Customer Reviews


184 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pathfinder
Although an incredibly advanced piece of instrumentation at the end of the day it is still a watch and one requirement of being a watch is that it keeps consistently accurate time, since this watch has a 6-band atomic receiver it does just that as long as it is capable of receiving the calibration signal. I am physically located two hours from the east coast and have...
Published 16 months ago by Fish411

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as a depth gauge.
So I've used this watch for about a year now. It is incredibly accurate timewise, as with all the protrek/gshock line.

The depth/altimeter is not very accurate underwater. I was hoping to use this as a backup dive computer. But I find it is far too inaccurate to be of any use whatsoever. We're talking 10ft or more of difference which can throw off your safety...
Published 3 months ago by matt


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pathfinder, June 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pro-Trek Tough Solar Digital Sport Watch (Watch)
Although an incredibly advanced piece of instrumentation at the end of the day it is still a watch and one requirement of being a watch is that it keeps consistently accurate time, since this watch has a 6-band atomic receiver it does just that as long as it is capable of receiving the calibration signal. I am physically located two hours from the east coast and have experience some difficulty with "manually" receiving the signal during the daytime but the watch easily synchronizes after midnight every night as long as I place the watch near a window. I have owned other triple sensors (older models), Suunto Vector & Core, Citizen, and other "ABC" watches but I have to say that I am most satisfied with the PRW-2500 for several reasons. First if you plan to use ANY "sensor" watch for accurate navigation, weather prediction, or environmental awareness be very prepared to be disappointed. ABC watches are NOT precision instruments to be used in that capacity but they are designed to provide the user consistent approximations of those features so equipped. I have found the ABC sensors on this particular watch to be very accurate, of particular note is the compass and baro, including thermometer. Reading other reviews several customers remark that the thermometer is not accurate while attached to the users arm...all I can say is "DUH"! It takes this watch approximately 20 minutes to acclimate itself (while removed from the users wrist) to the ambient temperature and provide the user with a very accurate temperature. The baro measures in both Hecto-Pascals and inches of mercury depending on user selection, both readings have been extremely accurate; it also provides a trend graphic on the home screen and provides "extreme" baro indicators for a rapidly falling/rising baro should the situation arise. The altimeter feature is where most folks get hung-up despite the model of watch and it's simply because their expectations are too high. ABC watch altimeters all require you to set the reference altitude because the sensor works off of barometric pressure, so if the pressure changes frequently due to weather variations then your altimeter is also going to change despite whether or not you changed geographic locations. This particular watch measures altitude in 20 foot increments, which makes this watch altimeter unique by today's standards as most log in 10 foot increments (you do have the ability to choose metric measurement if desired). I have found the altimeter to be very accurate for my purposes as long as the reference altitude is set before beginning my hike. If your preference is for a more accurate altimeter feature and you are willing to sacrifice many other great features you may want to look at the Suunto Core since it uses independent sensors for the baro and altimeter allowing it to be more precise and measure in shorter increments allowing for a better "fix" for those navigating by topographic maps. As it pertains to the PRW-2500 besides the world time feature (48 cities), five daily alarms (with a no kidding working alarm), stopwatch to 1/100th second, and countdown timer this watch also provides moon phase and tide prediction. Keep in mind that the user must set the "home city" in order for the watch to calculate the tides and it is just that, a calculation and I suspect depending on where you are located on the globe that the reading could be relatively inaccurate but where I live it is actually very, very accurate and I am located 10 hours from my programmed home city. The moon phase reading appears to be on the mark when I compare the watch reading with several websites, it also shows the "age" of the moon phase when selecting the "tide" screen. The EL backlight works great and is adjustable for a 1.5S or 3S duration, this watch also has the "wrist tilt" illumination option where the user can set the light to automatically illuminate when the user tilts their wrist towards them. The only options that would make this watch absolutely complete for the outdoorsman or military person would be to incorporate sunrise/sunset and moonrise/moonset times, but that is a feature of another Casio watch but then that chronometer doesn't have tides and moon phase.
Other features include a rotating bezel that appears to be machined from aluminum and etched with cardinal directions and basic bearing degrees, a latex/PVC wrist band with etched aluminum emblems on both sides of the watch face (purely for aesthetics), it also has a band retainer located at the end of the tag end of the wrist band -- this prevents the band from constantly coming undone from the band keep. This watch has a stainless steel back and a brushed metal hasp for retention. Because this watch is solar it doesn't have a need for battery replacement but should the battery eventually not hold a charge it is user replaceable by removing the back (however, removal of the back by the user could void the 20 bar water resistant feature of this watch). Four stars only because it doesn't have the sunrise/sunset, moonrise/moonset feature integrated into an already feature packed watch. OBTW, for those concerned about the 51mm size of the watch face I can tell you that it is actually average in size for an ABC watch and fits nicely under a long sleeved shirt, other triple sensors I have owned were much thicker with a larger circumference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PRW2500, January 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pro-Trek Tough Solar Digital Sport Watch (Watch)
This watch seems to be the watch to end all watches. Hopefully it has killed my desire to buy watches.

