Customer Reviews

709
4.8 out of 5 stars
Castle: Season 2
Format: DVDChange
Price:$14.96 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 621 reviews(5 star)show all reviews
63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
on April 14, 2010
Nathan Fillion and Stana Katic are the most fun/serious/entertaining duo to come along in a long time. This tv show will keep you on the edge of your seat with drama and keep you giggling at the same time. Molly Quinn plays Castle's daughter Alexis, it is so refreshing to see a teenager be a teenager. Molly and Nathan have a connection that shows in their scenes together. They keep you laughing as Alexis is trying to "raise" her father because he is such a kid at heart. Nathan is such a versatile actor he brings life to Castle. Then you throw in Susan Sullivan as his mother? Her past rolls speak for themselves, she is and always has been an amazing actress. The supporting cast, Tony Award winning Actor Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Jon Huertas, Seamus Dever & Tamala Jones, make this the best crime comedy drama to watch. I would recommend season 1 along with season 2, and the book Heat Wave & Naked Heat both written by "Richard Castle" of course.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
60 of 68 people found the following review helpful
Season 2 of Castle made me laugh harder than while any sit-com I've seen in the last few years. The writing and acting on this show are absolutely phenominal. Nathan Fillion and Stana Katic have such amazing chemistry together. The show manages to blend the daily life mix of comedy and drama which is what real life is more like.

The Double Down is one of the funniest episodes of the season and Tick, Tick, Tick & Boom will keep you guessing. The show wouldn't be what it is though without the great writing and the amazing supporting cast. My husband and look forward to every Monday night for this show. I highly recommend this DVD series if you want to watch an entertaing, quality show.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
55 of 63 people found the following review helpful
on April 4, 2010
The "Castle" crew is back and better than ever with 24 new episodes of witty, comedic crime-solving. Season two of "Castle" brings just as much sass and fun to the crime scenes and murder storylines as the premiere season while still finding the time to delve a bit deeper into the lives and backgrounds of the main players. We learn a bit more about what makes all our favorite characters tick as they work together to unravel the mysteries of New York City murders. Fans of the show will be excited to learn that "Heat Wave," Richard Castle (Fillion)'s first Nikki Heat novel based on Detective Beckett (Katic), is in circulation in the "real world," appropriately a real-life New York Times Best-Seller. Season two gives the stellar actors and actresses a chance to really find their footing with the characters we've all come to love over the past year. With such distinctly spectacular writing and excellent performances by one and all, it's no wonder that "Castle" has picked up an even larger following this season. Recent through-the-roof ratings have secured another season for this enormously popular and refreshingly humorous crime procedural.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on December 4, 2010
Castle is without a doubt the best show Nathan has done since he charmed audiences in Firefly! You just can't beat the cast chemistry, especially between Castle and Beckett. Of course they still haven't hooked up (seriously guys, just do it already) so I'm hoping for some more juicy situations in Season 3.

