Customer Reviews


1,039 Reviews
5 star:
 (875)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Season 1: the promising bud blossoms into a flower
Kurt Sutter, creator of "Sons of Anarchy," has done a fine job developing the series. Things ratchet up with the feds, Hale (the honest police officer), the Irish and the individuals within SAMCRO, not to mention the Aryans who move into town to stir everything up.

Charlie Hunnam has grown into the character of Jax and made him more believable and...
Published on December 4, 2009 by Fry Boy

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Second Season is Not As Interesting
I couldn't wait to get the second season of Sons of Anarchy.

I liked the conflicts and tensions in the first season: the contrast between the philosophy of the clubs' founder, and the direction of the club; the tension between the club second-in-command and his physician girlfriend; the conflict between the club's leaders on where the club is going. Most of...
Published on April 18, 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2104 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Season 1: the promising bud blossoms into a flower, December 4, 2009
By 
Fry Boy (Orlando, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy: Season 2 (DVD)
Kurt Sutter, creator of "Sons of Anarchy," has done a fine job developing the series. Things ratchet up with the feds, Hale (the honest police officer), the Irish and the individuals within SAMCRO, not to mention the Aryans who move into town to stir everything up.

Charlie Hunnam has grown into the character of Jax and made him more believable and human/likeable. I know I got a few dings from Jax worshippers (all women) in my review for Season 1, but I found him and his relationship with Maggie Siff's character to be the weakest aspects. With the developments in Season 2, all my doubts are dispelled and there are tremendous amounts of growth in the storyline and the town of Charming's denizens. Great guest stars include: Tom Arnold; Adam Arkin; Titus Welliver; Henry Rollins; Mitch Pileggi; and, of course, Ally Walker of "Profiler" fame.

My only issue is that there isn't more interaction between SAMCRO members and the townspeople. Supposedly, these guys are generally well-liked by Charming residents, but I'd like to see evidence of that.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only show worth watching, August 24, 2010
By 
I had heard good things about this show before sitting down to watch it, i ordered the fist season and watched all of it over a weekend, i couldn't wait to see the second season so i took a mini (cheap) vacation and stayed home to watch the second season. Character development and the story line is amazing and sometimes hard to watch but if you want to see great television start watching SOA, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome TV Show, December 3, 2009
Picking up where the first season left off, The Sons of Anarchy are in turmoil. The ATF is still on their backs. The gun business has dried up. The gang is divided. Jax Teller remains at the center of this division. He knows his stepfather and President,Clay is responsible for the death of a SAMCRO member's wife, but Jax must decide whether to put his club's, his family's or his friend's interests first. The conflict doesn't stop with Jax. Division is a central theme of Season Two. Each character struggles with his/her own internal issues. Clay must decide how to best handle a son he loves but who has begun to question his authority, at every turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOA - A Collection MUST!, October 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ok dvd/blu-ray collectors I'll make this short, sweet, and neat:

If you are seeking a new series to add to your idea of THE BEST movie/tv series collection - Sons of Anarchy is it. I'm not trying to sell you anything as I don't get diddly squat - I'm just telling you that if you haven't got into this series yet - DO IT!

This show is not just about a bad ass biker gang - it's an epic machiavellian saga w/ shakesperean type characters wrapped in a modern day setting.

The special features are a great insight into the directors head - so don't think your getting duped on the extra stuff!

Get it - get the series - you won't regret the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Long Awaited Show Devoted to Bikers, April 19, 2010
By 
C. Smith (Newalla, OK, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At Last! A show about bikers & the biker lifestyle. Yes, it is violent & a little over inflated, but thats TV...get real. I have been waiting for a show like this for a LONG time. If you like the biker lifestyle, you will love this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent well thought out season of SOA, December 1, 2009
Kurt Sutter and more. This is a great season of S2. I'll buy S1 and S2 asap. Worth a watch but not for kiddos. This is a mature audiences show that will keep you waiting for ea new show and season. The male ego, heart, and life styles are collected in one place. Awesome watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Violent yes, but great television., September 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The program is violent-- there are times when I have difficulty watching it. But it's worth it! Great show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST TV series that is worth re-watching., February 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy: Season 2 (DVD)
We quickly fell in love with the situational acting and the plotline(s). Always filled with multiple chaotic situations. Samcro imparts a fierce force among Charming authorities and others over 4 west coast states and even the charter in Ireland. They have negotiating skills and just simply 'take care of things themselves' skills. They struggle like the other opposing forces (Mayans, Black 9er's, White Power and venture capitalists) and they find resolution in a variety of refreshing action. We look forward to each new episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show!, November 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy: Season 2 (DVD)
I got hooked on Sons of Anarchy with Season 1, and have throughly enjoyed Season 2 as well. I was especially drawn in Season 2 to the emergence of the characters Gemma (played exceedingly well by Katey Sagal) and Tara (played by Maggie Siff). They become more prominent and essential to the storyline, and their evolving relationship is well written and well acted.