It does about everything a watch can do. I especially like the compass. I tested the compass in a few locations and it has not been off by more than +/- 1 degree even though the specs say +/- 11 degrees. There shouldn't be a need to recalibrate it as long as one applies magnetic deviation mathematically as it is supposed to be done. If not applying magnetic deviation using basic math you'll have to recalibrate it everywhere you go.

It's a pretty big watch but does not feel large at all on the wrist. The band is also pretty comfortable, it's a soft band out of the box so no need to boil it like you have to do to make the rubber on G-Shocks softer.

Additionally the buttons are all easy to operate, easy to use, and most functions are fairly self explanatory to need to consult the manual is minimal.

However the included manual has pretty small print so if you need it you'd want to download a pdf copy of it from Casio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic watch !!!, April 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pro-Trek Tough Solar Digital Sport Watch (Watch)
I ordered the Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pathfinder Triple Sensor Tough Solar Digital Multi-Funtion Pathfinder Watch for Christmas 2011. I was very impressed with the watch and it comes packaged in a wooden box which is a nice touch. It is a fairly large watch but looks and feels great. I love the solar and atomic time features of the watch. A lot of the functions can be used without reading the manual which is useful for those who like to play with their stuff right away :) I haven't tested some of the functions, like temperature, for accuracy but I'm sure they work well within the limitations of the device. I think I should point out that, for example, if you need to navigate, the watch can help you but there is still no substitute for a good compass.

Edit: There seems to be some confusion about Casio warranties. I received an Email from Casio on 6/4/12 below. Hopefully this will help clear up some things :)

<<Dear Mr Norris

Thank you for contacting Casio America. Casio offers a one year
warranty applicable to all new products for one year with proof of date
of purchase - meaning a sales reciept showing the retailer's location
and payment made by major credit card. Unlike Ebay that usually accepts
payment from PalPal we do not accept that as a valid payment form.

As a reminder our customer service line is 800-706-2534 opt 4 Mon~Fri
9-5 eastern

Thank you for selecting Casio!

Margo
Technical Support Coordinator

CASIO AMERICA, Inc
570 Mt Pleasant Ave.
Dover NJ 07801
[...]

Please consider the impact to the environment before printing this
e-mail>>

For some more added clarification on Casio Warranties, I received the following Casio Email today (9/5/12):

<Dear Andrew Norris

Thank you for contacting Casio America, Inc

We do honor receipts from Amazon as long as it was purchase new and from
a dealer not an individual person.

Thank you
Tamika
Customer service support>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This watch is awesome I love it. The more advanced you are outdoors the better you will like it., December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pro-Trek Tough Solar Digital Sport Watch (Watch)
This watch is awesome I love it. The more advanced you are outdoors the better you will like it. It is important to first assess your skill level before you purchase and be familiar with Casio watches. If you are a 14er peak bagger with weight (I did Pikes Peak this season with 60 lbs), this watch is for you. I always go solo so this thing is my friend.

If you already know how to terrain associate with a lensatic compass and a relief map and know which terrain feature you are on, you'll know within 10 to 20 meters of where you are by using the watch's altimeter and compass. If you usually use GPS, you probably won't need that part of the watch, but it is handy as a backup. If you are just a little familiar with barometric pressure, this watch can help you predict when the next pressure system/ weather change is coming over the next 12 to 24 hours.

