Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real quality keyboard
I bought the CTK-481 about 6 years ago. It has endured many years of use and I am very pleased with it. I am still amazed at the build and sound quality after 6 years. Even modern day low price Casio keyboards doesn't measure up to the quality. For example, the WK-200 has 76 keys with marvelous features. But the keys make this annoying "clicking" sound when played which...
Published on February 27, 2012 by Cloud Nebulas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, not a big fan
First off, it does NOT have full sized keys, that statement is a downright lie. the keys are quite a bit smaller then full size.
on top of that the keys are not pressure sensitive, which means that you cannot add any character to the music you play.

I would only recommend this product as a toy, or a very early practice piano for someone who was not sure...
Published 10 months ago by Dane F Vandewiele


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real quality keyboard, February 27, 2012
This review is from: Casio CTK-481 Keyboard with Adapter & Song Books (Electronics)
I bought the CTK-481 about 6 years ago. It has endured many years of use and I am very pleased with it. I am still amazed at the build and sound quality after 6 years. Even modern day low price Casio keyboards doesn't measure up to the quality. For example, the WK-200 has 76 keys with marvelous features. But the keys make this annoying "clicking" sound when played which is not there in this keyboard. The piano sound is surprising good comparing to other Casio low priced keyboard. Despite of some reviwer's claim, the volumn is actually quite loud and clear at highest setting, louder than the CDP-100. Some reviewer complaints about the unweighted keys simply expect too much for such low price product, what other keyboard in its price range comes with weighted keys? The so called "annoying glitch" in one review is simply putting it in the wrong mode. Put the power switch to "normal" position please.

A friend of mine recently bought a low priced Casio keyboard, it sounded terrible comparing to this one. I wonder what happened to all the technology after all these years? I wish Casio can keep the same quality for its low price keyboards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, not a big fan, March 12, 2014
This review is from: Casio CTK-481 Keyboard with Adapter & Song Books (Electronics)
First off, it does NOT have full sized keys, that statement is a downright lie. the keys are quite a bit smaller then full size.
on top of that the keys are not pressure sensitive, which means that you cannot add any character to the music you play.

I would only recommend this product as a toy, or a very early practice piano for someone who was not sure they wished to keep playing. but then again, what do you expect from a $99 keyboard? on the bright side, it seems like the build quality is decent enough, and it still works so that is a plus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it's nice, October 20, 2011
This review is from: Casio CTK-481 Keyboard with Adapter & Song Books (Electronics)
it's a nive keyboard.
as for a beginner, it's totally more than enough.
i would to recommend this if you are still wondering around looking for smth for a beginer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Keyboard for Beginners ONLY, October 13, 2006
By 
hihi (New York, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Casio CTK-481 Keyboard with Adapter & Song Books (Electronics)
As a person who has played piano for more than a decade, I don't personally like this electronic keyboard.

I bought this keyboard for my temporary residence, hoping to use this one to practice my fingers while I'm not at home with my piano. Having played piano for so long, I was not sure when I bought this keyboard. The keys felt so different on this keyboard.

I don't recommend it for anyone who has played at least 1 year of piano, even if you want to have a cheap substitute for your temporary use (go with Yamaha, the DGX220 is a little more expensive but has a lot more features and feels).

If you are a beginner, it may be wise to purchase this keyboard for some practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This keyboard is missing some necessary features and is poorly designed, February 23, 2006
This review is from: Casio CTK-481 Keyboard with Adapter & Song Books (Electronics)
First, I will list the few advantages that this keyboard does have. It has a very large song bank which is a pretty nice feature. It also comes with a song book for these songs in the song bank. This is about the only advantage for this keyboard. The several disadvantages are that it just feels cheaply made. The keys do not resemble that of a real piano's at all. When you are playing a song, you can hear the plastic keys clanging with the base of the piano, which is a poor design by Casio. There is also no touch response, which I find very odd since nearly every keyboard I have seen has this feature. The instuments, even though there is a wide selection, do not resemble the real thing whatsoever. There is also this VERY ANNOYING GLITCH that when you play two keys at the same time below middle C, the rythm function turns on right in the middle of your song. This is possible the most annoying thing about this keyboard. I do not know what Casio was thinking when they put this product in stores with this huge error. The speakers are also not very good, whenever you try to play a song at a moderate volume, you can barely hear it over the speakers crackling. The volume range is also not good. It is either very soft or VERY VERY LOUD. Overall, I would not reccommend this product. Get a Yamaha keyboard instead because this keyboard is missing several features neccessary for a begginner pianist or an advanced one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its crazy out here, October 11, 2009
This review is from: Casio CTK-481 Keyboard with Adapter & Song Books (Electronics)
I am a beginner and have not even taken my first lesson yet but I can honestly say this keyboard is pretty and looks good when I walk around with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for beginners..., August 8, 2003
This review is from: Casio CTK-481 Keyboard with Adapter & Song Books (Electronics)
Yeap, that's all I could say.. it's great for all beginners who never lay their hands on the keyboard, because it has some features that some other don't have, which is songbook controller, that could let you play, PAUSE, forward, backward, while other only can do play and stop.. which is uneffective to learning from the image of keyboard button on the lcd. It is really helpful.. that's why I cancel to buy LK-43 and buy this instead(even though they have the lighting keys-I think it's not really helping, though..)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, July 26, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio CTK-481 Keyboard with Adapter & Song Books (Electronics)
Although it was a few weeks late, it's a great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 97 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Late products cannot be reviewed!, February 2, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio CTK-481 Keyboard with Adapter & Song Books (Electronics)
Order placed Jan16.No explanation received for late delivery.Dont mind waiting,but should be told why.Hope this item comes with a stand.....its the least casio should do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.