Industrial Deals GG Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals TheGoodDinosaur Outdoor Deals on Tikes

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

112 of 117 people found the following review helpful
on March 23, 2010
In the interest of full disclosure my wife works for Zondervan Bibles and was the lead manager for this Bible. I am NOT being compensated for this review, other than being married to greatest gal on the planet :)

I have to admit straight away that when my wife told me that she was working on a Bible with Lee Strobel I was skeptical. While I have appreciated Lee's contribution to the Church and greater community for a while, I wondered why we needed yet another Bible product, especially one centered around a Christian celebrity. I thought, "There are Bible's for moms, teens, dads, grandmothers, environmentalists, NASCAR fans, patriots, and even for horse lovers, why on earth do we need yet another one?"

As husbands often are (so I'm learning 6 months into marriage!), I was wrong; this is a sweet, needed Bible, which is why I wanted to write this review for The Case for Christ Study Bible!

Lee has written a much needed companion for the spiritual journeyperson. This is a Bible for both Christians seeking to better understand and investigate their faith AND seekers/skeptics who are trying to better understand Christianity and searching for answers to their spiritual questions. In a manner only he can pull off, Lee consistently presents his case along side the biblical text for the reality of God, reliability of Scripture, rescue brought through Christ, and reasons for putting our hope and faith in Him alone. I can see this Bible being given by a Christian to a seeking friend as much as Christian parents to their maturing teenager; those wondering about Christianity will pick-up this Bible at their local Barnes and Noble as will the longtime Christian who needs better apologetical equipping.

Here are some of the questions this Bible seeks to help answer: How can there be a God if there is so much suffering in the world? Did Jesus claim to be the Son of God? Can we trust the New Testament? Does science point to a Creator? Why was Zerubbabel a significant ancestor of Jesus? When was Daniel written? Why did Jesus associate with the lowest people of society?Was Jesus sinless? Did Jesus intentionally fulfill the messianic prophecies? What's the truth behind the debate regarding the number of differing Greek manuscripts? Who is the rider on the white horse in Revelation? Is Jesus the only way?

He also tackles such topics as: The Creator of Earth's perfect location; Worshiping the Creator; Care for the needy; The accuracy of Ezekiel's prophecies; Messianic prophecies and the integrity of the gospels; The plausibility of a virgin birth; Problems with the Jesus Seminar; Paul and Old Testament prophecies; The Bible and the truth about God.

These and other questions and topics are addressed and answered with the precision, accuracy, and care only a journalist like Lee Strobel could provide. Using new articles and material culled from his other works, Lee gets to the heart of the inquiries from the faithful and skeptics alike using 5 insightful features: The Case for the Bible; The Case for Christ; The Case for a Creator; The Case for Faith; The Verdict. As the information from the CFC Study Bible describes these features:

1) The Case for the Bible: The Bible is an extraordinary record of human history and these articles demonstrate the accuracy of this record. They explore the character of the Bible and the extrabiblical evidence that corroborates Scripture. They also tackle many tough questions and offer explanations for apparent contradictions within the Scriptural Text.
2) The Case for Christ: These articles provide an in-depth exploration of Jesus' claims, deity, and resurrection. They also show how Christ can be found throughout the Old Testament. Included in these notes are Old Testament prophecies that point to Jesus as Messiah.
3) The Case for a Creator: If you look closely, it is easy to find evidence that the world was specifically designed. These articles highlight the many wonders of creation and provide specific examples from nature and science to illustrate how the scientific evidence points to one supreme Creator.
4) The Case for Faith: For most people faith is a complicated and personal subject. These articles attempt to address some of the most popular questions asked by skeptics and believers alike, such as "How can there be a God if there is so much suffering in the world?" and other critical questions about faith.
5) The Verdict: Through testimonies from well-known scholars and other Christians who have examined the evidence, discovered the reality of Jesus and put their faith in him, these articles provide the real and personal examples of true faith. They will challenge you to examine the evidence for yourself so that you can make your own verdict.

