Customer Reviews


306 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Initial Feedback on Casio Sports watch AW80V-5BV
I bought this watch as I was looking to replace an old dual analog / digital Casio I had had for over 10 years. The new one looks sharper and has more features, though it is a bit thicker. I really like that the hands glow in the dark, and have found even several hours later I can still read the time in the dark. Instructions were a bit hard to read in the enclosed...
Published on December 24, 2007 by Scott Mcarthur

versus
59 of 68 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars half-decent watch for telling time, but that's it (and only when it's not dark)
i was looking for a watch that gave me a clear reading of the day/date/time, regardless of the light. i was also interested in the timer function (useful for things i do at work in the laboratory). while it's not a bad looking watch, and is light and comfortable for my small wrist (thus 2 stars and not 1), functionally it has some design flaws.

the biggest...
Published on June 20, 2010 by S. Markus


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Initial Feedback on Casio Sports watch AW80V-5BV, December 24, 2007
I bought this watch as I was looking to replace an old dual analog / digital Casio I had had for over 10 years. The new one looks sharper and has more features, though it is a bit thicker. I really like that the hands glow in the dark, and have found even several hours later I can still read the time in the dark. Instructions were a bit hard to read in the enclosed booklet so I downloaded a 3 page PDF summary from the Casio home page. Quite like that I can see the time and the day / date of week at a glance and then switch and change to see a different time zone that I am currently visiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Traveler's Watch!, March 25, 2009
By 
Mark Levy (Oakland, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For the experienced traveler an excellent value at $21 for the following reasons:

1. Easier to set than my much more expensive Seiko and Nike watches
2. Has more world time zones than my Seiko watch
2. Very comfortable strap that can be precisely adjusted for the swelling of the wrist in hot climates.
3., Rugged yet quite good looking,
4. Not bulky or heavy
5 .With 10 year battery you don't have to worry about the watch stopping abroad in remote areas .This has happened to me before with other batteries,

I will be taking this watch with me to the Himalayas this summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great watch, March 20, 2011
By 
Josh "Off Grid Kid" (Huntington, West Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received this watch on the date it was supposed to be delivered. Good stuff. This watch has a very sophisticated outdoors look to it. The numbering font and colors are great too. I have had it for a few days now and have played with the time, stopwatch, world time, timer, and the alarm clock on it and all are pretty neat. The watch has a velcro strap and fits pretty nicely.

The reason I am leaving 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the light in this bad boy. Dont get me wrong, its great. There are 2 little led's on each side of the watch. The only reason why I am leaving 4 stars is because when I was reading the manual, I saw that if you push the light button ONLY ONCE a day, it will shorten the battery life from 10 years til about 5 or 6 years and ONLY 3 YEARS if you push it more than once a day. Now, I had pushed that L.E.D. button like a kid in a candy shop when i first put the watch on. I went into my bathroom and turned all the lights out and tried the led out about 20 times or so, all before reading the manual. If you want a watch that will last 10 years. RARELY use the built in light.

Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 68 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars half-decent watch for telling time, but that's it (and only when it's not dark), June 20, 2010
i was looking for a watch that gave me a clear reading of the day/date/time, regardless of the light. i was also interested in the timer function (useful for things i do at work in the laboratory). while it's not a bad looking watch, and is light and comfortable for my small wrist (thus 2 stars and not 1), functionally it has some design flaws.

the biggest issue i have is that the minute/hour hands will interfere with your ability to see the digital display. this happens for about 15-20 minutes of every hour (imagine the minute hand in front of the LCD). then there's the whole 5 o'clock to 7 o'clock period when the hour hand is constantly in front of the LCD. a big problem if you're interested in the information presented on the LCD (i.e., everything but the time).

i think i saw this mentioned in other reviews, but the light is pretty weak. it's certainly no indiglo. if you want a watch that you can read in the dark, opt for an indiglo watch.

