Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent DSLR case with superb flexibility and all day comfort.
The Case Logic DSLR backpack makes organizing and transporting your camera and its accessories simple and safe.

The Case Logic is about the size of a regular school backpack but is little narrower. It's constructed of high quality materials and all of the zippers, doors, pouches, and various buckles and fittings feel well assembled and built to last. The...
Published on November 1, 2012 by Anthony Pantliano

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Reviews
I asked for this camera backpack for Christmas and my loving girlfriend bought one for me. Most of the reviews were 4 or 5 star with people saying it's a great bag. Some did mention the difficulty of adjusting the partitions, but I wasn't prepared for the maddening experience I was about to endure. After three individual 20 minute sessions of trying to arrange partitions...
Published 13 months ago by Mark D. Capurso


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent DSLR case with superb flexibility and all day comfort., November 1, 2012
This review is from: Case Logic Kilowatt KSB-101 Medium Sling Backpack for Pro DSLR (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The Case Logic DSLR backpack makes organizing and transporting your camera and its accessories simple and safe.

The Case Logic is about the size of a regular school backpack but is little narrower. It's constructed of high quality materials and all of the zippers, doors, pouches, and various buckles and fittings feel well assembled and built to last. The interior of the backpack is nicely done as well and densely padded. Lastly, the shoulder straps and back of the case are cushioned for comfort. The only hiccup is the occasionally difficult to open top and front doors that requires a little finessing to prevent the zippers from jamming.

The Case Logic is absolutely covered in doors and compartments. There is one large triangular shaped compartment on top, two small compartments on top of each side (one of which has the included weather hood inside), and the main compartment on the bottom. Additionally, every compartment on the backpack has a pouch on the inside of the door for small item storage. The backpack's main compartment is very large and includes 4 dividers to separate it into different sections. The dividers velcro into place securely, and are easy to rearrange as needed. To access the main compartment you can use the front door or either of the side doors.

I was able to divide up the main compartment to fit my Canon 7D, the Canon 24-105 f/4 L lens, the Canon 50mm f/1.4 lens, the Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 macro lens, and the Canon 40mm f/2.8 pancake lens. In the top compartment I placed a lens pouch, a lens hood, the battery charger, and extra compact flash cards. There is plenty of room for all of the items, and the camera and lens are each protected in their own separate compartments where they fit snuggly. It's easy to access all of my gear quickly, and finding an item is simple as everything is in plain sight.

In use the Case Logic is very comfortable and I can wear it for long periods of time without it becoming a burden. It can be worn as a backpack over both shoulders, or as a sling over either shoulder, and it's easy to convert from one method to the other.

All in all...a terrific DSLR case that should fit many different cameras and lots of varied accessories.

02/20/2013 Update: I still love this case, have recently added the Canon 28mm f/2.8 IS USM lens to my kit, and it fits in the case with all the other lenses without a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars big enough, TONS of padding, completely configurable, October 31, 2012
This review is from: Case Logic Kilowatt KSB-101 Medium Sling Backpack for Pro DSLR (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a really nice backpack for a DSLR, with tons of room and tons of protection for your gear.

PROS
* Stiff enough to hold its own shape, so the bag itself will absorb (some) impact before things reach your camera
* TONS of padding inside--walls, cielings, doors, and even the compartment dividers
* Every last compartment divider is held in place with super-strong velcro that's repositionable, so you can adjust things to fit _your_ camera and _your_ lenses, to ensure a fit that's neither too loose nor too snug
* Has way more room than I need for my (small) DSLR and three lenses
* Tons of pockets for memory cards, extra batteries, etc.
* In addition to the top compartment, the main compartment can open from the top or either side, so you can choose
which you prefer (which may vary depending on which lens you're trying to retrieve)
* It's a backpack, so you won't strain your spine over time (though you do have the option to switch it to a sling if you prefer)

CONS
* Takes a while to figure out how to adjust the compartments. For example, my DSLR is on the small side, and I don't feel like I've identified the optimal way to arrange the compartments around it
* The label says there's a way to attach a tripod on front for even weight distribution, but I can't figure out how to attach the tripod at all... so this may be a usability/wish-it-had-more-instructions issue

NEUTRAL
* The zippers are a bit stiff and can require some focus to open or close... but that's because there is padding that protects the internal contents from hitting/scratching the zippers, so it's probably worth the hassle
* The velcro is so strong that it "grabs" when you're trying to reposition. BUT this means it holds tight once you have it in place, so this is an annoyance I can live with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy camera backpack, October 27, 2012
This review is from: Case Logic Kilowatt KSB-101 Medium Sling Backpack for Pro DSLR (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a very well padded camera backpack. There are several internal pieces of velcro sided foam that can be moved around to accommodate your particular camera configuration needs. The zippers are a little stiff. The pockets on right, left, and back do allow you to access the bottom compartment from any side. The top compartment is also well padded. The mesh pockets allow you to see what you have put in them and are found on both side and top zippered pockets. My only complaint is that the straps cannot be shortened enough to be comfortable for me. I have a very short torso for an adult, and the padding sections on the straps are longer than I need straps to be. Other than that, the tripod and waist cinches are nice as is the "weather cover" that is included. A nice backpack, recommended for folks taller than 5'3" or with long torsos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent camera bag!, November 16, 2012
This review is from: Case Logic Kilowatt KSB-101 Medium Sling Backpack for Pro DSLR (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is an excellent camera bag! It has two main compartments. The upper one is approximately 6" tall, 6" wide and 5" deep, and the lower one is about 7.5" tall, 6" wide and 5" deep. There are also two very small side-compartments at the top of the bag, and each of them has interior mesh pockets.

