para Chocolate...please, there are some well-read people out there...give us a break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

La Casa de los Espíritus (Spanish Edition)
La Casa de los Espíritus (Spanish Edition) by Isabel Allende (Paperback - September 18, 2001)
$15.99 $13.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.