Customer Reviews


320 Reviews
5 star:
 (227)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing it is BOOlieving it!
Who says there are no such things as ghosts? Not if there is the ghostly inhabitants of Whipstaff Manor in Friendship, Maine!
This desolate mansion is then, in the words of one of the members of the Ghostly Trio of Whipstaff, 'intruded' by Kat Harvey (Christina Ricci) and her eccentric father Dr. James Harvey (Bill Pullman), a ghost therapist. Carrigan Crittenden...
Published on April 8, 2002 by Leanne Littrell

versus
24 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some charm, but language a problem
I just rented this tape to watch with my kids, and found myself grateful that they tend to talk through movies. The language is not appropriate for a children's movie - and some of the profanity is not subtle (e.g. a ghost loudly proclaiming that "the b--ch is back").

Eric Idle is a nice touch, some of the interactions between father and daughter are well-done,...
Published on January 5, 2005 by Primadogga


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing it is BOOlieving it!, April 8, 2002
By 
Leanne Littrell (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Casper [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Who says there are no such things as ghosts? Not if there is the ghostly inhabitants of Whipstaff Manor in Friendship, Maine!
This desolate mansion is then, in the words of one of the members of the Ghostly Trio of Whipstaff, 'intruded' by Kat Harvey (Christina Ricci) and her eccentric father Dr. James Harvey (Bill Pullman), a ghost therapist. Carrigan Crittenden (Cathy Moriarty) had hired Dr. Harvey to exorcise the ghosts, including Casper the friendly ghost and his three obnoxious uncles, Stretch, Fatso and Stinkie, aspiring to gain Whipstaff's 'buried gold'.
Intertwining humour, all-time 'floating' fun and a modern Cinderella story, 'Casper' promises to please as a movie which is compelling, hilarious, captivating, heart-warming, witty and above all, truly 'fleshtastic'.
'Casper' is recommended for any audience, regardless of age. ... 'Casper' ... manages to appear endearing and ultimately special.
The magic of Bill Pullman, Christina Ricci as well as that of director Brad Silberling, executive producer Steven Spielberg, and other producers weaves between each and every scene to eventually lift us off our feet.
Above all, I LOVE THIS MOVIE! Casper is my all time favourite character. Truly fleshtastic. BOOlistic! You won't BOOlieve it until you see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will bring tears, April 2, 2006
This is a wholesome story of a boy who became ill and died much too young. He falls in love with a young 'live' girl who moves into the abandoned mansion with her father (a believer in the possibility of reaching into the beyond and speaking to the spirits). The three pesky ghosts add humor (guests can be so bothersome, especially if they're dead). Throw in a little greed for tension and it's a wonderful, entertaining plot for all ages. The scene between Casper and his mother will bring tears...but I loved it.

Chrissy K. McVay - Author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movies for adults and children, July 27, 2005
By 
Katie (St. Louis, MO) - See all my reviews
i first saw this movie when i was younger and i still love it today. there are so many touching and comical moments that children and well as their parents can enjoy. i'm sure this film will become a classic in years to come. i hope everyone who has not seen this movie will see it soon so that they too will know of this wonderful family movie. it's the best children's movie that's come out in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So glad I bought this!, May 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Casper. The friendliest ghost you know! Seriously, another a great 90s Halloween movie. I went on a binge and bought a bunch of these movies on Amazon and probably had the greatest Halloween known to man! Do yourself a Hallow favor and buy the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood movie, May 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
All time fav. Movie as a child and I'm really glad a purchased the movie on amazon. The movie quality is good there was no problems there bought it in blu ray so thats a big up. I have no complains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie but would have been better for younger ones if, April 30, 2000
By 
This review is from: Casper [VHS] (VHS Tape)
not for the language. There wasn't much but it certainely made itself clear. I didn't feel there was any need for it in this movie at all! So little kids and parents be warned! Still it's a great lot of fun and deffinitly worth looking into! :-) check it out. A good ending and good plot points make it exciting and fun with some pretty good laughs throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sweet and Sentimental Comedy, Perfect for the Family, July 12, 2004
This review is from: Casper [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Casper is a fun children's film, that can be watched as a family and keep everyone entertained. Unlike many movies concerning ghosts, there is no reason to worry that this movie will upset or scare even the most sensitive children. Casper is sweet and endearing, and even the vicious ghosts in this film are far from threatening as they quickly bring a smile to your face and alleviate any tension with humor.
However, Casper does not rely souly on laughter, and has a strong plot to back it up. It raises spiritual questions that make you think, and has very heartfelt moments of intense emotion. You grow to care about the characters as we watch Casper and Kat in their simultaneous search for friendship, and Dr. Harvey in his quest to resolve his own unfinished business and finally get some closure.
Malachi Pearson does an outstanding job as the voice of Casper, and portrays all of his emotions very convincingly. You can also look forward to a great performance from Bill Pullman, and will love hating the bumbling villains portrayed by Cathy Moriarty and Eric Idle. Unfortunately, there are times where Christina Ricci seems to have some difficulty filling her role as Kat, and occasionally makes scenes awkward and unconvincing.
The score for this film is beautiful, and adds a great deal to the spirit and mood of the movie.
There is some light use of profanity that I don't find necessary or appropriate for a family film aimed largely at children, but it can be easily overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Casper (Widescreen Edition), August 11, 2014
By 
warlord (new york city) - See all my reviews
I loved this movie when I saw it in the theatre back in the 90s. I liked the way it explored Casper, born Casper McFadden, as a person, regardless of whether he was "alive" or "dead," and told us something about his life and his living family. I found Christina Ricci, as Kat, the girl he falls in love with, to be charming and engaging. Bill Pullman, as Kat's weirdo scientist father, seeks to learn what "haunts" ghosts and discussed some interesting theories about what drives spirits. Casper's uncles, the obnoxious Ghostly Trio, I could have done without. I found their slapstick over the top and heavy-handed, not to mention, unnecessary. The film is at its best when showing how a child's consciousness, lingering after physical death, continues to seek some meaning in a new plane of existence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a tragic waste. She had my favourite sunglasses., July 19, 2007
I have just seen this movie. The last time I saw it was when I was 13 years old (this was a long time ago). I bought it out of a DVD bin for [...] dollars and decided to watch it again.

I wasn't disappointed. I loved Cathy Moriarty as Carrigan, and Eric Idle as Dibs. I thought that they were very funny as a duo.

I felt sorry for Casper when he lost his chance to live permanently as a human, but I understood why he did it. Overall, there are a lot of emotional moments and laughs in the film.

If people are wondering what the rating on the movie is about - there are a few swears, and a few characters die and are re-animated, but that's about it.

I would recommend watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST SEE movie for EVERYONE!, December 9, 2000
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Casper [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is great! Its about a young girl who has traveled with her dad for months, cause her father belives in ghosts and thinks maybe he can contact his wife, who died.So they move into this weird house in Friendship,Maine where the girl Kat thinks it's a cool home if you where Steven King!! This movie is great for the ENTIRE FAMILY!! And has a happy ending.You'll see! Just BUY IT! you will NOT be sorry! [Iam not!}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Casper (Blu-ray + DIGITAL HD with UltraViolet)
Casper (Blu-ray + DIGITAL HD with UltraViolet) by Brad Silberling (Blu-ray - 2014)
$19.98 $13.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.