Here is what I like about The Case for Christ Study Bible:

* Uses the NIV text and includes all the study notes from the main NIV Study Bible.
* Each book opens with a short information sheet, including: Major themes, Author, Audience, Date of writing, and setting.
* Lee tackles serious questions about serious issues of faith.
* The responses are well researched and reasoned, skipping the typical cheap platitudes and bobbing and weaving all too often associated with other so-called Christian apologetic resources.
* For a bible studies and theology student like me, Lee tackles subjects like inerrancy, OT prophecies, the Jesus Seminar/Historical Jesus studies, and even Q. Right on!
* With pastoral sensitivity, he even addresses hard-hitting subjects, like the personal pain of loosing his own child.
* The back includes really helpful charts I have not seen in other Study Bibles, such as: The Creeds and Hymns of the early church; Divine actions of Jesus; OT prophecies fulfilled by Jesus; Jesus' claims about Himself; and Resurrection appearances of Jesus.
* Finally, the interior layout is nice and crisp, unobtrusively inserting the articles in such away that they don't get in the way of the biblical text, but rather supplement it, which to me is an important "user-interface" feature.

All in all, this is one of the only Study Bibles I would give to a spiritually seeking friend or fellow believer who is interested in strengthening their faith. While I have always appreciated Lee's writings and perspective, I am pleased with his latest efforts to see people encounter our risen Savior Jesus Christ. This Bible is a great tool for Christians and non-Christians alike who want to better understand and investigate the claims of Scripture for themselves.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
on April 9, 2010
There are a couple of lengthy reviews already posted here so I will not repeat everything they said. I will keep it short, sweet and "high level"! This is an EXCELLENT study Bible that I highly recommend for all audiences no matter if your a curious seeker into the possibility if Christianity could indeed be true, just beginning your Christian walk or have been serving Christ for decades. The content is rewarding and informative for all!

While it's similar in some ways to the two outstanding study Bibles published by Holman ("Apologetics study Bible" and the newest "Apologetics study Bible for students") this is distinctly different from them. I don't get the feeling like I am reading a "remixed" version of those Bibles when I read the Case For Christ study Bible. I see Two major reasons above and beyond only the translation (Case for Christ is NIV, Apologetics bibles are CSB)used for the Bibles. 1.) Different publisher. This being published Zondervan rather than Holman so you see the difference in layout, approach, and unique intent apart from the other two Bibles. 2.) Of course the single BIGGEST factor of difference is that the pages are filled Lee Strobel's comments/articles/clippings from interviews/evidences. They are as expected, fantastic!! (Have not read a Lee Strobel book that was not excellent!)

I now must say that when asked to recommend a Bible I am now torn between the "Case For Christ; Study Bible" and the "Apologetics Study Bible" (both the regular and student version). So, I am PERFECTLY fine with recommending ALL THREE and as someone who has them all and am reading from all 3, I can vouch that you will NOT be disappointed!!

Christians and the church NEED apologetics perhaps now more than ever in history. We (the church in general) are not teaching our youth nor adults the reasons and evidences for WHY Christianity is true beyond only faith. While of course we must exercise our faith in Christ, I quote Don Stewart when he said "No one is asked to sacrifice his intellect when he puts his faith in the God of the Bible."

This study Bible and the other two I mentioned are incredible resources and tools to help equip individuals to understand WHY Christianity IS indeed true and why we CAN make the case for Christ from an evidential, logical and reasonable perspective.


11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
on April 26, 2010
First of, I must admit to not having read any of Lee Strobel's popular books, so this is my first introduction to any of his writings. He's been an author who I've been wanting to read for sometime now, but my reading stack remains, as always, too large to acquaint myself with his books. That said, this was a great way to dive into his works and to investigate the reliability of the Bible.

The meat of this study Bible are the "Case for" notes, 500+ articles divided into four sections arguing for the reliability of the Bible, Christ, Faith and the Creator. The articles range in size from a short paragraph or two to a couple of pages, and all provide insightful and well-reasoned arguments. The topics themselves are diverse and cover historical, scientific and theological issues such as Divine Justice, the Resurrection, the Virgin Birth and Earth's Atmosphere, to name just a few. I was happy to see a subject index in the back that allows you to quickly and easily locate a specific article without having to try to guess where you read it. (Although the articles mostly tie into the text's that they're located next to) The articles are all well written and I enjoyed reading them.

A fifth and more unique type of article included is simply called "The Verdict", and provides testimonies from both educated scholars and Christians. I really enjoyed reading these, as they provided a fascinating and personal application to theme of this bible. Unfortunately, not only were these few and far between, there doesn't seem to be an index for these, meaning there's no easy way to find them all. I was disappointed not to see that included, as they were one of my favorite things about this bible.

