Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two GBA classics in one package
Pretty much anytime Castlevania makes an appearance on a hand held, you know it's going to be sweet. This double pack features both Castlevania: Harmony of Dissonance and Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow; two of the best games to ever be released for the GBA. In Harmony of Dissonance, you play a descendent of the Belmont clan, armed with your trusty whip, while Aria of...
Published on May 19, 2006 by N. Durham

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I love castlevania series, this is not against the game itself
I love castlevania, i wanted to play these two, since i already knew they were good. If you havent played it, i recommend you play it. It came in two cartriges, and not one, like it said it was, i waited over a month to receive it, and only to find out neither of them were legit cartriges. Almost every time i turn it off, it deletes all of the data. So the $25 i spent on...
Published 8 months ago by Justin Vance


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two GBA classics in one package, May 19, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania Double Pack: Aria of Sorrow / Harmony of Dissonance (Video Game)
Pretty much anytime Castlevania makes an appearance on a hand held, you know it's going to be sweet. This double pack features both Castlevania: Harmony of Dissonance and Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow; two of the best games to ever be released for the GBA. In Harmony of Dissonance, you play a descendent of the Belmont clan, armed with your trusty whip, while Aria of Sorrow takes place in the future. In both games, you storm a foreboding castle and take on hordes of murderous monsters and beasts as you navigate through the labyrnth-like castle. The graphics, sound, and control in both games are superb 2-D blasts, and are two of the best Castlevania games ever designed. If you missed out on both games when they were first released, consider this your second chance to pick them up, and if you're still holding on to your GBA and are craving some fantastic side scroller action, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 classics for $30 dont miss out again!, January 14, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania Double Pack: Aria of Sorrow / Harmony of Dissonance (Video Game)
Aira of sorrow and harmony of dissoance were originaly released a few years back on gameboy advance but due to limited printing of the carts the only way to play them was to pay a stupid amount of money for a second hand copy(unless you purchased them when they first came out).

Anyway here is the chance to redeam your sins and pick the games up the second time round.

Castlevania is a explration game much like Metroid, you explore draculas castle but not all areas can be accessed at once. During your explration you will upgrade your wepons,level up, collect souls/books and fight many well thought out bosses.

Harmony of dissoance uses a boos system where you collect books hidden around the castle and by combining books you upgrade your wepon allowing you to progress.

Aria of sorrow uses a soul system, by defeating bad guys some times there souls will release and each soul gives you a different ability or attack and there are loads to collect alowing you to progress through the castle.

Both games contain severial endings bad and good ones the bad ones are usally easy to get but the good ones will require you to collect certian souls and compleate extra areas of the castle.

I really cant recomend these games enough konami is a great developer and 2d castlevania is what they do best so grab a copy now before they become rare again im sure you dont want to be paying $90 on ebay next year.

