Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really happy. I call this 'a time-keeping computer'
It's probably my best purchase at Amazon for the last year. The watch looks nice and solid. 10 years of promised battery life and 100 m of water resistance say for themselves (of course, you can't dive that deep, but you supposed to be able to swim, I guess). The glass is real glass, as far as I can judge. At least, no scratches so far.

For many years I was...
Published 23 months ago by BAt

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1 Pro 4 cons
Pro: 4 time zone settings. That's why I bought it and I am keeping it. It's the only reason.

Cons
1) Everything but the time is too small to see very well. especially the otherwise handy little round dial that keeps time in your home zone. It's fairly easy to read, but only in the right light.
2) Too easy to accidently hit a button and be in the...
Published 6 months ago by Randy Abrams


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really happy. I call this 'a time-keeping computer', December 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's AE1200WHD-1A Stainless Steel Digital Watch (Watch)
It's probably my best purchase at Amazon for the last year. The watch looks nice and solid. 10 years of promised battery life and 100 m of water resistance say for themselves (of course, you can't dive that deep, but you supposed to be able to swim, I guess). The glass is real glass, as far as I can judge. At least, no scratches so far.

For many years I was buying quarts watches - analog-digital or just analog, priced up to $200. Timex, Orient, Casios, Invicta. All of them had some flaws: e.g. short battery life or, the worst, unnoticed self-detachment of the crown, turning the hands and setting back at wrong time reading, which could be really bad in some situations. Eventually, I've got fed with analog watches and started looking for digital ones with analog hands made of liquid crystals. This Casio AE1200WHD satisfies me very well. You can read digital time and if you so wish to look at conventional hands, here they are - please have a look. The analog dial is really small - the LCD circle is just 9 mm in diameter - and I would probably prefer to have it bigger, but I won't lower the points for that. With time passing I stopped notice this as a disadvantage.

There is a 'world time' mode in this watch, where you can flip through all possible time zones in the world, including those shifted half an hour from others, like Newfoundland or Iran time. The time zone is indicated by a three-letter code and it's also highlighted on the liquid crystal world map. There is a designated time zone for UTC too. But even in the main (local time) mode you can set 4 different time zones and flip through them. The analog dial, however, always remains on your local time.

Besides those two modes, there are also alarm clock (up to 5 different alarms can be set), timer and stop watch modes. All in all, due to that many options, I call it 'my time-keeping computer'.

The bracelet is good, with a convenient lock (opens with pressing two buttons). It was somewhat difficult to remove a couple of links (the linking construction is more sophisticated than I've ever seen), but having googled on the web, I managed to do this.

For the price $26.21 (I paid $34.56 to get it delivered to Canada) I think it's a really good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Modern Casio with a Retro Feel, December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's AE1200WHD-1A Stainless Steel Digital Watch (Watch)
This Casio is a fun watch to wear because it has a retro look going for it, a cool map, and a digitized analog clock in the upper left hand corner. Not to mention that it can be set to multiple time zones, has a stopwatch, timer, and 5 alarms, and has 100m water resistance. Bang for your buck, this watch has a lot to offer. The bracelet is stainless steel, while the watch case is painted resin. If the watch case were steel, that would just put it over the top. Buy it, try it. If you don't like it, give it to your neighbor's kid. Unless he doesn't deserve a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1 Pro 4 cons, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's AE1200WHD-1A Stainless Steel Digital Watch (Watch)
Pro: 4 time zone settings. That's why I bought it and I am keeping it. It's the only reason.

Cons
1) Everything but the time is too small to see very well. especially the otherwise handy little round dial that keeps time in your home zone. It's fairly easy to read, but only in the right light.
2) Too easy to accidently hit a button and be in the settings mode.
3) Several more city names in time zones would be handy. Did you know that Berlin and Amsterdam are in the same time zone? More names of major world cities in setting time zones would be nice.
4 It only displays the date when you are displaying your home time zone.