The bag's upper main compartment has two interior mesh pockets and opens at the front. The lower main compartment has adjustable velcro'd partitions, and opens from the left and right sides, as well as from the front. Each of the lower main compartment's side and front flaps has either a mesh or zippered pocket.

The bag is roomy enough for a camera, a couple of lenses and a few smaller items such as batteries and memory cards, and they will all be very well protected because of the excellent all-around padding. You can carry the bag as a backpack, or configure the straps to make it into a right- or left-handed sling bag. The included weather hood will come in handy on a rainy day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELL BUILT, HANDY AND DOES THE JOB IT WAS MADE FOR...And it looks good!, October 26, 2012
This review is from: Case Logic Kilowatt KSB-101 Medium Sling Backpack for Pro DSLR (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I have to tell you that this is one nice little and handy backpack for photography use. I received this item and instantly fell in love with it. Now I do not use a DSLR camera but rather an old and trusted Nikon FA which has served me well over the years - film and all. This backpack is perfect for my particular needs so if you are like me and have not made the transition to digital, fear not because this pack works just fine with antique cameras too.

The product is precisely as described in the product description. You can indeed configure it three different ways. I personally found that the right sling position worked out best for me although I did try all the different ones and they all work quite well and allow easy access to your camera, lens and the other "junk" which we all normally carry. The camera fits perfectly and there is plenty of room, in my case, for two different lenses.

I love the special strap on the back which allows you to carry a tripod. The strap is stout and even though I use a very light tripod it is obvious that he pack could carry a much larger and heavier one.

I like the way that the partitions within the back can be reconfigured with little or not problem. The dividers are stout and well padded and held in by very strong Velcro fasteners which allows quick adjustments as needed. The pack itself is EXTREMELY well padded, which in my case is very important as I am a bit of a klutz and am constantly bashing into things. While I would not recommend throwing the back filled with equipment over a bluff or roll it down a hill side, I have all the confidence in the world that if you did as such the chances of your gear coming through the ordeal would be quite good.

The straps are very easy to adjust and fasten and are very, very comfortable in all configurations.

There is plenty of space in the top compartment to stash extra gear and it is very well padded. The outside, and indeed the inside of the back has quite a number of little pouches to store and hold smaller bits of gear. All in all this pack allows you to become extremely organized...something I have always had a problem with.

The zippers on this pack are heavy duty and at first you will find that they are a bit "stiff." After zipping and unzipping them a number of times though the stiffness leaves and they are quite smooth. The material which this pack is made of is quite stout and after careful examination I found the stitching to be very good. This pack should last for years of heavy use.

An additional feature, and one I most certainly appreciate, is the fact that the pack has a detachable weather hood which fits the pack perfectly and folds down to be quite small and easy to stash away in a special pouch on the OUTSIDE of he pack. I live in an area where the weather can change quickly and this is a real plus.

The pack is flat bottomed with a firm bottom and sets well and has a handle on top which makes it easy to carry if not strapped on your back.

This is an attractive and compact backpack which does the job that it was built for.

Don Blankenship
The Ozarks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High quality camera backpack, May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Logic Kilowatt KSB-101 Medium Sling Backpack for Pro DSLR (Electronics)
I love this backpack. It is perfect to carry my camera and accessories. Nice quality - just what it is represented to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great bag for a small kit, May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Logic Kilowatt KSB-101 Medium Sling Backpack for Pro DSLR (Electronics)
This is a fantastic bag and design. However is just a little too small for my gear. All would probably fit if the padding weren't so thick. I tried the next size up, Large. It lives up to the name as it is a huge increase in size. This was way too big for my needs. Unfortunately, there is not anything between the two sizes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy, well-cushioned, comfortable and highly versatile camera bag!, November 15, 2012
By 
Tracy M (Arlington, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Case Logic Kilowatt KSB-101 Medium Sling Backpack for Pro DSLR (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
What an amazingly versatile camera backpack! Previous to using this camera bag, I used a small tamrac bag, which didn't hold all my equipment. This backpack is far better.

I actually don't have a DSLR but have a prosumer digital camera about the same size as a dslr - and carry also a 90-300 zoom lens and a flashtrax - a small hard drive for transferring images. When I travel by plane, I also carry within my camera bag: additional lenses, flash, battery charger, batteries (if allowable on the plane) memory cards, lens hood, additional small digital camera, and camera manual. This bag will hold all - and easily fit under the seat.