You do need to calibrate the altimeter from a known point and the barometer with a local weather forecast when your elevation is going to stay constant for several days. The thermometer needs to be off your wrist for 15-30 minutes to get accurate readings but it will help you set a temperature data baseline for further readings. It lets you store this data too.

Remember that this watch uses a pressure gauge, so if you are moving up and down 300 meters or more of elevation, it is important to set the altimeter at base camp and take barometric readings at night and in the morning at base camp. Otherwise you will not get accurate barometric readings as you get up high. Moonphase is a cool feature so you know how much illumination you are going to get when moving at night.

I'm a grunt so I don't know anything about tides, but you sailors can do your sailor thing with the tide features. Overall this thing is high speed and low drag and totally worth buying.

Only complaint is that it needs to be G-Shock and could break.

Don't get overconfident with any watch or gadget. You love the mountain but the mountain does not love you. Basic survival skills always apply even if you have a GPS or high speed watch. Keep a backup lensatic compass, map with contour lines, trouble-whistle, signal mirror, etc. Good luck on your expeditions and thanks for listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic watch, with all the gizmos., September 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pro-Trek Tough Solar Digital Sport Watch (Watch)
About the only thing this doesn't have is a GPS. The auto-setting atomic time feature is really handy, since you know it's always perfectly keeping time. The screen is full of information, and the moon-phase indicator is fun (though maybe not actually very useful for most people). The barometer history on the main screen helps indicate weather changes. Solar charging should prove to be a neat feature, though I obviously haven't had it long enough to know - mine always reads fully charged. One of the simplest, but very nice, additions is the glass face - my last watch had a plastic face, but I don't have to worry about this one getting all scratched up. I was a little disappointed that the manual says you must take the watch off and set it down for an hour to get an accurate thermometer reading, making it practically useless - I've tried getting reading while wearing it, and it always reads mid-80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great watch, December 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pro-Trek Tough Solar Digital Sport Watch (Watch)
This is a great watch. It has similar features like any other Protrek (pathfinder) watches. Despite being a midrange watch (price wise), the features are amazing. However, you will have to calibrate the ABC (altimeter, barometer and Compass) sensor once you get the watch for more accurate readings. Overall, it is an awesome gadget with tons of features (I just use a couple of them). I strongly recommend this watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent watch!, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pro-Trek Tough Solar Digital Sport Watch (Watch)
everything works, it's a lot of fun. Despite it's size, i really don't notice it much on my wrist. I love it, and can't stop wearing it. My fav in the casio line!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch, December 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pro-Trek Tough Solar Digital Sport Watch (Watch)
I really like this watch so far. I am still figuring out all the functions. If you are looking for a watch that does more then telling you the time I would get this watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pro-Trek Tough Solar Digital Sport Watch (Watch)
Great watch, almost perfect. I love all the functions but it seems a little finicky on charging. Recommended highly. Get one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Accurate With a Little Work, August 18, 2013
By 
Rob H "Rob" (Grafton, MA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's PRW2500-1 Pro-Trek Tough Solar Digital Sport Watch (Watch)
I was looking for a watch to wear hiking, sea kayaking, and for general outdoor work. This one fits the bill well. Out of the box the barometric pressure and temperature sensors were reasonably accurate. After calibrating the pressure value according to the instructions once, using the value from my Davis weather station, the watch has remained accurate for several weeks.

The altitude sensor does what it says, but requires significantly more work to get a decent reading. Ultimately, the altitude is calculated based on the barometric pressure, so of course the displayed altitude varies with changes in atmospheric pressure. That means you need to calibrate the altitude every few hours if you want accurate readings. On a hike of a few hours you probably get a decent track of altitude ascended or descended, but the absolute value is always suspect.

That said, everything else on the watch has performed flawlessly. Most surprising to me is the "atomic time" function. I live in Massachusetts, only 35 miles from the ocean. This is normally at the very fringes of the WWV time signal broadcast from Fort Collins, CO. Yet this watch seems to capture the signal on 4 out of 7 nights, even if I wear it to bed. Amazing! It'll get 6 or 7 out of 7 nights if I put it on a west-facing windowsill at night.

It's also proven waterproof when I've dunked it in both salt and fresh water, it keeps good time, and all the other timer, stopwatch, tide and moon phase functions seem to work as well.

Overall, I'm quite happy with this watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.