Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$15.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 11, 2005
As customary in Germany,highschool begins at age ten and lasts eight to nine years.My parents enrolled me in a classic education type of school("Gymnasium") with a curricukum of nine years of Latin, six years of ancient Greek in addition to at least one modern language plus German literature, Math, Physics,

Chemistry, Biology, History, Soc.Studies, Geography etc.My grandson has just entered highschool in Germany with a very similar curriculum. I purchased tyhis particular dictionary in order to be able to correspond with him in Latin and, also, to enjoy some of the classic Roman texts again. This is the best dictionary of its kind I have been able to locate.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a very inexpensive and indispensable dictionary for those who have more than a rudimentary understanding of Latin. The binding is very solid so the ugly yellow and orange cover can be tossed. The dictionary lays flat on the table for easy consultation. What I found most useful (so far I have been translating Vergil and Suetonius extensively) is that after the common definition of the word, the dictionary lists the meaning and words that normally accompany it for specific Roman authors.

For example:
largus -a -um, adj. (with compar. and superl.) (1) of things, abundant, plentiful, numerous, copious: cum sol terras larga luce compleverit, Cicero. etc... (and then the way that Vergil, Tacitus, Horace and others use largus -a-um)

The listing of how important authors commonly use the word is very helpful since words can have so many different meanings and this feature often makes comprehension of a difficult passage MUCH easier. Also, the volume has a Roman calender that is useful in figuring out Roman dates. I have not used the English to Latin section since I have not had to do any composition so please consult other reviewers on that aspect. This dictionary will last a lifetime. An amazing buy.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2005
In my opinion The New College Latin & English Dictionary is much better than Cassel's. The definitions are solie and the charts in the front are indespensible to the undergraduate or even begining graduate student. Cassel's may have changed since the last time I used it. However, when comparing my New College to a friends Cassel's we were much more impressed with The New College. I've recomended it to the students I have worked with based on those factors and sealed the deal by mentioning that it even costs less (usually around $6!).
22 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2005
After reviewing several dictionaries of this type, Cassell's is the easiest to use for a Latin beginner. References are clear, and easy to understand. This reference is to be commended.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2012
This comes in 2nd (being very close to 3rd) of the three latin dictionaries i have. Why?
There is a tendency to list the same Latin word as different words depending on how its conjugated. ex: The Masculine, feminine And neuter are three separate words because their meaning slightly varies. Meaning if you are to look up the root of the word, the 3 conjugates are not beside it, but defined as separate words.

This book has this, and has more words, with more detail than the "Oxford Latin Desk Dictionary" thats why Oxford is in 3rd place, because it uses "common" words and not "specific" latin words.

The "New College Latin And English dictionary" gives the root word ALONE, then lists the conjugates and their various definition along in the single word definition. So by the time you look up the first letters of the word, you know all three meanings instead of looking up the specific word itself and its conjugated meaning.

IF YOU PREFER A DICTIONARY TO LOOK UP THE EXACT WORD YOU SEE WITHOUT ITS OTHER CONJUGATED MEANINGS, THIS BOOK IS IN FIRST.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2004
I gave the Cassell's Latin Dictionary a rating of 4 stars instead of 5 only because I consider the Oxford Latin Dictionary to be the best Latin-English dictionary available. Since it costs something like $150.00 however, it's not likely to appeal to most students of Latin. Which is why the Cassell's Latin Dictionary is a better choice. It represents a nice compromise between something like the Bantam paperback Latin-English,English-Latin dictionary and OLD. For anyone who is thinking of seriously studying Latin (beyond a 1st year introductory course for example) this is a good buy.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2011
I love this dictionary it is cheap enough to own more than one. It gives extensive coverage to classical latin vocabulary, and features a latin to english section. As the author recomends after finding a word in the English to Latin section I find it extreamly helpfull to review the words in the Latin to English section to ensure that it is the meaning that you wish to convey.

Great dictionary!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2014
This dictionary is fully adequate for the average beginning to intermediate students of Latin.

Strengths:

Quite a number of examples for many if not all usages.

Verb and noun morphology usually adequate for the student's purpose.

Grammatical information (object case of verbs, etc) usually sufficient.

Print size and darkness adequate for most users.

Down side:

Coverage is strongest for the major Republican authors, i.e. Lucretius through Livy. Otherwise, just adequate: most words found in Plautus are there, not all. Ditto for Tacitus and other authors of the Empire.

For most people, the English-Latin section is a waste. Get rid of it and add more words and examples. Of course, if the student is writing Latin essays (do people still do that?), it's a plus.

Beyond this dictionary is Lewis and Short or the newer Oxford, Glare. L&S is hard to get these days and the Glare is tedious for those who don't already have a stupendous command of Latin. Both require strong shelves, but I suppose that in some social contexts there would be some cachet to carrying Lewis and Short around.

Eh, I forgot to say:

There are some shilly-shallying definitions of the "membrum virile" sort. Puts you back in the old schoolmaster world, alternately glaring and smirking while he waggles that cane about, what? And no illustrations, not of chariots and siege engines, or such as the membra virilia (I-stem, right, eh? watch out for that fellow with the cane!).
44 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2011
I've been looking at a number of Latin dictionaries lately and, for me, this is the first that is a) comprehensive enough to get a student through college study b) not insanely expensive c) easy to use and obtain. It isn't the Oxford, but for basic through intermediate study, it works!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2011
I am in Honors third year Latin, and I use this dictionary on all of my assignments. It has a very extensive breadth of words and useful appendices. I would recommend it to any High School or beginner College Latin student.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse