Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun game that does the series proud
The negative review from Game Informer almost kept me from buying this game, but I'm glad that I decided to buy it anyway. I'll go over each of the core aspects of the game and give you what I liked and what I didn't.

==============================

Combat (4/5)

Has a very God of War like feel to it. In fact, much of the game does. If you...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't live up to the greatness of Lords of Shadow 1
The Good: Great combat system, fantastic visuals and voice acting, awesome monster designs

The Bad: Terrible and confusing level design, broken “open world”, uninteresting and confusing story, not much is enhanced or changed, present times setting ruins the magic of the first game, terrible ending

Whether you like it or not I have to...
Published 5 months ago by Richard Baker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun game that does the series proud, February 25, 2014
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
The negative review from Game Informer almost kept me from buying this game, but I'm glad that I decided to buy it anyway. I'll go over each of the core aspects of the game and give you what I liked and what I didn't.

==============================

Combat (4/5)

Has a very God of War like feel to it. In fact, much of the game does. If you feel that a God of War style presentation or combat system strays too far from Castlevania's roots then you may not like it, but if you enjoyed the combat in God of War you'll like it here as well.

You have 3 main melee weapons. The Shadow Whip is the weapon you'll use most often and it has the best range. The Void Sword has a shorter range but replenishes health when you strike enemies with it. The Chaos Claws deal the most damage but have short range, and are the only weapons that can deal damage to some shielded foes.

Each weapon has it's own skill tree. There are skill trees that you can progress in as you gain experience points. You can also "master" certain skills by using them more. Once mastered, they become more effective in combat. This encourages you to use combos and skills that you may not have otherwise used as often, so that you can master them as well.

You also have access to projectiles like daggers, which do different things depending on which melee weapon you have equipped, you can send a swarm of bats to distract enemies for the stealth sections, and several relics exist that can be used as limited items such as the classic hourglass that slows enemies' movement, a bird that can reveal secret locations, a health replenishing flask, and others.

The camera can be a bit of an annoyance at times as it tends to leave some enemies off-screen and you may not realize that they're about to attack, which leaves you vulnerable.

My only other complaint is that it's sometimes difficult to perform a lengthy combo as most enemies don't get "stun locked" by your attacks and can then break your combo by hitting you, even while you're hitting them.

===============================

Story (4/5)

The game is almost too story heavy at first, forcing you to sit through quite a few narrated scenes. They're important, however, as the Belmont lineage and their place in the story needs to be examined. An artful presentation at least makes these scenes interesting to look at while they fill you in on back story.

Ultimately the story is pretty interesting especially if you've followed along with Lords of Shadow and the Mirror of Fate.

===================================

Graphics (3/5)

Not a bad looking game, but not top of the line either. Some of the meshes have some pretty jagged edges, particularly when at a distance, even with settings maxed. Some of the shadows/light during cut scenes can appear unrealistic and distracting when the jagged edged shadows tend to spill over the curvature of the characters' faces, etc. This is not uncommon in gaming at the moment however.

This game is heavy on blood (as can be expected), but in some moments when blood is shooting up or exploding out, it doesn't look very fluid. Again, not an easy thing to model and animate, but still needs to be pointed out.

===========================

Other gameplay (3/5)

Much criticism has been leveled at the game's stealth sections, although I didn't find them to be overly unpleasant. Changing into rat form to explore air vents or tunnels is actually fairly fun. My biggest complaint about the stealth sections is that you're not allowed to engage in combat, which is where the game shines. It almost seems arbitrarily thrown in, as if the developers wanted another aspect to the gameplay besides combat and exploration.

Much worse than the stealth sections are the platforming sections. Swinging on chandeliers is a series staple, but in this game it feels clunky and bothersome. Climbing feels fairly natural though and can be compared to games like Uncharted or God of War.

The game does allow for that Metroidvania style exploration however. Although most of the environments are not truly open world, they are large enough to allow for exploration and finding secrets. Many of the secret areas cannot be accessed until you have the appropriate skill or item, much like other Castlevania games, Metroid games or Zelda games.

==================================

Art/Presentation (4/5)

I applaud the designers for thinking outside the box and bringing the series into the modern era, but that's my biggest complaint about the setting. Although much of the game is in modern times, you'll still find yourself in gothic environments with old dilapidated castles, cathedrals and buildings, which keeps it from being too futuristic. I think we can all agree that Dracula fighting enemies in Times Square would be a huge mistake, and the developers avoided that pitfall. Still, seeing an electronic billboard or steel doors that can only be opened by a retina scanner just don't feel like they belong.

Make no mistake though, there is plenty of dark imagery, horrific and grotesque monsters, and dim hallways with flickering candlelight.

=========================

Audio (5/5)

The soundtrack is fantastic. The sound effects feel right at home. If I had one complaint it's that some of the characters' voice actors aren't quite up to par, but most of the major characters do a good job, especially Patrick Stewart who voices Zobek.

============================

In conclusion, this is a very enjoyable game that brings the Lords of Shadow series to a close in style. The stealth and platforming sections keep it from being a true masterpiece, but they're not so frequent as to ruin the rest of the great things this game has to offer. Buy with confidence and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't live up to the greatness of Lords of Shadow 1, June 21, 2014
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
The Good: Great combat system, fantastic visuals and voice acting, awesome monster designs

The Bad: Terrible and confusing level design, broken “open world”, uninteresting and confusing story, not much is enhanced or changed, present times setting ruins the magic of the first game, terrible ending

Whether you like it or not I have to start out by saying Lords of Shadow 1 was a masterpiece. The game was finely crafted in all angles that make up a great video game. It was the best Castlevania reboot ever done and a fantastic action adventure genre. It was challenging, beautiful, and memorable. Lords of Shadow 2 is not so much. In fact I don’t know what happened. They took everything that made Lords of Shadow 1 great and threw it out the window.

The story picks up after Mirror of Fate. Gabriel wants to die and have eternal peace. He already has to deal with the death of Maria. Zobek (voice by Patrick Stewart) will give him the Vampire Killer in exchange for killing Satan. In order to do this you much help out various other people and find 3 of Satan’s Acolytes. You see, even the story got screwed up. The first game’s story flowed and was touching, Lords of Shadow 2 takes forever to get interesting and has very few cut scenes until the very end. The setting also really throws the game off; being set in modern times just ruins the whole thing. The level design is terrible and confusing with a poorly implemented “open world” design that just makes you want to tear your hair out.

The game starts off with a nice pace, but once you step out into the present times all that magic from the first game just disappears. Secondly, the combat hasn’t change much and the upgrade system feels meaningless. While the combat is still responsive, and quite good, the enemies that defined the use of the combat system have been simplified and cut down to a mere half-dozen. Yes, the same half-dozen enemies through the entire game. It’s repetitive and irritating and you will end up just running past most of them if you can. Not to mention the increased amount of collectibles in the game require going back through these labyrinthine levels and remembering where these spots are.

If that isn’t disappointing enough the ending is just terrible. Unlike the sad tearful ending of the first game we just get a “what the hell is this?” ending leading into a nother Lords of Shadow game we know will never happen. At least the boss fights are fun and honestly the best part of the whole game. They are super challenging and the designs are pretty cool. Satan is a very challenging boss and worthy of being an end boss. Chipping away at health and scrounging your items is fun, but it should be through the entire game, not just the boss fights.

It also doesn’t help that the only store is in one part in the entire game. You have to go all the way back just to buy something. I honestly wanted this game to be a more linear path so it feels more unique. But here’s the worst part about the game: Stealth sections. Yes, why the hell are there stealth sections in a Castlevania game? They are broken and just boring and completely slow the game down. Some are confusing, most are boring, and they are all completely unnecessary. Instead of the clever puzzles of the first game the developers lazily through in stealth sections to replace them. Lords of Shadow 2 is just a lazy excuse of a game that never should have been.

