Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought it but returning it.
I am a fan of Casio databank watches. I lost my Casio DBC150-1 (Module 1477) Databank after years of use. Bought this latest e-databank model EDB610-8C (Module 2550) and there's lots to like about it. Read-out is big and easy to read. You can activate the auto-light up feature so with a turn of only your wrist, the dial will silently light up so you can read the time...
Published on May 27, 2006 by Whoopie

versus
55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overall: a big disapointment
This watch does what it is supposed to do, but in such a fashion that it makes it unpleasant to use it. I am dropping it in favour of a Timex Data Link, after a week of use.

I was looking for a watch to store my contacts and also schedules, especially birthdays and anniversaries which for me are completely impossible to remember. I used to have an earlier Casio...
Published on November 21, 2005 by Juan Zaratiegui Biurrun


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought it but returning it., May 27, 2006
I am a fan of Casio databank watches. I lost my Casio DBC150-1 (Module 1477) Databank after years of use. Bought this latest e-databank model EDB610-8C (Module 2550) and there's lots to like about it. Read-out is big and easy to read. You can activate the auto-light up feature so with a turn of only your wrist, the dial will silently light up so you can read the time (Great inside a darkened movie theatre!). The alarm is loud and has an optional snooze feature that repeats itself every five minutes for the next half hour. The watch can store 50 e-mail addies and entry can be protected by your password. Some reviewers were unhappy with the calculator mode in that you have to press side button "D" once (for addition symbol operation) to twice (subtract operation) and up to four times (for division character symbol). The truth is it takes less time to press "D" 4 times than it takes to read this sentence. I also found improved accuracy. On other databanks, you might mean to press the division key, but the keypad is so small you might press the multiplication key by accident. That won't happen with this databank. The one drawback is all entries in calculation mode are 1/8" high. If you have poor eyesight, you may have a problem reading. But if you can read a newspaper, no problem! The World Time mode has an expanded 100 cities listing. You can directly access for 3 time zones (home, city1, city2) which is good for travelers. I also like the fact that there is a home menu page so you can go straight to alarm mode or telephone mode or calculator mode with 1 touch on the keypad. No more pushing side button B five times to go to alarm mode! The resin watchband looks to be more secure as the pinspring doesn't seem nearly so easy to pop off. Only time will tell! The main reason I'm returning the watch is I miss the schedule mode. On my old databank, I had stored in it birthdays, anniversary, mother's day, father's day, doctor appointments, business appointments, dinner dates, etc. That was a truly useful feature and it has been ill-advisedly eliminated on this model databank. I hope they will add it back to future e-databank Casio model watches. Until they do, I'm sticking with the Casio DBC310-1 models (Module 1478) databank though it lacks e-mail storage. All-in-all, I love these Casio databank watches. I hope Casio keeps manufacturing them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overall: a big disapointment, November 21, 2005
This watch does what it is supposed to do, but in such a fashion that it makes it unpleasant to use it. I am dropping it in favour of a Timex Data Link, after a week of use.

I was looking for a watch to store my contacts and also schedules, especially birthdays and anniversaries which for me are completely impossible to remember. I used to have an earlier Casio Databank which neatly stored them for me and I decided to go for the better and more modern model, supposing Casio had improved what I once had.

The Hardware: Very good looking, but AFTER A FEW HOURS OF USE it starts showing all kinds of scrateches, so if you are going to wear it on your wrist go for the plastivc model.

The display is difficult to read and Casio has managed to use two overlapping screens one with a bue-ish tone whick makes it impossible to read, the utilities menu, especially if you use the also blue light.

The keypad of the calculator, which is also used to enter data is quite difficult to use and unfriendly with your fingertips.

The Software. The utilities menu is well thought, but once you get to the utilities themselves, the disappointment comes, data is difficult to enter, and untastefully displayed, a pity for such a good looking watch.

The worst of all (and this is my fault) there is no schedule mode, only five alarms with which I can enter my precious data to remeber my mommy's birthday and the project's deadline. I have no use for this watch. Althoug scratched all over, after one week, it will make a fine birthday present for some kid to store his girfriend's phone numbers.

Casio, come on guys, design something that connects with the PC so we don't have to punch all our data in. It can't be that difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Come on, Casio!, December 26, 2004
Casio still doesn't get it:

--Why have a gizmo that can store 300 memos without providing for data backup via a PC link?

--Why do away with perhaps the most useful function--schedule memos--aside from telling time?

--Why make people scroll through a list for a calculator math function? They had this right in the older models, but are going backwards in terms of feature set!

