Customer Reviews


1,160 Reviews
5 star:
 (789)
4 star:
 (207)
3 star:
 (79)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


149 of 151 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Versatile and good quality
I got this case in the blue color with a contrasting bright yellow interior. The material is all-around high-quality, and the case offers excellent protection for my external hard drive(s).

Since this is a universal drive case it cannot be a perfect fit for every portable hard drive out there. I own several different-size drives and here is how they fit:...
Published on April 16, 2008 by I.Peters

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Case, but a little too big for my WD Passport
The case is nice looking, good quality, and offers good protection. My only complaint is that it's a bit too big for my WD Passport 120GB. I have to wrap the WD Passport in a small cloth to keep it from bouncing around in the case.
Published on May 15, 2007 by Robot Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

149 of 151 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Versatile and good quality, April 16, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this case in the blue color with a contrasting bright yellow interior. The material is all-around high-quality, and the case offers excellent protection for my external hard drive(s).

Since this is a universal drive case it cannot be a perfect fit for every portable hard drive out there. I own several different-size drives and here is how they fit:

- First generation WD Passport (silver colored, blueish rubberized bottom, Western Digital 80 GB Passport 2.5-inch External Hard Drive) fits perfectly. I suspect that this case was originally made for these drives.

- Newer WD Passport (various colors, non-rubberized bottom, WD Passport Portable WDXMSB1600 - Hard drive - 160 GB - external - 2.5" - Hi-Speed USB - 5400 rpm - buffer: 2 MB - metallic red): The case is too long and too wide, but because of the elasticized strap the drive still fits ok provided you don't stretch the strap by putting in thicker items before using it with this type of drive.

- Seagate FreeAgent Go (Seagate FreeAgent Go 160 GB USB External Hard Drive ST901603FGA1E1-RK: The drive is a tiny bit wide. On the other hand, because it is such a snug fit width-wise, the drive also doesn't slide around in the case. And the case still can be zipped shut with this drive.

If one doesn't have cables etc. to store in the accessory pocket in the other half of the case, this pocket can double as storage space for another drive, the case still zips shut, even with two of the largest of the above-mentioned drives in it.

I recommend this case to anyone looking for high-quality protection for portable hard drives and other electronics, such as PDAs or MP3 players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


167 of 173 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality case, but a little too big for the Western Digital Passport drives, February 15, 2007
The case is well designed and made. The outer material feels durable, the inner shell soft and well padded. The overall case is well formed and seams look carefully done.

I bought this to be used with the Western Digital Passport II (black) WDXMSxxxx drives (5.1"x3.1"x0.6") and the case is a tad too big for it. The drive has a little too much wiggle room despite the elastic strap inside. I imagine the case will be better fitted for slightly bigger drives, e.g. Seagate's ST9xxxxx1U2-RK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally worth it!, May 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this case for my Lacie Rugged Hard Drive LaCie 500 GB 7200 rpm Rugged All-Terrain FireWire 800/ FireWire 400/USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive 301900 and it's great! It fits the drive perfectly and protects it well. I shoot video and often edit on location, so I end up dragging my drive through the worst of conditions, but it's survived like a champ and this case has definitely helped.

PS - It always makes my day to know that people find these reviews helpful. If you'd also like to ask a question or leave a comment I usually respond the same day, so if you have a question or comment (even if it's just to say, Hi!") feel free to post it below.

Thanks,
Claire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits the LaCie Rugged like a tailored glove., September 20, 2008
By 
I got two of these for my 2 LaCie Rugged 500GB drives. They fit absolutely perfectly. I highly recommend the combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Case Logic Portable Hard Drive Case does it's job, January 12, 2008
By 
R. Warren "moonwatcher" (Statesville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Small External HD Case Black I bought this case to protect my Western Digital 250 GB portable USB hard drive, as I move the drive around a lot between home and work. I'm using the hard drive to back up my iTunes music collection, so I want to take care of it, hence I purchased this Case Logic case. The case is easy to use. When you open it up, you'll find two compartments (one on each side). One has an elastic strap that snuggly holds your hard drive in position. The other compartment has a mesh flap which acts like a pocket, so you can have a space to put a USB cable and maybe a flash drive or two in a pinch. As the case is small, it isn't really designed such that you can leave the hard drive in the case during operation. There isn't enough room for the connector to fit when it is placed in the drive, without the cable putting undue stress on the connector (not a good idea - duh!). In any event, the hard drive produces some heat during operation, so you probably wouldn't want to leave it in the case anyway. My only two complaints or observations are that a real hand strap could have been provided instead of the rubber thingy for carrying the drive more safely to and from a car, and that there isn't really a lot of padding in the sides of the case. I still wouldn't want to drop the hard drive while in the case onto concrete. Maybe from 3 feet onto carpet would be survivable. I guess I expected it to be lined with some styrofoam (I won't tell Al Gore) to provide more protection. Still, it does provide a nice place to keep your hard drive and cable together, without them getting all scratched up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality Case - Fits 1TB GoFlex Drives Nicely!, January 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have always liked Case Logic. They make quality, well designed cases. This case is no exception.