other issues include: kind of a pain in the neck to set the analog time (there's no traditional knob; you have to use the buttons to move through the time); figuring out how to set the time and timer and everything else is not intuitive and actually requires the manual (unlike timex watches which are very easy and even give you onscreen instructions); the numbers on the digital display are small and not so easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super-light, super-"clean" watch, November 16, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I own four different Casio watches. I needed one to wear when shooting sports photography, where a heavier watch, with protruding buttons and dials and metal straps or clasps would be a problem since they tend to get caught on the various straps and other bits on the camera system I use. Since I work with international photo agencies, on very strict deadlines, it also had to have a world-time function. I also prefer an analog face. This watch fit every need perfectly. It's feather-light, with a fabric and Velcro strap, and no protruding buttons or dials. It's got a complete and simple world-time function. And I have to repeat; it is both comfortable and LIGHTWEIGHT! I often forget I have it on. It looks good, too. And all this for about $20! Amazing. I'd buy one again in a second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Working Person, March 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this watch when I was working as a high altitude water rescue supervisor. I know, sounds fake right? Well it's a real job with real danger and a lot of rough environments. I needed a watch for the summer that would keep time, stay on my wrist, and keep water out. This watch did it all.

I chose the Velcro strap because it is fast to get on and fast to get off if I needed to. I am also not a fan of big bulky watch heads. This one is slim and doesn't pinch my wrist every time I move my hand. The construction is super sturdy and reliable for both the head and band.

Even after the summer I kept using the watch because it worked so well. With 3 alarms, a optional hourly chime, and both standard and zulu time (24-hour clock) I was happy with it. I prefer the 24-hour digital clock display because that is what I used on the job, but you can easily switch between them with the push of a button.

The analog clock is a little tedious to set up. If you like having a synchronized digital and analog read out like me then this is perfect for you. If not, the analog portion makes you look smart and sophisticated while the digital read out makes life easier for you. The watch cover is seemingly scratch proof. I have banged it up so many times while on the job and I can hardly find any scratches on the surface.

It comes with world times for all time zones which, while not really important for my needs, was still cool to have. I love Casio time pieces and this watch is great. Nothing about this watch feels or works cheap. It is great for a fancy dinner party and for work.

Definitely 5/5 stars. Should I ever need to buy another watch it will be a Casio. An amazing deal for a durable and user friendly time piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SImple and inexpensive but not too cheap, April 18, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This watch is less than what costs for a replacement battery - but this one comes with a 10 year battery life, global time, chronograph and some data storage. What more can you ask for under $20?!

Great back up watch. The plastic 'watch glass' can easily get scratched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AW80V-5BV, January 7, 2011
By 
J (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well, I bought this watch solely for the way it looks and of course the low price. Honestly, I'm just little disappointed with how it looks in person. The casing is a little more gold/copper/metallic than the matte brown I was, for some reason, expecting. The size is ideal. I wish the velcro was the same color as the tan woven band and not black.

As for all the reviews mentioning how hard it is to set, or the directions being microscopic... The directions are exactly the same as every other watch I've ever bought. Tiny font in multiple languages. It is set the same way as another Casio watch I have, and a relative's watch I helped set over Christmas. The A(top left), B(top right), C(bottom left), D(bottom right). I had it set in under 3mins. Now the analog hands don't automatically move into position when you set the digital time, like my other Casio, which is a great feature since the only way you can set the analog hands on this one is to hold down D (forward only). Although, you can push B and D simultaneously to watch the hands click forward by themselves - then press any button to stop it.

Now, my big complaint is there is absolutely no reason for the ILLUMINATOR light. The digital portion does not light up when this button is pressed. The hands glow in the dark, so the only thing the light is illuminating is the numbers around the dial. Pretty dumb. Anyone who is telling time using the analog hands can tell time without the need of numbers.

The price was right. The woven band is a nice change from rubber or stainless steel. It is comfortable and I think it will be a great everyday watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great watch for its price, March 6, 2011
Used this watch for more than 5 years. It showed normal wear & tear but its brownish tone does a good job hiding them, unless you look very carefully. The strap can get dirty fast, but it is easily washable. Despite the availability of smart phones around, you might find a couple of situations where its databank comes in handy. It gave it 4 stars only because of the difficulty in setting the analog time, which is slow and unidirectional. Other than that, I was very happy with this watch. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low light an issue, April 11, 2008
By 
Travis (Portland, OR) - See all my reviews
This watch is perfectly functional but for one major flaw - the light. This is not an "indiglo" style light up watch, rather it has a small light that shines from the side, which I found completely inadequate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Casio Men's AW80V-5BV
$14.00 - $21.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.