Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great
Works as advertised, somewhat of a learning curve as it really is a computer, temp reading does require you to take watch off to get accurate reading
Published 10 months ago by Dpalais

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do let watch near sparks
Ordered this watch from amazon received it ahead of schedule. My first impression was that it was a nice solid watch. Has nice features the temperature is no where near accurate I'm not sure about the barometer. The main problem I have is the screen is crap scratches way to easy and after about a hour working In my shop with a grinder I noticed the lenses has spots...
Published 9 months ago by Cinymsd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRG550B-5 Pathfinder Triple Sensor Multi-Function Sports Watch (Watch)
Works as advertised, somewhat of a learning curve as it really is a computer, temp reading does require you to take watch off to get accurate reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do let watch near sparks, February 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRG550B-5 Pathfinder Triple Sensor Multi-Function Sports Watch (Watch)
Ordered this watch from amazon received it ahead of schedule. My first impression was that it was a nice solid watch. Has nice features the temperature is no where near accurate I'm not sure about the barometer. The main problem I have is the screen is crap scratches way to easy and after about a hour working In my shop with a grinder I noticed the lenses has spots burned into it from the sparks. I bought this watch because it was advertised as a tough outdoor watch for around $230 bucks but clearly it has fallen short of that. On the other hand the $5 dollar plastic safety glasses I had on didn't get a scratch on them . Will be contacting casio to see if they will fix it. Would not buy again or recommend to anyone unless they sit behind a desk with it all day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trail buddy, March 11, 2014
This review is from: Casio Men's PRG550B-5 Pathfinder Triple Sensor Multi-Function Sports Watch (Watch)
I took this Protrek model on a backpacking trip and it held up quite well. I would recommend it to outdoors enthusiasts, especially on long trips. It has instruments to measure altitude, barometric pressure, compass heading, and temperature - more on that later. If you're not on the trail this is a good, rugged analog-digital watch, though something like a G-Shock might be more fashionable. (EDIT: removed an erroneous note here; see the comment below.)

This is an ana-digi; it looks nicer than the digital Protreks, but the face presents less information than a digital design. I think watches should have hands so I went with this one. It is possible that the hands could become misaligned in a strong magnetic field, but there's even a special mode to correct this! "Tough Solar" means the watch is solar-powered (just give it occasional light) and that it's durable. I'm not sure what the crystal's made of but it holds up well. The watch is more durable partly because it's large, though smaller than some Casios; as they say, it wears small, but it's still a pretty substantial instrument. The strap that comes with this watch is comfortable and doesn't need replacing.

The timekeeping, world time, stopwatch, alarms (5 of them), and timer all work pretty much like you'd expect. The environmental sensors are the cool part about Protreks. The altimeter and barometer both measure atmospheric pressure but they interpret it differently; it's pretty good at discerning when you're climbing from when a low-pressure front comes on, but it's best if you can recalibrate every few days when it's being used. Also cool: you can set the home screen to display a graph of barometric readings, which can alert you if the weather is about to change. The compass works fine, as long as you set the appropriate magnetic declination and hold the face level with the ground. The thermometer is great at telling the temperature of your wrist; for a reading that resembles reality you'll have to take the watch off for 15 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Product size was miss labled but a product..., July 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRG550B-5 Pathfinder Triple Sensor Multi-Function Sports Watch (Watch)
The watch size was miss labeled as 57 mm but is actually about 49 mm. I like the product overall as a good outdoor adventure watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELENT, June 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRG550B-5 Pathfinder Triple Sensor Multi-Function Sports Watch (Watch)
EXCELENT! ITS MULTIPLE FUNCTIONS MAKE IT AN EXCELENT TOY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Watch!, February 20, 2014
This review is from: Casio Men's PRG550B-5 Pathfinder Triple Sensor Multi-Function Sports Watch (Watch)
My first ProTrek watch, and what a machine! Superbly built, and highly- multi -functional watch (and a very detailed instruction booklet, which I enjoy studying). I cannot wait to put it to the test this spring in the outdoors. The user guide even includes basic orienteering tips! Comfy, accurate, Solar(no battery equals cool), versatile, and attractive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, September 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRG550B-5 Pathfinder Triple Sensor Multi-Function Sports Watch (Watch)
The watch is great, but I failed to see that the band is camo print. Wish there was a picture of the entire watch shown... The seller was very communicative and easy to work with though. They even went out of their way to make sure I got my item in time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Every thing else is great. It's rugged and has nice 'outdoorsy' design styling ..., October 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRG550B-5 Pathfinder Triple Sensor Multi-Function Sports Watch (Watch)
Would've given this watch 5-stars, but the barometer can be off at times as compared to a legit mercury tube barometer. Every thing else is great. It's rugged and has nice 'outdoorsy' design styling cues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad watch worse instructions. Totally unlike Casio, September 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRG550B-5 Pathfinder Triple Sensor Multi-Function Sports Watch (Watch)
I never could get the hands to match the digital readout or tell the correct time. The instruction manual was terrible. Want my money back!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just one minor thing, November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRG550B-5 Pathfinder Triple Sensor Multi-Function Sports Watch (Watch)
The watch itself is fantastic. Solar so it never needs a battery, the functions work well. the only complaint, and really it is a mild one, is the band. It is camo. That was not indicated in the photos when I was reviewing it. Simple enough to change however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.