After reading through the reviews, it was hard to find one that confirmed whether the new GoFlex drives fit inside the case. I found two reviews after digging. One stated it was too small, the other stated it was fine. I decided to order two (recently ordered two GoFlex drives) and try them out for myself.

They arrived today. Here is what I can tell you.. The drives, out of the box fit snugly in the case. You do not need to remove the connector on the drive either. This applies to putting the drive DIRECTLY ON TOP of the elastic band that is inside the case. Now, if you use the elastic band and put the drive under it, it fits snugly as well. It's not complicated to insert it, just a little different than not using the elastic band. So, with or without the band - the drive fits snugly with the connector attached. I will not use the band because the drive fits perfectly and there is no where for it to bounce around or anything like that.

Now, if you remove the connector on the drive, you will have more room and the drive is not as snug. Using the elastic band is also much easier to use. You have more room to insert the drive and remove it. Use of the band without the connector on the drive again, is subjective. It's up to the purchaser. The drive is secure either way.

On the opposite side of the case is space for storing a cable/connector set. There is plenty of room for both without squishing the case to zip it up. It closes easily and zips up smoothly.

The case is simple, effective and seems very durable. It's a hard case, with a soft interior to prevent scratching the plastic finish of the drives made today and has a soft nylon exterior. This thing is perfect for protecting your portable hard drive while it's in your backpack, messenger bag, briefcase, purse or any other bag. I am very happy with my purchase and highly recommend this case!

***PLEASE NOTE*** - The Seagate GoFlex drive would be the absolute LARGEST drive that can fit in this case. Anything bigger than that, will not fit.

I hope this review helps. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the perfect case for a Seagate Go Portable 1TB Hard Drive, February 25, 2010
By 
Fletch (Sugar Land, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is my second Case-Logic case for a portable hard drive, (original case is 1-1/2 years old and shows no wear). This PHDC-1 case fits the Seagate 1TB Go Portable drive like a glove. The sizes are misleading on the various sites. The PHDC-1 inside dims are: 3.5 wide X 5.25 long X 1.5 thick. Like another reviewed stated, it's a bit snug on the width, but no worries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Seagate Portable Drives, March 25, 2007
The case is made of a soft, yet rigid, material which fits the Seagate ST9160821U2-RK External 160GB Hard Drive like a glove. The elastic band helps hold the drive in place while the case is being opened and closed. There is a net inside for holding the USB cable as well. The zipper opens and closes nicely allowing the entire case to open and lie flat. So far, I've purchased three drives and cases for storing digital photographs and have been pleased with both products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect one !, December 2, 2009
By 
I1 (Raleigh,NC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this for the Seagate 500 GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive ST905004EXA101-RK (Black). It fits snugly and has enough room for the USB cable & probably couple of more cables/accessories. This is a great product not only for someone who is looking to carry the portable HDD but also to keep it in a protective place at home and don't have to fear about the HDD collecting dust or any other accidental breakage. I highly recommend this product !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great for the Garmin Nuvi 750 (and others I'm sure), June 9, 2008
By 
Rico C (Tampa,FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought one of these for my Garmin Nuvi 750 ... works PERFECT! Keeps the Nuvi protected (screen facing out, away from the accessories) and holds the car charger cable and the Nuvi cradle in the other half of the case. (You do need to sort of position the Nuvi toward the top or bottom and then the charger and the "lip" of the cradle to the opposite side to "nest" it all, but it works fine.) All you need is to bring whichever mount you use (I travel with the "beanbag" dash mount). Packs easily in a briefcase or suitcase. A friend of mine has the 650, and although it and its components are bulkier than the 750, it still works (just not as "perfect" as the 750).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Case Logic PHDC-1 Portable Hard Drive Case - Magenta
$12.99 $8.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.