On the whole, it does what I need to keep it, but it the other features are not worth paying for.
Casio should never have discontinued the data bank calculator watch. That watch rocked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's AE1200WHD-1A Stainless Steel Digital Watch (Watch)
I bought this watch specifically because it had a count down timer which I use every day. And unlike the countdown timer on my Armitron watch, when the counter times out it resets itself to the set time of the countdown, and not zero. Holding down a button to advance the Settings is very fast. Also the light is brighter than normal, and easy to read. The alarm function is very complete. Five separate alarms which have the option of on or off and also a 1 time setting.... Very useful.

CONS: the digit of the day date display is very close to the border of the entire display, making it difficult to read the right-most digit of the date sometimes. The tiny little depiction of the world map is gimmicky and not needed. Anyone who is a world traveler would own a watch that costs many times more than this one. The volume of the alarm is weaker than most. If I were really tired I don't think it would wake me up. There is also a digital depiction of an analog clock display. It is very small and really serves no useful purpose other than you can use it to check the time if the main digital display is occupied with one of the timing functions. Overall the watch has a light and cheap feel about it, like a fake Rolex. That turns into an advantage when you put it on however, as you hardly know it's there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It tells the time just as good as a rolex, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's AE1200WHD-1A Stainless Steel Digital Watch (Watch)
I compared the time showing on the "dial" with that showing on a Rolex Oyster, and it was exactly the same! The world time feature is also nice.

Update: Used the watch on a visit to England that involved stops at Dallas Fort Worth and Orlando airports, and it was really useful to be able to change time zones with just a button push. However, the button is somewhat easy to push inadvertently, and can lead to moments of panic when you suddenly think that you are some hours ahead or behind the actual time, so it pays to check that it is still in your current time zone occasionally :-) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Geeky Novelty, March 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's AE1200WHD-1A Stainless Steel Digital Watch (Watch)
I got this watch because I thought it would great while at work in the office with casual office attire.

for a 20 dollar watch, it comes with a slew of features! I won't go into listing all the features, but this is a very high value watch. The quality of the materials could be better. The bracelet is made of a light steel (folded links) but the case of the watch is actually plastic, and so is the crystal. This means it will get pretty scratched up if you are at all abusive with your watches, using them outdoors or in rougher environments.

For casual office type environments, I would highly recommend it for it's utility. It would be able to withstand your typical day at the desk. But if you work or are in environments where your watch will come in contract with anything, I would suggest otherwise.

Excellent, light-weight watch with a ton of functionality with a tech-geeky look. A little on the delicate side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Design with a couple of short comnings, May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's AE1200WHD-1A Stainless Steel Digital Watch (Watch)
I like the style of this watch and it is nice to have a 24 hour timer and stopwatch with 5 alarms and world times.
Now the not so good news.
The body of the watch except for the back plate, buttons & the band is plastic.
I wish the whole watch was metal. Alas the plastic crystal is prone to scratching.
It would have been better if it was glass. More durable.
Otherwise nice watch for it's price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the price., March 13, 2014
By 
Daniel (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's AE1200WHD-1A Stainless Steel Digital Watch (Watch)
Great watch at a modern size. Absolutely worth the $21 I paid. I've seen it retail for ~$30, which would be less of a good deal. I would happily have paid more for the case to be metal, but alas. The bracelet is folded metal, and you'll want to do a search for how to resize it as it's not a standard pin and link setup, but not very hard to do. I used a nail and a pair of pliers (gently).

I like the styling and the amber color of the backlight. Dislike the printing on the watch case--"illuminator" and "world time" but those can be removed with a little solvent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says, January 7, 2014
By 
Kimoeagle (Angola, IN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's AE1200WHD-1A Stainless Steel Digital Watch (Watch)
This watch was easy to set up, and is keeping good time. It is a good value. It lost 1 star because this product, along with almost all of the other Casio watches, comes with a tiny manual & even tinier print. I recommend that you look to the Casio main page for a PDF file of this manual. Much easier to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good for the price; minor flaws, December 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's AE1200WHD-1A Stainless Steel Digital Watch (Watch)
I wish the analog display were larger. One big advantage to analog is the ability to glance at it, but this one is too small to register quickly.
And the case does not seem to be solid metal; it is too light, but it looks better than the plastic one and wasn't that much more expensive.
One plus is the alarm and timer make enough noise to actually be heard; I've had several watches that were so quiet the noises were useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.