Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love it - works great with Samsung S4 Android 4.2.2.
Bought this item today via ebaydotcom from japan.
- GB 6900B 1BJF
2013, end of september release in japan.
(in your country named differnt, maybe "GB-6900b - ...."

Here is what i learnd from several discriptions on the net: some say it only works with iphone 4s or 5.
i havn't tested that. even my japanese seller says it does work only on...
Published 17 months ago by wingo, male. 39

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars casio gb6900b
Got this watch for christmas to match my new g zone 4g phone, would have thought the two products would have the best compatibility. Once paired the connection between the two is iffy at best. constantly would drop the blue tooth connection . trying to re connect is as frustrating as hell.It' s cool when it works ,but not worth the frustration with dropped connection and...
Published 14 months ago by John H.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love it - works great with Samsung S4 Android 4.2.2., October 8, 2013
This review is from: Casio G-SHOCK Bluetooth 4.0 GB-6900B-1BJF Men [Japan Import] (Watch)
Bought this item today via ebaydotcom from japan.
- GB 6900B 1BJF
2013, end of september release in japan.
(in your country named differnt, maybe "GB-6900b - ...."

Here is what i learnd from several discriptions on the net: some say it only works with iphone 4s or 5.
i havn't tested that. even my japanese seller says it does work only on these devices. but that is wrong.

Actually it WORKS FINE WITH Samsung Galaxy S4 (Android 4.2.2)!!! (you'll find these information aswell at casio website)

I learnd this product will enter some other markets in maybe some month... but i wanted it asap, so i went for the
japanese model. The product will later be available on other countries with the same name GB 6900b and some ending
product letters varieing with the color and country code. Mine is the GB 6900b 1bjf (which i learnd is from japanese
market only).

Some words for those who like me don't want to wait... in some countries they may stop the package on customes till you
proof that the watch does not break any radio transsmission laws.. anyways in my case it reached my without any delay or
problems.

Remote bluetooth display for samsung galaxy s4:

Here is what it mainly does: it can be paired via bluetooth to your phone within an android app called "g-shock+" which
is free available with no cost on the android market. you open the app and search for the watch. once found you pair the
devices and from that moment on your watch can give little beeps, or display signs and text information or vibration on
events (that happen on your phone) you define:
- alarms
- incomming calls (caller id from phonebook as tiny runningtext)
- new facebook message (event text as tiny running text)
- new textmessege (sender name in running text shown in tiny letters)
- connection loss (little icon of of tiny person indicates loss)
- calender events

Remote control of musicplayer for samsung galaxy s4:

pressing a button on your watch setting it to "control-mode" you have now 3 buttons on your watch that control
your phone-musicplayer. you can define the 3 buttons with these actions: play/pause, vol-up, volume-down, play next
song, play the song before. keep in mind that only 3 buttons can be defined so you have only access to 3 of these 5
functions at a time (you define these in the app). in my case i adjust the volume on my phone and skip songs or pause on
my watch. in control mode there is a function to display the actual speed (messured by your phones sensors)... in the
watch dissplay aswell as the song information.
so maybe runners or bicycle-sporties can check their speed. this is in music-control mode only.. so maybe casio guesses
you may want to know your speed while listening to music... for sport that may be true. i tested that while car driving
only. it works.

mute your ringtone remotely:

on incoming call event your "light" button silences your phone... it does not answer the call or end it.. it just turns
the sound of the phone of. useful when your phone hidden somewhere deep in pockets your begins ringing while in a
meeting.

find your phone:

dont know who needs it but: if paired at least you know your phone is somewhere in bluetooth reach. if that is still too
much space to find your lost phone: your watch can trigger your phone making a defined sound or play a tune.

other functions:

i'll not inform about all normal functions. g-shock watches have all the usual functions. this one too.

style:

mine has got a negative display that is readable even in bright sun. the lightmode is some kind of greyish white. you
can read it in total darkness when pressing the light button. i did recognise the light button is not working in some
modes so you can not pair the device or change the setup in the dark.. but thats ok, you do setup or paring only after
purchase. the strap is a bit shiny.. thats ok for me..

the discription on the web says the watch can be put in energy saving mode when you dont need it as companion for your phone. i havnt tested that. it can be paired to the phone even when the phone is paired with a bluetooth headset or a car (but that is more for a samsung s4 review :-)). i tested that... so listeining to your music in the car while skipping songs or pausing the playback on your watch = works!

size:

i have rather small hands and usually use baby-g. the new watch is ok but like other g-shock... it fits on my wrist..
but it looks a bit fat... maybe small-handers test watches of similar size on your local store before buying this gadget
online. actually it looks a bit fat.. but it is lighter than it looks.. no big weight-monster.

things i miss:

i havent found an option to make the watch turn the light on while an event trigger action.. so in the darkness you have
to press the light button to see what makes your phone vibrate/beep.. on incoming calls for example the light-button
acts as a "mute your ringtone on the phone" button. thats why there is no "5stars overall" sorry casio if i am just to
stupid to find this option :-)

Overall:

As A Gadget lover this watch is a must for me... i am almost 40.. actually i learn the younger generation does not wear watches at all. i do :-). i havn't yet recognised that the watch changed my habbit of checking my phone for new events.. maybe it will. i can say i do not trust the stability of the connection from the beginning.. maybe i will. over my first day of use i at least counted 2 connection-losses in 10 hours.. with phone and watch beeing in 1m range of eachother.
but actually i dont know which of the 2 devices to blame. believing the casio stats i now own a watch that i can leave paired with my phone 12 hours i day for 2 years... believing this i have small functions with no need to check the battery status or recharge my smartwatch like pebble (once a week at least) or samsung gear (once every 48 hours).. but of yourse these have big displays and apps and functions... i dont need these on a watch.. i have a phone. But i need to skip my musik while running ..and i love little alerts form my silenced phone on my wrist.