While the articles certainly steal the show, the actual study notes are the same that are found in the NIV Study Bible, though a quick side-by-side comparison of the two bibles will show that the "The Case For Christ" Bible includes only a fraction of them. I found several instances of the same notes that appeared in both where "The Case For Christ" cut the notes off sooner then the NIV Study Bible did. This isn't bad necessarily, as the articles are the main focus, just be aware that you're not getting the depth of the NIV Study Bible's notes here.

So would I recommend this bible? Well, from what I could tell, the majority of the articles seemed to be taken from Strobel's extensive library of books, so I'm not sure how much new material was actually written for this. Chances are, if you already own most of Strobel's books and the NIV Study Bible, you probably don't need this one unless you're a diehard Strobel fan. That said, if you're new to his writings I as was and are looking for a well-rounded argument for Christianity, "The Case For Christ Study Bible" makes an excellent resource and a fine introduction to Strobel's body of works.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on March 17, 2010
The increasingly puerile pugnacity of the New Atheism is indicative of the state of numerous people in the West, yet its claims are unfounded: The God of the Bible not only displays proof everywhere to everyone, He is the essential ground for all truth and the inquiry therein. If you desire to have vast amounts of evidential material at your fingertips, Lee Strobel has the work for you: "The Case for Christ Study Bible."

In this fresh easy-to-read Apologetic Study Bible you will find:

- A large amount of scientific findings that point to the Creator
- In excess of 500 notes gathered from Strobel's many books
- Numerous non-biblical sources that support the historicity of scripture
- Theistic Arguments answering the problem of evil
- Proof for the Resurrection of Christ
- Evidence for the Faith from Hundreds of Messianic Prophecies
- A compilation of several former skeptics who examined the evidence for Christian theism and by God's grace became Christians
- Introductions to all 66 books of the Bible.

"Drawn from Lee Strobel's experiences as a former atheist and investigative journalist. `The Case For Christ Study Bible' includes notes and articles throughout that will both encourage you in your own faith, while also providing a great tool for evangelism."

There is Proof Nothing but Proof
An important area of "proof" is the messianic prophecies that were fulfilled by Jesus Christ. The Tenach (Old Testament) foretold the coming of the Messiah in exact detail. The text was written centuries before the coming of Jesus, and it predicted over three hundred prophecies about Him. No other founder of any religion can provide a similar prophetic record of his life written down centuries before his birth. No other founder can supply a widely transmitted, preexisting written record that accurately predicted the details of their life.

The three hundred clear prophecies of the coming Messiah were predicted and foretold by God. The Lord forecasted events and historical facts about the coming of Jesus prior to His birth. All these predictions came true in the birth, life, death, and resurrection of Jesus of Nazareth. No other leader or prophet had predictive material written about their life recorded before they were born. Jesus had over three hundred predictions about His life that were fulfilled in exact detail.

Christ's virgin birth was predicted about seven hundred years before He was born in Isaiah 7:14: "So the Lord Himself shall give you a sign. Behold, the virgin will conceive and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call His name Emmanuel." His place of birth was forecasted in Micah 5:2: "And you, Bethlehem... out of you He shall come forth to Me, to become Ruler in Israel, He whose goings forth have been... from eternity." The exact date of His entry in Jerusalem was predicted by Daniel in chapter nine. God prophesied the Palm Sunday event recorded in Zechariah 9:9: "Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion! Shout, O daughter of Jerusalem! Behold, your King is coming to you; He is just and having salvation, lowly and riding on a donkey, a colt, the foal of a donkey."

Christ's death on the cross was foretold before that form of execution was even invented by Persia. Psalms 22:1-16 announces the crucifixion hundreds of years before it happened.

