Customer Reviews


845 Reviews
5 star:
 (461)
4 star:
 (208)
3 star:
 (91)
2 star:
 (50)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


283 of 288 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Carry, but Not Carry All
After some extensive research and try-ons, Case Logic SLRC-205 Camera Sling Bag is my current favorite bag to carry my small DSLR (Olympus E-620) and two lenses (one attached to the body).

Case Logic must have a great design team that cares. They seem to put a lot of attention on the design that not only looks good, but also very utilitarian. They keep...
Published on November 19, 2009 by -Ashi-

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
When I received this case I was excited, it was designed just the way I wanted and appeared to be the perfect case for a DSLR and an extra lens. But while the design was wonderful, the craftsmanship is poor. Shortly after receiving it I left for a trip to Italy. On the second day the handle began to fray and separate from the case. By the end of the trip it was...
Published on July 9, 2012 by Bob Glaser


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

283 of 288 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Carry, but Not Carry All, November 19, 2009
By 
-Ashi- (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling (Black) (Electronics)
After some extensive research and try-ons, Case Logic SLRC-205 Camera Sling Bag is my current favorite bag to carry my small DSLR (Olympus E-620) and two lenses (one attached to the body).

Case Logic must have a great design team that cares. They seem to put a lot of attention on the design that not only looks good, but also very utilitarian. They keep improving the holder for the camera body with a lens attached in their camera back, the latest hammock design exhibits that. It's a very simple design that will suit various camera configuration. Such effort deserve to be praised.

It's a pleasure to carry this bag. Weight distribution of a sling bag is crucial, as the load is stressed on one shoulder (in this case, left, and there's no right shoulder option as noted by another reviewer). However, Case Logic SLRC-205 feels like feather when I put it on me with the bag fully loaded (~5 lbs. of equipment).

In the main compartment, I have put an Olympus E-620 (around the size of Canon XSi/T1i) with Zuiko 14-45mm II (3.5" long, 3" diam.) attached with hood reversed. It still has some room at the bottom to store my 50mm macro lens if desired. However, I squeezed my Giottos large rocket Blower Giottos in. It's a tight fit for that configuration. A larger camera body may have a hard time getting in without removing the neck strap. I had the quick release plate of my tripod attached to the bottom of the camera and it's a tight fit, but no problem. There is no problem in term of horizontal space.

In the extra lens pocket I was able to put a Zuiko 50-200mm in (6 1/4" long, 3.5" diam.) with its gigantic hood reversed and tripod holder attached, which makes it around 5 1/4" wide, and the pocket still has some room to spare. The nice little touch about that pocket is it has an elastic band near the bottom. I forgot to zip the bag up once, after I changed my lens, and that elastic band held the lens closer to the bag, saved my precious lens from an irreversible disaster (though a smaller lens might have felt through, so don't bet your life on it, but it's a nice contingency design).

There is also a spare pocket for small things like memory cards, battery and trinkets (I also put lens cleaning pens inside). It is more accessible than the side pocket, which is blocked by the tripod holder. My other gripe about that side pocket is it's not deep enough for a standard novel-size camera manual. I just wish there is one non-flat type pocket dedicated for larger item such as the rocket blower, and some pen holders for my lens pens. A cellphone/iPod holder on the shoulder strap would be a nice touch.

There is a filter pocket! I love the design team. They were able to squeeze so many features in a compact bag, and all except the side pocket mentioned are readily accessible when you swing the back to the front, without having to take the bag off (which is the shortcoming of a backpack style bag). The two filter nets inside it hold 67mm filters fine, though the smaller one is better suited for a 58mm filter.

The tripod holder is wonderful. I have a full-size aluminum tripod (Dolica 62" Proline with Ballhead) retracted and stored in its dedicated tripod bag. Using the two Velcro closure, the tripod was piggybacked onto the back and doesn't shift around. The tripod is longer than the sling so I won't carry a tripod that way to a crowded place. However it's nice to free your hand if you're hiking.

The shoulder strap is very comfortable and well padded. The length control is a bit weird. Instead of that plastic thing you would loop around twice, you pull the extra strap to the desired length and then roll it up like an omelet, then fasten it with a Velcro strap. I prefer the traditional plastic loop (when done right, the loop is actually more secure).

The interior padding is okay only. It's not super thick, but should be okay for minor impact. The part I'm more worried about is the spare lens pocket, as it's more exposed. Main compartment should endure concoction more. The interior material is made of high quality nylon. It feels smooth and I don't believe it'll scratch the equipment (just don't rub the lens glass with it).

There are handles tactically placed. I don't feel the content will fall out when using them. While the zippers secure the bags well, but the main compartment's zipper could be smoother when zipped around the corner.

