Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes basic is best
The humble W59 is compact, light as a feather, unobtrusive and ultra-comfortable, yet totally functional, good looking, and robust. Its design has endured unchanged for many years. The three-button ergonomics and simple, easy flow and control of functions has been long-perfected. The alarm is loud and the LED illumination works well. It is hard to think of how this...
Published on September 5, 2012 by Dave

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for the price; needs better button arrangement
This watch was only about $13 shipped, so I'm not going to complain that much. It tells time, and that's what it is supposed to do. The buttons however need to be in a different place. I have to reach all the way over to the left top button to turn on the light to see the time in the dark. That is already a hassle when holding something in my right hand (I wear the watch...
Published on October 26, 2009 by Paul French


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes basic is best, September 5, 2012
By 
Dave (Minnesota, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's W59-1V Classic Black Digital Watch (Watch)
The humble W59 is compact, light as a feather, unobtrusive and ultra-comfortable, yet totally functional, good looking, and robust. Its design has endured unchanged for many years. The three-button ergonomics and simple, easy flow and control of functions has been long-perfected. The alarm is loud and the LED illumination works well. It is hard to think of how this watch could be improved. The W59 is quite similar to the world-famous, super basic F-91, but with a 50M water rating and (I think) a slightly more appealing aesthetic.

I respect Casio for making these affordable watches so well - it demonstrates the organization's respect for its customers, regardless of how much they choose to pay for a watch. Anyone should be able to make a good watch if given several hundred dollars, right? But to sell something for under $20 bucks that is durable, attractive, accurate, tough, well made, and high quality? Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inexpensive sports watch, August 21, 2006
Exactly what I was looking for. Three buttons instead of four to control the functions. Alarm and lap timer are easy to get to, and the time/date are a snap to set. I swim every day and use the lap timer, not a hint of a leak. I paid $9.95 plus $5.00 S&H and still got it $10 cheaper than either Walmart or Target.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Casio W59-1V Rev., March 11, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The interface is easy to read and the watch is not complicated. The face of the watch is both thin and not too large which is great because I have small arms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CASIO W59-1V Digital Sports Watch, January 3, 2007
By 
Gary J. Taylor (Rancho Cucamonga, Ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Slim watch, doesn't get caught up on things. Works well. Good value for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3rd one purchased, September 11, 2009
This review is from: Casio Men's W59-1V Classic Black Digital Watch (Watch)
This is the 3rd one of these watches my husband has bought over a period of around 8 years. Cheap and cheerful - not worth the cost of a new battery so we just replace it each time. Overall a great watch for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for the price; needs better button arrangement, October 26, 2009
By 
Paul French (Monrovia, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's W59-1V Classic Black Digital Watch (Watch)
This watch was only about $13 shipped, so I'm not going to complain that much. It tells time, and that's what it is supposed to do. The buttons however need to be in a different place. I have to reach all the way over to the left top button to turn on the light to see the time in the dark. That is already a hassle when holding something in my right hand (I wear the watch on my left wrist), but to top it off, you need to hold down the button to keep the light on. Maybe I'm spoiled, but that seems ridiculous. I have had plenty of watches by Casio and all of them kept the light on for a few seconds when you pressed the light button. There aren't any fancy modes on this watch, like stopwatch or timer. The only modes are Time, Alarm, and Set Time. There isn't even a dedicated button for adjusting the time; you have to hit the mode button until the seconds start flashing. This watch is fine for someone who doesn't want to spend a lot of money and only wants to tell time, but the light should at least stay on for a few seconds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Value for the buck, April 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's W59-1V Classic Black Digital Watch (Watch)
I bought this watch because I have to work under strong magnetic fields in my lab. I did not want to loose yet another watch just because I walked too close to a magnet. I wanted a cheap one with as less ferromagnetic material as possible and here was it. I owned the same watch previously for around 4 years before I lost it on a trip to Japan. Nice watch, trouble free. You won't feel like you've spent a fortune on it.
After buying this, I once accidentally hit it against the edge of the stone work bench, except for a minor scratch everything was fine. Other than this I once trampled on the watch again, it was rock stable. Simple, sleek watch. Of course, as many others have stated, the strap is not for a man's hand. Looks girlish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Basic Digital Watch - 3 and a half stars, July 25, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
3 and a half stars.
First, the Amazon Partner who is selling this, J & R Music & Computer World, gets a 5 star rating from me, the watch arrived very fast and in excellent condition.
The watch itself gets the 3 and a half because, while the actual purchase price is "$9.99", the crossed-out list price is "$24.95". I expected a little more from a $25.00 Casio. My complaints: The illumination is a small side light, not an entire screen brightness like with other Casios or Indiglow style. The stop-watch goes only to 59 Minutes, 59 Seconds.
Good things:
1-button press to go from 12 to 24 hour time, alarm function, hourly beep, light weight, slim profile, 50 meter water resistant, 7-year battery, and easy to use.
Maybe I'm overly critical, this is a good $10.00 watch, but an average $25.00 watch.

[EDIT]:
Having had this watch for several months now, I find that it keeps better time than a much more expensive digital watch that I had bought at Disney World. The Disney watch looks great and is all metal, but runs faster than the Casio. I compare and set the time of all my watches to my Casio Atomic/Solar MTG920DA, which receives a time calibration every day from the Atomic clock in Fort Collins, CO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feels satisfying to wear., October 5, 2011
By 
K. Gold "GOLD" (BUFFALO, NEW YORK, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's W59-1V Classic Black Digital Watch (Watch)
I thought this watch was going to have a cereal box feel. I shouldn't have been so ignorant. This watch isn't a big clunky metal wrist watch, but rather a tight fitting, superbly built thing that tells time. Casio makes me want to consume and then digest the watch.

Also Casio watches like these give you "Old Man" and/or "Geek/Nerd" cred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casio watch, January 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good reliable watch, this model has a watch band a bit too small for a man. Excellent for a woman I'd guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Casio Men's W59-1V Classic Black Digital Watch
$24.95 $12.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.