Moreover the Bible reveals to humanity that the Earth hangs on nothing (Job 26:7) and is a sphere (Isaiah 40:22). Scripture declared this thousands of years before telescopes and modern science discovered those facts. God's word teaches us the proper function of the water cycle (Job 38:12-14), the existence of ocean currents (Psalms 8:8), the solar cycle, and the expansion of the universe (Isaiah 40:22) centuries before modern science found these truths. These evidential facts are consistent with the authority of the Bible. These and other evidences do not give the Bible authority; it is endued with it because it is God's word. All science, testing, and examination presuppose God and His word. Testing utilizes a number of dynamics such as logic and induction. A materialistic worldview cannot justify the existence or the use of the laws of reason. They are nonphysical and abstract dynamics that can only come from the nature of the one true God. We have certain knowledge that the God of scripture lives. We do not think He probably exists. Our faith is not just reasonable or plausible. It is impossible for the true and living God not to exist because without Him, we cannot know anything at all. He is the precondition for all knowledge. God must be presupposed as the basis of every element of mankind's experience, knowledge, and value.
type in ASIN#:1420827626

Strobel states: "I went to a psychologist friend and said if 500 people claimed to see Jesus after he died, it was just a hallucination. He said hallucinations are an individual event. If 500 people have the same hallucination, that's a bigger miracle than the resurrection."

Lee Strobel is former journalist with a degree from Yale Law School, was the award-winning legal editor of the Chicago Tribune NP and a skeptic until 1981. His books include four Gold Medallion winners and the 2005 Christian Book of the Year.

See the New Book that contends for the existence of God using moral absolutes by Mike Robinson:
There Are Moral Absolutes: How to Be Absolutely Sure That Christianity Alone Supplies
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on June 22, 2010
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This Study Bible is a hybrid. It contains partial study notes from NIV Study Bible and abridged articles from Lee Strobel's books - "The Case for ..." series. In an attempt to give best of both worlds, it gave best of none. Let me divide the review into PROS & CONS:

1. The Bible is stitched (Smyth-Sewn), and not glued. This deserves high merit. It is rare these days to find a stitched Bible.
2. The prints are clear and readable - even though the Bible font is in a smaller size.
3. The articles are helpful even though they may not go into details. The articles are actually taken from "Archaeological Study Bible" and Strobel's books: The Case for Christ, The Case for the Real Jesus, The Case for Faith, and The Case for a Creator. Additionally, it includes several other articles from Josh McDowell, Edwin Yamauchi, and others.
4. The Study Bible includes helpful sections such as: Subject Index, Concordance, Table of Weights & Measures, Creeds & Hymns of the Early Church, Divine Actions of Jesus, Divine Names Used to describe Jesus, and OT Prophecies Fulfilled by Jesus.

1. The study notes are NOT full content from NIV Study Bible. This is frustrating. For example: the Case for Christ Study Bible gives a FULL NIV study Bibles notes in Gen. 1:3, then it skips to Gen. 1:26! There are NO study notes in between while the NIV Study Bible covers the notes of Gen. 1:4,5,6,7,9,10,11,14,16,17-18,21,22. This selective coverage of study notes makes it very frustrating.
2. While the articles ("the Case for...") are generally helpful, it does not cover much detail. So if you are OK with the general knowledge, then this Study Bible might fit the bill. But if you are looking for something more serious then, this Bible is not for you.
3. The Bible is limited for those who believe in Evidentialistic approach to Apologetics. But if you are a presuppostionalist, this is not for you.

Overall, it is just OK. It could have been much better though.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Welcome to my first video review (as you can probably tell).
I found this to be an insightful read and appreciated the additional articles and study tools.
Having heard of Lee Strobel but not read any of his books, I felt like I got a dose from all his best sellers in one location.

One thing I neglected to call out in the video is the articles nearly always have footnotes, so you can reference the source for the article content. I appreciated this so when an article says "scientist say. . ." I can eventually track down what scientists and where did he get the information.

Hopefully you find this video helpful in determining if this Bible is right for you or as a gift for someone else.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on May 31, 2010
I guess I will be the one differing in my opinion of this Study Bible. Lee Strobel is touted as one of the foremost apologists for the Christian Faith. I in no way question his integrity, motive, sincerity or intentions. I am only commenting on the end product. I was stunned when I read such articles in this Study Bible essentially eliminating literal Hell fire, teaching Mark 16:9-20 as definitely unreliable along with various apologetic arguments to support this view and promoting the NIV translation as the most accurate. The NIV says of itself in the Introduction that it is a translation in process [due to it's reliance on modern critical manuscript revisions] and therefore cannot be seen as totally accurate. I guess what I am getting at is "Can one be a reliable apologist for Christianity and not believe in the total inerrant reliability of Scripture?" In fact, HOW can we be sure our Doctrine of Christ is 100% correct without a firm reliance on Scripture being the Word of God in totality? I for one do not believe anyone can know God or Christ outside a knowledge of Scripture. But there are many, increasing every year, that do. This Bible is also somewhat of a lightweight version of The Apologetics Study Bible: Understand Why You Believe.
1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on March 15, 2012
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
While not as good at presenting hard scientific evidence like the excellent Archaeological Study Bible does, the notes scattered throughout this Bible are interesting to read, and for the most part, thought provoking. I thought that many of the articles were too simplistic, or based more on feelings than any sort of firm data. I was expecting to find a Bible that had found a lot of evidence from other ancient historical texts about the life of Christ in particular, or at least citing archeological finds. I do know these exist. Instead, the 'cases' presented are largely opinion. I don't think they would hold up as 'fact' by scientists or in a court of law.