I personally LOVE behind-the-scenes stuff - something about seeing the actors out of character and describing the show fascinates me because it reveals the other side of making the show. It was disappointing to see this box set is severely lacking in extras and audio commentary, but I was looking around on Amazon and I found Castle: Cast & Creators Live at the Paley Center- it has some awesome stories from on-set, how they shot the pilot, and using the real-life Richard Castle novel as marketing tactic. If you like DVD extras this is a great accompaniment to the Season 2 DVD set. Watching this I could really tell that Nathan and Kate LOVE working together and that was so much fun to see!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on November 26, 2010
Castle is the most enjoyable and smart TV series on the air that has something to appeal to everyone. This is the only show that my husband and I equally enjoy and watch together. Date night means sharing Castle, candlelight and a good red wine. Flowers For Your Grave
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on May 10, 2010
Due to the fact that the Federal Government pulled the plug on my analog television last summer, I was not aware this show had been renewed by ABC; it's future had been dodgy, at best. Thanks to the internet [where I have to wait 24 hours for viewing], I've been able to keep up with most of this season's episodes and must say it is quite an improvement over season 1. I believe one of the writer's from Firefly has come on board, and if I'm not mistaken, Castle even dressed up as Mr. Fillion's Firefly character for Halloween - what a hoot! And his Indiana Jones getup at the Mummy exhibition was another clever infusion of humor so indicative of this show - as was having Erick Avari, from the Mummy movie franchise, play the curator. This is a step above most other crime shows on television [NCIS being tops for me]and even has credible post-mortem medical examiner scenes, if you're into that sort of thing. Overall, this show deserves to outlast most of the drek that's on network TV these days. Fabulous casting all around[Stana Katic was a vampire in "The Librarian" with Noah Wiley] - long live Castle!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on May 3, 2010
Nathan Fillion (Firefly) has a knack for delivering a performance that is both humorous and dramatic at once. This series, which hopefully won't be cancelled, is very entertaining and rarely predictable. Writer (Castle) follows a female detective (Beckett) around to get ideas for new novels and help solve crime in a particularly dashing and endearing manner. Though appearances can be deceiving, the cast really looks like they have fun doing the show. The chemistry is definitely there, and the lines are delivered with perfect timing and body language. If the second season is half as good as the first, this is a great buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on April 25, 2010
Season 2 is brimming with even more of the quick whit and snarkiness that made season 1 such a hit. The dynamic chemistry of crime writer Rick Castle (Nathan Fillion) working with Detective Kate Becket (Stana Katic) are what gives the show it's edge. Granted the comedic timing of every character on the show is dead on and makes the show even edgier; you just never know who's going to deliver the next great line.

One of the reasons the show stays fresh is that it isn't just about the "crime" it's also got Rick Castles family. Castes family throws in another wrench that always adds either hilarity, perverseness, clarity, or something to spin Castles life out of control. It gives more depth to each episode.

Showing Castle in the role of father and son has been a fabulous choice because without that dimension he'd just be another cute, fun, jerk. The writers utilize his family not only to move the story line along but also to build depth and sustenance to Castles character which makes him a really likable guy.

With great comedic timing, sensational acting, and terrific writing this is one of those shows you stay home to watch. It's one of the few shows where the entire cast is amazing.

They also launched the book "Heat Wave" in real life, which was a dynamic marketing strategy. Although I love the show, I didn't enjoy the book...which of course is a whole other review.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 8, 2011
When a beloved show ends for the season, what's a devoted fan to do but go back to the archives. Therefore, I staged a season one marathon, a season I owned and had reviewed on Amazon a few years ago in my review entitled: "More Than Just Another Pretty Face." Who can forget the meeting of the intelligent, kind, handsome, fun-loving, intrepid writer and the valiant, complex, stunningly beautiful detective? One scene still had me laughing after two years. In this scene Rick and Alexis, while playing a father daughter game of laser tag, invite into their home a stunned Kate Beckett. And then Rick's mother makes a grand dame entrance in her green -clay facial. Humor, brilliant repartee, sight gags, fantastic ensemble acting, excellent writing and production values, humans in all of their diversity, evoke laughter, emotional tension and tears. I tried to talk to my family about my "issues," to no avail. I required more Castle weekly appointments. I wrote a review entitled "I'll Stand By You," about the season three finale and corresponded with a compatriot. How amazing the power of the internet and of Amazon to connect total strangers in an exchange of ideas and a meeting of the minds. Still I was in withdrawal.

I had to get my hands on Season Two; I ordered and waited.

I watched again a few of the remaining season three entries on demand, and while critically examining the few entries available, I drew more conclusions about the show. Today I wrote an additional review on" Knockout" and later greeted my UPS lady. My very own season two had arrived. Yes, another marathon or two is in store for me and probably another review, but first I wanted to share some additional conclusions I have made regarding the season three finale.