Aira of sorrow is the prequal to dawn of sorrow on Nintendo DS so check that one out to, also circle of the moon the first GBA castlevania.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best GBA games you've never played, March 20, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania Double Pack: Aria of Sorrow / Harmony of Dissonance (Video Game)
I was very excited to see Konami release this double-pack. Finding these games at a reasonable price before this release was next to impossible. First off I'll start with HoD. Graphically near similar to PS1. Deepest game of the three for GBA. Castle exploration was a lot of fun with neat secrets. Fairly difficult but not that tough. Music is average GBA quality. Story is negligible but if you played any modern Castlevania then you know what to expect. Replay value is excellent. Castle is huge. Worth purchase by itself but then you get a whole other game. AoS takes the game into a more modern setting with a new feature of soul consumption making it's replay value next to none in excellency. Graphically superior to most GBA games and near PS1 quality. Sound is Okay. Music repeats often. But good for GBA. Smaller castle than HoD but not by much. More linear than other entries. You are never really in over your head so difficulty is minor for veterans. Just make sure you got the right soul for the job. Both games are lots of fun. Especially, if you like Metroid games than this should be your next purchase. On my 10 best for all systems. Can't beat the value of 2 games in 1. If you get sick of one play the other. I play these on my DS and have no problem with controls or battery life. A must for long trips or short bathroom visits. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence In A Platformer, February 9, 2006
By 
Maija Murphy (Northern Ca. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania Double Pack: Aria of Sorrow / Harmony of Dissonance (Video Game)
I've never been a big fan of the Castlevania series because I always felt that they were too hard. I was suprised when I found Double Pack, and it was a good deal for two seperate games that are both very good alone. Let me just clarify something- you get two games on one GBA cartridge, and you're able to switch from either at the screen that pops up when you turn the GBA on. Anyway, I didn't like Harmony of Dissonance as much as I liked Aria Of Sorrow because I feel AoS had a lot more depth with the weapons. You have a HUGE number of weapons to discover, buy, and weild. They all have their own speed and damage, and all kinds attack styles. On AoS, also, you have the ability to capture souls off random monsters as a drop, and they give you special abilities that you can choose from, like radiating fire, throwing a grenade, or letting you glide on a big jump. These are some amazing platformers, and they're nice and compact- just perfect for a road trip. These are, by far, the best game I've played on the GBA next to Minish Cap and Harvest Moon: More Friends Of Mineral Town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm HOOKED!!, July 17, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania Double Pack: Aria of Sorrow / Harmony of Dissonance (Video Game)
I'm not a gamer----I usually play my BookWorm game for a bit and then quit. BUT, this Castlevania game is addictive. I LOVE it!! The monsters are GREAT...I find myself really getting into the game. My only regret is that I don't have a lot of time to play---wish I did. This is definitely going on trips with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double pack holds double the value, May 12, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania Double Pack: Aria of Sorrow / Harmony of Dissonance (Video Game)
In all honesty I only wanted to get Aria of Sorrow, but when I found that there was a double pack containing that game and also Harmony of Dissonance for only 10 dollars more than either game, I knew I had to get it. I was not disapointed. In my opinion Harmony isn't one of the better Castlevania games, but it can be a fun game to play while you need to kill some time. Aria of Sorrow is one of my favorite games in the series, there are many great weapons and equipment to get, and also the ability to collect souls to gain new abilities and attacks makes for a lot of play time.

I would give Harmony by itself maybe 3 stars, but since it is packaged together with an awesome game I have to give the double pack 5 stars for pure value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked, October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania Double Pack: Aria of Sorrow / Harmony of Dissonance (Video Game)
These games are, as my title says, wicked. Actually I've only beaten Harmony of Dissonance so far, but I can tell Aria of Sorrow is going to be even better. Yea you should buy this and all the Castlevania games. I'm relatively new to the series, having discovered it with Symphony of the Night on the PS1, and i plan on playing all of them because they are that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Great Games in One Cartridge, September 23, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania Double Pack: Aria of Sorrow / Harmony of Dissonance (Video Game)
The Castlevania series has quickly become one of my favorites of all time, and it all started with this game and Castlevania: Symphony of the Night. I must have spent at least 30 hours playing both games in the last two weeks of Summer. Since this cartridge contains two games, I'm going to talk about them individually:

Harmony of Dissonance
HoD puts you in the shoes of Juste Belmont, fighting to save one of his childhood friends who has been kidnapped and taken to Dracula's Castle, which has mysteriously reappeared. Helping him is another friend named Maxim, who witnessed the kidnapping but can't remember it in detail. With the story aside, gameplay is much like Symphony of the Night, except you are a Belmont limited to the Vampire Killer whip. The castle is large: there are plenty of enemies to fight and many items to find. However, this game has some drawbacks. Graphics wise, Konami was trying to ditch the more cartoony style of Castlevania: Circle of the Moon for that of SotN, but what you get is a bunch of enemy sprites that look out of place in a GBA game. This is hard to explain to people who haven't played the game, but when you do, you'll know what I mean. The player sprites look weird as well, using a style that doesn't match that of the enemies. Progressing through the story is a nightmare, as this game uses an insanely cryptic array of puzzles and other crap that makes all other Metroidvania titles look like walks in the park. It's just unnecessary. Other than that, gameplay is rather good, serving as a complement to the more SotN-like Aria of Sorrow. While it's no prize-winner, Harmony of Dissonance is worth-while to play, but you may need help from the internet to complete it.

