Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Castle in the Air
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 23, 2010
What is great about this old British film is that it is just plain deliciously fun! Some people gawk at the use of that word to describe something pleasureable, but I find it perfect for this mostly (unfortunetly) forgotten film. 1952's CASTLE IN THE AIR is witty, charming, and has a stellar cast throughout. This is really David Tomlinson's movie as he is truely brilliant as the Scottish Laird who's desperately trying to keep his sinking castle financially afloat. American audiences will most remember Tomlinson from Disney's 1964's megasmash Mary Poppins. Margaret Rutherford effortly shines as well, as one of the castles tenants who thinks the Laird is really the rightful King of Scotland - yes she is a bit eccentric, but afterall we are talking about Margaret Rutherford performance! I am a big fan of Miss Rutherford's and only which her part was a little bit larger. Can't say this was her most memorable role, but a perfect addition to this solid cast through and through. The humor revolves around the Laird's awful financially straped situation, and the desperate measures by which he and his loyal staff do to not end up in the poor house. At times the castle is a Bed & Breakfast and they even give "Estate Tours" to help raise runds. Between the tenants, bill collectors, an American guest, a repressed romance, tourers, mice, and a ghost - you have vintage old school, old world British humour at its best! I also have to mention the often huge amazing sets and the adorable silly ghost named Emmentrude that helps the Laird at just the right times. My only complaint is not with the picture itself, but with the lousy transfer DVD quality they have for this particular disc. This really is an enchanting old film and it deserves a far better treatment that it has gotton here. Unfortunitely at this time of this review its the only way to own a copy of it on DVD, and being a fan I'd rather have a not so great copy than none at all. Despite the crappy transfer, I do love this film and recommend this bit of old fashioned fun to anyone who find a glimmer joy and inquirey to the words above. Hope you have fun!!!!!
0Comment| 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2009
I loved this timeless treat. The entire movie from start to finish is marvelous--Good Clean Fun,,Everyone loves Margaret Rutherford--She is THE BEST!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2013
Old movies are fun. First of all they're usually devoid of smut that can reduce the enjoyment of a good story and limit what children can watch. This film was a rollicking lot of fun. The story is "almost" believable and really enjoyable to watch. Margaret Rutherford provided her usual riotous performance. Altogether worth watching more than once. It's sad that they don't make movies like this often today.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After seeing some of the trash on modern day television, I have started purchasing DVD's of older movies. They are available for persons of every age. This is one of the later purchases I have made, and I got because of Margaret Rutherford, and she doesn't disappoint. If you like older movies, this one is a winner!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 8, 2016
This British comedy is a bit of fluff, and enjoyable despite the gray and grainy transfer quality. There really isn’t much to it. It’s essentially a love story – will the lord of the (crumbling) castle finally propose to his hard-working, devoted employee (whom he generally refers to as “Boss”) or fall for the splashy, rich American who wants to buy his broken-down castle? Hmmm, hard to guess – it’s not. All very predictable.

Not as humorous as it could be, and at times, it’s rather annoying. Oddly, it is rather noisy. Lots of banging and clanging and bagpipes. I kept turning the volume down more and more. Some comedic moments fall short. There is a ghost who ought to be a lot of fun, but isn’t.

The always reliable and always enjoyable Margaret Rutherford tries her best, but maybe a little too hard, as the student of Scottish history, especially family trees, who insists the current earl is by rights the true king of Scotland. Still, she is the best part, as both the earl and the “Boss” are a bit bland.

Not a bad movie, but not on my list of favorites. If you feel the need, as I do, to watch every movie of this type, you will not be sorry, but you won’t be passing out copies to your friends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2013
It was such a hoot, especially to see the actors at such a young age! I love British movies, old movies, and these actors are icons.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
Anything The Dame is in is fun and nostalgic. I wish Amazon would have more available that she starred besides Miss Marple
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2012
This is a British comedy about the owner of an old broken down castle. The owner is up to his eyeballs in debt and the place is falling apart. There is a beautiful ghost that makes quite a few appearances in this film and they did it very well. I was impressed at how well they did the ghost given the age of the film. I don't think they could've done the ghost better with today's technology/tricks.

There is much going on as he tries to keep the place afloat by renting rooms (and trying to keep those guests from leaving), giving guided tours to the public (for a fee of course), avoiding creditors who want to claim the place for his debt, trying to convince a woman from Denver to buy the place, while at the same time trying to convince an official from the coal board that the place is unfit to live in so he won't convince the board to take it over for a hostel - and a woman trying to get him declared the rightful King of Scotland. It's fast paced, cute and amusing.

However this old black and white film has seen better days and the picture quality is poor and sometimes a little hard to catch all the lines (due to the accents and that they talk a bit fast). I would like to see this movie remade.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
Be forewarned, the transfer quality is abysmal. The tonal values are on the muddy side of gray, the picture is a hazard of splotches, all scratchy and bent out of shape. The images look to be out of alignment, nothing is in focus. The only thing worse is the sound. Sometimes it's impossible to hear a line of dialog here and there. Whoever was responsible for producing this crappy DVD should be fired. 0 for not even making the effort.

As for the film, it's based on a play by Alan Melville (who also had a hand in adapting it for the screen). It is, for the most part, an amusing story of a man and his castle (David Tomlinson as the Earl of Locharne). He makes do by renting out rooms and foraging for food where he can. "What do you shoot around here?" My neighbor's grouse and creditors if they come in range." He also gives guided tours of the place, payment first. There's a handy ghost on call. And a daft old lady (Margaret Rutherford) intent on crowning him King of Scotland. It's insubstantial fare but just amusing enough to entertain. I bought it primarily for Margaret Rutherford but the rest of the cast is exceptional as well. It is a funny idea. It could have been executed better. Getting around the problem of the hideous transfer is its greatest obstacle. Loved the film, hated to have to look at it that way for 90 minutes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2016
Kept having issues watching this movie...I believe site problems which made it very difficult to get into the movie. However, Magaret Rutherford is ALWAYS worth watching! There were also sound issues which may be from the fact of original sound track, I don't know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.