When choosing a camera bag, you need to determine what is most important to you. Below I indicate the criteria you might consider and how this backpack measures up (exceedingly well):

AMOUNT AND SIZE OF INTERIOR SPACE - considerable unless you are carrying very large zoom lenses. The roomy triangular compartment at top will hold your DSLR camera with a small zoom lens (it's too big for a pocketsize camera); the two small compartments on the sides are great for memory cards; and the two large compartments at the bottom of both sides have many compartments which can resized to your specifications.

CONFIGURABILITY OF SPACE - the bottom area on each side has six velcro-attached compartments which can be completely altered (larger or smaller)- or even removed. (I just wish they weren't orange!)

Deciding exactly how you want to configure them can be confusing, especially since you could create some compartments behind others, so I suggest that making a diagram ahead of time. Because some sides of compartments are mesh, it's easy to see what you have and where you have it.

WELL-PADDED COMPARTMENTS - They're all exceptionally well-padded - especially the top area where you're most likely to store your camera.

EASE OF ACCESS - With a left zipper, right zipper and front zipper, there are three ways to open your backpack. It's particularly easy to flip it around and pull the camera out of the top compartment, but the side compartments are also very easy to access. When you have only 10 seconds to grab your camera before you lose that magical shot, you will be able to do so - and even grab the right lens as well. Just remember what you put on the right and left to save time.

NUMEROUS METHODS OF CARRYING - backpack, left-shoulder sling, right shoulder sling or handle. What more could you want?

COMFORTABLE ADJUSTABLE SHOULDER STRAPS - well-padded and adjustable, but as another reviewer indicated, they can't be tightened much from the original configuration, which makes them not viable for a small, short-waisted person. I'm short-waisted and 5'3 ˝" and need the straps at the tightest configuration for the backpack to be firm on my back. There is a way to twist the straps shoulder straps around the cross-chest strap for further tightening, but there isn't any flexibility here - you lose about 2 inches chest width doing so.

STURDY BUT COMFORTABLE BACK SUPPORT - no complaints yet, after my first month of use.

SIZE AND WEIGHT -not too big and not too heavy, just right for a day's hike. Packed full, it's about 9x10x17, significantly under the 9x14x22 requirement for carry-on and under-seat storage on most planes. Since sometimes passengers have smaller than normal under-seat areas, have to store their items in an overhead compartment, or have an additional size limit (as I did flying from Key West recently) due to the requirements of a particular plane, the size is just right for carry-on.

TRIPOD ATTACHMENT - Yes, and exactly in the center of the pack, for perfect balance. It's just right for my small tripod, but probably would not be large enough in diameter for a large thick tripod, which would have to be attached separately.

WEATHER PROTECTION - Years ago I lost a camera to water damage on the top of Hurricane Ridge in Olympic National Park during a day-long rainstorm - and then had to hike, drive and ferry back to Seattle to buy a new camera body. This backpack fortunately has an attachable weather-hood tucked away in one of its compartments - but I haven't had the chance to test out exactly how waterproof it is. The cushioning of the backpack however is so thick that I doubt that water or snow could easily penetrate it.

FIRM BOTTOM -Yes! It's not likely to topple off the cliff when you set it down on uneven rocks near the edge while you photograph the waterfall.

RUGGED AND STURDY - It is certainly more sturdy than my smaller Tamrac bag, which is still holding up fine after 20 years.

APPEARANCE - The best feature of the appearance is that it looks quality without looking expensive and without looking like a camera-bag. In other words, it doesn't convey the message: Steal me, there's a valuable DSLR inside me!

COMPLAINTS?
None except for concern that when I lose that extra body cushioning and 20 pounds that the straps which they're perfect now at the tightest setting will end up being too loose. This is not the bag for very short people unless the straps are cut and firmly reattached (probably professionally).

It DOES take time to futz around with the velcro to get the compartments as you might want them - so I suggest determining how you wish to use them and the size you want them so you don't have to spend hours fastening and refastening the velcro. But it's strong velcro and holds together well.

All in all, an exceptional camera bag and backpack with just about everything you could want except space for a laptop, super-zoom or large heavy tripod. Well worth the cost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits my pro camera and lens, October 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Logic Kilowatt KSB-101 Medium Sling Backpack for Pro DSLR (Electronics)
I can fit my D800 with an attached 24-70 mm lens plus a 50mm lens, Cannon Camcorder (vixia s20), and cables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is an awesome backpack for a dslr, November 15, 2012
This review is from: Case Logic Kilowatt KSB-101 Medium Sling Backpack for Pro DSLR (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This slick sling backpack is exactly what I needed for my camera. The versaltile pockets and padding seems very secure. I love the different compartments you can store lens or your camera accessories. The only reason why I did not give it five stars is that I did not see and obvious place for your power cord or for any reference material/manuals. I made the power cord fit in one of the compartments but the manual really does not fit at all. Sometimes I like to have it for reference but an expert photographer would not need that feature. This is highly recommended though and I love the sling or backpack option depending on where you are traveling so that you can ensure the safety of your lens and camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.