While many will like this show for the action and bikes, it has a surprisingly good level of character development. I've introduced several people to the show who initially wrote it off (without seeing it) as a trivial biker-gang romp. But, after a few episodes, they become fans.

Can't wait for Season 3 to come out!

One question for fans. There was an event at Caracara in Season 2 (I won't go into details since I don't want to spoil things) that involved Chucky and Darby. Chucky continues on in the storyline in later episodes. I can't, however, seem to figure out what happened to Darby - he doesn't seem to be mentioned again at all. Did I miss something? If anyone can give me some details on what happened to Darby, please post a comment. I'd appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHITE SEPARATIST IN SEASON TWO, September 8, 2010
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy: Season 2 (DVD)
If you're a fan of the series SONS OF ANARCHY then you're probably aware of most of what happened in this season and want to pick it up on DVD to watch it again and again. If you're not a fan then you probably haven't seen it yet. I fell into that category and now find myself recording the third season which just began. This is a solid series that may take the low road, but remains interesting if nothing else.

The Sons of Anarchy are a motorcycle club (what most would consider bikers), officially known as SAMCRO (Sons of Anarchy Motorcycle Club, Redwood Original). This group is the original band, the beginning of the club, though most have passed away. Originally started with 9 members, the club has expanded and as we've learned in season two is even international. Comparisons to the Hells Angels would be expected, but knowing their reputation for dealing in drugs and more the link isn't really there.

The Sons deal mostly in illegal weapons and small time extortion, tending to protect the small town of Charming, CA that they live in rather than do it harm. They keep out drug dealers and meth heads, keeping the streets safe even if they do use a bit of violence to do so. The story never turns lose of the fact that these are dangerous men who do dangerous and illegal things and yet you find yourself rooting for them. Perhaps it's the biker mystique that has long been associated with freedom and a life without care. But those two things aren't found with the Sons as they have as many problems as anyone.

As I said, I never saw season one, but from what I gathered, club president Clay Morrow (Ron Perlman) made the decision to take out a member named Opie and by mistake that member's wife was killed. At the same time, vice president Jackson "Jax" Teller (Charlie Hunnam) was trying to decide what to do about the club having read his deceased father's "manifesto" wherein he discussed the fall of the club should things continue down the path they were at the time of his death. Jax knows of Clay's orders but doesn't let the club know. He'd rather attempt to save the club than see it destroyed from within. Add to that the fact that Jax' mother Gemma (Katey Sagal) is now married to Clay and the plot thickens.

But that's just how the new season opens. Not only does Jax have to contend with attempting to reshape the club in a new mold, he has to continue helping with the old. While attempts by the ATF to shut down the Son have failed, setting up a new source isn't easy. Ties to the IRA are slow moving and personal grudges between members of both groups won't make for nice bedfellows.

Worse yet is the arrival of someone new to town, a businessman with ties to a white supremacists group known as the League Of American Nationalists (LOAN). Ethan Zobelle (Adam Arkin) is sly and cunning, something the Sons haven't faced before. Hiding any connection to this group from the locals, Zobelle has plans in motion that will change the face of Charming forever. With his hooks already dug into the town's mayor, Zobelle will use this force to shut down the Sons and take over the town, allowing all the things the Sons prevent from running rampant and taking his cut as well.

Along with this storyline we find the Sons becoming involved with a legitimate business due to the wife of one of their imprisoned members coming to them for help. That business is the porn industry and while it may be unsavory for most, it's a legit moneymaker that the Sons need while trying to restart their arms business. It's a business that Jax brings the Sons in to and that Clay wants nothing to do with.

The crux of the show pits Clay and Jax against one another for various reasons. At the core is the knowledge that Jax has of Clay's actions as well as the resentment he has for the man his mother married. But both men deep inside want nothing more than for the Sons to continue on. They just have different ways of seeing how that will happen.

Toss in the IRA double dealing, an ATF agent with a personal grudge, a chief of police who helps the Sons as often as possible and a deputy chief trying to keep things straight and you have a decent drama going on here. Best of all it doesn't rely on weekly fist fights of motorcycle chases to hold a viewers attention. It actually offers a story and some great acting to go with it. Perhaps the biggest surprise to some will be Katey Sagal's portrayal of Gemma, a woman who sees herself as the mother figure for the club, trying to keep it together as well as keep the two men who mean the most to her from killing one another. Forget Peggy Bundy, this role offers Sagal something that she can display her acting chops with. And when a twist in the story involving her comes out (sorry, for once no spoiler on that one), you'll feel so involved in her tale that you can't help but feel for her.

As I said, the series revolves around a group of men who choose what most of us would avoid for both a lifestyle and for a profession. But as for offering great drama it delivers in spades. The show will hold your interest from beginning to end. I for one found myself watching it and thinking, perhaps I'll put in the next disc and see what happens. The next thing I knew it was 5AM and I'd spent the entire night watching the second season and setting the DVR for season three. It is that good.

A word of warning for parents: the show is seen on FX and like many of their other series is definitely not for kids. Slight nudity and extreme violence are the norm for this group and visible throughout the series. Just a warning for those uninformed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2104 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.