In "Knockout," Castle's third season finale, Kate says to Rick, "You don't know me, Rick, you think you do but you don't." And he responds that he knows she hides in her mother's murder case and she stays with men she doesn't love. He claims she could be happy, but she is afraid to be happy. This is true, but Rick, the same applies to you. You stay safe with frivolous women who mean nothing or two ex wives. Indeed, Rick Castle is a loving son and a magnificent father. A good friend and an intrepid partner, he is uplifting and fun. But he has a painful awareness, masked with good humor, that his mother doesn't even know who fathered him. Love his mother he does, but this knowledge has to hurt. He, too, is afraid of a deeper rejection or disappointment in love.

We know this fear of complete happiness and love runs through the valiant Kate. With a grieving but recovering alcoholic father and her mother murdered, her fears are manifest and masked with safe lovers who will not press her for the love she cannot give. She knows Rick is different, but he cannot or won't force her to acknowledge their mutual and powerful attraction. Everyone around them sees their love. Therein remains the frustration of the viewer and the genius of the writers of this tremendously human romance, drama, comedy and police procedural.

Vowed to have Kate's back, "always," Rick accompanies Kate to LA to track and capture the man who has killed Kate's mentor and friend. While staying together in a suite, Rick confesses to Kate, "You know what I thought when I first met you. You were a mystery I would never solve... I am amazed at the depths of your strength and your heart." And realizing that the moment is emotionally charged, he backs off with these words: "and your hotness." Kate responds, "You aren't so bad yourself."

The next scene is a metaphor for the show. Exposed by an obvious mutual desire, Kate panics and retires to her room. To distance herself Kate calls him Castle as he, stricken, remains and endearingly calls her Kate. Behind Kate's locked door the director focuses on the door handle and Kate's unsteady hand. Will the conflicted and sometimes shy Kate erase the barrier and go to Rick? With his heart racing or perhaps sinking, Rick waits for the woman he loves to make a choice, to come to him. Seconds pound or does time stand still. When Kate finally opens the door to go to Rick, it is too late. Humbled or heart -broken, Rick has retreated to his room. And Kate watches his door shut.

From the soundtrack, a fragment of a song permeates the air as this dance of love and desire unfolds. From Pearl Jam's Just Breathe, these words come through: "Oh, I am a lucky man to count on both hands the ones I love.......stay with me."

In the same scene Josh Ritter's plaintive song and words resound, reflecting Rick's unspoken words:

And I keep me in a vacant lot
In the ivy and forget-me-nots
Hoping you will come and untangle me one of these days
Come and find me now.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Witty, suspenseful and fresh! The first season of "CASTLE" is the modern "Moonlighting" featuring a cool cast and each episode with an entertaining storyline.

"CASTLE" debuted on ABC as a mid-season replacement and began airing on March 2009. Created by Andrew M. Marlowe ("Air Force One", "End of Days" and "Hollyw Man") and executive produced by Rob Bowman ("The A-Team", "The X-Files", "Day Break") comes a new drama series on crime solving.

The first season which featured 10 episodes stars actor Nathan Fillion ("Firefly", "Drive" and "Desperate Housewives") as Richard Castle. The famous mystery novelist who is adored by many but behind-the-scenes, he is a playboy who has an on-and-off fling with his ex-wife (who is an actress), another ex-wife who is his publisher and lives with his bright teenage daughter Alexis (Molly Quinn, "My One and Only") and his meddlesome mother and former Broadway actress, Martha Rodgers (Susan Sullivan, "The Nine", "Dharma & Greg").

There is a lot of pressure on Nathan to create another book and with him stuck, his luck starts to change when he meets by-the-book Detective Kate Beckett (Stana Katic, "Heroes", "The Spirit", "Quantum of Solace") who is investigating several murders which have taken place and the way that they were done were like the murders featured in several of his novels. Because of his knowledge of how things end up with his books, he gets the opportunity to assist the detectives in their case.

