Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE "HYBRID" WATCH
THIS WATCH IS A DIGITAL WOLF IN ANALOG SHEEP'S CLOTHING
Although I'm hardly an expert in the field, this surely must be one of the great, affordable bargains in high-tech timekeeping. The precision of this instrument is astounding, even for one who has run computerized equipment for over forty years. The watch's functions are well-chronicled in documentation and in...
Published on December 25, 2010 by FloridaFellow

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expensive Mistake
This is a attractive looking watch and has many interesting features. My number one complaint about this high end piece of crap is that it can't be used in the dark. No backlight, luminous marks and numbers only glow for about 8 minutes and fade away. A two hundred dollar watch that is useless at night, who in their right mind would manufacture a expensive watch that's...
Published 6 months ago by Glenn R. Harper


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE "HYBRID" WATCH, December 25, 2010
This review is from: Casio Men's GW3000B-1ACR G-Shock Solar Power Black With Orange Dial Watch (Watch)
THIS WATCH IS A DIGITAL WOLF IN ANALOG SHEEP'S CLOTHING
Although I'm hardly an expert in the field, this surely must be one of the great, affordable bargains in high-tech timekeeping. The precision of this instrument is astounding, even for one who has run computerized equipment for over forty years. The watch's functions are well-chronicled in documentation and in reviews, along with the frustrations of several reviewers, so I'll focus on aspects of setup which may make the process less painful.

1) Read the instructions. Read them again.

2) Make certain that the watch is charged.

3) Do the setup at a time when the hour and minute hands do not obscure the subdials.

4) Pay attention to the status pointer of the 9 o'clock subdial.

5) As you do the setup, allow the watch time to make its adjustments.

6) Set your respective time zone first.

7) After that, the remainder of the setup and the examination of functions will be a piece of cake..

8) If you really can't figure this out, have your 12-year-old child help. (Rent a neighbor's kid if necessary.)

9) If your effort, the kid's effort, and Casio helpline can't establish setup, you might have a defective watch.

I, personally, am thrilled with this watch . . . as I am with all of my Casio watches. I think this watch is the greatest thing since sliced bread. En lieu of a huge digital display, the analog display is the easiest for my ancient orbs to read. Good luck with your next Casio. Regards, --Ron
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good job G-Shock, June 29, 2010
This review is from: Casio Men's GW3000B-1ACR G-Shock Solar Power Black With Orange Dial Watch (Watch)
I purchased this watch just a few days ago. Reason? Larger analog G-Shock, Multiband, and Solar with great look and features. I've been waiting for this type of design from G-Shock for a long time. Thank you.
The watch is very light and G-Shock durable. It definitely has the look of a precise aviation instrument. Just like any precise and quality instrument it takes a little bit of time to learn to operate it and get used to the functions. I personally like that the watch does not have any LED backlight. There is no need for it. I must disagree with the previous review. The luminous hands are visible throughout the night. Not as bright as for example Luminox watches, but bright enough to see what time it is.
The stopwatch function is plenty sufficient. If you need a stopwatch up to 24 hours, then you will probably get a different watch for a lot more $$$ and probably not as durable.
The worldtime function works great....can't complain. I personally don't have much use for the 24-hour display, but don't mind it. It's probably useful for those who are not familiar with the 24-hour time.
Overall, this watch represents several precise functions in a small analog package. If you like sporty analog design and looking for a superb accuracy, you cannot go wrong with this time piece. Strongly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The full suite of G-Shock 'tough' well dressed behind an analog dial, June 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's GW3000B-1ACR G-Shock Solar Power Black With Orange Dial Watch (Watch)
I'm a huge fan of G-Shock products and the look & design of this watch made it an irresistible addition to my collection. Since the case is entirely comprised of resin & the steel buttons along with the mineral crystal lens are all well recessed within the watch, I don't worry about anything denting or scratching anything off of this watch. There is good attention to detail & build quality from what I have observed. The orange colored features against the black face of this watch make it very readable in daylight. As far as the band, I find resin bands to be more comfortable, durable and less susceptible to failure since there are no parts to bend or wear out. I really enjoy the look & overall character of this watch. Some might consider it to be 'oversized' but it doesn't seem to be huge on my wrist.

