Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still in your home theater...
Yes, Season Six is still showing on your favorite ABC Network, and the overall rating is still 5 Stars! Great writing, wonderful chemistry with ALL the main characters, and a surprise guest star or two from time to time make it one of the best things on TV. Richard Castle (actually Richard Alexander Rogers) is still in the process of making Det. Kate Beckett the third...
Published 8 months ago by Richard Muller

versus
13 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Castle 6
It would be nice if someone quit writing all the stuff and just came out with a DATE that season SIX would be available.
Published 7 months ago by Greg


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still in your home theater..., December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castle: Season 6 (DVD)
Yes, Season Six is still showing on your favorite ABC Network, and the overall rating is still 5 Stars! Great writing, wonderful chemistry with ALL the main characters, and a surprise guest star or two from time to time make it one of the best things on TV. Richard Castle (actually Richard Alexander Rogers) is still in the process of making Det. Kate Beckett the third Mrs. Castle, and it is, at last, no secret.
The plots are realistic. A lot of what is shown could be on the front page any day of the week. The handling of the cases goes by Police proceedure, at least most of the time. Allowances are made for Castle's ability to think "outside the box", which, for a murder mystery writer is what got this whole thing started. And Det. Beckett seems to be on the same wavelength - most of the time. A lot of what makes this show work so well is the wit. A handful of dry humor goes a long way. There is also plenty of pun-ishment! For homicide Detectives there is plenty of danger, so it is not by accident that they get in some serious positions, not conducive to good health. Richard Castle gets a lot of his "grounding" through a very caring, loyal and wonderful family. Susan Sullivan is just wonderful as Marsha Rogers, his mom. The heartbreaking beauty of Alexis Castle, his only offspring so far, is very teenager-angst ridden, but very smart; and so well done by Molly Quinn. Castle is also reminded of the past by two ex-wives, one of whom is his publlsher, no less! Early on we see Castle give up the supposed job of creating three James Bond novels to remain at the 12th percinct to further pursue Kate Beckett. After 5 full Seasons and a lot of #6, there could be just too much to go over, so this is a sort of synopsis of the series. I was working hours that didn't allow me to see the original shows first-hand, so it was through time-shifting, huiu and finally re-runs on TNT that allowed me to get hooked on this show. I remembered Nathan Fillion from "firefly" and "Serenity", and so at least he was a known quantity. But Stana Katic was a very pleasant surprise! She alludes to a certain sexuality, but also a street-wise earthiness that is just the right balance for an NYPD Officer. She guards many secrets, which baffles and confounds Castle at the outset, but a lot of it is realized in the first 3 seasons and at a breakneck pace! This show doesn't stop for much of a break, ever; but it also flows so well that even in quieter times it holds your interest. Above the danger of the chase, there is always a home for Castle to return to, and if quirky Mom doesn't have a problem then it is Alexis going-off-to-college-or-not that will keep him on his toes. If I had to make an analogy of this to other shows of the genre, I would say it is like "Moonlighting" on Steroids! The writing never falters, and that is one BIG reason that this show keeps coming on!
The loss of Steven J. Cannell so early on was certainlyh a blow to creator Andrew W. Marlowe, who had these wonderful weekly poker games with Castle and an actual James Patterson and Michael Connelly sitting in. The ultimate writer's block-breakers! (I would urge you to get the Season One DVD package for its wonderful look into the life of Steven J. Cannell, who bought so many years of unrivaled entertainment to your TV screen!) None of the seasons should be missed, as there is something in there for just about anyone.
Also, for you Mums and Dads, there is not the gruesome exposure to death's aftermath that so many (CSI, NCIS) others show. So the Double-Digit kids in the family can enjoy this along with you! I will offer up no spoilers -- but I will say this: the end of Season #4 and the beginning of Season #5 are not to be missed! I think that if this wonderful comedy/drama goes on for at least two or three more years, I would not be surprised. And I will have enjoyed many years of a great show! You will to, if you get busy -- and ready for Season #6's release in the Spring of 2014 ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars season 6 cut-outs, November 3, 2013
This review is from: Castle: Season 6 (DVD)
I'm pre-ordering season 6, to make sure I get the dvd with the deleted wedding scenes which were cut from the program but shown to a limited audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch some good, January 5, 2014
This review is from: Castle: Season 6 (DVD)
It is the best T.V. program I have followed for years , It really holds my interest. Makes my day. Keep up the good work, best program on T.V.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Castle: The Complete Sixth Season - Updated, October 26, 2013
This review is from: Castle: Season 6 (DVD)
This is a show I like but after season 3 it has been a disappointing combination of what seems like filler episodes, with a couple of shining moments scattered here and there. It is the appreciation I have for the cast that keeps me watching and perhaps hope that some of the old magic from the first three seasons will be recaptured. Largely, this season felt like a lot of missed opportunities.

The season finale disappointed not because I wanted a clique conclusion, but because the entire episode had Beckett fight to earn a happy ending only to lose out in the end. It felt like a poke in the eye -- just my opinion although fan dissension may have played a part in the recent removal of the original showrunner.

Normally I buy the DVD sets for this show, but a heretofore unavailable extended bedroom scene from the season 4 Always episode between the two leads was presented by the former showrunner at an October 2013 Texas film festival. This is a scene not included in the season 4 DVD set bonus features. This development has made me wonder if a number of other previously unseen scenes and extra features may be bundled into a large complete series DVD package once the show is off the air. So, rather than risk buying the same basic thing twice, I think I'll wait to see what is made available then.

