Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amish Mystery
This is the third or fourth book of a series. Each story holds your interest to the final page. They give the reader an idea of what it is like to be Amish.
Published 18 months ago by Dee

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cast a Bue Shadow
I've read four other Gaus novels about the Amish and this one disappointed me. If I hadn't read the others, I wouldn't understand much about the characters. This time around the major characters were one-dimensional and the other characters simply existed. Also, descriptions of the setting lacked visualization. Too bad; usually I like P.L. Gaus novels.
Published 15 months ago by Lewsil CCC


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amish Mystery, June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the third or fourth book of a series. Each story holds your interest to the final page. They give the reader an idea of what it is like to be Amish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book., May 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cast a Blue Shadow: An Amish-Country Mystery (Kindle Edition)
This is another very good book. Looking forward to more. P.L. Gaus is one of my favorite authors of Amish mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, February 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This series of books just keep getting better and better. This book involves Proffessor Branden when he attends a dinner party given by a College alumnus and school doner who is found dead the next morning. The suspense grows as the number of suspects grows including family members as well as college department heads who attened the party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Series, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Realistic stories and great insight into the Amish lifestyle, beliefs and challenges. I purchased this book used and it was in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting Amish series, April 27, 2014
This review is from: Cast a Blue Shadow: An Amish-Country Mystery (Kindle Edition)
the books in the series are quick reads with some details and background for various practices and beliefs. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like PL Gaus books!, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I find this ongoing story to my liking. It is somewhat true to life and makes for a very good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cast a Blue Shadow: An Amish-Country Mystery (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book very much. I like to read a good mystery and this story held my attention to the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The book was in good shape though and the price was right, October 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book was an advance uncorrected proof. The book was in good shape though and the price was right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cast a Bue Shadow, August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've read four other Gaus novels about the Amish and this one disappointed me. If I hadn't read the others, I wouldn't understand much about the characters. This time around the major characters were one-dimensional and the other characters simply existed. Also, descriptions of the setting lacked visualization. Too bad; usually I like P.L. Gaus novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars amish are german not dutch, December 9, 2011
This review is from: Cast a Blue Shadow: An Amish-Country Mystery (Kindle Edition)
amish are descended from germans. they speak a dialect of german, not dutch. a careless and an annoying error on the author's part to describe them as speaking dutch among themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.