Atomic timekeeping & solar power (or equivalent) have become basic requirements for all of my timepiece purchases. The biggest weakness of any "waterproof" or water resistant watch is the rear bezel seal. If you never have to tamper with that seal, you reduce the risk of compromising that seal and allowing water to enter the watch. This watch charges it's internal battery using sunlight which is incredibly convenient.

Any potential purchaser should be forewarned that operating this watch will require a careful review of the owner's manual and about an hour to familiarize yourself with the watch & it's functions. When I first unboxed this watch it instantly either awoke from sleep mode or programmed itself to my local timezone. It was accurate down to the second right out of the box as I compared it side by side with another atomic-timekeeping G-Shock watch. That is until I started pressing buttons according to the "quick start guide". Soon after pressing just a few buttons the watch was completely out of sync in every possible way, from the time to the day & date. I made the mistake of attempting to explore the watch's functions thinking that it would be intuitive like other G-Shock watches I've owned, but I was very mistaken. That being said I spent an hour tinkering with the watch & reading the entire instruction manual. I now know my way around this watch very well and have zero concerns about it being complicated to operate but I didn't reach that point without spending at least an hour of my time to figure things out.

This high precision timepiece offers some nice features, however I was disappointed that it completely lacks lighting capability. There is absolutely no backlight, or LED for momentary lighting of the watch face. The hands, numbers & like markings on the watch face glow in the dark for approximately 7 minutes after being exposed to light. You will not be able to read time precisely with this timepiece in the dark, but you'll be able to estimate within 4 minutes at the very most.

The other disappointing discovery I encountered is that the stopwatch function on this timepiece only counts up to 23m 59s elapsed. I was quite surprised that a G-Shock would not chrono over 24 minutes and I feel that this makes the stopwatch only marginally acceptable. I must admit that I don't use this feature very often, but I don't like the idea of limiting my timing to less than 24 minutes.

A feature that I do use regularly is dual zone timekeeping which this watch does flawlessly, and with DST independently enabled or disabled. A handy integrated 'zone swap' function to allow you to switch the time displayed on the watch's primary face easily & quickly between 'home' and 'away' time zones. Secondary 'away time' is tracked on the small dial between the center & #3 on the watch face. It should be noted that the secondary time is displayed in 24hr format on a very small area of the watch face which could be difficult to read for some.

Overall, I'm happy with my purchase & will keep this G-Shock because of it's great looks, rugged G-Shock toughness, atomic timekeeping & solar powered rechargeable battery. World time is a bonus, but again I feel the stopwatch is somewhat limited for a G-Shock. I wish there was some sort of backlight or LED to charge up the glowing hands, markings & numbers too. Overall, this is one of my favorite watches & I would not part with it over the aforementioned disappointments.

Pros:
- It's a G-Shock! A virtually indestructible watch!
- Solar powered means you don't have to hassle with replacing a battery or compromising case seals which could let water in & brick the watch.
- Atomic timekeeping so you have extremely accurate time which calibrates daily in most areas and you also don't have to hassle with setting the day & date.
- Good looking watch with high visibility color scheme & detailed markings.
- Precise "tough" movement accurate while surpassing 12 G-forces.
- Dual time with integrated world timezone designations is great for traveling.

Cons:
- Initially difficult to use & set.
- Chrono/Stopwatch only tracks up to 23m59s of time elapsed.
- No backlight or auto EL feature found standard on most G-Shock watches.
- Small features could be difficult to read for some people.
- Only the primary watch hands and time markings glow in the dark for a limited amount of time before going completely dark. Day, date, 24hr secondary world time dials are not visible in the dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked it at first glance .... Just buy it!, May 24, 2011
By 
C. Green (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's GW3000B-1ACR G-Shock Solar Power Black With Orange Dial Watch (Watch)
Right off the bat you need to know I like this watch ..... I won't dwell on it's features or specs as they are available on Amazon or the Casio website ..... I will address those questions and concerns that I had prior to purchasing this particular model .....

