Qty:1
  • List Price: $23.93
  • Save: $3.35 (14%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Sealed in Plastic for protection. Eligible for FREE Super Saving Shipping! Fast Amazon shipping plus a hassle free return policy mean your satisfaction is guaranteed! Tracking number provided with every order.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Case Closed?! Forty Mini Series for You To Solve Hardcover – October, 2003


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$20.58
$19.50 $0.01
Year-End%20Deals%20in%20Books

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Kindle FreeTime Unlimited
Free one month trial
Get unlimited access to thousands of kid-safe books, apps and videos, for one low price, with Amazon FreeTime Unlimited. Get started for free. Learn more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 7 and up
  • Grade Level: 2 and up
  • Hardcover: 96 pages
  • Publisher: The Millbrook Press; 1 edition (October 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0761327398
  • ISBN-13: 978-0761327394
  • Product Dimensions: 5.8 x 0.5 x 8.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,128,064 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 3-6--Each spread features a different crime, and a page of text faces an illustration that gives visual clues. These black-line drawings with a touch of orange are reminiscent of the art in Highlights magazines. Reluctant readers will be drawn to the simplicity of the text; budding detectives will appreciate the challenge of solving the crimes. The cases are generally adult-oriented, involving bank robbers or disloyal business partners. The clues are usually evident after careful searching: readers spot a suitcase matching the criminal's, the thief's clothes are dirty, etc. The answers appear at the end of the book. Additional fare that's a combination of Martin Handford's "Where's Waldo" (Candlewick) and Donald Sobol's "Encyclopedia Brown" (Bantam).--Debbie Whitbeck, West Ottawa Public Schools, Holland, MI
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

Gr. 2-5. Forty illustrated stories, each only a few paragraphs in length, encourage readers to help young private detectives Daisy Pepper and Ridley Long solve a variety of mysteries. The stories incorporate puzzles, secret codes, and sequences of events that must be dealt with in order to unravel the mystery, with lively, detailed black-and-orange ink drawings providing visual clues. If readers are stumped, the answers to the mysteries appear at the book's end. These stories, first published in Germany, would be equally fun to solve individually or in a class or group. Readers who enjoy George Shannon and Peter Sis' Stories to Solve series should enjoy these moderately challenging puzzlers. Ed Sullivan
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By Barb on November 17, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
These mini mysteries were just right in content and length. My students loved solving these mysteries. They were engaging and fun. This book was just what I was looking for to help my 2nd graders start thinking like detectives.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Elyse Parmentier on October 8, 2012
Format: Paperback
I am a speech-language pathologist who works with children with reading and language processing difficulties. Through the years, I have used this book and Obrist's other book, "Open and Shut Cases", in my therapy sessions with students from 8 - 15 years old. The kids love solving the mysteries. Using this book allows them to read and comprehend a short text, learn vocabulary, develop reasoning and thinking skills, pay attention to details, and have some fun. I recommend this book to other therapists, and to any adults who want to encourage the children they know to read, think and solve mysteries.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again