Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Watch
Other reviews of this watch sold by other sellers will tell you that the compass in inacurate, and that the termometer does not work correctly. These simply are not true. This is a great watch. The only catch to getting the compass to work properly is that it must be held level when taking a compass reading, and it must be recalibrated every 100 days. There are...
Published on March 15, 2010 by John Hagge

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK watch
It is comfortable to wear and it keeps good time. This watch is never correct on which direction is where. Its directions are never even close. It is very good at telling the temperature.
Published on October 12, 2012 by Kirk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Watch, March 15, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio #SGW100-1V Men's Digital Compass Twin Sensor Sports Watch (Watch)
Other reviews of this watch sold by other sellers will tell you that the compass in inacurate, and that the termometer does not work correctly. These simply are not true. This is a great watch. The only catch to getting the compass to work properly is that it must be held level when taking a compass reading, and it must be recalibrated every 100 days. There are multiple ways to recalibrate the compass, but all work accurately.

The only problem with the termometer is the proximity of the sensor to the wearers skin. The heat given off by your body affects the relative temperature detected by the sensor. But it is possible ot compensate for this. The instruction book gives instructions on how to do this.

Please do not be deceived if you are looking for a larger than normal watch, as I was. This is an average sized watch, with an average sized band. I have a large diameter wrist, and was looking for a watch that had the functions I wanted as well as something that didn't look small on my arm.

But the functionality of this watch is too good to let size be a factor. I have gone hiking with the compass a number of times, and have found my way out every time. After recalibrating the thermometer, the temperature is accurate to within five degrees, provided it has been exposed to air for at least ten minutes. In other words, don't expect to be able to take it out of your pocket and get an instant, accurate reading. You can't even do that with a normal thermometer.

Seller was a super fast shipper, I bought it on Friday and received it on Monday, faster than anticipated. If you are looking for a good watch from a reliable seller, buy it. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good watch, good features, good price, April 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio #SGW100-1V Men's Digital Compass Twin Sensor Sports Watch (Watch)
The watch itself is, predictably, very accurate. No drift in timekeeping in several weeks.

Compass is accurate once I recalibrated it. Just keep the watch level with the ground when you take a reading.

Thermometer is affected by body temp - I haven't tried calibrating it to give a good reading while it's on my wrist. You need to remove it and let it sit for about half an hour in order to get a reliable temp reading.

Price is good for the features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Casio Twin Sensor SGW100, March 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio #SGW100-1V Men's Digital Compass Twin Sensor Sports Watch (Watch)
I am really impressed with this watch. I am a huge Timex IronMan fan but decided to step up and try this out. Since I have only had it for a few days I will be unable to praise its durability. It has a "glass" face not plastic and I appreciate the compass when driving and need orientation. The time is really easy to read and the night view is much better than the Timex. I chose this over the Timex Expedition because of the resin band and am glad I did. I downgraded it to four stars because the little catch that keeps the end of the strap tucked in kept sliding down and as a result I lost my watch when it somehow unlatched itself.... I know purchased a Casio DW290 and so far it has been great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casio #SGW100-1V Men's Digital Compass Twin Sensor Sports Watch, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio #SGW100-1V Men's Digital Compass Twin Sensor Sports Watch (Watch)
I just got this watch and it is a very nice looking as well as feels solid but not heavy. I'm extremely glad I bought this watch rather than the more expensive watches ($150) and up that do most of the same things that this watch does , it's awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casio Twin Sensor Sports Watch, July 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio #SGW100-1V Men's Digital Compass Twin Sensor Sports Watch (Watch)
Casio #SGW100-1V Men's Digital Compass Twin Sensor Sports Watch: An excellent watch - keeps time flawlessly - requires reading the instruction book carefully. If you take a trip through different time zones it would be smart to take the instruction book with you - especially because you may want to periodically re-callibrate the compass feature, which does work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than a timex, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio #SGW100-1V Men's Digital Compass Twin Sensor Sports Watch (Watch)
Took a while to grasp the buttons as i have worn out 3 indiglo timex but this one is superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compass Watch, January 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio #SGW100-1V Men's Digital Compass Twin Sensor Sports Watch (Watch)
Great fit on the wrist love the whole look and functions of this watch it is a must have for any boater very cool watch I really like the whole package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio #SGW100-1V Men's Digital Compass Twin Sensor Sports Watch (Watch)
I have a lot of watches this one is not bad for your every day kick around watch. Its a lot lighter that it looks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK watch, October 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio #SGW100-1V Men's Digital Compass Twin Sensor Sports Watch (Watch)
It is comfortable to wear and it keeps good time. This watch is never correct on which direction is where. Its directions are never even close. It is very good at telling the temperature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent watch with tons of features., December 1, 2014
This review is from: Casio #SGW100-1V Men's Digital Compass Twin Sensor Sports Watch (Watch)
I have owned this watch for years and love it. I have over a dozen watches ranging in price from $10 to over $1,000 and this is my go to watch for every day. It has a large easy to read display, its easy to operate and has all the features anyone could need including, 4 alarms, stop watch, countdown timer, digital compass and temperature gauge. Once the compass is calibrated and temperature is set to compensate for body heat, they are both very accurate. I also like the rugged look with the heavy canvas strap. Its also very durable. I am rough on watches but I have worn this one almost every day for over 2 years and it still looks nearly new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.