1. The orange color is not overly bright or tacky .... It is more of a burnt shade .... Goes very well with the black ....
2. The resin band is thick and sturdy ... And light ..... Do I think I need the SS band as I typically get? ..... Nope .....
3. The small dial labels are difficult to see as I'm not a youngster any longer ... But .... After using that magnifying glass for the first time to read those labels, it is very easy to distinguish where those dials are pointing at a glance afterwards ....
4. Don't get hung up on the numbers at the end of the model number ... A GW3000b-1acr is the same as a GW3000b-xxxx .... The last four numbers only indicate the distribution region ..... The 'b' will change if you decide to get the SS band model ....
5. Nice raised lip around a unique domed crystal .......
6. The current time is ridiculously easy to set right out of the box ..... As soon as it sees light, it 'wakes up' and corrects the time to the currently set home city ...... It does this immediately without your assistance .... If the current home city is not yours, all you have to do is change it ..... The watch does the rest and corrects the time to the new home city .... You will also need to adjust DST .... If not, the correct time will always be an hour off ..... A previous reviewer was complaining that the time was always an hour off .... Voila ......
7. It's a big watch .... Make sure you have the wrist for it or it will look a bit strange ......
8. All the hands and dials are dead on accurate in respect to each other ..... Never owned a chrono that didn't have one of the dial needles a bit off .....
9. Thinking about buying the yellow GW3500 instead? .... the 3000 has a less busy and cluttered face ..... And looks much, much better than the 3500 ..... the bright yellow of the 3500 is kind of cheap looking ...... The 3000 does not have a back light ..... But
unless you absolutey need to see the dials, the glow of the main hands on the 3000 will take you through the night .....
10. This is the nicest of the analog specific g-shocks hands down ..... If you must have a 3500, at least wait until the new aqua or white color schemes come down in price .... In the mean time, buy this 3000 .....

16 Mar 2012 update .... Thought I'd just drop in and leave a current status .... I couldn't be happier with this watch .... It is a daily wear and it looks as good today as it did when I purchased it ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect companion for your travels (or otherwise), March 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was taken with this watch as soon as I opened the box, and I was very pleased that I took a chance and ordered it sight unseen.

Radio time calibration is just awesome, if you haven't had a watch that has this feature before, then you are in for a treat. Solar- no batteries to replace for a long, long time. Awesome!
Two time zones always visible- I travel a lot for work; this going to be great! Preprogrammed calendar with date and DAY OF THE WEEK display!! You'd be surprised how often one can loose track of what the hell day it is when your on the road and not keeping a 9-5 or M-F schedule. The luminous treatment is great- just as good, especially on the hands, as my Seiko chrono. The indices are less bright, but the orange glows green!! So cool. Different shades of black/finishes are awesome, and the dial has depth that is noticeable even in the dark (when the lume is charged). It is a large watch for sure, but personally, when I travel, I like having substantial things from home with me (plus a stopwatch to play with if I get bored on the plane- I can clock the time it takes for the kids behind me to start kicking my seat!). However, as other reviewers have noted, you have to take some time and read the instructions in order to understand it's operation. Although playing with it and discovering how it works is part of the fun if you are into gadgets. Just remember, this is essentially a digital watch with an analogue display. The logic in its operation is very similar to that of a standard LCD G-shock. But with this model, the visual cues all come from the movement and placement of the various hands on the dial- as opposed to blinking numbers. The instructions basically tell you what buttons to push and how to push them, then what to look for on the dial. Once you figure it, you may want to keep playing with it, as I have found myself doing all day.

Overall, I am very pleased with this watch, much more so than many of the expensive mechanical watches that I have had over the years. For the price, it is definitely a good deal; especially given its accuracy, features and near indestructibility. I recommend this watch to frequent travelers, or really anyone who likes the features of digital watch, but prefers the aesthetic of an analogue display. Thanks for reading and have great day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Watch for the Money, June 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's GW3000B-1ACR G-Shock Solar Power Black With Orange Dial Watch (Watch)
I don't want to repeat too much what was already written and the reviews were a huge factor in purchasing this watch. Thanks to those who took the time and wrote something.