At least the graphics are fantastic and the voice acting is superb. None of that matters if everything around it is sub-part to a masterpiece. As it is, Lords of Shadow 2 won’t please fans of the first game and definitely won’t draw in haters of the first game to give it a chance. If you never play this game you won’t miss out on anything even if you played the first, do yourself a favor and just forget it even exists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 FAN!!!, March 11, 2014
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I have played the game for 5 hours. I haven't made too much progress. If I would have listened to all the reviews I read I wouldn't have purchased this game! I went out on a limb and purchased for PC. Castlevania: LOS2 is a mixture of Darksiders 2, and the God of War Series! However, this game is very story driven! At the beginning of the game it can be a little off putting when you have to do the things in stealth mode. However, from my perceptive it's okay because I am into the story, Zobek even tells you that you are not up to strength. However, as I stated I am biased. I would encourage the fan base to get the game. I find it worth it, I like games that pull me in....this is one of those games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magazine and game reviewers are not doing there job!, March 5, 2014
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
First off I have to start with the fact the it seems the magazines and game reviewers are giving bad ratings based on what they like not for what it is.
This is a great second installment of lords of shadow 2. I was quite excited I got to play Gabrielle again. And its awesome. I got this game without bothering with reviews and critics and the crap that ruin good games or games with good potential. If you guys are thinking about buying this game. Do so. Its awesome as can be and worth every penny. It does have a replay value. Something I can say a lot of games don't have. I'm pretty far in the game and its quite long if you wanna max everything out!

So take the plunge and go for it! One of the best vampire games for older consoles and the PC!
Also its plug and play with the 360 controller. And I use it the entire time I play :)
I've encountered no bugs or crashes or anything of the sorts. If you love god of war you'll like this type of fighting style.

Well seeya guys I'm going back to playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dont believe the negative opinon of people, this is a good game., July 24, 2014
By 
Yankele Herrera "Mr.Satan" (Guayaquil, Guayas Ecuador) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This game is great, i got it a couple months ago, and i totally love it.
This is the most 3D MetroidVania youll get, going from place to place with amazing art and stages, thought the non castle ambiences do lack inspiration, but that dosent affect the gameplay at all.
Its true that have several differences from the orginal LoS, but that helps to get a different experience.
There are certain things like the rat transformation that you are forced to do, but they are not as long, and not as frecuent as others claim to be.
All around, it might not be the best castlevania ever, but that dosent make a bad game at all. recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic game ignore the meta critic review, July 8, 2014
By 
allen (Columbus, ohio) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I loved this game. I dont know why it got bad reviews. This game is much better than the first, the only thing i didn't like was sometimes i couldn't figgure out where to go but that wasnt very often. The story is fantastic it ties in the last game nicely. The graphics are so nice, the game looks next gen, as long as u have the proper pc. It has a high res texture pack without an extra download. I highly recommend this game. Also i paid 20 for this game but its totally worth more, i thoroughly enjoyed this game im at the end now, im cleaning up the collectables now and ill probably play thru on hardest difficulty once more to clear the game. Let me just say a couple more things comparing los1 to los2. LOS1 i felt was a bit boring, i didnt really experience that board feeling while playing like i did with the first one. Very good game, if u get it let everyone know how much u like it because i bet the meta critic score of 58 is probably hurtin its sales but u have to look past it because this desrves a much better score. Id say 89 is a fair score for this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Awesome game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, amazing graphics, May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I recently bought a new HP ENVY laptop and it handles C2 with ease and looks amazing in 1080p. I was blown away by how good it looks compared to my ps3. Also plays very much like first Castlevania, or Devil may Cry, I dont know why there were such poor reviews but I played all 3 of these including the 3ds version. And all are fantastic long action rpg games, if you are a fan or even slightly interested Id recommend. Especially now I got it for 19.97 like 70% off 59.99 steam price. Great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Wasn't a bad game at all, but failed to keep up to it's predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Great game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.