*Update June 2014: Now we know generally what will be on the season six DVD set which I've detailed below. A mysterious season 4 to date un-aired scene is scheduled to be included and hopefully it is the one mentioned in the above paragraph. Perhaps the fans were heard.

*Update August 2014: A show producer has confirmed that the deleted scene from season 4 included in this DVD set will be "the scene" from Always that the fans demanded to see once it was shown by the former showrunner and his wife at a writer's conference.

*Update September 1, 2014: The "scene" from the season 4 Always episode is now readily available to view by simply typing Castle Always Deleted Scene into an internet browser. It was exactly as described by the person who saw it during the writer's workshop.

*The Season 6 Blooper reel is now also posted. Normally this is something I look forward to but the season 6 group is the worst so far -- unfunny and weird. Time is generously allotted to everyone in the cast, with one exception. Katic is largely absent -- something markedly different than in past years. If the reel was filled with hilarious snippets I would assume Katic's bits were cut for quality purposes but there is shockingly little amusing in the entire reel.

Since the episodes are readily available for viewing in a number of places (syndication, Amazon, etc.) the main reason to purchase the DVD set is usually the bonus features. If history repeats itself, these features are usually posted by ABC on you tube a month or so prior to the availability of DVD set - perhaps to generate buzz -- but if in doubt, first watch them there.

The bonus features for Season six will be spread out on all five of the discs. Disc one will include commentary by Jon Huertas and Seamus Dever in character as Detective Javier Esposito and Kevin Ryan for the Need to Know episode. There will also be deleted scenes on the disc.

Disc two will include audio commentary for The Good, the Bad and the Baby episode from John Terlesky (director,) writer Terri Edda Miller, Nathan Fillion and Seamus Dever.

Disc three will include audio commentary for the Deep Cover episode with writer Terrence Paul Winter, Nathan Fillion, Susan Sullivan and James Brolin. There will also be deleted scenes on the disc.

Disc four will include audio commentary for In The Belly of The Beast episode with former showrunner Andrew Marlowe, writer David Amann and director Rob Bowman. The disc also includes deleted scenes and a longer performance of Seamus Dever singing "What I Like About You" from The Way of the Ninja episode.

Disc five will include a feature a day in the life of Stana Katic on the Castle set with some attention paid to the final episode of the season. The entire cast reveals things they like about the show intersecting with fans responses from social media. The former showrunner and his wife discuss things they like about the show. There are bloopers and deleted scenes.

Also, disc 5 will include an un-aired season four scene from the finale that was not shown. It is conjectured that this is the missing scene mentioned above that caused dischord among some fans after it was shown to a small group during a Texas workshop hosted by the former showrunner and his wife. It is odd to release a season four scene on the season six DVD release, so hopefully it is that significant scene. We'll see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Season Yet, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castle: Season 6 (DVD)
This is the best season yet - I would highly recomment to anyone who is a Castle-follower buying the DVD's so you can watch all of the episodes at the same time without commercial interuptions it is amazing the things you notice - clues - references - etc - to the caes they are working on as well as the raltionships building betweent the characters - Castle & Beckett - Dr Perry & Espisito - Ryley & Jenn - Ryley & Espisito - and of course how the 5 major characters reatle with each other - I can not wait for the next season to be ready once the season has ended to get all episodes in 1 DVD - if I have one complaint it woujld be the length of time between the end of the season and the time my DVD arrives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best show on tv, January 22, 2014
This review is from: Castle: Season 6 (DVD)
Castle is great I am so upset that ABC has not celebrated Peoples Choice Award given to Castle. This show is enjoyable and the chemistry with all the actors is great. Everyone should enjoy all seasons CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Milmar (Marlowe & Miller) I trust., October 15, 2013
By 
Sheryl J. (Tuscaloosa, AL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castle: Season 6 (DVD)
It's early in the season yet, but I trust Andrew Marlowe and Terri Edda Miller to carry on with their great leadership and storytelling for Castle, a romantic dramedy. Based on the first 4 episodes, I have just pre-ordered Season 6. It's an entertainment steal too because I used a $10.00 Amazon coupon in addition to the guaranteed lowest price by pre-ordering. I stumbled upon the coupon, but if you click on the link at the top that says, "Today's Deals" and scroll down a bit, it might be there. It's good for five days supposedly. I look forward to the rest of the season and hope ABC orders a couple of extra episodes like they did last year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seasons 1-6, April 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castle: Season 6 (DVD)
This series is terrific!! What more can I say? Stana Katic is incredibly intelligent and has great chemistry with Richard Castle.
The whole show is well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great season, but...., August 18, 2014
By 
Kenneth R. Freeman (Oxnard, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Castle: Season 6 (DVD)
I absolutely love this show and I would have given Season 6 a full five stars if it weren't for that atrocious and ridiculous season ending "cliff-hanger". I don't know what Marlowe was thinking when he wrote this absurd story but it totally ruined what was an amazing season up to then. And I believe a lot of fans and others felt that way since Marlowe is no longer the "show-runner" for Castle. But other than that this was a great season with two magnificent episodes: "Time Will Tell" and "Veritas" . Can't wait to get the DVDs and looking forward to the seventh season with hopefully no crazy cliffhangers leading into Season 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic show!!, June 12, 2014
This review is from: Castle: Season 6 (DVD)
I absolutely love-love-love this show! Really great chemistry between all the cast members. It has elements crime solving, drama, humor, and occasionally even a bit of a supernatural feel. It's definitely in my top shows of all time...never disappoints me. And bonus...Nathan Fillion and Stana Katic are totally adorable! Can't wait for season 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Castle: Season 6
Castle: Season 6 by Nathan Fillion (DVD - 2014)
$45.99 $34.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.