Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Case Studies
The case studies are very well described and analyzed, it isn't difficult to follow along, and provides more than enough information to understand each case study. Good book to accompany any abnormal psychology class or simply to have in your bookshelf.
Published on March 1, 2012 by Hany Kubba

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Case studies and confidentiality
As one consider these case studies, I question the appropriateness of many of these case studies of public figures for various disorders. I don't know that the authors have had direct interviews with these individuals; hence, their information is mostly from secondary sources. If they did have direct interview information, it would be limited for release for public view...
Published on September 30, 2008 by Christopher M. Goodman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Case studies and confidentiality, September 30, 2008
This review is from: Case Studies in Abnormal Behavior (8th Edition) (Paperback)
As one consider these case studies, I question the appropriateness of many of these case studies of public figures for various disorders. I don't know that the authors have had direct interviews with these individuals; hence, their information is mostly from secondary sources. If they did have direct interview information, it would be limited for release for public view from the usual confidentiality of provider-patient relationship, and could only be released with personal release by the patient. I think it would be ethical for the authors to be frank about the source of their information, and differentiate between primary source information, and secondary sources, which may contain biased or slanted views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Case Studies, March 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Studies in Abnormal Behavior (8th Edition) (Paperback)
The case studies are very well described and analyzed, it isn't difficult to follow along, and provides more than enough information to understand each case study. Good book to accompany any abnormal psychology class or simply to have in your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abnormally Good, July 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Studies in Abnormal Behavior (8th Edition) (Paperback)
Book came in great condition and on time. And the price was right. Good use of case studies. If you are studying Under Grad Abnormal Psych, this book would be an assett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Normal for the Abnormal, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Studies in Abnormal Behavior (8th Edition) (Paperback)
This book provides case studies that are particular to certain celebrities but their diagnosis are the same as the average individual experiences in the same situation. Great reference material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Studies in Abnormal Behavior (8th Edition) (Paperback)
I used this book for a class I was taking, Abnormal Psychology. I enjoy reading this book as it gives accounts of real people who exhibit abnormal behavior, such as Jeffrey Dahmer and other well known people. It delves in to personality disorders and how it can affect people. Great for recognizing behaviors that many see as abnormal! Good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good condition, July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Studies in Abnormal Behavior (8th Edition) (Paperback)
I got this book for school. It came fast and was in great shape. Was a little worried, but great condition for what I paid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Study Guide, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Studies in Abnormal Behavior (8th Edition) (Paperback)
This was a great study guide and textbook. It definitely help me write a few papers in my last class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Case Studies in Abnormal Behavior, January 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Studies in Abnormal Behavior (8th Edition) (Paperback)
Book received in good order and as described. It was received in a timely manner and i would definitely purchase from this vendor in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to Write and Spell, Guido!, August 29, 2003
Dr. Meyer's Case Studies is a well-written and comprehensive view of mental disorders. It is a fine supplement to any abnormal, clinical or forensic psychology class. Disregard the previous reviewer's comments. It is obvious that his political views cloud his "scholarly" judgment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read!, September 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case Studies in Abnormal Behavior (8th Edition) (Paperback)
Very interesting book to read, perhaps a bit light for my class but actually good for an "advanced amateur" in psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Case Studies in Abnormal Behavior (8th Edition)
Case Studies in Abnormal Behavior (8th Edition) by Robert G. Meyer (Paperback - March 15, 2008)
Used & New from: $15.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.