Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential for small-group leaders using the video series
When I purchased The Case for Christfor use in the midweek church service of our small congregation, I was fortunate to read in a review that the participant's guide is a necessary tool for effective group leadership of the series. The Leader's Guide which comes with the DVD set does not contain the discussion questions which are a central part of the experience as...
Published on October 6, 2009 by S. Wolfram

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't flow with the DVD.
Our bible study group is struggling to connect the book with the DVD. We were hoping to build our apologetic skills, but the guide seems to be a guide for non-believers.

The guide suggests reading book chapters and then viewing segments of the DVD. That is too much prep for our group. Our growth comes mostly from our discussion time and with all the work in...
Published on February 25, 2011 by Developer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential for small-group leaders using the video series, October 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Case for Christ Participant's Guide: A Six-Session Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Groupware Small Group Edition) (Paperback)
When I purchased The Case for Christfor use in the midweek church service of our small congregation, I was fortunate to read in a review that the participant's guide is a necessary tool for effective group leadership of the series. The Leader's Guide which comes with the DVD set does not contain the discussion questions which are a central part of the experience as envisioned by the producers, and the Participant's Guide does not come with the set but must be purchased separately.

Although we are using the series in the context of a group of (mostly) Christian believers, and it is entirely appropriate as a Christian apologetics/educational/inspirational tool for such a group, the producers envision it as an evangelization tool for those who are skeptical or unchurched but interested in the questions of whether Jesus even existed as a historical figure, what claims the Bible actually makes about Jesus, and what basis anyone might have for accepting those claims. This is the audience to whom the series is mainly directed.

The participant's guide contains a little review and background material for each of the DVD's six sessions, but the majority of the material consists of discussion questions, questions for personal thought, and, for each session, a section on "Personal Reflection" to be read and contemplated by participants between sessions. There is ample space for notes or reflection.

The six sections (corresponding to the six sessions on the companion DVD) are
1. The Investigation of a Lifetime
2. Eyewitness Evidence
3. Evidence Outside the Bible
4. Analyzing Jesus
5. Evidence for the Resurrection
6. Reaching Your Verdict

For our group of mostly strong Christians, it has been quite sufficient for us to have one copy of this booklet available. For sessions being offered for seekers or skeptics, it would be ideal for each participant to obtain a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD, but limited in scope, November 29, 2010
By 
K. Clark (Jacksonville, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great idea in putting forth a 6-session study. This is really geared toward an atheist/agnostic in its presentation, but we made it into a small group study as part of my church. We took it on as identifying the resources and truth behind the objections made by skeptics, particularly in articulating the truth behind the evidence for Jesus of Nazareth. Good introductory study group for apologetics in establishing the historical evidence of the original source documents of the New Testament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars informative, February 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Case for Christ Participant's Guide: A Six-Session Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Groupware Small Group Edition) (Paperback)
Maybe I missed it, but once I received this study guide, we noticed that it needs a DVD. So, that was another purchase we had to make. Overall, it was an informative, in-depth study of the historical evidence for Christ. Some of it is well-known. Much of it is not. It made for some great conversation opportunities. However, the study guide alone would not be enough without the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and fascinating., May 4, 2010
By 
Kelly (Canton, GA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the study guide that goes with the DVD. It helps direct discussion after watching the excerpt from the video. This bundle (the book, the DVD and the study guide) deals with questions regarding the validity of the gospels and the existence of Christ. Did He really live? If so, was he just a profit? Great study for skeptics, and for those with questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful DVD, March 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read the outstanding book. The video is even better. Lee Strobel is wonderful on video and this DVD really reinforces all the info in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Case for christ, March 30, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Case for Christ Participant's Guide: A Six-Session Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Groupware Small Group Edition) (Paperback)
The Book and Study guide restore faith in Christ. We are using it in our study group and it promotes active discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't flow with the DVD., February 25, 2011
By 
Developer (Topeka, Kansas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Case for Christ Participant's Guide: A Six-Session Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Groupware Small Group Edition) (Paperback)
Our bible study group is struggling to connect the book with the DVD. We were hoping to build our apologetic skills, but the guide seems to be a guide for non-believers.

The guide suggests reading book chapters and then viewing segments of the DVD. That is too much prep for our group. Our growth comes mostly from our discussion time and with all the work in each section, there leaves little time for discussion. So, we stray from the recommended approach. It would be great if there was a guide for current believes who want to grow their apologetic skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good video to share with non-believers., June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I use this video to present Christ to non-believers - especially those that want an intellectual debate. The facts are well presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love to shop at Amazon, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Anything I order from Amazon is just like it looks on the computer.
Everything arrives just as stated. If there is a delay, I receive a note
telling me this, why it is late and when to expect it.
I always go to the Amazon website first.
Very pleased.
I do not like to shop at town and Amazon is great.
Do most of my Christmas shopping and get great ideas from them when I
don't know what to buy. Amazon is a great place to find old movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for anybody interested in God, December 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Case for Christ Participant's Guide: A Six-Session Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus (Groupware Small Group Edition) (Paperback)
For anybody seeking God, or just curious, this book is a must buy. The author used to not believe in God until he went on the journey of writing this book. What he reveals in his discussion with Christian experts is truly amazing and eye opening. You are certainly to read this book many times and reference it in conversations with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.