Minor gripe. Though Case Logic team deserves the recognition, but I wish the logo can be a little more low profile. It's not gigantic or hideous, but when I see the sunshine logo, I know who made the bag already. The way it is put now, it looks like a camera bag, which is not something I like to flaunt about (i.e., rob me!). I also wish the side pocket and the main compartment have a more joint look, so it looks more like a regular sling bag. As of now, the main compartment looks alarmingly like a camera holster.... A discreet, understated design is the best attention grabber.

Overall, it's a very well-designed bag for a small DSLR with two lenses. Importantly, it is in a compact design with good ergonomics and holds all the crucial items. I just wish Case Logic design team could add one more pocket for lens cleaning supply, or perhaps one pocket for iPod/cellphone on the shoulder strap. Case Logic team deserves the praise.

Pros:
- Holds many gears in a small package
- Good built material
- Holds weight but doesn't weigh down
- Well thought-out design perks
- Very accessible pockets
- Excellent value

Cons:
- Needs one more pocket for non-flat items
- Exterior design could be slightly more discreet
- No pocket for camera manual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


190 of 193 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great SLR Bag (especially for lenses), June 3, 2010
This review is from: Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling (Black) (Electronics)
Hi Everyone,

So, my wife and I are wedding photographers. We've been looking for a good bag for quite a while to carry our camera & lenses. We've checked out the other major brands (including crumpler) and many of the more popular choices ... and then as came across this one (the case logic SLR sling).

I have to say, we really love it. So, to point out a few good things:

1 - It looks pretty good and doesn't scream 'camera in here!' (good when traveling)

2 - It can easily hold 3 lenses at a time, including the Canon 70-200 2.8L IS. The 70-200 can actually fit in the main compartment with another smaller lens (like the 135 f2 or the 100mm 2.8 macro) or it can fit alone in the extra top compartment - with the hood on backwards! To clarify even more, the 135 + 70-200 with hoods on can fit in the main compartment without a problem (it is tight though, but tight is good). Oh, one last note here - it can hold 4 lenses if packing smartly - 70-200 + 135 in main compartment and 14mm 2.8L + 50mm 1.2L in the top compartment.

3 - It works as intended. The sling capability (the ability to bring it to your front) is invaluable. It makes is -very- easy to get out the lens you want without taking off the pack AND it can make you feel secure in areas where you want to keep an eye out for pickpockets.

4 - The quick release clip on the front is just great - hands down, great. If you are just getting to a location, an event is about to happen, you can quickly release the pack, place it on the ground, and be shooting within seconds.

5 - The material is very nice and breathable.

6 - The extra small compartments for cards, etc, are very handy. We found ourselves putting keys/memory cards up front and putting more sensitive items behind the tripod strap (which works very well).

Hands down, we'd recommend this.

Downside: We had ours altered as we are too small for it to fit. We just had the strap moved up where it connects over the chest. Fits like a charm now. Cost us all of $7.

Quick last note - for nearly any lens combination, the bag could fit at least three. Such as the 24-70 2.8L + 85 1.2L. We found ourselves putting one lens below the camera holder/sling inside and one above so that they did not hit each other. And then we'd just have 1-2 lenses in the extra compartment. If you want to store your camera in the bag, a 5D Mk II + 24-70, 85 1.2, 100 2.8, 135 2.0, ... etc fit in the middle compartment without a problem. In fact, we could fit the 5D Mk II + 24-70 (hood backwards) in the middle compartment (not using the internal sling type device) and still have room to put a 580 EX II flash ontop of it. The only lens that doesn't fit with the camera body attached would be the 70-200 2.8L IS or any lens of that length.

For us, we are able to carry 5 lenses, 2 580 EX II's, and a 430 EX II with radio popper stand in two bags at once.

Highly recommended - and also highly recommended to have the strap altered so that the bag fits you properly. Otherwise, it can be a waste of money unless you are 6'5".

Edit: I should say that we just got back from a 2 week trip for a destination wedding in Europe and these bags were invaluable. We kept our passport, IDs, cash & cards in the inner pocket behind the tripod strap and had no problem. In busy areas, we just slung them around for a bit more security. They were comfortable to wear the entire trip without a problem and carried all the lenses + flashes + tripod + modifiers we needed for the wedding. For just sight seeing, etc, they still held everything we needed (had room to even carry personal items with us, like water, etc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For photographers on the go, November 10, 2009
This review is from: Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling (Black) (Electronics)
I spent a lot of time researching sling-style DSLR cases and this is by far the best I have seen. I've owned one for a few months already and I have no complaints.

Comfort - adjustable, padded strap allows the bag to wrap around your torso for a comfortable fit. Sometimes I even forget that it's there. I cannot say the same for the boxy-style camera bags, they just feel out of palce.