Pros:
+Good Gameplay
+Large Castle(s)
+Decent selection of Enemies
+Unique Spell-Book System (Makes Sub-Weapons more Powerful)
+More of a Classic feel than AoS, due to a Belmont as the main playable character
+Lots of Items to Collect
+Environment looks amazing for a GBA game
+You can play as Simon Belmont in Boss Rush Mode (Enter the Konami Code at start-up: Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, B, A, B, A)

Cons:
-Enemy sprites look out of place
-Player sprites look sloppy
-Story Progression is Horrible
-Bull-Crap Story
-Juste is a Poser
-Juste's Dad is a Poser
-Maxim is a Super Poser
-Difficulty seems a little sporatic

Neutrals:
~Music could have been better, but is okay
~Replayability is low

Aria of Sorrow
This is where the Castlevania Double Pack really shines. Players take the role of Soma Cruz, who plays a lot like Alucard from SotN. I would try a mention the story, but instead I am going to just cut to the chase. AoS went back to the cartoony style of graphics for sprites, and it worked out much better than the overly-detailed and out of place style of HoD. The player has access to many items and weapons, the latter of which gives the game a more SotN feel. What makes this game unique is the Tactical Soul System (TSS). All enemies (expect two) have a unique soul belonging to one of four categories: Bullet, Guardian, Enchanted, and Ability. Upon death, an enemy may release its soul, which the player can equip (only one in each category, excluding Ability souls). By doing so, you can gain many different abilites, ranging from increased stats and double-jumping to being able to throw "lethal cats" (I'm NOT joking) or grenades. As for enemies, the list is rather impressive, and those who have played SotN will appreciate it. The story is the most developed that I have seen, proof of this fact being the game's direct sequel, Castlevania Dawn of Sorrow. This game will take a long time to play through for the first time, and even after that's finished, there are plenty of bonus modes and souls/items to collect. Aria of Sorrow is definitely the better title of the two on this cart.

Pros:
+Legendary gameplay, the best I have seen on a handheld Castlevania title (May even rival SotN)
+Highly Memorable story and Characters
+TSS adds new elements to tried-and-true gameplay
+Replayability is through the roof
+Introduces a New Game + mode to the series
+Difficulty is consistent, even after the first play-through (There are even two difficulty levels: Normal and Hard)
+Castle is very impressive
+Awesome Selection of Enemies
+Many weapons and items to collect
+This game has a VERY big plot twist, so avoid using a FAQ at all costs

Cons:
-Graham, the main antagonist of the game, is even more of a poser than Juste and Maxim

Neutrals:
~Like HoD, the Music could have been better, but there are still a few notable titles, like Ruined Castle Corridor and Heart of Fire
~Long Story, which can be good or bad

Closing Comments (For the Double Pack as a Whole):
Despite the many flaws of HoD, it is still worth it to by the Double pack. Ever since I bought it, I have had this sucker loaded in the GBA slot of my DS nearly 100% of the time. Even though you'll most likely start out with AoS based on what I said, you will eventually find yourself torn between the two. When I got to hard part of AoS, I'd switch over to HoD, and vice versa. That's the beauty of having both games on one cartridge! In conclusion, the Castlevania Double Pack will be a terrific addition to your GBA library, and you won't regret purchasing it. I certainly don't.

Also, Juste is still a poser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 Amazing games !!, June 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania Double Pack: Aria of Sorrow / Harmony of Dissonance (Video Game)
2 Amazing Castlevania games in just one cartridge, the price is good, the games have excelent graphics, i recommend to everyone !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like castlevania, check this out!, June 19, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Castlevania Double Pack: Aria of Sorrow / Harmony of Dissonance (Video Game)
As far as Castlevania's go, this is one of the best buys you can make, both games on the doublepack offer hours of fun. they are similar but not the same so you get a whole other experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Castlevania Double Pack: Aria of Sorrow / Harmony of Dissonance
$119.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.