Eventually, Richard Castle discovers that he can do several things in his life. Write his new book based on Detective Beckett, see if he can woo Detective Beckett and most of all to investigate other murders which he can incorporate ideas for his new book. At first, it seems implausible but with Castle being so well-known and friends with the mayor, Captain Montgomery (Ruben Santiago-Huds0n) will do what he can to make the mayor and his boss happy, so he allows Richard to tag along with Detective Beckett.

Needless to say, she's not happy about it but with his skills of mystery writing and her skills as a detective, the two find out that together, they can be an effective duo in crime solving. Also, joining Beckett are Detective Javier Esposito (Jon Huertas), Detective Kevin Ryan (Seamus Dever) and forensics doctor Dr. Lanie Parish (Tamala Jones).

In the first season, Detective Beckett and Richard Castle have worked together in handling various cases. But one case that Richard would like to investigate is the death of Detective Beckett's mother but Beckett doesn't want him getting into her personal business.

In the second season, Richard continues to work with Dr. Beckett and together they try to solve a variety of murder cases including one that deals with a serial killer going after Detective Beckett. This season also shows us how Castle and Beckett seem to start showing some affection towards each other but in the process, Beckett becomes closer with Detective Demming.

"CASTLE - The Complete Second Season" features 24 episodes on five discs.

VIDEO:

"CASTLE - The Complete First Season" is presented in Widescreen (1:78:1) and is enhanced for 16×9 televisions. The drama series is quite slick as it gives you the feel of New York and like many abc studios related DVD releases, Disney has always done a good job with their TV show transfers. A show that balances outdoor and indoor shots with good lighting, the picture quality for "CASTLE" is pretty solid. I didn't see any major artifacting issues or low level noise that was distracting.

AUDIO & SUBTITLES:

As for the audio, the series is presented in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound. The series is front and center channel driven with a few episodes (that involve gun fights) utilizing the surround channels. The series does utilize quite a bit of music and for the most, the series is understandable and clear.

Subtitles are in English SDH, French and Spanish.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"CASTLE - The Complete Second Season" includes the following special features:

DISC 5:

* On Set With Seamus & Jon - (7:39) Interviews with Seamus Deaver (Detective Kevin Ryan) and Jon Huertas (Detective Javier Esposito) giving a tour of the set of "Castle".
* On Location With Nathan - (6:50) Featuring Nathan Fillion showing us the crew of "Castle" on location. From those working in audio, craft services, assistant directors, transpo drivers, set production, props, etc.
* Manhattan's Most Unusual Murders -(7:57) Creator/executive producer Andrew Marlowe along with other executive producers, writers, director and cast as they talk about coming up with interesting, unusual and innovative murder cases each week for Castle.
* Misdemeanors: Bloopers & Outtakes - (2:36) Outtakes from season 2 of "Castle".
* Deleted Scenes - (9:07) Featuring three deleted scenes: Take 5, More Morlock and Alibi & Timeline.
* Music Videos - (2:37) First season bloopers.

JUDGMENT CALL:

"CASTLE" continues to be a fun and entertaining detective series. Despite not being a detective, popular crime author Rick Castle is very good at solving cases and assisting Detective Beckett with her cases. And through the first season, we know that sooner or later, the sparks are going to fly between the two characters (or will they?).

Both Rick Castle and Detective Kate Beckett are just polar opposites but you know that there is this sexual attraction there that makes their chemistry work onscreen. In a way, both are like Bruce Wayne (Batman) in the way they are keen in investigating things. Castle, as a mystery writer and having done a lot of research, puts himself in the shoes of the criminal and thinks of the many possibilities that can exist between the characters. Detective Beckett, almost having a similar tragic Bruce Wayne story is a by-the-book detective and for the most part, have their unique way of feeding off each other in terms of handling a case.