Storage - The main compartment has the hammock suspension system, which I think offers good restraint and easy access to your camera: just unzip the top cover and reach for the camera. The compartment is deep enough to fit a super-tele lens attached to the body, or an attached medium sized prime with room at the bottom for another lens. Another compartment has room for two more medium sized lenses or a lens and a charger. A few more zippered pockets offer room for small gadgets like wireless remote control, USB card reader, some filters, lens cleaning gear.

Protection - there's enough padding to keep your toys safe, though I wouldn't get on crowded bus with it.

Style - This is the only case I have seen that actually looks great, and not really like a camera bag - bonus points for that; last thing you want is to advertise your stash of expensive toys.

Worth mentioning - a hook and loop tripod holder; pretty useful for a light tripod, though the bag will get heavy if you're going on a long hike. Build quality is good, feels like money worth spending.

Kudos to the designer of this case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in a world of ugly bags and non functional ones this one rocks, December 10, 2009
By 
Don (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling (Black) (Electronics)
I purchased this bag because I was looking for a functional single strap sling bag that would allow me access to my Canon 40d easily and on the go. I got to go to Paris, FR on a biz trip and really hated the bag that I had. Most of the bags I've seen for traveling are either way too big for the type of shooting I do or just plain ugly and scream out "CAMERA BAG!!!" Not only does this bag look good, it was EXTREMELY functional. With a quick slide around the body you could get into the camera compartment easily and it has enough storage for my needs. I carried the camera with a 28-135mm attached (I think you could use up to a 70-300 if you wanted although it might be a bit tight), an 18-55mm in the upper compartment, along with a spare flash card, my usb cable, wall charger and a French phrase book (pocket sized)it packed well. The construction of the bag seems rugged enough (I plan to use it for hiking as well) and the padding and hammock system seem very good at protecting the camera. I have recommended this bag to several family members and I intend to order 3 more to give as gifts :-) No, I don't work for Case Logic, but when I find something of good quality that functions as advertised, I do think it's important to share that info. I don't think you'll be disappointed with this bag particularly for lots of walking and site seeing. As long as you're not some kind of pro who has to have more than 2 lenses and all kinds of gadgets you should be good to go. There is a flap on the outside to carry a tripod around and I do believe it would work, as I put my umbrella in it to see how that would go...no problems. Nice job Case Logic :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bag for Being a Tourist I Could Find, August 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling (Black) (Electronics)
Recently my wife and I were traveling abroad for 3 weeks and I needed a bag to carry some of my camera equipment around with me. I didn't want a full on backpack and a fanny pack was out of the questions. Shoulder bags just looked silly for some reason and I found this bag and the Incase DSLR Sling Pack in Black CL58032. I ordered both as I felt like I needed to see them in person to really decide.

They both go on the same way (one should strap that goes on across your body) and fit just fine. The incase bag was much larger and looked like it would be holding expensive things inside. One of the things I wanted was for this bag to be pretty unassuming - I didn't want to announce to everyone I have a few thousand dollars of camera equipment inside. Both bags were also very well built.

The case logic bag has a very breathable material on the back which made it very comfortable to wear for 10 hours straight when walking around and hiking. To get access to the camera you don't have to take the bag off, it just slides around and opens up to the camera 'hammock' which is great. The two side pockets are also very easy to get to in this position and I keep an extra lens or two in there along with batteries and memory cards. When you are just walking around you also have access to a small pocket in the strap which I keep a cloth in.

To give you an idea of what I can fit in this, I usually carried:
Nikon d5100
Nikon 18-105 lens
Nikon 35mm lens
Tokina 11-16 lens
Spare battery
Spare memory card
WhiBal card
Cleaning brush
Cleaning cloth
Sometimes a gorilla tripod

I don't think there was ever a time where I wished it was bigger or smaller - it always seemed to be the perfect size for what I needed.

I ended up returning the incase bag and keeping this one. If you need something slightly larger then the incase may be for you.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, though some adjustment is required., September 12, 2009
By 
Jessica (Girdwood, AK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling (Black) (Electronics)
I spent days looking for a sling bag before I bought this one. I travel light, but have a Canon 5D, plus a 28-135mm lens and a 70-300mm telephoto lens. I wanted a sling pack to slide my small amount of other personal stuff into while traveling in (potentially shady) areas (and non-shady ones).

Verdict: I love this bag. It is so awesome. The hammock is so cool. But there are some other things to consider:

1. It is going to be very annoying to constantly stop, slide the bag around and take photos. The bag needs some breaking in at the beginning; it is very stiff (and that is a GOOD thing). If buying it for a vacation, take it out for a romp BEFORE your trip to soften it up and get used to the maneuvers required to load and unload your camera. I only say that because it has an usual design.