So: - cool device if you expect a watch that controls your samsung s4 music : 5 stars *****
- ok device if you want to read exact and many informations from your phone on your wrist : 3 stars ***

remember: you cannot expect a watch that is still a stylish watch with all functions of a smartphone and apps and
color-touch-display and a long battery life... thats maybe future music :-). if you want to wear your phone on a
wrist and recharge it daily.. buy another product. This is a watch...a cool one.

please forgive my mistakes. english is not my mother-language. i made this review just because i love the watch and i bought it without even knowing that i works with my phone.. this may help you in deciding to buy one.. but be sure it works
only with 3 phone models (iphone4s iphone5 and samsung galaxy s4) ... if you ship it from japan: i paid 179usd plus 30usd shipping... and taxes in my country. i have nothing much to compare this price... but other smarte-watches with more functions are cheaper.. but in my case these other watches have too much energy-eating options and displays... i have 2 phones and a tablet to plugin/recharge daily... i could'nt stand another energy-hungry-gadget to care for :-).
contact me for photos or aditional information. this post is not influenced by someone paying for a nice review.
my review is nice because the watch is.

beware of the older versions of this watch named GB6900AA ...
the name is almost the same... the functions are totally not! the old watch is missing samsung s4 compatibilty and music-control function!!!!

comment with questions, i'll check this every once in a while... and i maybe leave updates aswell if the app changes, or problems come up with the now beloved product. if 20 persons comment for a need of a short video review i maybe do one.. but not now.

hugs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars casio gb6900b, December 31, 2013
This review is from: Casio G-SHOCK Bluetooth 4.0 GB-6900B-1BJF Men [Japan Import] (Watch)
Got this watch for christmas to match my new g zone 4g phone, would have thought the two products would have the best compatibility. Once paired the connection between the two is iffy at best. constantly would drop the blue tooth connection . trying to re connect is as frustrating as hell.It' s cool when it works ,but not worth the frustration with dropped connection and the 5 or 6 times it takes to reconnect. there is very little support from casio either online or by phone. So I sent it back. will wait till they get all the bugs worked out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its a great watch, May 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio G-SHOCK Bluetooth 4.0 GB-6900B-1BJF Men [Japan Import] (Watch)
its is a very good watch, all the functionality is there but i feel the blue tooth tech could have been better adapted to work with android phones,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars G SHOCK GOES BLUE!!!, October 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio G-SHOCK Bluetooth 4.0 GB-6900B-1BJF Men [Japan Import] (Watch)
When i first heard of this watch i was stun , i am a long time buyer of G shock , but had no idea they had a bluetooth version. Well guess what , this is a fantastic watch, and i love it. I used it with my iPhone 5 and it worked flawlessly.
It does everything they say it does , emails , music , etc.

I love when i am at the gym , i don't need to pull out my phone , just use the watch to control your music.

It is a fantastic product , its a G SHOCK WITH BLUETOOTH!!! BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch for using while I run, December 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio G-SHOCK Bluetooth 4.0 GB-6900B-1BJF Men [Japan Import] (Watch)
Great watch for using while I run. I like the customized button settings that can be set up so I can change the song or adjust the volume on the fly. It does lose bluetooth connection on occasion but reconnects by itself. I also use it sometimes in my car when my phone is connected to the aux in. Again I change the song on it instead of taking my eyes off the road and looking at the phone. Overall really like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the actual market of smart watches you find many brands many Stiles, February 19, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio G-SHOCK Bluetooth 4.0 GB-6900B-1BJF Men [Japan Import] (Watch)
In the actual market of smart watches you find many brands many Stiles.

But come on this is a G-Shock!!!!

You don't need to charge these watch each 24 hours the battery last two years.

So you can do DOWNHILL, snowboarding, surf, or any extreme sport that you like using these watch.

I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, February 21, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio G-SHOCK Bluetooth 4.0 GB-6900B-1BJF Men [Japan Import] (Watch)
a very good watch I really like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars At this moment iOS7 is NOT supported., September 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio G-SHOCK Bluetooth 4.0 GB-6900B-1BJF Men [Japan Import] (Watch)
CASIO announced that they will support iOS7, but at this moment, Mobile Link is NOT working with iOS7. It can not be paired.
:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, June 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio G-SHOCK Bluetooth 4.0 GB-6900B-1BJF Men [Japan Import] (Watch)
If you want to waste your money on a watch that doesn't offer what other watches do at lower prices then this is the watch for you. Big disappointment. Don't even want the watch at this point. The watch itself is much smaller than regular G-Shock watches and the band is cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.