Nathan Fillion and Stana Katic do a great job and have good chemistry onscreen. Especially the number of verbal quips that writers have included this season for the characters. Here are a few examples from this season:

Castle: If something were to happen to me I want you to watch out for Alexis. She looks up to you, and if a worth man would get frisky you can shoot them.
Beckett: Nothing is gonna happen to you.
Castle: But if it does...?
Beckett: Ok.
Castle: And would you also go into my closet and get rid of my porn collection before she finds it?
Esposito: Don't worry, Bro. I got you covered in that.

Castle: I knew there was something I didn't like about him. Too pretty. Bet he takes yoga classes just so he can pick up girls... Probably subscribes to The New Yorker but doesn't even read it... just leaves a copy layin' out where people can see it.

Castle: Do you believe people get what they deserve?
Beckett: Well, if they do then I must have done something terrible to be punished with you.
Castle: Funny.

Beckett: You know Castle, sometimes I forget that you have such a capacity for pure innocence in your life.
Castle: Yeah, plus it was a great place to pickup chicks.
Beckett: Then you open your mouth and you ruin it.

Very hilarious season and the writing is also top notch. The murder cases were absolutely interesting this season and I have to say that the more serious serial killer two-part storyline was fantastic and would love to see more of those serious storylines for season three.

With that being said, I often wonder where the characters of Castle and Beckett will go. For season two, things are now becoming a little bit like "Moonlighting" (for those who remember the 1995-1998 detective series with Cybill Shepherd and Bruce Willis) in which there is sexual attraction and viewers are teased of when these two will actually hook up. But whereas the hookup pretty much spelled the end of "Moonlighting", hopefully "Castle" writers manages to do something different. Personally, I liked where this Demming/Beckett story is going, especially seeing how Castle reacts with it. Maybe Castle will find another woman in his life and it will be interesting to see how Beckett likes it.

Aside from the Castle/Beckett sexual tension of the season and the unique murder cases, season two also features more storylines involving characters Detective Esposito and Detective Ryan which was very cool. It's great to see the writers stepping things up and to tell you the truth, nothing wrong with adding a few more characters into the mix. Would love to see another female detective (possible rival to Beckett).

This season also featured more Lanie Parish and very little of Captain Roy Montgomery. It would be great to see the writers utilize these characters a bit more. But overall, I'm glad the writers did utilize more characters in this season. I definitely enjoyed the addition of Detective Tom Demming (Michael Trucco, "Battlestar Galactica") and I felt the storyline involving the serial killer and Special Agent Jordan Shaw (Dana Delany) were fantastic! But with Delany busy with "Desperate Housewives", I doubt we are going to see more of her anytime soon. And I definitely enjoy the storylines that involve Castle's daughter Alexis and meddling mother Martha. Although, it will be interesting to see a storyline that involves Alexis, that would be a great emotional storyline for Castle as his family's life hasn't really been pulled into anything serious.

But with two season's playing it safe (despite season two's exciting serial killer episodes), I get a feeling that season three may get a bit serious and possibly episodes leading to tragedy. Dare I say it, with the majority of ALL ABC drama series pulling the tragedy card this past season with the exception of "Castle", I wouldn't be surprised if "Castle" did the same for season three.

As for the DVD, "Castle - The Complete Second Season" is once again, another solid release. Where the first season DVD box set, all we got was only ten episodes, we did get a good amount of special features including audio commentary. With this season being 24-episode long, we get no commentary and several special features. Also, the few special features on this second season DVD box set features Nathan Fillion, Jon Huertas and Seamus Dever but yet nothing on Stana Katic. What's up with that? I'll let it slide this time around but let's have a Stana Katic special feature for next seasons DVD box set!

Overall, "CASTLE - The Complete Second Season" is another humorous, exciting and fun series and I look forward to the third season. Definitely recommended!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Castle: Season 1
Castle: Season 1 by Nathan Fillion (DVD - 2009)
$14.96

Castle: Six Season Pack
Castle: Six Season Pack by Nathan Fillion (DVD)
$119.00

Castle: Season 3
Castle: Season 3 by Nathan Fillion (DVD - 2011)
$17.99
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations