Customer Reviews


1,045 Reviews
5 star:
 (633)
4 star:
 (244)
3 star:
 (97)
2 star:
 (41)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior watch, but not for everybody
This is an excellent watch, and I could not be happier with it. The G-shock series is used extensively by the military, special forces and police, and it's easy to see why. This watch is extremely well built and durable, and it uses only high quality materials (that goes for the band as well.) It's also very light and comfortable.

The styling of the watch is...
Published on September 24, 2012 by soccer747

versus
194 of 207 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall Good - Some Complaints
Pros: This watch is quite accurate. I've never had to make any adjustments to it and have been wearing it for nearly two years. Still on the first battery. This watch is also incredibly rugged. I am an active, active outdoor adventurer and have ABUSED this watch. It's never once asked me to ease up on it; it just keeps telling me the time. This includes a couple...
Published on January 30, 2008 by Chris LaVesser


‹ Previous | 1 2105 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

194 of 207 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall Good - Some Complaints, January 30, 2008
Pros: This watch is quite accurate. I've never had to make any adjustments to it and have been wearing it for nearly two years. Still on the first battery. This watch is also incredibly rugged. I am an active, active outdoor adventurer and have ABUSED this watch. It's never once asked me to ease up on it; it just keeps telling me the time. This includes a couple SCUBA dives.

Cons: The light only lights the small digital display at the bottom of the watch. If, like me, you keep the digital display on the date mode, the night light won't help you much. I don't believe this watch has ever leaked, but if the temperature is cool, this watch fogs up. And finally, if the time is between 25 past the hour and 35 past the hour, don't even think about being able to read the digital display at the bottom; the minute hand WILL obscure your view.

Overall this is a great, rugged watch for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior watch, but not for everybody, September 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an excellent watch, and I could not be happier with it. The G-shock series is used extensively by the military, special forces and police, and it's easy to see why. This watch is extremely well built and durable, and it uses only high quality materials (that goes for the band as well.) It's also very light and comfortable.

The styling of the watch is not for everyone, however. This watch has a very tough, prepared-for-anything kind of look that I love, without being over the top. It is slightly thicker than other digital watches, owing to its armor-like exterior, but this is very subtle. Also, this watch does not have an overly large dial, as has become popular in watch styling lately. But I take issue with the many reviews that have described this watch as "small." These are clearly customers who were looking for the aforementioned large dial styling. I am 6'3'' with large wrists and hands, and I don't think the watch is undersized for me at all (nor does anyone else). At the end of the day, it's a very standard watch size.

I have noticed that many reviewers are unhappy with the way in which you adjust the analog hands, which surprises me given how little time it takes. I had to adjust mine 11 hours right out of the box, and it took about a minute. I suppose if devoting a minute to setting your watch time is a major issue for you then you should look elsewhere, but if you're like me you won't even think twice about it.

Finally, some reviewers have complained that the watch is useless at night unless you set the digital screen to report the time rather than the date. But this ignores the fact that there is a button on the side that cycles through the watch's various modes. One can easily use the digital screen to report the date and, when it grows dark, simply press this button. Then just hit the light button and you're in business. Easy as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 98 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Functional Value...Nicely Styled, May 22, 2006
By 
dennis wentraub (schenectady, new york USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What's not to like about a seventy dollar waterproof, shockproof multi-function watch that also looks good. It's a seriously rugged-looking watch but very light weight. An inset digital screen is controlled by a mode button that advances through the date, digital time, alarm time, stopwatch, and second time zone functions. The screen can be backlit in a cool (really) blue light for night viewing. The rectangular screen is a bit small and not easily read with these baby boomer eyes in certain offlit situations. It is also difficult to read the screen when the analog minute hand sweeps across the screen through the 4 to 8 hour period. I'd pay another ten bucks to see this screen replicated on the top of the watch face (between 10 and 2 o'clock)to avoid this. No big deal. Hey, it's only seventy bucks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, practical super tough, plain and young looking, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i own very expensive watches, which i cannot use cause they are either too shiny, too heavy or i have to baby around. this is my second casio. the other one finally broke after wearing it 24-7. reason why i prefer this watch over any (cheaper or more expensive) is 1) i dont have to baby it around, yes. i work, shower, exercise, teach and go to school with it. 2) its very plain. i dont need 3 gauges and so much crap and clutter expensive watches have. just DATE, LIGHT N TIME. 3) its formal looking enough for me to teach, and casual enough for sports, therefore i dont have to own but one for all my busy life. 4) its not old fashioned looking. yes i cannot wear an old looking watch. this looks young enough but formal enough.
in conclusion, it was hard to find the perfect watch for me as i dont like clutter in the dial, i need a light every day and i love plain but tough looking watches.
this is the perfect watch for an active, sports and executive person. the price cant be beat. but I MUST SAY i would pay twice as much.
love my casio, its like a faithful dog, just feed it...! it will go everywhere with you...! soo cool it dont have a seconds hand, which i dont need...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice watch, August 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am in the military and wear this watch every day in harsh conditions and its dosent even show a scratch. It is fully functional and i am very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no es tan grande, January 30, 2013
tremendo reloj materual altamente resistente, se siente pesado, nado tranquilamente en la piscina lo surmejo y no entra agua, hora digital/analogica, luz, en fin un buen reloj.. lo recomiendo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adjusting analog time -- not user friendly, December 17, 2005
By 
Tool Nut 102 (Silver Spring, MD USA) - See all my reviews
Very nice watch in terms of appearance, accuracy, and reliability. The analog hands feature is great, in that it combines the accuracy of a digital movement with a display that can easily be read without glasses (great for us increasingly-senior citizens). BUT -- adjusting the time display (analog hands) is a major pain, at daylight savings time. The hands can ONLY be advanced in the forward direction. So plan on spending a good while slowly rotating the movement through a full 12 hours when you need to adjust the hands only ONE hour back. The upside is that the movement is accurate enough that you should not need to adjust the hands, other than at DST changeovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work, September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The analog portion of the watch does not keep time! The digital portion works but I bought an analog watch for a reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Casio G100-1BV Watch Review, April 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This watch has a very nice appearance. I am fond of analogue-digital watches and this one is one of the most attractive.... but it has a killer design flaw that made me return it almost instantly. You can only adjust the analogue hands forwards ... very slowly. You can only move the hands forwards in 20 second increments, so if your watch is running a few moments fast then you have to go through more than 11 hours in 20 second increments. I.e. Press a button once and move the hands 20 seconds forwards with each button press! What about time changes required with travelling? What about changes required with Daylight Savings Time? This design makes the watch an absolute no go with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dont let the plastic fool you-this is the good stuff., May 8, 2011
By 
cactus (don't worry about it.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
if you break this watch there is a good chance your wrist is in pain. i own lots of watches and i have many stainless dive watches that look tough and fancy. none can hold a candle to a g-shock. ever. that said, a huge production environment is bound to put out a couple mistakes. it happens. exchange it for a new one if possible.
i own one of these watches. its not small but it doesnt look too bad on my little wrist. the light doesnt light up the dial-only the digital read out.that doesnt matter too much to me because the lume on the hands stays lit pretty well. the buttons are hard to push for a very good reason-you dont want them to get pushed unless you mean it. in an active environment , this is the way to be (for me at least). the hands stay where they are supposed to...there are some sport watches out there that are cheaply built and the hands will "slip" if the watch is knocked around (im looking at you pulsar)
let me explain the title of this review here. some people my think that because this watch is made out of plastic that it is low quality. not true in this case. this is a tank of a watch. you could probably run it over with a bread truck and it would be ok (dont try that).
i am a pipefitter and have had one of these for 2 years and it looks brand new and has never failed me. great price too! casio did not fool around when they built this. we asked for it-they built it.
if you want a watch that will impress your friends at dinner this might not be it. if you want a well engineered,simple watch that will impress you....this is it. fresh battery every few years or so and youll be pleased as me.
edit: i now have 2 of these. one is all black and factory and one is navy blue with a black bezel. i bought the blue one on x-bay and tore it down and refurbished it inside and out. i put a horrible picture of it here. its the one in the bush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2105 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

G-Shock Men's G100-1BV
$54.70 - $138.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.