Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consentino is a MUST READ for interview preparation
I've read several books about case interview preparation but "Case in Point" is by far the best one I've ever read. It does not only give great insights into the business, it's also quite entertaining and Cosentino is for true the Dean of case interview preparation. He gives 40 cases, all up-to-date and challenging as well. However, besides this book, I also prepared...
Published 9 months ago by David P.

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Kindle edition
The book is great as such, but the Kindle edition is not. There are mistakes in the tables and some tables are completely missing. I'm trying to practice cracking cases with the help of this book, but missing data makes the task really annoying.
Published 17 months ago by Anna Kyrki


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consentino is a MUST READ for interview preparation, September 23, 2013
This review is from: Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation, 7th Edition (Paperback)
I've read several books about case interview preparation but "Case in Point" is by far the best one I've ever read. It does not only give great insights into the business, it's also quite entertaining and Cosentino is for true the Dean of case interview preparation. He gives 40 cases, all up-to-date and challenging as well. However, besides this book, I also prepared myself on preplounge.com to put theory into practice and finally land my dream job. So, Consentino is a MUST READ for interview preparation but make sure you also get real training with others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential tool for case interview prep, but frameworks too strict., August 26, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation, 7th Edition (Paperback)
(As a note, I am approaching this book as a Life Sciences Ph.D. student looking to transition into Management Consulting, so my thoughts and opinions will reflect as such)

Cosentino's book is an absolute staple in preparing for your case interviews. The first few chapters provide valuable information about what to expect in the interview (and what is expected from you). Perhaps the most valuable portion of the book is the number of case questions that sample the different 'varietals' of cases you might encounter.

Also provided in the book are numerous frameworks for tackling this variety of case questions, referred to as the Ivy Case System. While I think this is an excellent approach that many subscribe to, my opinion is that trying to master (or worse, memorize) so many frameworks makes a candidate run the risk of trying to diagnose every case question as one of these types of problems, which may make you appear to be too formulaic in your thinking. Keep in mind that interviewers are aware of the case interview prep that's out there and will plan accordingly to trip you up. As Cosentino states, there's a lot of overlap in the frameworks, so I would recommend approaching the frameworks as a means of understanding the main ideas and getting a feel for the types of questions you will be asking.

Personally, I prefer the framworks used by ex-McKinseyite and consulting prep role model Victor Cheng in his recent book (Case Interview Secrets: A Former McKinsey Interviewer Reveals How to Get Multiple Job Offers in Consulting. I have "cross-bred" the frameworks from CIP with those in Victor Cheng's book. I would recommend owning both of these books and deciding for yourself which frameworks you prefer to use. Some may prefer the CIP frameworks over the Cheng frameworks as the latter may seem too vague and don't allow for a structured approach. Just be cautious about being too punctilious with the CIP frameworks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Kindle edition, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is great as such, but the Kindle edition is not. There are mistakes in the tables and some tables are completely missing. I'm trying to practice cracking cases with the help of this book, but missing data makes the task really annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, November 7, 2012
This review is from: Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation, 7th Edition (Paperback)
What do 3M, Anheuser-Busch, Capital One, Google, Pfizer, Alcoa, Cargill, Intel, Proctor & Gamble, Amazon, Chevron, Johnson & Johnson, Progressive, American Express, Dell, Merck, Target, Campbell Soup, General Mills, Microsoft T-Rowe Price all have in common?

They all now incorporate some form of the case interview element into their MBA interview process. It's not just a form of interviewing used by consulting firms anymore. Will you be ready?

There is NO better source when tackling the case interview preparation process than Marc Cosentino's book, Case In Point. With humor, clarity and plethora of excellent cases, Case In Point will help demystify the process, and allow you to build more competence and confidence as you enter the recruiting the process. The interesting thing about the consulting interview process, is that if you enjoy doing case interviews, it's a pretty good indication that you will probably enjoy consulting. The hard part is getting up to speed on the basic concepts. For this, there is no better starting point, than Case In Point .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice book, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Must have for consulting interview. Even if you don't go for consulting, nice book for training of business sense. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Add to your Resources, October 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation, 7th Edition (Paperback)
Marc's contribution to my level of understanding was significant. He provides many useful structures to common problems. It was helpful not just for the information, but also for practice. Marc provides a 'roommates' guide for your friends to help you practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brazilian review, October 1, 2012
By 
Carolina Guimaraes (Rio de Janeiro, Brasil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is a very good book for interview preparation. It is well written and its language is understandable even for non-native/non-fluent readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best I've Read!!!, April 2, 2012
This review is from: Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation, 7th Edition (Paperback)
Having read several case interview books I can definitely state that Case in Point is by far the best. The best written, it's entertaining and insightful, and Cosentino writes in a clear and direct manner. The 40 cases are current and challenging. The Ivy case system is based on logic and common sense allowing you to showcase your talents. It's brilliant, practical,and on point. You can tell that years of direct experience with candidates and employers went into the writing of this book. He's not just another former consultant trading on their former employers name. Working at a business school, this is a MUST READ for my advisees preparing to interview!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for how to approach consulting cases, October 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation, 7th Edition (Paperback)
Cosentino definitely provides great insight and practical advice for students and others looking at getting into consulting.

At the very least, it should get readers thinking about how to approach answering case interview questions but it also provides the base knowledge required on how to solve real life business issues in any industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect case prep, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation, 7th Edition (Paperback)
This book is so helpful in preparing for case interviews. It has step by step guides, practice cases and tons of advice from a man who is very versed in the business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation, 7th Edition
Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation, 7th Edition by Marc P Cosentino (Paperback - August 7, 2011)
Used & New from: $11.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.