I wanted an all analog watch that I never have to set or have the need for a new battery. Coupled with that, anti-magnetic, self-correcting hands if knocked out of alignment made this watch a slam dunk.

The watch is very light, sits very well on the wrist and doesn't dominate your arm. Sliding it under a cuff would be very hard, but why would you need to? The only things to be aware of are: the writing on the bezels is very small. Setting up the watch is tricky in the sense that you need to pay attention to the timing of how long to hold the buttons. Two seconds shows the result of the last sync while 5 will start a new one, etc.

I would recommend this watch to anyone, it's unique that few places carry it and the orange dial is perfectly noticeable without being gaudy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Casio, February 23, 2011
By 
Alan Griff (Brooklyn, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casio Men's GW3000B-1ACR G-Shock Solar Power Black With Orange Dial Watch (Watch)
I bought this watch not so much for it's features, which are few, but for it's looks and quality. And of course, to tell time.

I knew it could be complicated to set, but after downloading the manual, setting my Home City, and sticking it by the window overnight, it was fine and ready to rock the next morning. The time is extremely legible. The day and date require an extra second or two. Night time lume is adequate, nothing special.

The four functions are time, world time, stopwatch, and alarm.

As I've said, the time is great. Atomic Solar rules.

The world time setting is a bit of a hassle. Odds are you'll forget how to do it unless you need to change it often.

The stopwatch is comparatively simple and works well.

The alarm takes much practice to set and I can't hear it anyway.

My recommendation is simple. If you think the watch looks cool and you pretty much just want to tell local time, get it. If you value World Time and lume, sacrifice the Atomic Solar features and go digital with a GD-100. You'll save a few bucks, too.

If you want a more efficient Aviator, get the the GW-3500. It works better, but doesn't look as cool and it costs considerably more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very nice, May 6, 2011
By 
pobs "jp" (maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's GW3000B-1ACR G-Shock Solar Power Black With Orange Dial Watch (Watch)
I ordered this watch a few weeks ago and i'am very satisfied with it, very nice looking and sporty, looks very well built. The black and orange color looks very sharp and the solar power was great and thinking that I don't have to replace the batteries and the atomic time keeps it accurate all the time. The instructions on how to adjust the time and use the functions of the watch was very clear and easy to understand, if you're the kind of tech savvy you won't have any trouble dealing with this watch. The size of the watch is bigger than the usual g shock but very light, the glass on the watch is very clear. will recommend this watch if you like an accurate, little maintenance, tough and good looking watch this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch so far!, September 9, 2010
This review is from: Casio Men's GW3000B-1ACR G-Shock Solar Power Black With Orange Dial Watch (Watch)
I have read the reviews and could not find one in Amazon. So I ordered one from Macy's. Just got it yesterday. It is great so far. I agree with some of the reviews, it takes some time to understand and read the instruction on how to set things up. I also looked GW3500 which is newer model. However, I don't like the digital display, although the yellow color looks nice. The twin model is blue color,with digital display too, which I want to avoid. So I picked this on. Once you open the box, it sets up time/date by itself. I left watch next to the window overnight, it automatically sync with the atomic clock in CO. I travel quite a bit, so I set the city I go to, it is easy to swap the time zone with two pushes, although I can also see the time in the other timezone on the right dial.
Overall, it is a well made watch, very light. NO worries about power and setting of the time anymore.

I have been interested in watches for quite sometime. This Casio is a good addition to my selections. I like swiss watch too, however, it is getting more difficult to justify spending tons of money ( someone's whole year salary)on a watch. Given we all carry iphone or blackberry, I basically can find anytime anywhere I want to know. Lightweight and solid build casio gw3000 is certainly something I can carry around without too much effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever, February 20, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's GW3000B-1ACR G-Shock Solar Power Black With Orange Dial Watch (Watch)
Although it's a large watch it is NOT obnoxiously large. It is extremely light. Setup was a snap but you will need to read the manual or download it to your mobile device until you get used to it. Mine actually set itself to the correct time when I pulled it out of the box and all I had to do was set the date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Casio Men's GW3000B-1ACR G-Shock Solar Power Black With Orange Dial Watch
$334.50
In stock. Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.