Qty:1
  • List Price: $38.95
  • Save: $5.81 (15%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Crisp, clean pages; like new. Fast shipping
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Case Against Christianity Paperback – March 29, 1993


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$33.14
$19.97 $7.30


Frequently Bought Together

The Case Against Christianity + A Rulebook for Arguments
Price for both: $42.59

Buy the selected items together
  • A Rulebook for Arguments $9.45

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Temple University Press (March 29, 1993)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1566390818
  • ISBN-13: 978-1566390811
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.5 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (34 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #263,938 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Martin has said something fresh and fruitful that theologians and philosophers of religion simply cannot afford to ignore....Every serious student of Christian doctrine would do well to spend time on Martin's insightful chapters."
Free Inquiry


"A thorough, logical examination of the major tenants of Christianity by a professional philosopher (not a theologian).... [This] is the best book for the intelligent reader that examines the case for and against Christianity.... The book is must reading for all who discuss (or defend) Christianity from a critical point of view."
American Rationalist



"An insightful and provocative rational analysis of the major doctrinal claims of Christianity.... While a creative critique in its own right, this work is in the tradition of Friedrich Nietzsche, Bertrand Russell, Paul Kurtz, and Edmund Cohen among others...."
Choice

From the Publisher

A rational critique of Christianity --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

The more you know about the subjects he covers, however, the less seems to stick.
David Marshall
In a thorough, step-by-step way, he examines and refutes all of the fundamental doctrines of Christianity, as well as many modern apologist arguments.
John K.
This book should be examined by anyone who wants an unbiased perspective of christianity.
Andrew Lim

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

69 of 82 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on August 23, 2000
Format: Paperback
In this book, Michael Martin does an excellent job of dissecting the Christian religion with a tone of objectivity. The reader knows the author's conclusions from the title of the book, but it does not weaken his intellectual style. Though his position as philospher instead of theologian has brought his credibility in doubt, I was at least insured he would not jump to conclusions and keep them with stubborness. He states the problems with each Christian doctrine, reviews rebuttals to his arguments, and goes on to show the fallacy of the rebuttals. Some Christians, especially evangelicals, will quickly be unimpressed with his arguments when he doubts the probability of miracles. I personally thought his conclusions on miracles were rational and reasonable, but it takes an unbiased mind to appreciate his logic. Overall, I recommend this book to any person interested in religion because the book is based upon facts and philosophy, and I find it a devastating blow to Christianity's reasonableness. In conclusion, I find it to be a rational belief to accept Michael Martin's conclusions on Christianity and its doctrines.
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
38 of 45 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on August 1, 1998
Format: Paperback
I was reluctant to read this as I thought I had read all of the arguments against religious belief that existed. I expected a rehash of the old arguments from David Hume and Thomas Paine. It turns out that Martin has much to add that is new. If you value rationality, and want to make your mind superstition proof, you can strengthen yourself with this book. If you are an atheist, this will only make you more self-confident about the nonsense of believing in the christian god. If you are a believer, watch out! This will plant more doubts in your mind than you may wish. But that's okay! As a former christian, I can tell you that I am much happier as an atheist than I ever was when I wasted my time on believing in god.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
60 of 74 people found the following review helpful By Tom Munro on February 8, 2003
Format: Paperback
Martin is a reasonably well known free thinker who has a background as a academic philosopher. This book is an attempt to suggest that Christian doctrine is not true. The methodology of the book is to suggest that a Christian is someone who accepts the doctrines outlined in the three major Christian Creeds. That is that Jesus existed as a historical figure and was God incarnated, he died and was resurrected, he was born of a virgin and will come again.
As a text some of it is a bit plodding. The reason for this is that unlike other books rather than just outlining his position, he advances his argument by contrasting it to other arguments against his position. Thus in the chapter about the resurrection he discusses at some length the position o Habermas a thinker who suggests that the resurrection is a historic event. He then responds to those arguments at some length but the narrative flow is rather poor.
The arguments around the resurrection and the historical nature of Jesus are the same arguments which have been running around free thought circles for years and have been outlined by such people as Remsberg (The Christ) and Cutner (Jesus God, Man or Myth). That is that the biblical accounts of Jesus life are contradictory and the Gospels appear to have been written years after the event. The structure of the Gospels suggest stories which are mythical or elaborated and there is a complete absence outside Christian sources to verify what is meant to have gone on. Martin tends to labour these points a bit and in my view Remsberg is by far the strongest exponent of these arguments.
The rest of the book is however reasonably original. The argument against the incarnation is in short that the biblical account of the temptation of Jesus is inconsistent with his divine nature.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
37 of 45 people found the following review helpful By Andrew Lim on April 15, 2002
Format: Paperback
This book should be examined by anyone who wants an unbiased perspective of christianity. The arguments are as objective as any and the author doesn't go out of his way to scandalise the religion. Instead he makes the all important point that ultimately, christianity is a religion of blind faith more than anything that could possibly germinate in human logic or reason. Highly recommended to anyone contemplating a christian conversion and for christians who dare examine the arguments. Anti-missionary groups will want to order copies for their members and the Jews will rejoice for having stuck to their faith. Truly a book for all!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
41 of 51 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on April 25, 1999
Format: Paperback
This is by far the best sustained, scholarly attack on xianity I've seen. Martin's previous book, Atheism: A Philosophical Justification, dealt with theism in general, but this book shows the failings of xian theism in particular. Not only does Martin masterfully present the strong anti-xian arguments, he anticipates-- and defuses--possible objections to which theologians might resort. Convincing and well done. Atheists often read theistic material, including the bible, in order to stay informed. If only more xians were as open-minded and would read works such as this. There would be fewer xians!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
47 of 60 people found the following review helpful By Chad Cohan (chadcohan@home.com) on June 27, 1999
Format: Paperback
Although Dr. Martin speaks with very "large terms", that never stopped me from giving his book 5 stars. After the Introduction and Chapter 1, things started to click, and the large terms started to diminish (a little bit anyway). He goes one by one through the x-ian doctrines, and refutes them.
He explains most of the historicity of the bible, which is what I liked most. Dr. Martin is also very logical about the situation. He does NOT put x-ians down in any way. When you read the "other side", it's a completely different perspective. If you're a x-ian, and you think atheism is a crazy position, then I'd read before you make that assumption.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?