2. The height of my 5D (from the bottom, set down, to the top near where the flash module would hook into) seems uncomfortable fit-wise into the hammock compartment. I am not sure if an EOS 1- or 5D with one of those battery pack grippers would be able to fit into this compartment. My 5d JUST fits. However, a camera with a full telephoto lens might fit in here without disassembly. There is a lot of space in the hammock for a longer lens than my 28-135mm lens.

3. In order to use this, it is really optimal to remove any other protection: ie, camera armor (which I had) and the strap. To keep the strap on while storing the camera in the bag is to add serious and repetitive frustration to your life when you unload- and load the camera back into the bag. There is just not space for the strap in the compartment.

4. There is limited space for much else if you have a telephoto & default lens. The small side pocket has space for my mini tripod, my folded strap and a few lens caps. The flat pocket over the camera hammock fits something flat, like a manual and some papers or whatever. There are a few other nooks and crannies but don't expect this to double as a backpack for personal items if you have a lot of stuff. It will fit a camera, a manual, a mini tripod, some other various doo-dads, 2 lenses (one on, one off), and a small variety of whatever else.

Regardless of the above items, I think this is a fantastic bag and is totally worth the money. I hope it lasts long enough to carry my camera to the Southwestern USA, Denmark, Norway, Bermuda and throughout my winter of snowshoeing and winter sports! The padding is awesome and it is very sturdy. When this bag dies, I hope I can buy another one. Perfect for an on-the-go photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, July 9, 2012
By 
Bob Glaser (Burlington, IA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling (Black) (Electronics)
When I received this case I was excited, it was designed just the way I wanted and appeared to be the perfect case for a DSLR and an extra lens. But while the design was wonderful, the craftsmanship is poor. Shortly after receiving it I left for a trip to Italy. On the second day the handle began to fray and separate from the case. By the end of the trip it was attached by only a few threads. In addition zippers would slip open, I almost lost a lens in the subway in Rome. While a good design, it is poorly executed. I am returning the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Owner of Lowepro's Slingshot 100, 200 and 350AW Packs. This one wins., March 5, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling (Black) (Electronics)
I'm a fan of Lowepro but Caselogic really beat them with this one, at least in the sling category. Unfortunately this one can only compete with the 100AW series because of its size. The Caselogic's 205 is only slightly bigger than Lowepro's smallest. (Again the 100AW)

Here are the reasons why.
Feels stronger, the fabric the memory cushions and even the wide band just feel better around your body.
The interior color, you just have to love that bright yellow, it almost seems as it is lit in the inside.
It has a 'suspension' system consisting of a sheet of material that holds your camera within the inside of the bag, preventing it from touching the bottom, unless you have a long lens. I feels at bit flimsy but it feels good to know you have it.
Aesthetically, is just looks cooler than any of the Lowepro's up to date. This thing looks beautiful.
With the two extra handles and the 4 extra compartments on the outside, it is just real well thought out.

I just got it today and I cant wait to get it out on the field. I think I'll sleep next to it tonight. LOL

Beautiful bag. And cheaper too!!!

The two categories where I think the Lowepro's is better are that the inside compartment can be divided to you fit your equipment, the Caselogic's has 1 large compartment. And the Lowepro's comes with a nice weather cover that can protect it against the rain. I have never had to use it though, but once it did help me protect my camera from dust at a rodeo. Other than these two features of the lowepros, Caselogic is better in everyother way.

I forgot to mention the tripod holder, another plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars convenient and stylish, February 12, 2010
By 
Mike Hu "Miguel" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling (Black) (Electronics)
I use this for a Nikon D90 and this sling bag is fantastic. The design is convenient and comfortable. One complain I have is to alter the velcro because it'll catch on easily to your clothes etc. Otherwise it's perfect for traveling and the size is just right to fit roughly 2 lenses amongst other compartments for little things. It's a nice move away from the traditional camera bags and aesthetically, my opinion is that it beats anything else out on the current market. In a sea of dull, boring camera bags, this sling wins in both comfort, convenience, price, utility, and aesthetic design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This sling makes so much sense, August 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling (Black) (Electronics)
I've had this camera sling for two months now and have liked it, but not really appreciated it until today.

Today we went on a day hike in the mountains and that is where this sling suddenly made so much sense and made me realize how brilliant it was for that use compared to my old back pack.

The sling has strategically placed mesh pads to keep you from sweating too much where it contacts you. The case keeps the camera safe, and when it's time to use it, you can easily slide the case forward and access the camera that is sitting safely in the hammock. Watching the other hikers have to work to get their cameras out of their back packs, or have their cameras exposed, just slung over their shoulders, made me a little smug today. I felt like I had the best solution and am now very glad I got one. Kudos to the designer(s).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling (Black)
$79.99 $42.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.