The most annoying thing about this Bible is the lack of an index that lists the subtitles for the 'Cases for Faith', etc. Since this is the main thing that sets this Bible apart, I have looked literally for hours to find one of these notes that I read, and failed to find in the subject index. However, a few months ago I read a note about fossils, that I felt was just plain wrong.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon July 31, 2010
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I started reading Lee Stobel's investigations into various aspects of the Christian faith about six years ago and have found them reliable and engaging. (I include him along with C. S Lewis and G. K. Chesterton among my favorite Christian apologists.)I am particularly fond of his interview style, where he takes a topic and discusses it in depth with a leading mainstream (note: not Jesus Seminar) scholar. This allows a lay person to gain deeper insight into current scholarly debates without having to read the often murky academic writing of some scholars.
If the reader is acquainted with Strobel's work, he finds much here that is familiar as Strobel incorporates material from his works The Case for Christ, The Case for Jesus, and so forth. Having read several of his books, I did not find much "new" material in the commentary sections. The benefit is placing Strobel's discussion topics in the context of scripture. I found this very helpful in terms of studying the text, avoiding having to pull the various "Case for" volumes and thumb through to find the references. Readers who are unfamiliar with Strobel's work will find this study Bible a good introduction to his style and ideas.
Strobel fits within the evangelical worldview and follows what I would consider fairly traditional views of Christ. He rejects the current tendancy of the Jesus Seminar to "remake" Christ in a modernist image, and I agree with that assessment. I think readers who do not concur with Strobel's conclusions would do well to engage this study Bible as I think it will challenge them, and for those seeking to find answers about some basic questions (such as who was Christ and how did He see Himself), I strongly urge them to take a look at this volume.
I do wish this volume was available in other translations, especially the original King James version.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon June 26, 2010
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Lee Strobel's work is great when you are trying to discuss theological topics with someone who is yet to believe in God. This study Bible takes excerpts from his books and intersperses them throughout the text, similar to a devotional bible. It isn't set up to be read through in a year, it just places those articles strategically. There are excerpts titled The Case for the Bible, The Case for Christ, The Case for a Creator, The Case for Faith and The Verdict. The study notes may be his, but it looks like they may also be the study notes from the NIV Study Bible. (I didn't see an obvious citation for them.) It is nice to have those types of explanations on the same page as the text.

It includes some helpful charts on names of Christ in the OT/NT, book introductions, fulfilled prophecies, a subject index, maps and an NIV concordance. I loved that it had an alphabetical listing of the books of the Bible with page numbers. That was a great feature. Stroebel's articles are referenced with page numbers in their original books in the back in the event that further research is desired. Some of the references are also from the Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture which is also great.

On the down side, the book is dictionary-sized with almost 1900 thin pages. It has an introduction that welcomes seekers, but unfortunately, leaves them to go plodding off on their own. He is deliberate in stating that he is not telling them what to believe, just presenting evidence. I'm not sure that someone who is unfamiliar with the Bible won't start at page 1 and go through until s/he gets bogged down in Leviticus. I wish there had been more details for someone who might be exploring for the first time clarifying basics like the difference between the Old and New Testaments, places to find certain things, with a how to read a Bible reference to locate them. Perhaps then the book isn't as I anticipated it would be from the title, something you would give to someone with doubts or who is exploring the validity of the bible.

It has comprehensive resources so a pastor or Sunday School or Bible study teacher might find it useful. I just wonder if they need yet another study Bible.

It is the very readable NIV, which is a good thing. Perhaps this will be a good resource for a seminarian or in a church library.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

The Case for Christianity Answer Book
The Case for Christianity Answer Book by Lee Strobel (Hardcover - July 1, 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.