Definitely a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inferior Casio Databank, December 21, 2004
By 
I have owned Casio Calculator watches for almost 25 years and this is the first one that has been a total disappointment. I have had it for less than 9 months and almost all the writing on the keys is gone. Also note that for some reason Casio has decided to invert the keypad which makes using it hard if you are used to a previous calculator watch. There are also no buttons for the math functions. You are forced to push one button to scroll through the functions. Pick another model if you are looking for a Casio Calculator watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Point out some of the problems, November 1, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I admit I do not own this watch but I played with it for quite a bit in the store, before deciding on one of casio's other databank models. The central problem with this watch is that it does not provide any schedule-memo as the traditional databank watches do. So although you can store as much data as you like and type it on the go (two other important features), you can't stick in that doctor's apt or school exam date and have the watch convienently remind you with a 2-week calendar at the top like casio's other models. I really wish Casio would come out with a model that has all the same features but includes the schedule-memo and I'd be sold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Schedule memo gone, June 9, 2006
By 
D. Martin (Grand Rapids, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been using Casio Databank watches since around 1989 and have loved them all along. I forego a stylish watch for the features.

I always used the telephone bank to keep track of my phone numbers, and more importantly, I used the schedule memo to keep track of all of my family birthdays. The watch would let me know in advance, and then would beep (annually) when a birthday was up.

Now, with my cell phone, I don't need the telephone database any longer. They're all in my phone. It's faster and easier to pull it up on the phone and hit "send."

But the schedule memo is still why I wear the DBC-310. So I was looking at these new models and saw that they were much more stylish. I could have my "geek watch" with a stylish look.

Bought one.

Found out later that they'd dropped the schedule memo feature.

It's useless to me. If I want to tell time and have a stopwatch, I have a multitude of choices. I NEED my schedule memo.

Guess I'll buy another DBC-310. Why would Casio drop this feature?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Designed Telephone Screen, May 5, 2007
I have used a Casio Databank DB 150 for several years. I upgraded to this because it has more storage capacity. This watch is a great disappointment. The information is very poorly displayed. On the old watch, the name and phone nmuber were on the same screen. On this watch, you get to the name screen, and then have to push another button to see the number. The numbers do not display the way a phone number should. A phone number should display as xxx-xxx-xxxx. The DB 150 used this type of display. This watch displays the numbers like this

xx xx xx

xx xx xx

If the phone number is 123-234-5678 it would display it like this

12 32 34

5678

I can't believe that they really designed it like this. This watch is not functional to me. I would not recommend this watch to anyone looking to store phone numbers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Two major weaknesses, November 9, 2004
I have been a user of CASIO wrist calculators for over 10 years.

Normally I am very impressed with the CASIO products and would be willing to pay way more than the prices asked for.

But on this model I found two major weaknesses.

1: The numbers on the keypad on my watch have faded away.

I am forced to buy a new watch and that is why I am back on this site.

2: The phone number display is not formatted as a normal phone number sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is different than DBC-1500, July 15, 2005
I made my decision to buy this watch from image on line and downloading the manual (qw2500.pdf) from the Casio site.

Biggest change was the fit, and took time for me to adjust to the feel. It fits loose around the wrist more like a braclet. To fit more tightly like a watch, a link or two would have to be removed.

The 1500 limit on the number of scheduled appointment was governed by 150 limit for schedule-telephone numbers. Now there are five alarms, one with a snooze feature. Text can be added to each alarm and scheduled for specific date, day of week, etc.

I overcame the telephone number display by putting the first six numbers (area code and exchange) on the top line, the last four on second line. International numbers will have to be put in the data section.

Yes, the calculator one has to scroll through with one key for +, -, *, and divide, but this reduced the number of keys by four. I do not use the calculator often.

It is easy to change the displayed time to a different time zone when traveling. I need to review the proceedure, but I believe now one can set the time to new time zone so the alarm functions properly. With the 1500 I always had to add or subtract the time difference from the home/primary time (I did not change the primary time with 1500, went to world time and selected the time zone I needed).

Out of the box, the small keys had to be pushed frequently before they worked, but soon they all were functioned properly.

I have grown to like this watch better than my 1500. It is very attractive.

Timex has data link watches, but data can be entered only when you are at your computer. Maybe someday the two systems can be merged.

SF CA Tom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The label on the keys rub off! Otherwise, nice watch., April 21, 2004
By 
John E. Pombrio (Manchester, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nice watch, easy to read and store info. Keys have a good feel, rubber like.There are two layers of LCD, the bottom one (which most screens use) is easier to read and large. Standard input using the keypad for letters. Phone numbers formatted a little strange.
After owning it a year, ALL of the keys are now completely blank.I guess my sleeve rubbed off the printing on the soft rubber keys. I will have to send the watch in for warranty repair I hope...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.